Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Griglia

Località Sant'anna 1, 22010 Argegno, Italy

#3 of 20 hotels in Argegno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unimportant few things. It is not worth to talk about.

    Staff with rather limited English is friendly. Breakfast is not bad. Restaurant is excellent. Location is very good with private car and navigation system. Ambiance is half lake and half forest. Air is super clean with Alpine vision.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. Most evenings we had dinner in the hotel restaurant. All the dishes we ordered there were very tasty. Florentine steak and of course desserts are highly recommended. The hotel room itself was very spacious and more than sufficient. The cleanliness was very good and the room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were available every day. However, the location of the hotel is a bit remote and it is already a good distance on foot if you want to eat something down in the village.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot find one fault with Hotel La Griglia, other than we wished we had discovered it earlier. Excellent value for money. If you wish to experience true Italian hospitality with authentic Italian cuisine, then I highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely return!!

    What an amazing stay at Hotel La Griglia!! Arrived on a cold Winter's evening in February and were warmly greeted by our hosts,  Lenno and Bruna. Stayed in a charming suite, tastefully decorated with nice added touches such as a bowl of sweets, toothbrushes etc.. Very comfortable beds. Excellent hot showers with very good pressure. Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at their cozy inviting restaurant. I cannot say enough about the delicious meal we had. The food was absolutely outstanding!! My husband had the lamb cutlets and I chose the homemade pasta with rocket and mushrooms. Absolutely to die for!! Awoke in the morning and took a stroll outside by the idyllic old church next door and a lovely view of Argegno and Lake Como. Had a lovely breakfast with a good variety including yogurt, cereals, pastries, ham and local cheese.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hospitality was excellent. The restaurant and the dishes were amazing and different every day. The place was really relaxing. Excellent value for money choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance to travel to the property; half an hour by bus from Como San Giovanni train station, and a second, much later bus ride up into the hills to the hotel. An expensive taxi ride back to the train station two days later,, but otherwise a lovely place to stay.

    Gorgeous setting in the hills above Lake Como, spectacular views of the lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Small hotel in a lovely vila on a slope overlooking Agregno, easy access by car, plentiful parking, pleasant walk (steep though) to the town; spacious room by Italian standards, safety box, large bathroom (disabled compatible), good food, quiet; very helpful and friendly staff, wifi adequate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to communicate as the staff spoke very little English.

    The restaurant at the property was very convenient as it was quite far away from any of the lakeside villages.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality of La Griglia staff was excellent. We arrived during the siesta time but despite the kitchen being closed we were offered a salad and cold cuts prepared just for us. Apart from the fact that the food was delicious, the caring we received felt like we came to visit family. They were not speaking Englishmuch but were more than happy to help. Also despite the lack of air conditioning, the room felt pleasantly cool, better than in another hotel in Como with air conditioning present. We have very fond memories of La Griglia and we enjoyed a walk all the way down to the centre of Argegno through the footpath away from the main road, which took us about 20mins and offered pleasant views on the way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great! Location was quit high,but we liked that and it wasnt fare from Argegno Center, where was the ferry stop and possibilitie to reach other cities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was quite weak but free!

    Having a balcony was a delight in the evenings, to sit and catch the breeze. The breakfast was excellent in a lovely setting. Overall it was a wonderful value for what we got!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very friendly and competent. We had dinner at the restaurant with a view to the garden. The homemade pasta was delicious. The location is quiet, though it's quite close to the lakeside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you don't have a car, difficult to reach the place.

    It is amazing place. If you have a car it is excellent location far away from the tourist noise. Very polite stuff and good breakfast (you have to try their croissants at the morning). The facilities looks like new inside and the beautiful garden outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can watch the hosts speak English and not just Italian. Breakfast is poor and boring. I ordered a bottle of champagne to the room and at every stage of the application, the host does not specify it will require me 55 euros Just a crazy price and the exploitation of tourists in broad daylight. We left the hotel with a sense of exploitation and fraud !!!! pure shame .I will not go back to this hotel

    Very clean hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car parking lot is open to the elements (snow, wind, rain, cold...).

    The place was beautiful, could have been in a movie. The room was super comfortable, well kept, big and clean. There was a beautiful balcony with a view to the Alps. It was just a cozy, nice little hotel in a curvy road. The dinner and breakfast were very good! The shower was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some vegetables at the breakfast would be nice.

    Very clean. Not easy to reach (car needed), but location and views were great. Advise: At Argegno look for road sign to Schignano (small letters Sant'Anna). GPS could show you bad road.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the best accommodation I have ever try. Perfect staff. Cleen and tidy rooms.Beautifull place.Wonderfull sleeping and comfortly beds. Tasty breakfest.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable nights sleep after a lovely meal. The staff were helpful especially during our meal as they helped pick a good wine out. The breakfast wasn't overly special but as we were traveling around Italy, getting something simple didn't bother us. The view from our room and from the hotel looked lovely - even on an overcast day! Can't imagine how beautiful it would have been in glorious sunshine!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay at this property was most enjoyable and we could not find any fault. The property was charming and very well maintained. There was many thoughtful touches such as towel heating racks, comfortable bed, beautiful hot shower, crisp linen and all incredibly clean, The rooms were decorated beautifully and very clean. There was a reading room with fire place that we got to enjoy as the weather was bad and the staff went out of their way to ensure the fire was maintained. We had to depart early, prior to breakfast commencing and the owners went out of their way to prepare a packed breakfast for us. Nothing was a problem. We would have expected to pay more for this level of stay, outstanding value for money. A beautiful Italian experience and we will be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is reliant on you having your own transport ,however as we found the owner very kindly gave us a lift to our hotel and from as there no public transport available on a Sunday .The breakfast was quite limited and always the same .

    The views of the lake were good if somewhat limited ,it had an Alpine feel.The restaurant which luckily for us was within the hotel served very good food .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and it's surroundings were more attractive than in the photos. The bedroom we had was beautiful, not huge and maybe a little dark, but the painting of the walls and the furniture, the view from our balcony were stunning. And the food was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we can think of.

    A lovely setting in the hills above lake Como with a beautiful serene garden to unwind in over a drink after a busy day at the Lake. The room we had was gorgeous with a small balcony overlooking a church and Lake Como in the distance. The staff had limited English but were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were great and dinner was equally good. The location is high in the hills but you can walk to Argegno down a steep path in just 30 minutes. Walking back requires a degree of fitness but a bus runs occasionally and drops you at the hotel entrance if you don't want to walk back. You need a car if you are staying here. Overall we had a great experience and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated above the lake, though there's a nice walk down the hill to get to it. However, one needs a car to get back!

    Very good breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Beautiful view from the hotel grounds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night, but nevertheless they helped my boyfriend to arrange a birthday wine, cake with candle and some snacks for in our room at 00:00! Beautiful view and surrounding.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    make sure your sat nav does not take you down a path, the road is a relatively normal road all the way to the hotel, not too far from the lake shore,

    Lovely quiet location, great regional cuisine restaurant, great room,great view of lake from room balcony (had superior room)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a good hotel for getting away to a peaceful spot. It would be easier for sightseeing to be closer to the lake rather than here. One fellow, Lenno, was able to speak English to give us ideas on how to get around the area. The other staff, while friendly, spoke no English.

    This hotel was a comfortable place 10 minutes up the hill from Argegno which is on the lakeside of Lake Como. There was a view down the canyon to the lake from across at the local church. It is very quiet and has a beautiful garden. Our room was very clean, there was a lift to get luggage up to the room. There was lots of parking - and it is best to have a car to get there as the bus that goes by there is infrequent. Breakfast was good - cold meats, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereals, croissants, and juices and fruits. Hours for breakfast were only from 8:30 - 10. The hotel has a large restaurant- so you could have eaten there. It was slightly noisy into the evening as it seemed to be a busy restaurant. Staff were efficient and friendly, but only one fellow spoke any English.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I can't think of anything

    La Griglia is located up a very beautiful valley and away from the main road up the west side of the lake. It was very peaceful. Leon and Lisa were extremely gracious host/hostess and super helpful in finding my way around the lake.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not great

    The location was great as there was a path leading straight from the hotel to the village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location and perfect view from our balcony. We traveled with our dog and there was no problem with that. Good parking and very nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Too much noise from vehicles going to the hotel at the back

    Fantasy food, wine and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, beauty view,good for relax

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wiev

    The quiet and place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very poor. They should add couple of cheese some tomato, cucumber...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best to get there by car.

    Nice garden, great views including view from balcony, rustic interior very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, quality, and service, clean rooms :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was not so good

    Friendly and helpful owner

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals quite expensive Better to go in the high season

    Lovely little hotel just out of the way of the main areas so nice and quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way

    Great service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean room, modern bathroom and god beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome and excellent service. Terrific meal. Value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opening times limited. Noise corner with people tooting all night. Woman shouting in corridor in middle of the night.

    Clean & nice location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That at 5 in the morning the garbage truck arrived and made a lot of noise

    The restaurant, the view, the room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses were a bit hard

    Food, service, friendly, very clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv without basic programs, expensive and extraordinary restaurant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peace and tranquility of the hillside setting. Beauty of the surroundings. Individualistic classic decour of the hotel. The manager/owner Lino was very welcoming and helpful. The evening meal was absolutely delicious.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - WiFi is a bit chaotic and not stable; - Breakfast is not what you are accustomed in any network hotel, but good enough;

    - Amazing view outside the room; - It was not a high season and adminstrator (or maybe the owner) allowed us to leave during the day whenever we want; - Very authentic hotel; - There were freshly baked brioches at breakfast;

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast is not good. Difficult with Navigation system to reach the hotel.we end upwith a dead end around 1 KM before the hotel. More number sign board need to be there in road side from argegno . There should be a sign board near via Pizzo Gordona and Via schignano Junction.

    Room cleanliness ,Parking and friendliness with staff .

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In hotel description was written available car hire, but is not :( and beds are very uncomfortable :(

    View was amazing, good breakfast, helpful staff :)

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to find in the foothills above Lake Como (use your GPS), this family run small hotel had so much old world charm. We were impressed with how clean and comfortable the facilties were and the restaurant, with their home made meals, just added to the ambiance of this place. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The long narrow road which was very bendy but worth it

    Wonderful find in the mountains so friendly staff. Food wonderful best I've ever had. Tortellini with mushrooms and truffle. Lovely rooms with balconies overlooking mountains. Would love to go back

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decorations were beautiful, different paint effects in the public areas were unique and colorful. The setting was lovely though the bus service was limited. The food and service at the restaurant were wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just loved the atmosphere and the location and the restaurant was perfect. Just be careful though - if you walk down the hill to argegno - this is one serious hill. Maybe a half hour walk but it is probably the steepest incline I've ever seen. Quite an enjoyable walk if you like that kind of thing. It is not what you'd call an easy stroll though.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staffs limited capability to speak English language.

    Good location with a great clima, which is much cooler than down at the lake. Garden is a big plus. Very cozy. In case somebody likes the church bells Glockenspiel on the weekend at 8am - that's the place to be. It sounds lovely.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel looked a bit too quiet in the evening, so we drove downhill into Argegno itself for dinner, which was much nicer (but very busy, difficult to find parking space).

    Comfortable beds, good parking which was locked up during the night. Nice breakfast area. Good photo opportunities if the weather is nice.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place could have been signposted better for easier finding from the main road.

    Views, balcony, size of the room and bathroom, parking space, lift, hotel restaurant. Well recommended

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    a very nice hotel ,with very friendly staff would go back in a flash, could not fault superb

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wi-fi

    lake location

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very good restaurant. Quiet location. Very good breakfast with eggs, cheese, salami, yogurt and sweets.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful, Great breakfast, quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    All

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over priced food not a overly convenient location , slightly isolated

    Clean and friendly service and spacious rooms picturesque location

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a little cold.

    Very cosy and romantic. Most helpful staff and owner. Best food we have tasted in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms are traditional, not very comfortable.

    Mountainview, very good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb evening meal

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The environment, the excellent food & drinks and customer oriented personnel

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food. Quiet location Large comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff amazing location excellent authentic food,everything was fabulous

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi a bit unreliable in our room

    Location, comfort, food

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We love it!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable bed, rain shower in the bath, very clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing restaurant ! Amazing restaurant ! Amazing restaurant ! Super clean !

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse La Griglia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: