Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Locanda Del Notaio 4 stars

Piano Delle Noci 42, 22020 Pellio Inferiore, Italy

#2 of 2 hotels in Pellio Inferiore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only small issue was that our road facing room was quite noisy early in the morning (mid week) when the road was busy with traffic. Kindly, ear plugs had been provided and these were very useful!

    The Locanda is in a perfect location between Lakes Como and Lugano. It’s surrounded by stunning gardens. Erica, Davide and their staff looked after us so well. Our room was spacious and character fully furnished. We loved the huge bathroom! Better than the room though was the incredible Michelin starred food created and prepared by Edoardo and his team. Go for the full tasting menu and their wine suggestions if you want the full experience! It’s definitely a great dining destination, but also the perfect base for a walking and lake based holiday. We loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub/shower without curtains is always a little annoying to use.

    Very Friendly staff, comfy beds and a big bathroom. Wish we could have gone to the restaurant too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    La Locanda del Notaio is an excellent little gem near both Como and Lugano lakes. With a breathtaking Michelin star restaurant, a friendly staff and great rooms, it certainly is a place we will be going back to. Highly recommended for an amazing experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was amazing, was a little cold too. We had the air conditioner available for all the time, but I prefer a good duvet instead rugs.

    The room was very clean and the bathroom was just amazing! The breakfast was excepcional amazing, everything was super tasty!! We also tried the Michelin restaurant and everything was good, everyone should try it, at least once in a lifetime. You need car to get there but although the road as a lot of curves and counter-curves, the place worth it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of social area, only one chair in the room and would of liked a stand in shower

    Ambiance and location along with an excellent kitchen, made for a quality relaxing weekend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower apart from an over the bath one. Not a huge issue but first time I have had this in many years.

    Amazing hotel, staff and location. Although not on the lake you can enjoy first class panoramic views very close to the hotel. The restaurant is amazing - we did the 7 course taster menu and were blown away with the quality. Breakfast was traditional European but there was more than enough. We really enjoyed the ambience of the breakfast room and very personal service. The Gardens and surrounds are as well kept as anywhere else I have stayed! Loved it and would recommend this place for a Lake Como trip as long as you have a car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access by road is difficult but worth the drive. Be prepared for very narrow roads .

    Magnificent setting in the mountains. But access is tricky up narrow winding road. The staff are very welcoming and the food is fine dining. Delicious but expensive. The hotel is set in wonderful extensive gardens complete with a large pond and best kept pristine lawns we had ever seen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean, nice and big. The view was beautiful on their nice garden. We had dinner at the restaurant, it was a wonderful dinner! The services are really good and we would like to come back :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proper reading lights would help, but here it is in very good company, as most hotels either don't provide any, or bad ones. Here at least on could read in bed.

    Very nice location in the hills above Lake Como and Lugano. It is set in its own large garden. Dinner is excellent and breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard bed, not comfortable. The road from Lugano to the hotel is a nightmare. Road from lake Como is a little bit better. Cows with bells on next door, quite annoying in the morning when you're trying to sleep in.

    The staff was lovely and very helpful. Food in the restaurant was amazing and price was ok considering it's a Michelin star restaurant. It's in a lovely area. Hotel overall was nice and clean and the garden was beautiful. We were allowed to stay with a dog.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden is outstanding, the staff were beyond helpful and friendly - it was a lovely stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special place. Garden. Restaurant. Staff hospitality. Environment. Old-fashion style. High level treatment in everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning building and exceptional cuisine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room did not have a stand-up shower. No air conditioning.

    Great location, lovely hotel grounds, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room is oldish, boring tv stations.

    The area around the hotel. Stuff is very friendly and very much helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast; location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I should have stayed longer :D

    It was just all perfect. I liked the garden, breakfast was super good too. And everything quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread quality, internet connection,

    Clean, big bathroom, real coffee, nice decoration and outdoors.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything!

    Everything was top level quality. It's a perfect place for a relaxing getaway.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts were a little stingy with their breakfast, only one boiled egg per guest and one slice of cheese and not a lot of bread. There were cakes and other things but it would be nice if they put more eggs and cheese and bread on the table

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need a full shower in the bathrooms not just a head over a bath. Beds very hard.

    Restaurant wonderful and would rate a 10 out of 10. Garden lovely and the countryside gorgeous. Drive in from Switzerland side bit hairy but fabulous from Italian side.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great restaurant at this recenly refurbished hotel up in the hills If you like to be a little bit away from the crowds this hotel is for you The staff are very friendly helpful and attentive, the facilities are great with large gardens

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the way to the hotel (specially the one coming from Lugano) is an adventure, even for an experienced driver: many serpentines, very steep, extremely narrow. The way coming from Italy (Argegno) is slightly better.

    the room was clean, generously big, nice wood furniture the breakfast was good except the brads which were hard and not fresh

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    at least small bar

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road, far from Lugano(13km)

    The area, cleanliness, staff

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    generaly we liked everything.Especialy ,miss Selena was very helpful and kind.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: