Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Luna 3 stars

Via Fillungo - Corte Compagni 12, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#25 of 33 hotels in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 596 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    The location in the middle of the city at a small square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is a bit small, like usual in Italy. If you are taller than 1.90 you won't really fit.

    The location in the middle of the city at a small square might be the very best in the whole of Lucca. Right next to one of the main streets too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Lovely, kind and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location, good breakfast with fresh fruit, cheese, meat and wide range of breads some of which are gluten free. Great coffee. Iacopo and Irene were so helpful with my trips out, printing timetables and organising a spa day in Montecatini. All the staff are so happy and very kind. I will return💕

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful city, wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing we didn't like about our stay at La Luna. We will definitely return! Highly recommended.

    Beautiful room with amazing fresco ceiling, comfortable beds and good air conditioning (visited in August) which made for a great night's sleep. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Location is wonderful, right in the centre of Lucca.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, exceeded our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect location, right in the heart of this glorious city. Used their private parking. Lovely family room overlooking the main shopping street and little courtyard where we had our evening meal, right outside the front door. Just perfect for us and our two teenage boys. Even went for a run along the city wall before breakfast, just under 5k, with lots of other runners, joggers and walkers... Idyllic!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    The city is wonderfool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acces by car difficult, it's not an issue but I didn't found information before. The hotel is in an historical centre with pedestrian roads.

    The city is wonderfool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    A wonderful little place in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy in the evening but to be expected at this time of year.

    Family run, staff very friendly. Rooms very clean and air conditioning most welcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    service of the senior staff is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the via Booking.com chosen and reserved room was not available. and the check-in was therefore horrible.

    service of the senior staff is incredible. the juniors should learn a lot of them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location in middle of Lucca. Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was basic.

    Family room - large and roomy. Aircon was effective (thankfully). Service great - Carried cases up (no lift). Location - perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Signage outside was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage outside was poor. Found a locked door rather than the reception. Had to find the phone number and ring, then it was obvious (a better sign on the door would be an easy fix)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, hot summer days/nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room air conditioning was rather poor, 27-28 C during the day and 26 C at night. Not exactly a big relief after you come inside from a scorching 36 C and want to relax.

    Junior staff was very kind and helpful, especially the young waiter/parking valet who served our coffee and also skillfully maneuvered the guests' cars. Priceless service in a tight place like that.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and so thought it very expensive. Felt a bit like a ski hotel walking up the felted stairs. Could do with a makeover.

    The location is fantastic. The room was clean and quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in the centre of a charming town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to this property by car is a bit of a nightmare - even with SatNav - getting out early AM (10ish) is ok

    A lovely hotel in the centre of the town with parking. The rooms were clean and comfortable and helpful staff a lovely place to stay in the town which was delightful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is a great spot inside the walls near shopping and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staircase to access rooms

    Location is a great spot inside the walls near shopping and restaurants, but the room was overlooking a courtyard and extremely quiet. Hotel notified authorities re driving in the restricted areas as we parked our car in their garage. Hotel is a former small palace. Extremely large Room had 25 foot painted ceiling , 8 foot window doors w shutters, yet bathroom was updated with large shower and separate jacuzzi. The staff was extremely helpful. We accidentally left our valuables in the safe after checkout, and the staff kept them safe until we returned many hours later. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location, nice rooms, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist. She was very hostile and inadequate. Tried to charge me with city tax for other people, who were not in my reservation, even those people paid for themselves before me. Had another incident with the same lady the day before about separate beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff is very The staff is very friendly, the location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special

    The staff is very The staff is very friendly, the location is great and all services are average (i.e, breakfast, cleaning rooms, etc.). In particular, I highlight that they also offer a good breakfast option for celiacs and vegans.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Happy memories of Lucca after completing of a section of the Via Franceginia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family run hotel in the centre of the old walled city. Close to many good restaurants and within easy walking distance of all the main sights. Good breakfast. N.B. If on the second floor ( where we had two very good, large rooms - 240 & 241) there is no lift. This was my third stay at the La Luna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Mostly the location and the staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn’t work and it was extremely noisy outside with the window open! I ordered a room with three beds and the two twin beds were pull out beds that were not comfortable at all! My two adults sons slept on them and said the metal bar from the bed was poking in their back!

    Mostly the location and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Small very central hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was brilliantly situated in the heart of the old town. Staff were very friendly and helpful with some very good restaurant suggestions. Room was fine and the hotel is walkable from the railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slow staff, too many people while breakfast room could not fit all of us... In a double room there were 2 small mattresses instead of one king, impossible to sleep for a couple

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    An old hotel with bags of character in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The room had a lot of character with its original painted ceiling. The location was superb and the fact that we could park our car when in the heart of the old City was amazing. The staff were always helpful and gave us very clear instructions on how to drive out through the narrow streets. We went to a Puccini recital in one of the old Churches, on one evening and that was a real treat. Just wish we had had longer in the City and hotel. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and good service. Coffee was made freshly and brought to your table. You are spoilt for choice on where to eat in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    The central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is far away from the hotel, around 500m (the description was: the location nearby). It's impossible to find it without hotel stuff - the car navigation didn't help - they had to navigate us via phone since the parking space is in the middle of limited traffic zone. It was really hot in the room but the air condition was not working. The receptionist said air condition will not be in use until May 1st (it was April 28). The place is noisy - there's a restaurant terrace nearby, and we heard people talking loudly almost the midnight. The breakfast was poor.

    The central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel, confortable and welcoming, in our favourite Italian city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful staff, who were more than willing to meet all our requests. Excellent night reception staff who enabled us to see a very important football match (for us!) on the television. Good breakfast and most comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Perfect Lucca location!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were traveling in a car, and the staff was wonderful about helping us drive and park legally in the restricted historic area. The restaurant across from the hotel is also excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was bad, when we went there it was nothing left for us to eat, only few pastries... coffee was really bad for Italy standards! Parking is not on site as advertised, is a public parking away from the property and overpriced!

    Perfect location in the center!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    This was my second stay at La Luna, so it must be good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room small and dark. Limited choice for breakfast, no hot food.

    Perfect location in historic city centre. Central but quiet. Friendly staff. Room and bathroom kept very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Very polite staff, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night we were placed in a very spacious room but awful in terms of noise insulation. This was supposed to be a better room, but the problem was that is was facing the main market street and had no noise insulation. On saturday night we could not sleep at all. People talking and yelling all night - as if they were in our room- and garbage collection early in the morning. When I asked, I was moved to a different room (smaller, but they did not give me a discount claiming they couldn't because I booked via booking). I was indeed much quieter, except in the morning I realised I was on top of the breakfast area and again, no noise insulation. On the second room, there was mold in the shower and the ceiling. Both rooms were very cold, I assume it was because of the poor window fittings. Breakfast was basic, but ok for italian hotels.

    Very polite staff, great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.8
    Hosts were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel parking cost 20 Euros and was off-site in an open garage about 1/2 mile from the hotel. So there is a long walk with bags through crowded street to the hotel. And the hotel is inside the walled old city, so driving inside is major problem. Photos of rooms are misleading. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Hosts were very nice and helpful. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    2.9
    We were unable to drive on the street "legally".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to drive on the street "legally". We should have been informed about this. We had a very hard time finding the place and the desk person was very rude and not helpful st all. We had a nice young man help us us at check out. I would never recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    A calm quarter in a busy town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak breakfasts..needed more choice and more exciting dishes.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Car parking facilities in a very busy town. Although we had to pay extra this facility was worth it as it was available all day even after we had checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable. Could have stayed twice as long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy bathroom fan.

    We were allowed to have breakfast early on the day of our departure. We were lent cushions for our visit to the open-air Puccini opera. Quiet room (as requested) in the new building. Wonderful central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    4.6
    Rude and aggressive owner!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sarah, the owner of the hotel who was at the reception desk on the day of the check out, was very rude, with the attitude "I am the boss and I can do and say whatever I want". She was very sarcastic and aggressive to just one simple and polite request we asked regarding the printing out of the receipt. Being a hotel owner means that you have to respect your clients that give you too much money for the poor services you provide! I wouldn't recommend this hotel for no reason.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Location of the hotel is ideal and there was an elevator and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Location of the hotel is ideal and there was an elevator and air-conditioning which were appreciated being on the 3rd floor. The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    I would not book this hotel again. The accommodations were generally merely satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not very appetizing. The room was very small and stuffy. The beds were barely adequate. The bathroom toilet was ancient (one with a water closet) that ran noisily for extended periods of time after flushing(about half an hour)

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Amazing friendly helpful staff
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such an amazing staff Very profesional , friendly , helpful Thankyou ! Location is fantastic You can park your car in the garage Breakfast is very good also Has gluten free option Property is very pet friendly Thanks again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Park outside the city walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrive by car you have to drive down the main pedestrian shopping street if you want to use the hotel parking. Terrifying! The hotel was also rather noisy.

    Staff were wonderful. So kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend this hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    the staff are extremely helpful. for example, i was going to a concert in lucca with my sister the night that i stayed with them. My dog was with me and they managed to arrange an extremely nice gentleman to 'dogsit' for me when we attended the concert. Lovely friendly, helpful people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were like camp beds, i.e. fold out type. Very uncomfortable. The room was very dark, with one small window. We were in the annexe so perhaps the rooms in the main hotel were nicer.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem we encountered was that Booking.com had a swimming pool and garden listed in the hotel facilities but had neither! The receptionist was astounded when I showed her and said they have never had a pool. Having said that, that wasn't a fault with the hotel but with Booking.com!

    The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. They spoke beautiful English. Our room was lovely, very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely too. Lucca is a small city and easy to get around. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    A very good hotel, excellently located, with mostly serviceable staffand with the bonus of a parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the unavailability to computer facility in the hotel to obtain our boarding passes for our return flight: Pisa - Charleroi (Ryanair) the breakfast coffee on one occasion that was not warm enough

    friendly staff, excellent location, valuable help to negotiate our car through the Lucca labyrinth, the possibilty to hire hotel bikes for our trip along le mura

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    A great location, especially for shopping & window-shopping in Lucca.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What they don't tell you on the website is that they turn off the air conditioning for an hour or so (though at unpredictable times) at midday every day -- not very nice, if you're returning to your room for a quick lunch. The rooms have small refrigerators ("minibars") in them, so they should expect that people are going to use them, & possibly eat in the rooms. The breakfast buffet is generous, but the staff members offer a fresh-made cappuccino or espresso only occasionally & randomly, it seems. (Otherwise, there's a big urn of strong coffee.) The WiFi worked well on my computer, less well on my phone (in terms of connecting). With the roaming service I have from my US cell-phone service, there's absolutely no connectivity anywhere in the city -- in contrast to Florence & Pisa, where I was before coming here.

    The location, right off the main shopping street (via Fillungo) can't be beat. There's also a convenient restaurant in the same courtyard. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are small, but nicely furnished.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Gem of a hotel in a gem of a town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightmare drive in,better coming out as directed by the staff.

    Most surprised when stepping inside the exterior is fitting with the town,the inside is spacious spottlessly clean and fitted with all your needs,a large roomy bathroom well appointed ,and a large bed in a tastefully decorated bedroom,great hotel With friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Great gem in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving to the hotel can be daunting involving driving down pedestrian only lanes and wrong way on others - but all perfectly normal according to the staff :)

    Great central location. Happy and attentive staff. Quiet room, comfortable bed. Walk out the door in to the center of the old city. On sight secure parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice little hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is a bit average. It was OK but nothing special with pastries and bread tasting a bit stale. The rooms are quite small but typical of European hotels in this price category.

    Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Lucca. I had received excellent directions from the hotel reception ahead of my stay and received some good guidance on dinner options. The hotel is right in the centre of things and is walkable from the station. Overall I would recommend despite an over amorous guy on reception at breakfast time. For that reason I have rated the staff lower than would otherwise be the case.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the bedroom was small making the room quite dark. The furnishings were a bit heavy and dark too. The breakfast area lacked any character or daylight.

    The charming staff made you feel you were coming home every day. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was very clean with everything that you needed. The bathroom was well fitted with shower and bidet. The location in its own quiet piazza, yet so near to the Anfitheatro , was superb and a delightful place to enjoy a quiet al fresco breakfast or a nightcap. The excellent restaurant opposite made eating out so easy if you wanted to be nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was at fault here for not advising my difficulty with stairs. If they had known I could have been accommodated at their other facility which had a lift however the staff may not have been so super. They gave me every help possible.

    Cleanliness, staff friendliness and service exemplary.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.3
    Better get a hotel outside the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked a twin bedroom. The staff had forgotten our booking. So we got a very dark room in the annex, at the same price. No kind of kompensation!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    A wonderful traditional hotel In a great location with exceptional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing with lots of great shops bars and restaurants nearby. Easy to visit everything in lucca with not to far to walk to get onto the walls. Easy walk to the railway station for day trips. The room was small but very clean and traditionally decorated with the original wooden beamed ceilings which added character. The staff were exceptional and so helpful and they were always so happy which made for a really relaxing stay. A perfect location in a wonderful city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value in heart of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow streets and a bit of a maze to get there

    Outstanding location in the centre of Lucca only minutes walk from all the attractions. The room we were in overlooked the street which was quiet enough and the bed was very comfortable. Given this hotel is rated 3 star it exceeded our expectations. The front of house staff are all very friendly. The parking arrangement is a little crazy however the staff did an amazing job of fitting 5 cars into a small space and retrieving them again next morning (congrats Nedo). Happily recommend La Luna and would definitely stay there again. Avoid the restaurant immediately opposite the hotel (bit of a tourist trap and they didn't know what a Negroni is!?) We dined at Osteria San Giorgio 200m away (outstanding).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Luna Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor point, but if you walk from the station to the hotel it is hard to find as the sign is only on one wall of the courtyard - the one you see having dragged your case too far, decided you are lost and retraced your steps.

    Large bedroom and an excellent bathroom with large shower. Nice view from one of the windows over tiled roofs to a centuries-old tower. Location was good - once we found it - in a courtyard off the main shopping street and close to a range of places to eat, drink or get ice cream. Staff were helpful and friendly and allowed us to leave our luggage there all day after we had checked out and before we caught an evening train away from Lucca. Breakfast is a self-service buffet with choice of pastries, cheese, fruit, yoghurts and even cereals plus juice and coffee or tea.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovelly little hotel right near to all the tourist areas, restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little sparse especially if you arrived towards the end of the breakfast hours. Our room in the Annexe was cold during the daytime (Early March) but warm in the evening and at night.

    Great location within the walls. Room was a good size and very clean. Staff spoke good English and were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Great location, and excellent value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the mattress a little on the hard side but I know that is a personal preference. This should not deter you from staying in this lovely hotel.

    Great location! My room was very quiet and both the room and bathroom were very clean. The staff is wonderful! I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again the next time I'm in Lucca.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my standards breakfast was good, but some may be used to a heftier offer.

    We are famiky of four and we spent two nights at the Hotel La Luna. Our room on the second floor was amazing and the kids loved it. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.8
    In the center of historic Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was hard although we can drive very well, getting inside the city is not convenient. cost of parking and the price of room is very high. it was written that 110 euro is discount of 63%! cant believe that its real to pay for this room such price.

    In the center of historic Lucca. One of the staff members, was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noisy fan in the bathroom. The breakfast had cold cuts but no hot food and only 0.1% yogurt.

    The staff helped us to park the car in their garage and to move it out in very tight quarters.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel in the centre of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a little basic, but good enough.

    This is a great hotel located in the centre of Lucca old town, with the advantage of a private garage for parking (you need to reserve this in advance). All of the restaurants and sites of Lucca are within a few minutes walk and the train station is only a 10/15 minute walk away. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. A great hotel for local sightseeing and as a base for travelling a little further afield (Pisa, Florence, etc.).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value for Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms basic and a little tired but ok for the money and clean

    Good value and friendly staff. Right next to escalator that take you in to The heart of town Parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Amazing Hotel and Paulo really made it !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel could not possibly be located more central than it is. Rooms are lovely, big and clean. Staff (especially Paulo) are very helpful and good Craic too :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    check out alle 11
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check out alle 11

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Great stay in Lucca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast, staff, very quaint.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Location, team

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Just couldn't get wifi to work in room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just couldn't get wifi to work in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely cozy room. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was smelly but we got a new one that was nicer. Thought paid more. Parking expensive

    Cosy room and name of hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great night in a wonderful city
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place right in the city centre. Lucca is magic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The location was perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect for our needs. We were attending a concert in the centre of town so the hotel is just a short walk from the piazza.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Gorgeous room. Friendly staff. Wish I could of stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit dopey, no TV signal WiFi haphazard staff no help

    Location. Cleanlinesd

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great location, in the middle of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, in the middle of old town. Fascinating interior in old house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in centre of Lucca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs with the luggage

    Location was amazing!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Heart of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities, and somewhat cramped. Shower small.

    Friendly staff. The air con much appreciated. Great restaurant across the road!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Location, friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, great hotzelLucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older climate control. Didn't really need it.

    Everything, great breakfast,location, staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, took my adult daughter who also enjoyed her stay. Food and wine in Lucca superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything

    Situated within easy walking distance of main areas. As have breathing problems this was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant position n downtown Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from the court downstairs

    Brilliant position n downtown Lucca

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Welcoming and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rain!

    Welcoming and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: