Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore 3 stars

Strada Statale 80 Km 6, 159, 67100 LʼAquila, Italy

#1 of 13 hotels in LʼAquila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, Excellent on site restaurant, my default place...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms in the newer building are more suited for couples (decor wise)

    Nice hotel, Excellent on site restaurant, my default place to go when visiting Laquila

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room, solid restaurant and great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit far from the city center

    Had a very enjoyable two night stay there. Lovely room, solid restaurant and great breakfast, as well as friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean comfy and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage for hotel could be a little better

    Beds very comfy. Restaurant at the property very good. We were there on a Friday night , the restaurant is large and it was packed with locals, which is always a good sign.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel (clean and comfortable) with a great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't fault this place. It was excellent. In terms of location, you'd need a car or locals that can drive you to get around L'Aquila.

    Where do I start? Staff were fantastic. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety to choose from. In-house restaurant was excellent. Rooms were very clean and bedding very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Good stay for little money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms a little too small.

    Room and bathroom are OK. Nothing special, but certainly clean. The restaurant inside the hotel was excellent. It offers typical Italian food at high quality, and really fair price. I had a great dinner. Good Italian-style breakfast, which is not really my way of having breakfast though...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    This was a return visit which was thoroughly enjoyed.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was clean and comfortable with excellent parking. The restaurant is excellent and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff Terrific breakfast Fabulous value Close to national park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel with an amazing restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large clean rooms. Nice outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Excellent restaurant. Great staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Bright pleasant modern accommodation but needs some landscaping and tidying up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unkempt surroundings of the hotel. No help with luggage to first floor

    Pleasant modern room with balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent on all counts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent on all counts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    would definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a bit small for four persons..

    breakfast very good, dinner was awesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    優雅氣質
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Chef!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Top value overnight stay with most pleasant and helpful staff. I would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and jacuzzi were freezing!

    Spacious, comfortable, very well appointed room. Good value and well cooked food especially good piZa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Excellent kitchen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent kitchen!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel , great rooms in a small complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent room and on site restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was overtly sweet and unhealthy. Fresh fruit would have been much appreciated as would toast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    A relaxing and enjoyable stay in an efficiently run excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was exactly as we expected.

    The excellent restaurant attached to the hotel. The presence of a swimming pool and easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great food in L'Aquila
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities, food, space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Highly Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't stay longer.

    Great staff. So friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    The best hotel in L'Aquila!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Broken doors Noisy dogs in the surroundings

    Very friendly staff Location Privacy Comfort

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is a bit out of the city of L'Aquila,but it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is a bit out of the city of L'Aquila,but it has many positive points which make it worth to spend your stay here First of all,the staff is very friendly and helpful Because they could not provide us twin beds,they gave us a free upgraded room on top without a surcharge ! The hotel is very quiet,so it is pefect for late riser. In the room you will find everything you should need,like ac,fridge with free water,coffeemachine ,hairdryer etc. A plus are the free provided sky programs on tv. The mattress is perfect,not to soft and not to hard The biggest plus is the breakfast buffet You will find everything what you should love to eat in the morning They offer the best cooked ham,that i ever ate Fresh strawberries and other delicious fruits are also offered They also have a big restaurant where they cook delicious regional cuisine For my part,i will surely come back to this hotel,when i visit L'Aquila again

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    The hotel was very good, the staff very helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very good, the staff very helpful and polite. The breakfast was very good but the the top point of this hotel is dinner. It is super! I fully recommend it

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic staff service and brilliant restaurant food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first impressions from the road side of the establishment .. totally unfounded as you checked in.

    Fantastic staff service and brilliant restaurant food. Brilliant for pets and very welcoming .. What a chameleon from the first thoughts!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    * The most amazing breakfast we had on our whole trip to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    * Don't count on wifi, even though you are kindly given login codes for 3 devices (which is a pretty good service, had the wifi worked) * The beds were a bit hard, but we noticed that in almost all Italian accommodations (Italian standard...?) * Unfortunately, the once beautiful L'Aquila-town centre is still in ruines * If you're being picky, the lounge could have a bigger selection of drinks (e.g. more cocktails & whisky's)

    * The most amazing breakfast we had on our whole trip to Italy * The restaurant serves a large choice of very decent meals * Very kind and helpful personnel. Almost all of them spoke English (and pretty good at that) * Free digestifs after dinner * We received a small discount when checking out, just because the guy behind the desk was kind * The same guy also offered us a free anti-pasta out of the blue (or was it perhaps because he had forgotten our drink order the night before...? Anyway, nice gesture) * Only 20 minutes to Fonte Cerreto (by car), where the cable car to Campo Imperatore is located

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff where very good and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My mixed grill and salad at the hotel's restaurant was not fresh, nor appetizing. Did not eat it all, and was not in the mood to complain.

    The staff where very good and polite. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.6
    Really friendly helpful staff.
    • Couple

    Really friendly helpful staff. We ate in each evening and the food was absolutely wonderful and such amazing value for money. The restaurant was full of locals every night which is always a very positive sign. The WiFi was a little dodgy and, as we were there in mid-July we did find it quite hot at night but, overall thought the hotel was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    A very generous sense of hospitality, with all questions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about.

    A very generous sense of hospitality, with all questions well answered, free after-dinner liqueurs, and a most obliging host and family.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Huge room, fantastic food in the restaurant and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had trouble finding hotel due to wrong address from booking.com so was bit stressed. Hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of wine and food although no fault of theirs, nice touch

    Huge room, fantastic food in the restaurant and good selection. Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    9.6
    The staff at this place are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is long way out of town so you need to travel everywhere.

    The staff at this place are wonderful. Service was incredible. So helpful. And they gave us a bottle of wine when we left as a gift. Our car would not start and they helped get it going. Their English was poor but their friendliness and attitude made everything great fun.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    10
    very accommodating-excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very accommodating-excellent value

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful staff. Ideal for visiting L'Aquila.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly atmosphere and helpful staff.
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly atmosphere and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    The bed was comfortable - not hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was comfortable - not hard. The air conditioner worked well. Breakfast omelet was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly, the room was beautiful and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly, the room was beautiful and the restaurant had absolutely amazing food.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful place and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful place and comfortable.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: