Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Dependance

Via Pesce 3 (Check-in at Via Mazzini 27), 22017 Menaggio, Italy

#4 of 5 B&Bs and Inns in Menaggio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cramped for five however you do not need to spend too long in it!

    Excellent location in a very pretty place. Menaggio is stunning with plenty to do and see. Book a boat as it is busy and the trips across the lake are to good too miss. Varenna is particularly nice. Great places to eat surround you and the hotel is at the centre of it all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was not comfortable.

    We stayed in a quadruple room with our 11 and 13 year old children. They had bunk beds and loved them. I had asked for parking when making the reservation and was very happy I did. When I arrived they showed me a video of how to get to the garage, very cleaver. We were very happy with the location of the hotel and didn't feel it was an inconvenience to go to the other building to check-in. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi was sometimes sketchy, staff didn't seem to care about it. There are two business together, La Dependence and Hotel Du Lac, no real lobby, no breakfast. A few hundred yards from the ferry landing.

    Parking was in a covered, gated garage, @ 12 Euro extra/per day but worth it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We book the room for 5 adults and 1 child. From the pictures in booking.com website, we expected to have separated room for the double bed and triplets. But we get together in one room, which was too small for 5 adults. It would be better to have a kettle in the room.

    The location of the hotel is superb, very close to the lake and the boat pier in walking distance. There are great restaurant nearby and yes the gelato. The parking was easy and the staff was very helpful to explain us how to park. He let us park our car longer after check out for us to visit the beauty of Lake Como. The room was nice with the view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have its own reception. Guest have to check in in DuLac hotel nearby (which was not a problem for us). At check in we were offered to take a lake view room in duLac at the same price, so we took it. The room was very nice! Every window had such a wonderful view! Even in bathroom. Staff was very cheerful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location in the town piazza! Central to everything and only a few minutes walk to the ferries! Menaggio is a perfect place to base yourself on Lake Como. A really beautiful and relaxing area!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, the hotel was perfect, clean etc.. the location (after going round) was the best location. The staff was great and the view was out of this world. Definitely will return, in fact already planning another trip

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a little difficulties finding the "entrance" - as it was writtin' that we should enter via (a street name) - which was at a reception at another hotel that managed the check in etc. - If this info had been said on the confirmation, that you should check in at hotel Du Lac, it would have been perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron and no tea or coffee making facility in the room.

    Breathtaking setting with the right balance. Not too crowded with tourists, yet with easy access to ferries and busses to reach other parts of Como. Lovely lakeside promanade to have lazy drinks n lunch or jusy walk along enjoying the view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.Big for 4 people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of wee in the bathroom

    Location, stunning view. Nice parquet floor and very comfortable bed. Spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu could have had a bit more variety

    Good location friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast limited

    Location and privat parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location close to Menaggio pier.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not many economical restaurant around the ones didn't have that many food options

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very great location!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful as check-in was at the Hotel Du Lac next door. Secure garage parking near by. Location was excellent for ferries.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice people, great location,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows!

    Perfect location and nice and quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a cramped room and bathroom

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel was ideal, set on the quayside and bordering a small piazza. The bedroom was clean and very spacious with a fantastic view over the piazza and the lake. The furnishings and fabrics were all very good quality. The bathroom was modern, spacious and clean with a large washbasin, wc, bidet and shower. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment. We stayed in the annex called La Dependence which has it's own entrance and elevator. The proprietor was very friendly and speaks English well.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find booking in place situated at Hotel du Lac due to tourists, traffic and parking difficulties, but once found we left our car in their private, 10 euros per night, parking and it was a breeze from then on.

    Great location, room was comfortable as expected

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not very inspiring for the money. Safe not working. Not cleaned under the bed.

    Location fantastic. Room was comfortable and quite spacious and we were very pleased with it.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fabulous location on Piazza Garibaldi, plenty of great restaurants, shops, & gelato. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was the friendly, professional and extremely helpful, early morning & late evenings.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast is extra and there's not much selection, but there's other restaurants. Wifi is very poor, Front desk service is a bit lacking.

    The location is a half block off the main piazza which abuts the lake. There's private locked parking included nearby,

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is perfect! And the room with bunk beds and a trundle bed plus the King size bed was perfect for our family of 5. And the price was good! We'll stay here again the next time we are visiting Lake Como.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit overpriced, but that's probably for the location and the overall popularity of Menaggio. In smaller towns up north, the price/quality ratio is better.

    Right in the center of Menaggio, which is one of the many lovely small towns on the lake. We've got a nice view over red roofs and the lake. The room is small, but comfortable and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problems with Wi-Fi connection

    Location, Staff

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location, great find

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, like a home away from home, great.will go back.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing and friendly host. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, good sized family room which was clean and in a quiet location

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: