Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Colonna 3 stars

Strada di Pescaia 73/75, 53100 Siena, Italy

#28 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1811 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect base to explore Sienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a very traditional feel to it and the gentleman on the front desk was very enthusiastic and informative. The rooms were good and the terrace/pool area was lovely! There is a little bar/lounge area in the hotel with a small selection of drinks. We stayed in a ground floor room with disabled access - our room was clean, had air-conditioning and was quiet. Big plus point of this hotel is the fact that you can very easily walk into the historic centre of Siena. It took us only around 15 minutes and the historic city was just magnificent - be prepared for well priced food but very expensive drinks (around 6 EUR for a beer!) If you are looking for a very well priced, charming hotel within walking distance of the historic centre look no further.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No television and check in was very early.

    Location close to town center. Very friendly staff that provided free coffee despite being slightly late for breakfast. We were dricing around Italy and needed a location close to downtown Sienna. The hotel did its job at a great price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Incredibly peaceful and pleasant property just outside Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Siena wasn’t really within walking distance but there were still lovely restaurants nearby and it was easy enough to drive to the train station and use the ample parking there; just outside the city walls

    Incredibly peaceful and pleasant property just outside Siena. A really lovely pool area and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and value for car travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location with private parking (free). You can't really drive into the city so this is perfect if you are arriving by car. Walking distance to the city gate, also bus stop in front of hotel with bus every 15min if you prefer as alternative to walking. Staff very helpful with tips and directions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel, but located a very busy street/highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the photos it looks like the hotel is located in a rustic, outside area of Siena. However the hotel is located on a very busy, speedy road. Besides the fact that you can hear the cars rush by all night, we also felt a little bit like staying at a highway hotel (with sad, abandoned gas stations across the road) instead of in beautiful Tuscany.

    Comfortable bed, great shower, good breakfast and the pool area was really nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No scrabbled eggs for breakfast .

    The hotel was great! The room was clean and quiet. The staff were friendly and very polite! Very good breakfast! The hotel is outside the historical center of Siena but only 5 minutes away by bus. However, just outside the hotel there is a bus stop with frequent services until 20:25. After that time you have to take a taxi. The staff of the hotel invites a taxi and the trip comes in three minutes. I would strongly suggest 👍🏻👍🏻

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is 2 singles pushed together but still comfortable.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly! Gave us plenty of tips on transport around Siena and also to Florence, Pisa etc. The breakfast was very good and the hotels location was also good. Bus right outside the door with regular routes to the city centre, bus depot (piazza gramsci) and to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Affordable nice and convenient housing to visit Sienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The immediate surroundings are the average roadside buildings.

    35' walking distance to Siena Piazza del Campo. Bus stop to Siena historical center just in front of the hotel. Very helpful hotel staff. Large room with good insonorisation and king bed. Very clean. Swimming-pool with nice terrazza. Private parking just behind the pool (we left the car during our three days stay and walked or used the city bus)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Really nice hotel in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person on the front desk was very friendly and gave us few advices for good restaurants. The bus stop is in front of the hotel and you can take it directly to the old city center. Perfect located so that you can come back from the crowdy city center and chill. Breakfast was also okay. We had an room on the back site of the building and did not hear any street noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Great staff and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was not on so the night was a little hot and we had to leave the window open, which got noisy in the morning. Hotel staff said someone complained it was too cold so they shut the whole thing off. If you want AC, it is really hit or miss.

    Friendly staff, great location, and quiet night!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Economical option for Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walking distance to old town was a bit far-like 25 minutes of walking -and the room was smaller than i expected.

    Helpful staff and nice hotel atmosphere in general. Breakfast was enough with traditional italian pastries, cheese, yoghurt and coffee / tea options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Will never forget Siena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing to dislike. Definately we'll be back when we revisit Siena.

    Very clean, quiet and comfortable room with a view to the street in front of the hotel and the hills of Tuscany. The breakfast was more than just sugar - better than expected! A few minutes walking away from Siena's Centro Storico. One of the best hotels outside Siena's walls. Also had a real fun afternoon by the pool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Hotel was in a perfect spot with a bus stop just outside where the bus would take you into the centre.The room was clean and the bed comfortable if a bit oddly arranged The reception staff especially Bruno could not have been more helpful showing us bus timetables and suggesting the best places to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful, a great arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground floor so a bit noisy around breakfast time, the shower made the bathroom floor very wet but it had disabled facilities so may have been due to an open wet room style rather than standard cubicle. But not a problem for us and a short stay.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, a great arrival. The facilities were clean and comfortable, and there was parking in their car park and next door. A twenty minute walk into the town of sienna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Save your money, get an Ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an expensive, less.comfortable Ibis with a small pool. The staff on reception were great, but at breakfast time stood staring at you looking very unhappy - if we had been eating tons I would understand, but we had very small breakfasts. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, 2 mattresses of differing qualities/ages stuck together, not a good night. The garden view I over paid for was looking on to the car park and road. Also, the towels smelled very strongly of vinegar, not pleasant at all!

    The bathroom was quite nice other than the mouldy bits on the walls and the leaking shower screen. The coffee was quite nice as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice location, 15 minutes walking distance from Siena center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In one of the days the waitress was not very happy for us arriving only 15 away from the closing time for breakfast, but all of us have bad days.

    Nice location, 15 minutes walking distance from Siena center and really nice to arrive by car and with sufficient parking spots available. It has also a nice swimming pool. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Loved Siena and Tuscany. Travelled to all tourist places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took the bus from outside the hotel into town and this worked well. We tried to walk home one night but one section of the road has no footpath so a little dangerous.

    The room was a little basic but the gardens and pool made up for our slight disappointment with the room. The staff were excellent, giving good advice and very welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Staff is absolutely awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is absolutely awesome! Hotel is 15 minutes walk from downtown, bedroom is confortable and breakfast is also good! I recomend if you are visiting Siena

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff wasn't very professional. It supposed to be a 3-star hotel, but in the room we couldn't find 2 glasses (which you can easily find in 2-star hotel). We arrived late, after 20, we didn't make any restaurant reservation before, so the receptionist suggest us 2 restaurant in Piazza Mercato. We chose Antica Papei, which was terrible, the worst in Tuscany, and which totally spoiled our atmosphere for the evening. We already wrote a review on TP and Google, so just don't make this same mistake as we did and don't go there. When we came back to the hotel, we wanted to drink wine. Hotel doesn't have any bar or even mini bar or even more 2 glasses. We called reception, it was like 23:07 and the receptionist told us that: yes, we have glasses, but the hotel is closed now (closing at 23) , so EVENTUALLY he will give us 2 glasses. WOW. Thank you so much. It will be much helpful if we can find it in the room. Hotel is located far away from the centre like 20 minutes by walk up. We went by car and pay 2 euro per hour in the parking. It is really noisy during the night, so you will need earplugs. Dont forget your own, otherwise you will pay 3 euro.

    Good breakfast. Comfy bed. Bathtub. Clean room and toilet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Honest deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was on a busy road, fact that made the hotel noisy! About half an hour to go to the center on foot and the parking was full, however, there is plenty room on the other side of the road to park the car.

    It was a beautiful and clean building, easy to find! Average breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Bus stop just in front of the hotel and it takes few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special.

    Bus stop just in front of the hotel and it takes few minutes to city center. Few good options for food near hotel. Super wifi. Good parking options. Helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, really friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel, really friendly and helpful staff. I can say that the receptionist who welcomed us, gave us all the necessary information for spending two days in Siena and around Siena. Thank you so much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel situated outside the town, but with very good way of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper coffee , only a distributer. The breakfast was poor. The shower room so small, why having, a bidet, the toilet and the shower in 2 square meter? No room to turn around!

    Hotel situated outside the town, but with very good way of commuting. Parking available. Small hotel but appropriate for week end or short holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was quiet but some sort of water tank was refilling abouve our room during the night. It was very loud and went on for about 30 mins. We assumed it was coming from the air conditioning -even though it wasn´t turned on,

    Nice staff. Nice views from our comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was the location.

    The hotel looks new and the staff is amazing. The only problem: hard to arrive and a little far from the city. Not many option to eat or go out arround the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Service was great, and there was good breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little noisy (facing a few major roads) and the walking distance to the city centre was quite far, but you can take a bus in, it is really cheap and is fairly fast.

    Service was great, and there was good breakfast included. Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel is close to the bus stop and there are a few shops nearby if you need to purchase tickets/food/other things.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Hotel price point with parking & breakfast was good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel price point with parking & breakfast was good for Siena. On-site parking was convenient and secure. Hotel is on a main throughfare so rush-hour traffic noise is noticeable, but in late evening and overnite is not a problem. Good breakfast. Pleasant staff gave us tips on where to eat locally. Ate at Roadhouse restaurant directly across from Hotel and had the best Burger and Onion Rings in Italy and gives a 'hotel discount' as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice place if you are travelling by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place to stay if you are travelling by car, you can let your car there and go to the historic centre by bus or even walking. But nothing special in general, ok accomodations, ok breakfast, ok neighboorhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    The people that manage the place are very accommodating and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on the first night

    The staff was great. First night we had a dumpy room and considered leaving the place. However we were upgraded to a much nicer, cleaner and more comfortable room and so we stayed for 8 nights altogether. There were complimentary tea and instant coffee and cookies available all the time. That was nice too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    the personnel was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the noise from the street and the elevator are unbearable. There was a smell from the sewage in the bathroom. Apart from that, it was ok.

    the personnel was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    I feel I made the right choice where to stay in Siena
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist Giordano was a guy every hotel would be proud to have on their staff. We were greeted truly professionally and sincerely. In a few moments we were given all the possible information about the hotel and Siena. Giordano suggested us the restaurant which we found to be one of the best during our whole trip (Da Michele) which is a few hundred meters away on the other side of the street. Hotel is cosy, with style, has a great swimming pool in the closed garden and a private free parking. Very good impressions from our stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Had a lovely stay in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walking path between the hotel and old town.

    Perfect location if you drive with a car to Siena. It can be hard to drive and find a parking lot in other parts of the town. People who are working there are helpful and friendly. A bus stop is just outside of the hotel and it takes you to the centre of old town Siena.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    There is a private courtyard in the back with a small pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a private courtyard in the back with a small pool. It was very clean and peaceful. My husband and I jumped in the pool and laid out for a few hours and had the place to ourselves. The room was big and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    The front desk Gianmarco was really very nice, he helped me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk Gianmarco was really very nice, he helped me to solve the problem of my lost baggage, he tried his best contacting the claim baggage dept. at the airport and Vuelung Airlines.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Basic, functional, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is just a bit tired, overall. They seem to make the most of what they have, but it is quite basic. For the price, it is not too bad though. Breakfast is limited. They can boil eggs but not poach. No toast, even though you can smell it. However, I would stay again. Expect a bit of road noise.

    The staff were very friendly and polite. Including the housekeeping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Easily the best place we stayed in Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easily the best place we stayed in Italy! Beautiful pool area, great location with an easy walk up the hill to Siena or a 5 minute taxi ride, amazing complimentary breakfast and very clean. The front desk concierge was so amazing that he gave the best suggestions on where to go and what to do from within Siena to around Tuscany. I highly suggest going to Papei behind the plaza, Michelin star restaurant but very affordable for even 20 something year olds and the best service you'll ever receive. We are already talking about coming back to this hotel. LOVE IT

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Good look'in but a bit smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be perfect staying except that in our room the air wasn't healthy. It smels like in an old basement beacause of the mold and wet walls. Internet connection was weak.

    Hotel la Colonna was quite nice at first impression. It's near the bus stop, has free parking and serves good breakfast. Rooms and the swimming pool looks great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice value for money, recomended stay in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Busy road in front of the hotel. But if you get room looking on the other side of the building that problem dissapeares. :)

    Nice value for money, awsome bed. Had really nice sleep despite road just in front of hotel. Good breakfast. Good connection to main roads.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Rather remote but so haywe came
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very enthusiastic & helpful staff. This is the nicest hotel we have had I highly recommend. Need car. Montopulciano is really neat. Wonderful restaurant serving steak. Need reservations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location - nice restaurants recommended nearby for evening meal - comfortable, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really!

    Good location for Siena - there was a swimming pool, but it was too hot to use! Included breakfast, so was good value for money - staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    While not in the centre of Siena it was not a long walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While not in the centre of Siena it was not a long walk to centre. Bus stop nearby. Secure parking for our bicycles. Reception staff very amiable. Some local shops at 100m.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for one or two days stay in Siena, especially when touring with a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't much around the hotel.

    Easy to find place, plenty of parking, good value for a hotel with a pool in Siena. Bus to the old city is on the corner next to the hotel. Less than a km walk to the old city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    If you are traveling with car best location to stay free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    If you are traveling with car best location to stay free private parking, there is a bus stop infront of the facility, it takes 3 minute to center of Siena or you can walk. Reception has good level of English. Clean rooms, kind staff, if you tired of exploring Siena you can give a break for sunbathe inside the swimming pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was far from services like restaurants and shops. For us travelling by car there was no problem.

    The staff was very professional and friendly. Everything was clean and recently renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Suitable location to reach the centre by bus.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man on reception in the morning was really rude,got a little bit over excited & shouted at us when we asked to pay the city tax by card . Very unprofessional. He said it wasn't possible & that was the policy of the hotel was to pay by cash but apparently only the room rate !!!!! It states on the booking.com site that cards are accepted.maybe they should revise their policies

    Clean hotel & outdoor pool. The man who was present on reception in the evening went out if his way to assist & give us all the local Info .Bus to the city directly outside the hotel & takes approx 15 minutes to reach the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Adequate for short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard to sleep on. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. You can get these downstairs through reception, at a cost. There are no English speaking TV channels, should you wish to keep up with world news. Unfortunately also no access to an iron or board.

    Location is very good, enabling easy access to Sienna town by bus. There was a lift so no lugging cases upstairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    It's a nice place to stay for a day or two, but not cheap. We paid $129 per night plus city tax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. Ice cold boil eggs are not the right way to start a day! It takes 10 min. to boil them just before the breakfast. Not to mention yesterday croissants! It Is quite away from the center! 23 min. to walk or wait for 15 min. for a bus to bring you to the center

    Free parking.Very nice staff. Very big bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and good to have the pool in the immense heat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was awkward to get around in as it was very small.

    The pool was lovely, breakfast filled us up, staff were all very friendly, a bit of a walk into the town but easy to find the way there and back. Very close to a real nice place to eat - Ristorante Da Michele!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the money, parking is a plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two mattresses in the bed which made the sleeping slightly uncomfortable due to the gap in the middle. Not an issue if u want to sleep on your half of the bed

    Good value for the price. Free parking on-site, only 30 min walk to Siena old town or a bus in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice modern hotel with quick bus access to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very professional gentleman on check-in who gave me a complete briefing on how to get in to the old town, where to buy bus tickets and so on. The hotel is about a mile from the old town (which probably has a big effect on price), with two bus routes in a few metres from the front door. I didn't have time to use the swimming pool, but it looked good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Good stay but could do with a touch up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with an upgrade... it's a little old fashioned! Breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had but that just seems to be Italian breakfast

    The hotel is very basis but the bed was very comfortable and the number 54 bus went from outside the door right to the centre of Siena

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Okay stay for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there were a couple more hot items at breakfast, specifically some type of egg. Room had a few ants. Location isn't close to any of the main tourist attractions in Siena. Mainly convenient if traveling by car. Rooms by the stairs will get some noise from that.

    WiFi worked pretty well. Staff spoke great English. There was a pool, although we didn't use it. They had parking. Close to a bus stop, a 5 minute ride into Siena. Buy tickets from the tobacco store nearby. Our room in the quieter side of the hotel didn't have as much road noise as others. There's a few stores and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Right beside a local bus stop, made travel very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right beside a local bus stop, made travel very convenient. The staff were so helpful and fun. Not walking distance to the main area, but the local bus stops running close to 8:30 pm and the walk was about 15 minutes. It was downhill so was easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Price/quality almost unbeatable! Pleasantly surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good for its price, but a toaster would really improve things! A dajdapt is quite basic, but good enough for a few days. Bed was really hard to my back, I got up at night because of this...noisy street didn't help. :-)

    Really a lot of value for money! We were pleasantly surprised! Punches far above its weight! Really kind staff, clean and relatively large rooms, excellent pool and cosy terrace, enough parking available next to hotel. Close to Siena center, 20 min walk but bus also stops in front of hotel. Good restaurants and small supermarket nearby! Breakfast is decent with boiled eggs, croissants, fruit, yoghurt, etc. Highly recommended if you want a lot of value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay at a wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!!!

    We loved the hotel! Beautiful big room and great pool in the garden!The staff were so pleasant and helpful, particularly Gianmarco!He helped us greatly with our travel documents and nothing was too much trouble for him!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay only short taxi or bus or 20 min walk to centre of sienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The friendliest and most welcoming concierge - great value for money- comfortable rooms and only short taxi/ bus or uphill walk into centre of sienna Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Exceeds expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable small hotel. Well located just a short bus ride from the old city centre, has a convenient on-site car park beyond the pool area and efficient helpful reception staff. Rooms and common areas are nicely equipped, has effective a/c and double glazing on traffic side rooms keeps the noise down really well. Staff are friendly, breakfast is very good. There's a little Pizzeria serving excellent meals in the evening a few steps down the road near the roundabout. Excellent, very clean, comfortable and well run hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely interlude in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous walk to inner city. Truck hit pole instead of us on narrow road Confusion with bus s54. Not all on same route. Spent 1hour to return to spot we got on

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Pool great in the afternoon heat after exploring beautiful Tuscany Great place to base yourself in Tuscany

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small. Shower door set up meant no way to keep water from running out onto the main floor of the bathroom, so soaked bath mat was the result. Swimming pool was full of bugs. Really needed a pool attendant to clean it that day. If there had been a strainer on a pole, I'd have done it myself. It was pretty bad.

    The reception staff were very helpful and spoke English well. They let me store my luggage until the afternoon as I waited poolside under a wonderful umbrella on availability of my next lodging. They called the taxi for me and made me feel at ease and well taken care of. In room wifi was secure and worked well. Breakfast was very fresh and nicely laid out and staffed; clean. Bed very firm (I like a hard mattress) Pool area was pretty and nice to listen to all the birds chattering in the trees.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Free parking, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room , Basic breakfast (in Italy people just don't have the whole lot. A coffee and a pastry, maybe some fruit or joghurt is all they need, which was fine with us.

    Free parking, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have no room facilities. The coffee is terrible. The room very very small and noisy.

    Location is perfect. Very good the public transport. The bus stop is closed to the hotel. The tickets you can buy near the bus stop. It was very comfortable! Very good parking too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Great little hotel, wonderful location and friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fantastic. Just a short shuttle into Siena. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value for the money. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Clean hotel but very hard beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really hard and we could feel the springs. We also had a room with window on the road which was very noisy at night so would definitely recommend getting a room with view on the swimming pool area.

    Great balcony and pool area. Staff were really nice. The room was clean and big and the bathroom really nice and spacious. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Good standard hotel with easy walk to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a little basic

    Good location for walking into the old city. Hotel looks a little dated but staff were great as was the breakfast. Pool was not open when we arrived which was a shame as weather was very warm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    Decent hotel, poor location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is located near an extremely busy ring road with heavy vehicle traffic, not in the old centre of Siena. True, it's my fault that I didn't check Google Street View beforehand, but I don't understand the number of very positive reviews for this hotel, unless they were all from people with hearing problems or from those who were fortunate enough to get rooms facing the garden. We got a first floor room overlooking the road and couldn't stand the noise levels for more than one night (see above). The third floor is better, but still noisy - garden rooms might be a different story. I don't want to be unfair here - essentially, this would be a decent enough hotel were it not for their road-facing rooms, but if they want people to spend the night there, they need to do something about the noise levels (soundproofing, better windows). In addition, if you don't have a car and want to walk to and from the town, the road to the centre can be quite dangerous.

    Within walking distance (20 minutes) to the main sights and 20m from a bus stop with links to the town and train station. Breakfast was OK, the bathroom was nice and the room was clean. Staff were helpful and did try to accomodate us when we asked to change our rooms (we had a first floor room overlooking the road and the noise level was unacceptable) but they were fully booked so we could only get a third floor room on the same side, which was somewhat better, but still noisy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Staff were friendly & service was very good, there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room & the bar had limited stock.

    Staff were friendly & service was very good, there was a good choice for breakfast. Bed was massive with spotless linen & towels were changed daily. Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked that it was out of the city walls, but made a little more challenging to get to places without a car. Staff were very helpful, and was so excited when my luggage turned up from the airport while staying here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Friendly and clean
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not allowed to bring my dog into the breakfast room, although the Hotel was advertised as pet friendly. My dog can not be let alone, so I had to skip breakfast.

    Very friendly staff Clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.6
    No too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad breakfast- no eggs, no toaster, poor choice of food

    Very helpful staff, large and clean room and bathroom, bus 54 getting quickly to the city center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Value for money in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is excellent when driving with location just beside the motorway, free guarded parking, only 15 minutes walk from Piazza Campo. Very good breakfast, exellent wifi and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.3
    Very nice lady at the reception during the check-in (she...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guy at the reception during the check-out, room could be cleaner.

    Very nice lady at the reception during the check-in (she provided a lot of information).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Nice hotel, lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    The hotel is great, the location also, they have free parking what is good in this city and the downtown only 10mins by bus /as you can't go into by car/ The saff is nice and friendly, the breakfast delicious, the room is cosy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location to access Sienna and Florence using public transportation. Staff was very helpful, room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    brilliant after a drive of 259 miles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    in a good place for seeing Siena just a 20 minute walk up the hill or catch a bus outside the hotel and lovely garden to relax in after walking the old town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Great alternative to staying in the centre only a short walk or a bus ride away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous staff..printed off my return boarding passes as a courtesy...much appreciated. A great alternative to being in the centre of Siena with only a short walk or a frequent bus ride away at a fraction of the cost. higly recommended

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel La Colonna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: