Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Casa di Venere

Via San Antonio 114, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy

#36 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Riomaggiore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great service, company was in contact with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable for the price paid.

    Great location, great service, company was in contact with me early on to ensure that I was able to check in and find the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    I would search for something else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was kind of sad, not very clean, extremely basic. No floor towel in the bathroom which was a problem after showering. True that you just use it for sleeping but for the price I paied I was expecting somenthing else.

    I appreciated the kindness and availability of the staff ( extremely extremly nice and he definetely makes the difference). Nice welcoming messages and very customer centric mindset.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was unable to connect at all during our stay.

    Central location - beautiful town!! Great host and very easy check in/out. Room was basic but all we needed for the 1 night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic! Lovely staff and very comfortable and clean rooms and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and instantly made me feel very welcome. The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable and the facilities were well maintained and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    - good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - poor conditions of bathroom such as toilet sheet don’t work. Shower water clogging etc.

    - good location - very friendly owner -flexible check in, check out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Kind hosts, central location, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very central location, about 5-10 minutes walk from Riomaggiore Station depending at what pace you walk at. The host Marco is very kind and welcoming and went out of his way to help me when I had foolishly locked myself out of my room. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location in the stunning village of riomaggiore. The staff was very kind & helpful. Simple, clean room. Good location to explore the 5 terre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Hidden gem in twisty-turny Riomaggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy who checked me in was a bit abrupt with me when I asked him some questions, telling me he had more important things to talk to me about. It could just be his English but it came across quite rude. That's the only complains and is very minor.

    Explorers will love making their way around the winding streets and steep stairs of Riomaggiore to find this hotel! Located in a narrow backstreet, it doesn't offer much in terms of a view, but the room I had was great! Very comfortable bed, easy to control aircon, fridge, wifi. I had an external bathroom which was accessible by key, located in the hallway which was nice and clean. Riomaggiore is a fascinating place to visit and this accommodation is a short walk from all the sights and the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Location was the most important to me and the bed was comfortable--would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was separate from the bedroom, which was a little inconvenient. Not much space to move around in the room which was fine for me as a solo traveler.

    Location was absolutely fantastic. Close to the train station and the cliffs. The bed was large and comfortable. Didn't have a problem with noise from outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    4.2
    Area great but do not stay here if you are above 20 years
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult access by steep steps not good to find No servicing of the room in 6 days had to push to get towel which were totally unadiquet Those facilities that were stated to be were poor and insufficient Bad lighting on first set of stairs off the street

    Location only and the village was perfect Cinque terre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    Staff were super helpful and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were super helpful and very welcoming. They helped us out by storing our luggage for the day which was a great help. Rooms were really clean and location was good if you are happy to do stairs. In saying that if you don't like stairs then Cinque Terre is probably not the holiday destination for you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Great host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in the shower could be improved, we could barely take a shower on the day of check out

    Great host Spacious apartment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Decent overall, but maintenance and cleanliness could be better.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was quite dirty and poorly maintained. The toilet had not been scrubbed in quite some time.

    Good location, solid internet, nice room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    considerable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a few steps to climb

    hot water shower, not far from train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.0
    Air conditioning and bath supplies
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning and bath supplies

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No close parking, no breakfast.

    Very central an comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    6.3
    Good location in Riomaggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic furnishings. Tiny shower cubicle, limited towels.

    Good location in Riomaggiore.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    The bathroom was big and clean but no place to hang clothes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was big and clean but no place to hang clothes to dry. A little difficult to find, and lots of stairs, but comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    Room was cosy and beautiful in a nice location of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise in annoying level by other guests. The house was not soundproof. It was impossible to sleep one entire night because some guests were having a party.

    Room was cosy and beautiful in a nice location of Riomaggiore.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    basic lil room with shower bed we had a 1 night stop so it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wifi

    basic lil room with shower bed we had a 1 night stop so it was perfect, comfortable and sleept well.close just off the main street and 5min walk from station

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    Marco was the absolute best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That our stay wasn't ten times longer.

    Marco was the absolute best. He was incredibly welcoming, gracious, and quick to help us with directions, recommendations, and suggestions for our short trip in Cinque Terre. He treated us like old friends, and we could not be more grateful for meeting him. The rooms are in a great location just a few steps away from a gorgeous marina with incredible sunset views. A great place to travel with friends.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    Loved the location and feel of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Due to the humidity and coastal climate, there was mold in the shower and bathroom area.

    Loved the location and feel of the town. I think it would be a great honeymoon location. Just beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    7.9
    Well positioned in Riomaggiore and not too far up the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was quite expensive for what was included. But as expected for peak season (August). No wifi

    Well positioned in Riomaggiore and not too far up the hill. Simple and basic room but a good size and quite clean. It includes a fridge which was good.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.2
    Location very good, if a little hard to find (don't use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very thin walls so frequently awoken in the middle of the night. No wifi.

    Location very good, if a little hard to find (don't use Google maps for this). Very spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    6.3
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Where do I begin? The pictures listed on the ad do not reflect the room that I stayed in. The room was a hole in the wall. It lists a TV and toiletries as amenities and neither of those are included. The bathroom had mold. My first night there were no towels. They also claimed a problem with their POS system and did not take credit cards and asked for cash upfront.

    The location was great! It's right in the center of Riomaggiore, near the bars, restaurants, and the train.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    3.8
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Do not stay here. Owner does not care & does not live on site. We arrived and had to call the owner but could not get hold of her. Cost me 50 euros on phone calls and she didn't pick up!!! Had to go into town and ask around if anyone knows the owner of this place. After 3 hours we found her in a shop. very unfriendly. Can't pay by card, can't store luggage. If you want someone to rotten your holiday, stay here.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    3.8
    The air conditioning was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You could feel the springs in the mattress. Towels were like table cloths. Beds never made. No wifi. No breakfast. No coffee in room. Jack hammers started at 8-8:30. AM. Many many Stairs were poorly lit. Very hard to find hotel. Had to ask around town and was directed to a lady at a produce market.

    The air conditioning was awesome. Location near great restaurant and bar.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom was filled with bugs Bathroom is outside of the room, you have to lock it everytime It was very very expensive for a single room

    Location Air-con Mini fridge Hairdryer

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    5.0
    Location great, lovely Barbara happened to be there and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Owner unavailable and grumpy, cared nothing for our comfort and unhappy to help with a dodgy door.

    Location great, lovely Barbara happened to be there and helped with check in

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    3.8
    Where to start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where to start. Firstly we emailed the property to organise a time to meet for check in 4 days prior with no response so we spent our first hour trying to contact the owner to let us in. Next we had our luggage moved to other room without our knowledge. Last they over booked the property and left a poor young fella without a room and did not even make an effort to come and help so we offered for him to sleep on the spare bed in our room. Very disappointing stay!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    3.3
    Ac worked well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booking stated that they take credit card, but host said no, sorry, cash is required. Confirmation stated credit. Bathroom was full of mold..,shower curtain, wall and ceiling were moldy and shower mold needed to be washed down the drain. Hardwood had significant water damage and sink fittings were not attached, Front door was broken so they just leave it open with no staff or phone available for emergency. Etc etc etc. Overpriced and poorly represented in description.

    Ac worked well.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.1
    Location in town was fine once we knew how to find it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    AC didn't work, so a hot night.

    Location in town was fine once we knew how to find it. We viewed a beautiful sunset from near the church above town. Removed a bit from the bustle of main street, so the quiet was nice.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    9.2
    host was so nice and give me useful suggestions and bed is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    its good place the price is not expensive which match the facility

    host was so nice and give me useful suggestions and bed is so lovely~ i feel like im near the sea

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    3.3
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i have never seen such a ridicilous place.when you get there,there is nobody and they want you to call them by phone.if you don't local sim card like me,you have to find a phone from somewhere.and if you can't reach them,they don't cancel your reservation.this is my first negative comment for a hostel but stay away from this place!!

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was great! The room was clean and cozy. This hotel is located near by the main road where you can find any cafes and bars also it takes less than 10 minutes to get to the train station. Special thanks to Roberto. He was very nice to us, he met us, helped with our bags, gave us a lot of helpful advice and delicious cookies! :) We'll definitely stay here again if we return to Riomaggiore.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    9.2
    The room was well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hard to find. Had to ask for help. Then I had a note for me to call to get my key. With no phone service that was not an option. Took two hours to get my room.

    The room was well maintained. The heater worked great and the place was quiet. Even though it was full it was very peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.5
    good location, only few stair steps from the main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good location, only few stair steps from the main road. I suggest to contact the owner to get the hotel location and direction in advanced. The hotel sign I previously checked/saw on the google street view was no longer there and I almost got lost.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.8
    comfortable bed and very cleaning room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wrong location , please update location because in google map.

    comfortable bed and very cleaning room

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    8.8
    The very good place in the comfortable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The very good place in the comfortable location

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.1
    Location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For value no WI fi Not much of view

    Location good

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    6.3
    Central location, great air conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buckled flooring in bath area made it easy to trip. VERY thin towels. Non-existent staff after check in.

    Central location, great air conditioner

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    3.8
    dirty, hard to find, noisy, very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    dirty, hard to find, noisy, very expensive.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    5.4
    Close to the water close to the train station restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Enjoyed my stay

    Close to the water close to the train station restaurants and shops lots of stairs close to hiking trails

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    5.4
    Mouldy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mouldy room.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    quaint area but a modern clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    At age 59 there were a lot of stairs - Great for younger adults

    quaint area but a modern clean room

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.3
    Marco was very friendly and helpful with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Marco was very friendly and helpful with good recommendations for us. Lovely clean simple room great location and price.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    3.3
    Location is good but otel and conditions are not same with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is good but otel and conditions are not same with informations which are on the internet.Personel is not helpful.Bathroom was dirty.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    6.3
    Proximity to central area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needed reno (some mold) No towel dryer No WIFI

    Proximity to central area. Clean bedroom Excellent owner

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    7.5
    Hand to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As mentioned, the stairs in Cinque Terre are a problem as they also appears to be all over Italy

    Hand to everything

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    5.0
    moldy bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    moldy bathroom no internet

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    9.6
    This place is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Will be better if the place has wi fi.

    This place is amazing. Friendly owner and great location.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    8.8
    Location was good, basic accommodation but everything you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was good, basic accommodation but everything you need and value for the price

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    5.8
    The village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bathroom The lack of central heating

    The village

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse La Casa di Venere traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: