Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Culla Del Lago 3 stars

Via Spiaggia Del Lago 38, 00040 Castel Gandolfo, Italy

#1 of 5 hotels in Castel Gandolfo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 62 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    They couldn't have done more to make me feel welcome. They looked after me as a single traveller and were sensitive to the fact that I had just lost my partner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were welcomed with a cold drink on the terrace, exactly what we needed after a long hot day travelling. The food was very good and we sat on the terrace overlooking the lake for dinner and breakfast. Perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the curves in the access road to the hotel is very sharp. I encourage the reader to consider that my only criticism is the sharpness of a curve in the access road.

    I am struggling to find words that fully describe the positive experience we had at Culla. Initially, Castel Gandolfo is a beautifully picturesque town which is just a forty minute train ride from Rome. The town clings to a mountain and tumbles down to the waters edge on the southern part of Lake Albano. A more beautiful setting is difficult to imagine. The hotel is a scrupulously and tastefully maintained gem. Rooms, a restaurant and bar, lovely gardens which (in the right weather) serve as an unimaginably beautiful setting for meals, combine to create an experience which should not be missed. While the edificio is traditional, no expense has been spared in providing the most modern conveniences. Parking is secure and ample. Staff is professional and committed to the highest standards. We would seek to return to this superb hotel as it is our most memorable experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Niente!

    Very helpful owner and staff. They booked an excellent restaurant and taxis for us and served breakfast on the terrace at 7.30 on Sunday morning. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Excellent, quiet location right by the lake with great views of Castel Gondolfo. Very secure as well. We recommend Il Ristorante Bucci in Castel Gondolfo with its terrace overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are a bit stiff, but not a deal breaker. This is a lovely hotel.

    Wonderful, smaller hotel run by a multigenerational family. Rooms are clean, quaint and cozy. Castel Gandolfo is a beautiful place, and Hotel La Culla Del Lago allows you to admire its beauty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is magic! A breathtaking lakeview from the terrace!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, difficult to communicate with the staff in English

    Quiet location, nice view, perfect for jogging around the lake

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little far from city center

    Nice place, quiet with beautiful view. Can drop off and pick up at the station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tired

    Quiet. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and friendly people, perfect location with direct lake access, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice family run hotel, the oasis by the beautiful lake. And where people listen to you and do their best to make your stay perfect!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful small family Hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very tranquil and the view across the ever changing lake to Castel Gandolfo . Magic. I opened the shutters on my window and below the terrace where we ate- complete with wisteria in bloom- and the view across the lake to the ancient town on the hill opposite.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, all good

    The quality of the hotel at such a convenient location near Ciampino airport made it a very enjoyable experience. Enjoyed a 10k run around the lake!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's one of the nicest places we've ever stayed: the small lakeside hotel with the beautiful view for Albano lake and Castel Gondolfo. The ideal place for those who are tired from noisy and crowdy cities. And everything here is made with love: nice interiors, beautiful garden... The room is clean and the bed is comfortable, the breakfast is very good, there is a parking. This hotel looks so nice thanks to the tireless efforts of its owners who are always ready to help or advise.We were happy that we've found this place and stayed there!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super fresh scrambled eggs on toast. Wonderful staff ! Amazing views of lake from our room

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The location was fantastic right on the lake. You could swim in the lake from the bottom of the garden.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Every thing was beautiful: location, staff, breakfast, privet beach. Quit. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful setting, lovely gardens and incredible lakeside setting. Handy for Ciampino airport.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peace and calm by the lake yet close to the airport. Character and charm of property. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is showing its age and it is not within walking distance of dining options.

    The view was delightful and the staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The space and the gardens

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse Hotel La Culla Del Lago traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: