Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Locanda Di Alia 4 stars

Via Ietticelli 55, 87012 Castrovillari, Italy

#2 of 15 hotels in Castrovillari

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 128 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Great rural stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great place for a stopover in a quiet rural setting. Our hosts Gaetano and Antonella were charming. Antonella’s breakfast using local fresh figs, cheese and honey was a special treat The adjoining restaurant La Locanda was a real bonus. Great food and value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Worth the detour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and pool being shut

    The welcome and hospitality of Biagio and Antonella were superb, as was her breakfast. We were disappointed that neither the restaurant nor swimming pool were open, especially as I had booked it because of the good recommendations for the restaurant but Biagio recommended an excellent restaurant and escorted us there, so that made up for it. He was a super helpful host.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    An oasis of calm in an aesthetically pleasing environment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really cannot find anything to dislike apart from the concrete parking blocks which could be a problem...

    Exceptional accommodation, really fascinating layout providing maximum privacy with a distinct quirkiness which was very endearing. Very aesthetically pleasing apartments with an artistic flair that is very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Oasis near town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming people. A wonderful garden. The central lawn with sunshades and deck chairs is accessible from the back door of every room. Beautiful artistic paintings on walls inside and outside the buildings. The rooms are stylish, well lit and perfectly clean. With the mosquito nets on the windows it is possible to keep the windows open at night. A highlight is the wonderful breakfast prepared by Antonella. Delicious fresh homemade cakes and homemade jams of different kinds of citrus fruit (some you might not even have heard of yet) and other fruits and berries. Very good cappucino. A place to call again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Could not fault the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few miles from the motorway on windy roads, but well worth the detour.

    The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Jacuzzi bath was a bonus. Sitting area outside, overlooking a pretty courtyard, was very pleasant. Breakfast was excellent. Home cooked pastries were varied and delicious. My omelette was very good. The onsite restaurant alone was worth the trip - typical Calabrian food, very well prepared from quality local produce.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    A friendly, comfortable boutique hotel with warm hospitality and a fantastic restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. Everything was perfect.

    We were warmly greeted on arrival and the hospitality was first class for the duration of our stay. Our accommodation was clean, comfortable and loaded with amenities. Our Calabrian breakfast was excellent. The affiliated restaurant is fantastic - the best meal we had during our three weeks in Italy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay with excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were wonderful. So friendly and helpful. Breakfast was home made and superb. The Restaurant was really good. If we were in the area again we would not hesitate to return

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    People so kind.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People so kind. The place with a beautiful garden, plenty of fruitable trees. The dinner spectacular, excellent meal, and the home made products o the breakfast delicious. Really enjoy in that place, Recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Everything you need!
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More 'continental' breakfast! There was lots of sweet foods, but prehaps cereal as an option would have been good! Although the eggs and bread etc was all nice and freshly made!

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. They catered to your every need, even though the language barrier was difficult at times, they did their best. Were very accomodating with late check out due to later flights- at no extra cost!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Locanda D'Alia is a small bungalow resort close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is available through a 3rd party - it is working ok, but the daily login is somewhat cumbersome.

    Locanda D'Alia is a small bungalow resort close to the national park and Gole di Raganello. Biagio and Antonella are excellent hosts, They take the time for you and serve amazing, delicious breakfasts. Worth a detour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful comfortable stay specializing in delightful artisanal and regional breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was a bit problematic for us at that time was the wifi a bit spotty.

    The breakfast here was one of the best ever! Antonella made specialities from the region; crusty bread with regional cheese, marmalade, fig spread, honey and almonds. The espresso and cappuccino was some of the best we had tasted! We sadly did not get to eat at the restaurant (closed Sunday night) but ate at a place recommended in town, an easy walk away which was very good! The room was large and comfortable and the hotel is like a little oasis surrounded by beautiful trees and a luxurious grassy center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    We loved this type of Calabrian hospitality with wonderful gastronomy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not have a view of their beautiful loan garden from our room. Please ask a room with a view to the garden.

    Set in the outskirt of the city centre in Castrovillari, this family-run locanda gave us the feeling of complete/perfect satisfaction which the best Calabrian people have to offer: 1, Possibility of having tasty lunch in late afternoon It was not until we arrived at La Locanda di Alia just before 14:00(the check-in time was from 15:00) that we learned we could only have lunch on that day(yes, it was on the 1st of May). Though it was not planned, we decided immediately to have lunch on site restaurant and gave up driving to San Donato di Ninea. We had the smoked trout and the lamb and dessert. They were all tasty. As they accepted another guest coming later than us, it would be possible to start lunch after 2PM with prior request. 2, For Gratis offered Refreshments On the 1st day when we returned from nearby town Morano Calabro (we went sightseeing after delicious lunch), they delivered to our room complimentary refreshment (A small bowl full of strawberries and 2 glasses of freshly squeezed strawberry juice). It was a nice touch. This kind of pleasant surprise happened again in the evening of the 2nd day. When we came back from a day trip to Ponte del Diavolo, Grotta Delle Ninfe and Santuario di Santa Maria delle Armi, we found 8 fresh strawberries in a small bowl and chunk of chocolate. Lovely arrangement again! 3, Slow but relaxing Breakfast time As other reviewer mentioned, the breakfast took some time (30-40min.in all). But this fact was not bad for us because we were on vacation and wanted to get away from it all. A delightful man and a cute & agreeable lady served very tasty breakfast with tons of local flavour and outstanding freshness for us. We enjoyed the chat with them. 4. Dinner was divine, We had dinner at this Restaurant di Alia once. The Variety of Wines was a little bit limited in comparison with the Michelin stared restaurants, but well selected.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.0
    Make sure you let the owner know your ETA & bring insect repellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm trying hard to be positive - I can't understand the booking.com score of 9 on the website. Our arrival started badly- arrived at 3pm ish to what appeared to be a very closed hotel with a sign on the door with a number to call. I called but couldn't make myself understood then tentatively opened the door as there was the strangest loudest noise coming from reception - the most amazing snoring I've ever heard. However, The owner of the snoring was very kind & showed us round to our room- but I did not want to stay- the room was dark, had flies in the windows. The gardens that surround the rooms are lush but mosquitoes & insects were prolific and this was May. The bathroom was painted lime green with gold squiggles & the air vent was full of dust & fluff- please clean it. All I wanted to do was leave immediately- but my husband made me see reason as we had driven for over 3 hours. & we were in the middle of Southern Italy. With surly reluctance the lady in the adjoining restaurant served 2 beers but we were told not to sit outside as the table was broken. The hotel owner eventually arrived & offered beer or coffee but as we'd been subjected to surly lady I refused. We had dinner at the restaurant which was OK & the surly service amazingly disappeared. Breakfast was a palaver- took 20 minutes to serve up a fruit plate which was beautifully done but unnecessary - had to ask for bread - and was offered something cooked but didn't have time to wait. The owner was very kind & attentive. Overall, Not what I expected at all.

    The bed was comfortable with lovely bed linen; towels were great. Kind elderly gentleman that showed us to our room. Attentive hotel owner when he arrived. Attention to detail at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Spring trip to Castrovillari
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    La Locanda di Alia (both the B&B and the restaurant) were located just outside the historic center of Castrovillari, a 5 minute drive or a 20 minute walk away from cafes, bars, and shops. The room was simple but comfortable and had an outdoor patio overlooking the communal lawn. The breakfast was delicious, composed mainly of homemade cookies, and the overall experience was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay and good surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Nothing special with wifi problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely difficult to get wifi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great. Really friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Outstanding restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding restaurant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Really friendly, however expert in their jpb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was ok

    Really friendly, however expert in their jpb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Best of all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is Best!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodatie with love for design,fantastic breakfast, room with entrance to garden.Good hospatlity!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people were wonderful. So accommodating and friendly. Charming atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    Although the restaurant was closed (as is usual on a Sunday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the restaurant was closed (as is usual on a Sunday evening, apparently) the owner booked us into a very good restraurant only 10 minutes walk away. He gave us a lift there and its owner offered to drive us back.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    The staff were very efficient and friendly: we were made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very efficient and friendly: we were made very welcome and looked after very well indeed. The food is truly excellent - amongst the best we have had in Italy, which is saying something.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Easy parking, lovely garden, plenty of room, good cooking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tricky to find (wasn't using GPS)

    Easy parking, lovely garden, plenty of room, good cooking

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    6.3
    The dinner served at the restaurant was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was not clean.

    The dinner served at the restaurant was excellent.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: