Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Locanda Delle Donne Monache 4 stars

Via Carlo Mazzei 4, 85046 Maratea, Italy

#2 of 9 hotels in Maratea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 277 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very courteous and professional. Beautiful hotel and surroundings. Great service, friendly and helpful staff and owners. Great location. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Faultless fabulous family run boutique hotel. Where we spent a memorable honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel was wonderful. The location, the facilities, the breakfast, the staff, the hotel also has an arrangement with the best secluded beach/ cove in the area where the swimming is fabulous

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was tasty, though the menu was rather limited.

    Real class and a sense of history. The view of the hills from the pool and bar were stunning. Great bed. WiFi was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    This is a quality accommodation with beautiful and stylish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a quality accommodation with beautiful and stylish decoration/art all over the place. The people are very kind too. Definitely we like to come back here, also because Maratea and the area are beautiful and pretty relaxed, much unlike the very touristic area of the Amalfi region.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent quality character hotel in quaint village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Meant has suggestion not criticism - wifi is very slow

    Character property within the quaint village of Maratea. Large room with balcony overlooking the village. Secure parking, nice restaurant, courtyard & swimming pool. Whole décor of property exudes a personal touch & adds to the quality ambience of property

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Authentic Italian: romantic and delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, attention to detail and exceptional staff made for a dream getaway. The hotel is beautiful, food is incredible (especially the pasta), wine is free flowing, poolside is quiet and every quarter of an hour you are serenaded by church bells that are the only mark of any time passing at all. The town of Maratea is small and very authentic with some excellent restaurants (particularly ‘the pearl’) and an amazing deli which serves cheese and salami platters late into the evening (called ‘host’). Not a tourist destination but a traditional Italian secret with romantic vistas and quiet alleys.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous views and location, wonderful facilities, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous views and location, wonderful facilities, lovely staff, very comfortable room and bed (although the shower was surprisingly small and old fashioned....but hey, it worked!), free secure car parking, and a truly fantastic bonus was the free shuttle bus to Il Mirto beach, where we were given free lounge beds and umbrellas. The water was stunningly beautiful. I would recommend this hotel 100% as a special treat and somewhere to go if you want peace, relaxation and a bit of romance. I definitely hope to go back one day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Very nice location, beautiful pool and nice staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location, beautiful pool and nice staff. Beds were a bit too hard for me Andata the bathroom shower very narrow, considering the price . But overall very good experience Wi-Fi is patchy and some Tv channels not always reachable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and wonderful agreement by the hotel with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit too small, but had a window where you could see the town while showering. Priceless!

    Friendly staff and wonderful agreement by the hotel with a local solarium (Il Mirto) that made it very special. Beautiful location in a charming village

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing missing from this hotel is a bit of a lack of atmosphere. The bar/restaurant and outdoor area is clean, comfortable and well designed. It would have been nice to hear some quiet background music to set the mood during aperitivo time.

    An absolutely wonderful room for our 3 night stay. We were upgraded to a bigger superior room and it was beautiful and spotless. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren, even though it is quite small. This just added to the appeal of the hotel. Nothing to say about the pool area other than I have seen nothing as good anywhere else on my travels. The free transfer and lido entry is an absolute bonus. The lido chosen by the hotel is fantastic and has a great swimming area. It's called Il Mirto if you want to look it up. We didn't eat at the hotel, choosing to use the local restaurants instead, which were impressive and very reasonable. You also get to see a bit of village life too, which I love.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    A lovely characterful hotel in a great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location as we had a room with a terrace and a great view of Maratea. Staff very helpful and accommodating (even arrived to treats for our dog!). The restaurant is excellent, very good food and a great choice and the head waiter (can't remember his name) is very professional and lovely with it. The hotel is characterful and quirky being an ex convent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony because of the style of the building is like a walled compound , had to stand up to see out. Unfortunately it is the style.

    Beautiful views not near beach but beach is volcanic so not an issue for us. Dinner was excellent and staff very helpful . Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    An excellent spot from which to discover Maratea's delights. Remember to visit Cristo Redentore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom area was tight but it's an old building that has been upgraded, so this was not unexpected.

    Wonderful hotel overlooking Maratea. Pool area was very relaxing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Really lovely small hotel in this charming hillside town - the pool is an added plus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My partner didn't love the mattress, although I didn't have any complaint about it.

    The hotel has an excellent location and the pool overlooking the town is a lovely backdrop to breakfast and coffee. I would stay again on any future trip to Maratea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Great mid way point between Positano and Sicily. We felt well taken care of for our one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was not heated - what appeared to be a spa was also cold. It would have been nice to be able to spend some time in the pool.

    This property is a beautiful hotel with amazing views. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating and the breakfast offering was very good. We also ate dinner here and enjoyed the food very much. Although Maratea did not offer much to see or do, it was an excellent mid-way stop for our travel between Positano and Sicily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Great location in the Storico close to main strip with bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the Storico close to main strip with bus to the train station and Porto. Also has agreement with private beach, providing free shuttle to access. Beautiful property, great breakfast and fresh barista made coffee to order. Restaurant well priced, great service and lovely food. They found out it was my wife's birthday and gave us free seafood appetiser, free proseco and baked my wife a small cake for one. When we got back to our room they also left us a birthday card and treats. Owners at front desk always friendly, ask how they can help and offer plenty of tips and info.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Very accommodating staff; quaint former convent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned bathroom. No curtain in the bathroom; any one could see if they walked past when we had the light on (had to hang my beach towel up for privacy).

    We had to leave our visit early; we’re sooooo grateful to the hotel staff who were very accommodating. The swimming pool area was lovely, with a lovely view and beautiful church. The bar/restaurant is also adjacent. The hotel is a former convent and feels unique.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Stunning views in an elegant setting
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was mediocre.

    Beautiful location and elegantly furnished with a stunning pool and seating area. Sited above the town which is gained by stairs to narrow picturesque streets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Maratea with beautiful setting and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is beautifully kept and the restaurant is very nice. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic for walking into the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    really lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pool was to cold

    fantatstic restaraunt i had the best fish meal i have ever had here very well priced in a butifull locatio, great staff loved this place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Poor hotel ! Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not worth the money !!!! They gave me a room with no views , dark and it was just horrible . I had to change room to a suite !! Of course I payed for it !! 325 euros , by the way the price for the dark room in the basement and with no views (. Just a wall ) was 225 euros . Breakfast is very poor !!

    The swiming pool was okay and the location is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Quiet stylish boutique hotel absolutely in keeping with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some comfortable loungers in the terrace of our room. It was a lovely terrace but just had 2 straight backed dining seats.

    Quiet stylish boutique hotel absolutely in keeping with local area. Very peaceful. However not for you if you want to be on the beach. A 15 minute drive to beaches.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic views. Great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not the hotels fault but there are a lot of steps and steep slopes which we are not used to as live in a very flat area! Got us fitter though!!

    Lovely position, short walk down some steps to the centre of the village. Great views over the valley

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Gorgeous hotel. Amazing attention to detail throughout, with beautiful and differing décor in every area. Our room was spotlessly clean and had lovely views over Maratea and the mountain and the pool and outdoor seating area is lovely for peace and quiet and more amazing views. Great bar service by the pool and really good breakfast, available until late. Staff are always on call and nothing is too much trouble. The free beach pass is at a beautiful terrace solarium at La Secca, which was an excellent lido with great food and an amazing entrance into the sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel & town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and many stairs, so it doesn't suit older and unfit people if you are on lower floors, also the cute town is downhill.

    The restaurant was great and the service terrific

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and unique place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our tiny balcony could have had two chairs.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The athmosphere in the hotel is peaceful and luxorious and the interior unique and beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and contained much variety, also muesli, fresh fruit and good bread.And above all the swimming pool and garden around it was georgeus!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.4
    The view and it was an easy walk to Maratea
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were miserable; the property wasn't comfortable; Maratea itself is very small and not interesting

    The view and it was an easy walk to Maratea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Magical Maratea - quiet, peaceful and very beautiful - Bellissimo .......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    A very relaxing and fabulous 4 days at LLDDM. The staff were all great and helped with any information we needed. We were upgraded to a lovely room with an amazingingly beautiful view overlooking the old town and magical mountains. A walk up to the Cristo is a must and takes about an hr - a little longer stopping to take pics of the breathtaking views. Lots of lovely wildflowers were in bloom so springtime was a great time to visit. We took the other track back to the town via an old church and a cool shady forested walk - if didn't seem to have been used regularly but we managed to find our way down assisted by a map of Maratea which we obtained from the Information at the Municipo in the Piazza when we arrived. We had dinner at the hotel on our last night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the rapport we had with Daniello who helped us with our selection from the menu. Breakfast was beautiful on the terrace and a wonderful selection from which to choose. We had to rely on help from the staff with taxis as we travelled to Maratea by train but nothing was too much trouble for them to arrange. Our taxis to and from the stazione were very much appreciated. Once at the hotel, it was very easy to navigate around the town using the steps and alley ways so was perfectly manageable for us being without a vehicle. A certain level of fitness is recommended though as the terrain in MARATEA is very steep but very interesting. Loved being at LLDDM and we were sad to leave.....a very memorable stay and the church bells chiming a delight day and night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    An excellent choice for a relaxing break in an historic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Our room was a bit hot for us on the first few nights due to hot pipes to the switched off radiators. However, this was soon remedied.

    The hotel is based in a former convent with plenty of character and within easy walking distance of the centre of Maratea with its choice of restaurants and shops. We immediately felt at home in our spotless "Deluxe Double Room" which had a lovely terrace with views over the town. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts and using the swimming pool. The proprietors and staff were very friendly and helpful. An unexpected bonus was that our visit coincided with the festival of San Biagio, Maratea's patron saint.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    A spectacular monastery and swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their beach wasn't open and no indication in their info that it wouldn't be open until May 21. I think I might have booked elsewhere had I known that. But I'm glad to have stayed there anyway. I don't think the rooms are air conditioned. We left the windows open but there were mosquitos. In the summer it could be a problem.

    It's gorgeous if you get a deluxe room. You do need to call (as they ask) as you approach if you are driving. You can't stop in front, so the staff needs to be there to unload and move the car to their lot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    A beautiful property with courteous and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and views were exceptional. The pool and restaurant were great and the staff went to a lot of trouble to meet our needs as vegans for both breakfast and dinner. The property is an old convent beautifully restored. If you are going to Maratea this the place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Good place, fine food and Very Nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place, fine food and Very Nice people.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Lovely setting, helpful staff, beautiful views and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting, helpful staff, beautiful views and pool. Great location, walking distance to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Idyllic view and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small

    Idyllic view and location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location, beautiful property, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect

    Everything the location is perfect the terrace with swimming pool is marvellous

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The staff very helpful and fantastic location, Maratea is worth 2- 3 day visit

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful village. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!this

    Proximity to village and walks in the hills.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Friendly welcome, efficient service, pretty decor -very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely comfortable room with private balcony overlooking the historic town Super big comfy bed Bath -tub ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    beautiful hotel in quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    beautiful hotel in quiet location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in an old atmospheric, friendly old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , hotel beach, atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous pool and spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous pool and spotlessly clean. Great staff wish we could have stayed longer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    weather

    Beautiful place filled with character.Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Very special hotel in a beautiful location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold at night even though it was May.

    Very special. Beautiful restauración of the building. Location is the best in Maratea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    Although staff tried to be helpful the overall experience was poor and would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp smell in room Horrible bathroom Dinner exoensive and poor quality

    Pool good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.6
    Extremely expensive for the service provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was not friendly and ruined everything that was good

    The pool area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    A delightful stay in the south of Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The location was exquisite and the staff delightful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    The restaurant at the hotel is the best in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant at the hotel is the best in the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Restaurant, Pool, nice building, valet parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room

    Restaurant, Pool, nice building, valet parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    It's a beautifull hotel located in one of my favourite places in Italy. Beautiful and relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything from the private balcony with a beautiful mountain view to the tasty groumer dinner by the beautiful blue lit swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing hotel, well equipped, excellent location and probably the best choice in Maratea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerated broccoli served with cooked main course in the restaurant.

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    nice place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly staff - excellent food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Very special place. Service was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    The site and building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The site and building. Nice little swimming pool. Good views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Relaxed feel and decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor toiletries, not even tissues in the room. Shower not very modern.

    Relaxed feel and decor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    The free shuttle service to the beautiful beach resort they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pity the hotel had no sea view but mountains behind were spectacular

    The free shuttle service to the beautiful beach resort they selected was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The service, style, facilities, location all absolutely to perfection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Quiet, beautiful location, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, beautiful location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel to rest in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious, clean room. Great dinner & breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.6
    Spectacular location, bright airy rooms, beautiful facility,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to drive to, but once there, the valet parking was quick easy and affordable.

    Spectacular location, bright airy rooms, beautiful facility, great pool, very very helpful pleasant staff. Bountiful breakfast. Maratea borgo is at top of the hill, filled with twisty atmospheric streets, cafes and shops.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great stay. Wanted to book in Matera, but booked this hotel in Maratea by accident. The hotel was great; so much so that we stayed here for most of our holiday. Relaxing, great views, good food, and friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    10
    We loved everything about our stay in Maratea and especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about our stay in Maratea and especially this hotel. The decor is lovely and the daughter of the owner is such a delight on the front desk. As the food in the hotel restaurant is of such a high standard, we also ate there on the second night of our stay. We also had a light lunch by the pool which was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    A magical location overlooking the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only staying there one night. We won't make that mistake again.

    A magical location overlooking the town. Very welcoming, most attentive, helpful and informative staff. Immaculate presentation throughout the hotel, great swimming pool and first class restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    9.6
    Lovely welcome and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is good but a little way away from the hotel. Difficult to pick up and drop off bags on the narrow street.

    Lovely welcome and helpful staff. Great position overlooking the town and good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Our stay was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay was perfect. We ended up in Maratea by accident( wanted to book in Matera actually), but we enjoyed our stay so much that we ended up extending our stay. Friendly, and professional staff, good food, nice rooms, and a great view from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Staff very nice and eager to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very difficult to find. Room quite small with very little space to put things. We expected a queen bed and sofa per Booking.com so thought it would give us more room. Actually it was a small room with a king bed.

    Staff very nice and eager to please.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    The helpful and friendly staff and the out door areas were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You need to be fit and healthy to negotiate the climb from the centre.

    The helpful and friendly staff and the out door areas were excellent. Good views over the town.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    7.1
    View from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff is not accommodating. Acoustic in the rooms is bad, the classic rooms are small and not comfortable. Breakfast contains many ready made items.

    View from the hotel Big bonus is the beach that the hotel use out of town

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    This small historic hotel and its stunning location, staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This small historic hotel and its stunning location, staff, welcome, meals, furnishings, pool, gardens, comfort, La Secca beach and every last detail were truly perfect in every way! A hidden gem of Italy. We will definitely return. A million thanks to Loredana and family xxx

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.0
    The grounds were very nice and convenient to town and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was a Superior but in reality it was less than fair. The a/c was ancient not having good control, the room in general was old and beat up.

    The grounds were very nice and convenient to town and the Statue of Jesus.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    The beautiful view over the historical centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our double room was a little on the small side, however, if you are neat and tidy then you will be more than comfortable here. After all, your room is there to sleep in not live in. The gorgeous view over the village was a definite bonus.

    The beautiful view over the historical centre. Their pool area was the perfect place to relax and have a drink during the day. We welcomed being able to rest here for a few days given our hectic travelling schedule. We really loved Maratea and would recommend staying in this gorgeous place. The access to the historical centre was fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.9
    Staff is excellent, helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom is very poor for that level of hotel; a small bathroom with an old and used shower.

    Staff is excellent, helpful. Location in the village is very nice

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.0
    The owner is very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although we were kindly upgraded by the owner from a classic to a superior room, it was small, poorly decorated, with no view. After having a bad breakfast, we decided not to try their restaurant. Far away from the expected standard at this price. This exceptional old monastery deserved better.

    The owner is very welcoming. We enjoyed the pool alone most of the time although in august.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Friendly and high quality hotel, great place to relax with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly difficult to find and arrive at due to narrow streets but the hotel was extremely helpful with parking and luggage.

    Friendly and high quality hotel, great place to relax with very friendly staff, good restaurant and sunny pool and deck. Friendly local town close by.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location in the center of Maratea, good wifi, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. The restaurant is however closed during the day.

    Great location in the center of Maratea, good wifi, very helpful staff, free shuttle to the hotel's beach.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning in the room was weak.

    We had a lovely stay. The pool was very welcoming. We ate in the restaurant one evening and that was a good choice. Reception staff were very helpful, polite and friendly.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Locanda Delle Donne Monache traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: