Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tenuta La Lupa 3 stars

Via Roma 110, 56040 Castellina Marittima, Italy

#4 of 12 hotels in Castellina Marittima

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    2.5
    RESTAURANT CLOSED FOR DINNER WITHOUT WARNING OR NOTICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was unfortunately a really poor experience. This was meant to be our first family holiday with our 6 month old baby daughter. We booked this hotel as it says it has a restaurant. This enables us to get our baby to sleep and eat on-site. On arrival the hotel manager Marcello informed us that the restaurant would only be available for breakfast and they would not be serving dinner that night. He suggested a restaurant in the local village. The next afternoon we asked again about dinner and again Marcello told us that the restaurant isn’t open and they won’t be serving dinner. We asked what days they will open for dinner and he said they would not open at all. We decided at this point that we couldn’t stay for another 5 nights as the hotel have stated the restaurant won’t be open for dinner. This as one of the main reasons we booked this hotel. Travelling each night for dinner was a major inconvenience and disruption to our baby’s routine. We spent 2 nights in total out of the 7. The next morning Marcello said I had to wait to speak to the ‘director’ of the hotel. After over an hour waiting, I was told the director was in reception. There was no introduction and he was clearly physically angry, and immediately stated aggressively “This is your problem” and “There is a restaurant” and “You will pay in full”. I confirmed the reason we were checking out early and requested a refund for the remaining nights was because we booked this hotel as it had a restaurant on-site and had been told on the two previous days, the restaurant wasn’t and wouldn’t be open for dinner. The director continued to angrily state “You will pay for your booking”. After half an hour I received a call from booking.com who stated that the hotel would refund 100 EUR (25% of the cost of the remaining nights). I refused this as we had been mis-sold and felt deceived. A restaurant is clearly listed in the facilities of the hotel and they publish photos and reviews about the dinner served.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely property with a nice pool and perfect breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner thought the mattress smelt a bit, not sure why, and was a bit old with a dip in the middle. People were a little noisy when coming back late 3.00 am.

    Loved the hospitality, the pool, the room and the breakfast was excellent. Nice choice of restaurants a short walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Very simple room - Beautiful landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very simple with the most basic furniture. It's fine for a sleepover, but do not expect someplace fancy at all! We had difficulty finding the entrance as it was not clearly marked. Moreover, we had to carry our heavy luggage up the stairs.

    The outdoor area is calm and nice, with beautiful panoramic views. The breakfast was simple, but the croissants were very fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Good option for a last minute change of plans with a lovely pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not eat dinner at the restaurant as we had not pre-booked, would have been nice to know that was required before arrival. The property is quite noisy, the stairs in particular

    The pool was lovely, nice and clean with plenty of space. Breakfast was ok, usual continental choice. Room was a good size and nice and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    The hospitality was first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain about anything, except the mosquitoes maybe!

    The hospitality was first class. The location was stunning and the breakfasts and dinners were truly excellent. Would highly recommend this location. Marcelo was the perfect host!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Simple escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A local restaurant recommended by the manager (Marcello) (if you don't book the hotel evening meal in advance) was excellent value (for fixed menu), quality and service, in an unlikely location on edge of a small transport park, 1 km away in Badie: Osteria delle Badie. The pool has a deep end, and a shallow area separate for kids. Slightly elevated location with country views. Staff have low-key presence

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely breakfast, nice pool, beautiful location in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast, nice pool, beautiful location in the rolling hills

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful place away from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting in the country. Owners were very nice people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    lovely welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely welcoming staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Location, environment, staff (owners), breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price may be little less.

    Location, environment, staff (owners), breakfast..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent host and beautiful pool made our stay ver relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent hosts, the aiconditoned rooms and the pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.3
    Fabio, the owner was charming and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabio, the owner was charming and very helpful. Lovely pool. Room and bathroom clean and comfortable, and everything worked. Fabio also cooked and we had a delicious dinner which was a real bonus. Nothing too much trouble and just a lovely simple place for a short stay or a journey break.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.3
    An interesting hotel in a rural style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one disadvantage: the lack of sound isolation (you can often hear your neighbors).

    An interesting hotel in a rural style. Hosts are polite and hospitable.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful surroundings and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old mattress, no cold tap water, short openinhg time of restaurant. Only sweet breakfast.

    Beautiful surroundings and rooms. Nice pool. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.1
    Realy quite place, cats in object.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet in room, and very poor internet in lobby

    Realy quite place, cats in object.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    The staff were really courteous and the food was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were really courteous and the food was superb.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Brilliant setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Brilliant setting. Dinner was one of the best meals we had in Tuscany. Lovely pool

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    every day Fabio and team prepared dinner in a nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    every day Fabio and team prepared dinner in a nice and relaxed way - I can only give them our best recommendations

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Browse Tenuta La Lupa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: