Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Cisterna 3 stars

Piazza Della Cisterna 23, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#31 of 44 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1105 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although there is a small elevator, be prepared to still navigate a few steps up and down to get to your room. This was not a problem at all for us but could be for someone expecting that the elevator will drop them off right at their room.

    The location is a dream! We stayed in a recently renovated room with a balcony. The breakfast was very nice. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and it was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm hard pressed to find anything negative to say! Beds were much too firm for me, but it is the cultural norm in Italy we've learned. Everything else exceeded my expectations and then some!

    The VIEW! The location, snack dab in the center of town. Excellent staff, clean rooms, yummy breakfast included, elevator, did I mention the view?!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I loved every moment! The staff from reception, to house keeping to those in the restaurant were helpful & accomodating. I would definitely go back & highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The NOISE. The Noiaes in the hallways to the bedrooms . Poor quality of sleeping Probably the need to put a carpet as the trolleys and the guests and stuff were really making noises

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    if it is a big group with coach, it may not be a good choice since big car cannot reach hotel directly that we did not know when we booked the hotel. we called a car to go out for dinner, one charged at euro 40, one charged at euro 20 to the same place and same nos of persons. that hotel did not advise us prior to get on.

    location of hotel is inside the square, we arrived after 6:30pm, our coach cannot arrive hotel and the lugguage transfer was out of service, we have to carry our luggage from bus stop to hotel takes 15 mins up the hill and stairs, it was really hard especially to the ladies with heavy luggages. besides this problem, all are fine, location is good to walk around sight seeing, and good view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved our view of the Tuscan hills from our room! Everything was clean and very comfortable. So far our favourite hotel (out of 7) on our travels through Italy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Without View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning must be improved: cleaning of the rooms and dishwashing. Most items at the breakfast (dishes and food) had a very bad smell.

    It's located in one of the prettiest villages in the world, has a very helpful staff and a nice decoration. Large bathrooms and very good quality shower gel and shampoo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Without View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dry air in the room, the hotelstaff could also be more friendly and welcoming upon arrival

    Perfect location on beautiful square. Very nice massage. The room was clean and comfy. The breakfastroom had a beautiful view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is not easily accessible by car-we reached late and had to drive through a very narrow archway to offload our bags and then maneuver the car back to the parking a half km away.. would've been a great help if we had known of this -we could've planned to take the shuttle or reached earlier...

    fabulous view and great breakfast and dinner! very helpful counter staff-we were vegetarian and they recommended food places close by which turned out to be super!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Without View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was ok and restaurant with nice view / location of the hotel fantastic. definitely will suggest for someone who wants to visit San Gimignano

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No place to hang your towel in the bathroom. Of course if you have to dig down that far for something to complain about, the place is pretty special.

    Room was newly updated in a modern style that somehow fit in with the ancient surroundings. Breakfast and a delicious dinner were included, making the price an incredible deal. View over the piazza was spectacular. We were there off season so the tourist throngs were mostly absent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we could have stayed longer! Everything was wonderful!

    Location, location, location! Room 82--shared terrace overlooking the breathtaking Tuscan hills--also 83,84, and 85--but 82 is a corner room with a window and the terrace! (small shower though!) Had lunch in the dining room--Excellent boar stew! Breakfast was great too...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was outside the town. Originally we expected to have the use of a shuttle from the parking lot to the hotel, but it was not available. Instead, we had to drive to the hotel to leave off luggage, drive back to the parking lot, and then walk back to the hotel. The shuttle also was not available when we left the hotel.

    The room was very comfortable. The bed was extra firm, which we prefer. The bathroom was well appointed with an excellent shower. We had a balcony we a beautiful view of the countryside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is in historical building. Our room was on the 2nd floor with the entrance to terrace. The views from the terrace are amazing. The staff is very helpful. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Without View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast buffet could be improved - more fresh fruit.

    Beautiful location. Our room with its terrace, overlooking the countryside, was spacious and very lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was less impressed by the food in the restaurant in the evening, but once again, the staff were exemplary

    The attractive furnishings in the bedroom. The tranquility and the view over the rooves and countryside from the balcony. All of the staff I encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The abundant breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was located less than a kilometer walk from the bus stop and was right on the main square, making it the best location for sightseeing. The breakfast was really good and the view of the restaurant was awesome! The staff was friendly too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel arranged a private driver to transfer us to and from the Firenze train station which was much appreciated. Our room was lovely with a small balcony overlooking the surrounding countryside. I chose this hotel as it was used in the movie Tea with Mussolini so it was wonderful to see inside which is now a bar/ cafe and walk through the square. The restaurant has a beautiful view at the back of the hotel but it would have been nice if there was a bar at the back and a terrace to sit and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel on the main square. Perfect location. The dining room had a wonderful view of the Tuscan countryside. Lots of choices for breakfast. Our room was basic but very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, lovely room with terrace and view. Excellent breakfast all our favourites and more to set us up for a days walking on the Via Francigena to Rome. Great location and restaurant in a beautiful historical village.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking so far away and they charged you for the shuttle from the public parking lot (where you have to pay for parking also)... but it is a historic town so you deal with it.

    The location and the view were amazing!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Without View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made our bed as no one came to clean the room during our stay although we had put the sign on the door handle saying we wanted the room done?

    Very central, lovely restaurant, friendly staff. A great stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was excellent, very generous portions, well cooked and well presented. Good choices on both breakfast and evening meal menus. Being on the square was helpful for an older person to stroll and sightsee and then return for a rest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the most beautiful of settings but unfortunately the staff were a let down for our stay, it felt a little impersonal and staff were too busy to be sociable and friendly

    San Gimango is the most amazing perfect medieval Tuscan village and this hotel can certainly provide a room with a view, we loved the after sun on our large balcony at the back of the hotel looking over the beautiful countryside and rustic roof tops of the village

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't usually leave reviews, but this hotel was exceptional. The view from our balcony was breathtaking and the service was excellent. Staying here was the highlight of our trip to Italy. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Without View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect...

    The hotel was a jewel! The staff were absolutely fantastic; the room was perfect; the service was impeccable. I would recommend this hotel. It was a perfect place to stay!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony was quite dirty (chairs, table) so it was not possible to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful view.

    The view from the room was amazing, but make sure to book it in advance! The hotel is located in the center so it is perfect for sightseeing, all attractions are available in a walking distance. The staff was hepful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing was a negative.

    Right in the centre of town. Lovely breakfast and a really nice restaurant on the first floor that cooked wonderful food. We booked garage parking that was situated underneath P2 car parking, well worth doing. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and they were all extremely helpful. We booked room 61 which had a balcony with a fantastic view. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities.

    Wow!!!!! What a great hotel. The position is the best, right on Piazza Della Cisterna. We arrived well before check in time and after a short wait we were able to go to our room. We had room 80 which is room with a view and it was stunning. We looked right across the valley. I don't think there is any need to pay extra for a balcony but up to you. The room was a good size with plenty of wardrobe space and the bathroom was good too. Bed was very comfortable and airconditioning was definitely welcome as it was 32c outside. We had dinner in the Terrace restaurant one night. Reasonable prices, fabulous view and good food. Breakfast is served in the room opposite, also with a magnificent view. Extensive selection of food to cater for all tastes. Others have mentioned noise from rooms but to be honest we only heard noise once or twice and that would definitely not deter us from staying. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were sad to leave this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's not a problem of this particular hotel, but of San Gimignano in general: parking your car anywhere near is very difficult. Be prepared to walk a lot uphill.

    The staff was very friendly and efficient, looking after all our needs and requests. The restaurant was particularly attractive: excellent food, an amazing view of the valley.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Absolutely nothing wrong here, you don't even get any noise from the town and you are slap bang in the middle of the busiest Piazza.

    The location of this hotel is excellent being in front of the well in Piazza Cisterna. Everything that this town has to offer is right on your doorstep. All of the staff that we met were welcoming friendly and helpful. They all tried their very best to ensure that our stay was comfortable and memorable. We stayed in room 85 and I would very much recommend that you stay in one of 82-85 inc. These four rooms share a terrace cum balcony. The views are stupendous. Straight in front of you are the towers at the lower end of town. Beneath you are the terracotta roofs of the lower storeyed buildings. Surrounding the town is the countryside of Tuscany. Vineyards, olive groves and forrests abound. You have lots of room on the terrace with ample furniture. It is just made for visiting a local salumeria for anti pasto and cheese and a local bottle of wine. Make yourselves comfortable and watch the sun fade. It's the stuff of dreams! Breakfast was good and lasted quite a while so you get the opportunity for a sleep in if that is what you like. Last orders about 9.45. All the regular items are to be found, juices, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, meat and cheese, eggs bacon etc etc. They also have very good home made cakes. The breakfast staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Of course you also benefit from the miraculous views and if you time your breakfast right you get a window seat. Tuscany just unfolds right beneath your gaze. The hotel is as clean as you could wish for and the chamber maids are super quick and efficient. San Gimignano is a wonderful little town, it's a great place to explore the locality and this is a great place place to base yourself. Remember make it 82-85 when you visit!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room with balcony overlooking the square! View was awesome and enjoyed a couple bottles of wine out there the one night we were there! The rooms were up to date and felt like a modern hotel room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like!

    An amazing place to stay. So much to see and explore, So nice to be here overnight especially once all the tourists left for the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be challenging

    Amazing breakfast, Incredibly amazing location and view. Really couldn't have been better except for the parking situation. The staff was very helpful, however, especially the man who made an extra trip to help pick up our luggage. It was a magical place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, perfect relaxing getaway in the middle of beautiful countryside.

    Breakfast was a lovely selection of homemade cakes and bread, but limited to all things pork.Eggs,muesli Yoghurt and juices available too. Very friendly staff and excellent outlook over the piazza which had most cafes open til midnight, beautiful ambience and would definitely stay again. NB, sockets are only 2 pin but the hotel had plenty of USB adapters.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best location in San Gimignano right in the main Piazza there in no parking in the Old walled city but if driving you can bring car in with luggage.Upgrade to a room with a view.Just sensational prettiest town in Italy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, Problems with the Air Con, Breakfast Area/tables not cleaned quickly after they were vacated, Very Slow on supplying hot food that was on offer which meant one had to stand and wait or you missed out when it arrived as others were also waiting.

    Location Superb, Views from Room, Clean Room, Staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a most relaxing time there - the staff and maid were lovely and very welcoming I had a room with the most beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The convenience of the location ,in the centre of all the action. The town, although very popular, was a great place to visit. Breakfasts were quite adequate and a good start to the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful room, very comfy bed, STUNNING view of the countryside from the balcony and even from the bathroom! perfect location, delicious breakfast and very friendly staff, we will definitely return here

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation was a little hard to figure out, but once we got to the hotel everything was great.

    The hotel was lovely! Extremely central, beautiful views, so comfortable and clean. The windows were really good at blocking any noise from the central square.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were a couple of very, very minor items - the shower in our room didn't have a soap holder and we felt the dessert choice for our evening meal could have been a little more imaginative - just a minor note and placed here to help the hotel.

    Great location, wonderful view from breakfast room and our room. Friendly, helpful staff - there was a problem with the security box and it was replaced. San Gimignano is a great place to explore and walk around. It is even better once all the day tourists have gone. Walking the city wall and making your way up to the fort is a great way to slow things down. We flew to Pisa then caught two trains to Poggibonsi before getting the bus to San Gimignano. The hotel arranged a taxi back to the train station on our return. There is a shuttle service operated by the hotel to take guests to the city wall. There are some lovely restaurants to visit. Wonderful weather made for a great holiday. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location. No trouble checking in, a slight problem finding the parking garage but we did find it, room was spacious and clean, beds and pillow were hard but that is not unusual for European hotels. Excellent location for shopping and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is nice, right in the center plaza of San Gimingnano. Our room is a little small, but with a beatutiful view of the valley, which we enjoyed very muck. The bed is a little too hard, furniture and tv a little bit old, but still a very pleasant stay. The restroom is clean and hot water is sufficient. The restaurant at the first floor has a excellent view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit of a problem. The nearest pay parking lot fills up quickly resulting in a longer uphill walk to the hotel. Not ideal for anyone with mobility problems.

    Great view from the terrace room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were friendly and the hotel was great. Booked a room with a shared balcony. Fantastic views and well worth the extra cost. The ideal location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Without View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid more for an upgrade and had a wonderful room I am unaware of what the Genius perks were as the first room we were shown seemed to be a standard room but in a back alley with a wall two feet in front of the window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room Without View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is such a wonderful Hotel to be. In the middle of the center . And their restaurant is so good. I had the best antipasto you can dream of ; Tartufone !! Very kind and professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good, sadly. With so much great food around in San Gimignano, the hotel was disappointing in that respect.

    The room was really good with an amazing balcony that was definitely worth the upgrade.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could leave our luggage at the hotel before check-in time. We wanted a room facing the piazza and we got a room right above the entrance to the hotel. It was a large, beautiful room with a high, painted ceiling. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the countryside and the breakfast was great. The elevator was brilliant! Old fashioned, and big enough for 3 people! We would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small but fine for just me. Bathroom could do with an upgrade.

    Great location, friendly staff. My single room had a balcony with a view to die for. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to other hotels that we have stayed in it was sub par. The lady did not replenish the warm food trays and with at least an hour left for breakfast actually said there was no more food. We reported this to the reception staff who were very understanding, especially Alessio, and returned the fee we had paid for breakfast. Since parking was only authorized outside the walls of San Gimignano, it was a long walk with baggage.

    The room had amply space & was clean. The bathroom was big with a nice shower. Nice view of the piazza. The reception staff was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking bit of nightmare. But if you're prepared to walk from outskirts of town no problem. Was aware though it would be tricky

    Room at top . Needed to be able to climb stairs for last 2 floors but great views and privacy👍🏻 Staff very helpful in hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at desk not the friendliest we've ever encountered but helpful.

    Lovely room overlooking piazza. Gorgeous view of Tuscan hills from dining room. Desk Staff could use a few smiles on their faces ... only downside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff not very engaging. At check out we paid our bill and the girl just walked away from the desk. We thought she was getting a receipt for us, that was not the case. We had to ask another staff member if we were clear to leave.

    Location was great. We had a newly refurbished room which was beautifully done but very small.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you travel by car you are obliged to use the public parkings outside the city centre. However, you can drive all the way to the hotel to unpack your luggage, but don't trust the GPS. There is only one allowed route. It is recommended that you call the hotel in advance and ask for which way to choose.

    This was our very best experience in Tuscany. The view of the countryside from our room was absolutely stunning. The sunrise was like something from a fairytale. Perfect for a romantic stay! Very good restaurant in the hotel and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this Hotel in right in the heart of San Giminiano is great. You can park outside the walls and enjoy the walk through ancient streets with charming stores and cozy restaurantes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every day the soap in the bathroom was replaced when it didn't need to be.

    My single room was perfect for me and I loved my gorgeous view. Comfortable bed, plenty of storage for clothes, immaculately clean. Quality toiletries. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff (older man on night shift (2X)) grumpy and condescending. Restaurant not great (dinner). Parking was very confusing, sparse and plan for a long walk. Room decor out of date but very clean. If room was cold you have to use radiant heat that must be turned on by front desk, then beware, front desk will turn off when they decide. Then if the room gets too hot, same thing, you must ask front desk to turn on air-if it works...

    Breakfast was great and had beautiful views. View in family suite amazing!!! Town pretty dead at night(early April) but place was magical nonetheless! Location on plaza very nice. Best gelato across from hotel!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING BUT, MAIDEN OPENED THE DOOR OF MY ROOM BEFORE CHECK OUT, EVEN THOUGH "DO NOT DISTURB" HANGED. PLEASE NEVER DO THAT AGAIN!!!!!

    1. LOCATION: JUST BESIDE LA CISTERNA, JUST IN THE MIDDLE OF SAN GIMIGNANO, JUST IN THE STARTING POINT OF CITY TOUR. 2. VIEW: NOT THE CITY VIEW, BUT WE GOT THE TOSCANA LANDSCAPE VIEW AS I WANTED. AWAKENING WITH BIRDS' SINGING EARLY IN THE MORNING 3. BREAKFAST: NOT THAT GOOD, BUT SUFFICIENTLY BREAKING THE OVERNIGHT FAST, SO.. NOT BAD. 4. STAFF: FRIENDLY AND CHEERFUL, ESPECIALLY SILVIA.. HI, SILVIA. DID GOOD JOB, AND THANK YOU FOR YOUR KINDNESS 5. DINNER: VERY NICE AND IMPRESSED ITALIAN RESTAURANT NEARBY, WITH REASONABLE PRICE AND BEST BISTECCA, AND MORE IS NICE HOUSE WINE. IT'S "DULCIS IN FUNDO". NOT EASY TO FIND, BUT VERY NEAR.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The attentiveness of the staff - nothing was too much trouble and really friendly. Restaurant food was fantastic. Great choice for breakfast even 'soft' boiled egg for us Brits. The view from the balcony was amazing as was the panoramic view from the Restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not so much, would expect a little more no staff from the hotel it all The only person around was on the computer

    Location just in the main piazza

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walked in from parking lot but the email did include contacting the hotel for a shuttle (extra fee).

    Great location and impressive building. Had a wonderful breakfast in a dining room with an amazing view. Perfect place to stay to experience this hill town. Is a hotel in the traditional manner, with desk staff and lobby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a location! Super view of the piazza. Big room, large bath and very Italian. The dining room had a view to kill for and our meals were equally good. The breakfast spread was great too. If you are staying in San Gimignano, stay here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really, anything negative about this place is nit-picking. 1) No ice machine (typical in Europe), but one could get ice from attached bar/cafe off the front lobby. 2) Balcony door slats were not mosquito-proof (one got in!), although there were mosquito-proof glass doors, also.

    very centrally located- off main town square, in a quaint, charming, scenic hill-town in Italy. comfortable, modern room, with smallish shower, (but actually larger than most in Italy), and up-dated bathroom, (and nice olive oil shampoo). Adeq shelving for suitcase and belongings. 2nd floor room, but there was an elevator, as well as a graciously-curved marble staircase. But, the BEST: room was right off spacious balcony with AMAZING beautiful view (nowhere in town could have been better). Loved sitting there with on patio furniture with wine and a book, and camera! Room was quiet, bed comfortable. Breakfast was complete and good, with great view from there, too. Friendly, helpful, English-speaking staff. **Although rated 3 star, for price paid, it was a 5 star! We have paid much more for more simple hotel rooms, in Italy and elsewhere, without that amazing central location and view. this particular place was a highlight of our trip, and we'll go there again- and stay longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful what room you get. We originally had 51 which was like a cruise ship room - quite dark and small. We upgraded to Room 101 which had a balcony and a view of the Piazza de Cisterna. It was like a princess tower room.

    Location is great! Staff was wonderful - great dinner and wine tasting recommendations Breakfast had an amazing panoramic view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in the heart of the San Gimignano. Rooms are comfortable, clean and very well isolated that you don't know any noise. Hotel restaurant was excellent. We were 4 guys and ordered 4 different dishes are really delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was there were no in-room tea and coffee facilities. However, this isn't uncommon for Italy. Parking is restricted to outside the old city walls but that adds to the charm.

    Great location. Magnificent view of the Piazza from our room and countryside from the restaurant. Generous breakfast. Comfortable huge bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Immaculately clean. This Charming old building with wide sweeping staircases has lots of character and style. There was even a lift. Was delightful to open our windows onto the piazza and hear the music and laughter from the square. When the windows were closed you couldn't hear a thing. It was everything we could have wanted for a 3-star hotel plus so much more.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great room with the view to die for was amazing and the breakfast barista an extra treat. Unbelievable location in the middle of the town and a very cheerful and helpful concierge who was able to advise us on itineraries and places to eat outside the touristy ones.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very clean. The rooms are big and comfy and the staff are excellent. The location couldn't be better. We have stayed here three times so far and have never found fault.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom has serious issues Water falls of the tube and flood the floor I almost felt down because of this

    Breakfast is very good! Restaurant with excellent view of the city Door of the hotel is the center of the city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This time I was traveling with my niece so we had twin beds which turned out to be really, really narrow. The room is large enough for two people and the bathroom is very nice. I just wish the hotel would invest in wider beds.

    This hotel is in a perfect location and easily accessible since you can drive to it to unload your luggage before parking outside the old town wall. This was my 4th time stay at this hotel, which should speak volumes for how much we like the location, staff, food, internet... The view and the breakfast cannot be beat. I enjoyed surprising my niece with it the first morning that we went to eat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on ground floor, attached almost the wall from other building , almost no widow therefore very dark without lights on when daytime , noise from kitchen as the room as opposite on the other site /at night the generator outside made a lot noise , could not sleep !!!!

    location. view from breakfast area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could have staff to helo you with your luggage on arrival and departure, considering parking inside the city walls is prohibited.

    We asked for a view and we got an incredible upgrade with amazing view of Tuscany. The room was very spacious and even a bigger bathroom with a hot tub. The hotel as it self has a medieval-italian charm and is the middle of the town´s plaza. Excelent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not very impressive looking and didn't look like the photos online. Like it hasn't got the update that other rooms had. View of a brick wall.

    Restaurant, view and location were great.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: