Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Madonnina 4 stars

Via S. Girardi, 8, Casamicciola Terme, 80074 Ischia, Italy

#11 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard and lumpy. It could have been better if the bed had a more substantial cushion top.

    We stayed at Hotel Madonnina for our honeymoon. It is a super cute boutique hotel and we booked a Sea facing room with a lovely balcony - best decision ever. Our room and bathroom was immaculately clean. Despite its convenient location, we didn't hear the traffic from our room at all, just the sound of waves crashing at night. We also love the Breakfast spread, a variety of delicioua fresh fruits and vegetables. And we stayed in for dinner a few evenings, and the food was always unpretentious and good. The staffs were all super friendly, particularly Umberto and Elisa, who spoke great English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We tried a few massages in the spa - but, that was a waste of money. The 3-course dinnermenu in the restaurant is overpriced and not very good. The wine, however, was excellent!! (Thanks, Umberto)

    Nice 4-star hotell with a restaurant, bar and a spa-area (altough small). The view from the balcony in our room was great, and the beach area was also nice for a few hours of sunbathing. Big, nice and very clean room. The bed was a bit hard, but that's to expect in Italy. Great breakfast! There is a bus stop just 10 m from the entrance - very easy to use the local bus service to check out the island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the fact that we couldn't stay longer

    simply everything! loved the room, the location, the facilities and above all, the staff - they were amazing! friendly, excellent service, smiling faces and good humour despite working long hours to keep their guests happy - top of our list for a return visit. we were really sad to hear about the earthquake and hope everyone we met while there are ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful location outdoor sunbathing terraces and pools heavenly Hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly, very professional staff looking after guests. Once you arrive at the hotel you never want to leave!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really stiff. The restaurant kitchen closes in the afternoon and there are no nearby restaurants open at that time if you get hungry then. This is a major flaw. Because when on a spa vacation one should not have to worry about getting a meal before the kitchen closes.

    The reception and wait staff was very receptive. Food at the restaurant was great. Place was spotless. Spa facilities and beach were great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was OK, nothing special. The shower has to be the world's smallest shower stall. It would make a phone boot look roomy! The toiletries could be upgraded a bit.

    Beautiful location and superb views. The front desk folks were extremely helpful and friendly, especially Vanda. She went above and beyond. The place was spotless.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints!

    The location and the views were gorgeous. Breakfast was good; staff was so friendly and helpful. Also very nice spa area! Congratulations!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very noisy neighbour. Sound proofing was not great. To their credit they moved us to a lovely Seaview room on the final night. Breakfast was ok if you got there early. They ran of bacon quickly and it wasn't replaced. The bar never seemed to be manned so we asked for drinks in our room and were charged room service!

    Great location. Fantastic beach area with lunch restaurant. Staff were great and very helpful. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personal Attention to Details. Extras like purchasing hydrofoil tickets on our behalf for Naples. Late Checkout at a very nominal charge and great food. The sun deck and the view.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing beach with full service and great staff Rented a car right on the property. Manager helped with the transaction and all went smooth. Great value for service at this hotel with lovely breakfast and the most amazing patio overlooking the sea!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the bed to be a little firmer than what we were expecting.

    Brilliant facilities, particularly the private beach and sea area. Staff were so friendly, spoke great English and did their upmost to make our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location. Private beach and bathing area amazing. Staff couldn’t do enough to help. Exceeded all our expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more variety

    Great private beach, amazing views from the balcony, very comfrotable and well designed room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard for my liking otherwise everything was superb.

    Amenities & close to Casamicciola facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful rooms and an unbelievably staff. With a breakfast to die for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spectacular - the room with view on the sea, the staff, breakfast. Will definitely comeback to Hotel Madonnina next time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful location, nice room with a balcony with a sea view, very clean and outstanding staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was amazing from the view to the accommodations to the wifi through out the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with AC or windows in the gym - ventilation of sorts

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Food excellent. Spa and massage nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Todo en general

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Due to bad experience we highly recommend to put jewellery into the safe.

    Sundeck with sea access and the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff atitude at breakfast

    Bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very kind and friendly personal. The dinner was excellent! Fantastic sea view from the room!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard for us.

    The staff were so helpful and the hotel itself is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very polite and friendly but not everyone was able to speak english

    Food was amazing and the position was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great friendly staff and location was incredible.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like having to leave.

    The location was beautiful. Everyone was very friendly and most helpful with all we did.We loved the food and so enjoyed go to meals as the waiters so so much fun. They helped us with our travel plans and had taxi service when every we needed it.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Definitely 5 star. Great staff, nice food, lovely hotel overall. Nothing we didn't like except perhaps getting around the Island wasn't so easy.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    The director Anna and her staff were very professional and curtious. The spa was excellent. The masseuse was excellent as well. I will return.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missing written diner menu - we didn't know what was the price until check out, but meal OK. Rooms without see view don't have view at all....

    Location, reception response to our requests excellent, wellness above average, access to the sea by lift. Thermal spring in the sea.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No onsite parking, but this is more of an issue of geography as it is built on a cliff overlooking the ocean.

    Beautiful location and ocean view. Highly stylish décor, lobby. etc. Free WiFi in rooms, lobby, restaurant and even at the beach.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant and terrace could be even more amazing. The main dining room was too brightly lit in the evenings and the terrace only had high tables and bar-stool chairs - not vvv romantic. With a few intimate touches this could the most atmospheric place to dine on Ischia... Food fine though, simple and tasty... Oh, mattress update required; a little too hard!

    Fabulous cliff-top location and views, 'Ischia' style (quite glamorous), swimming and sunbathing deck over the sea (a real plus), detached from the hub-bub but easy walk to restaurants etc

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff, the wait staff in particular, seemed very cold and abrupt. Not what I expect from a four star hotel.

    The location and the views were spectacular. The food (dinner) was excellent. The free breakfast was okay.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about this hotel! I felt so pampered. It has a beautiful very private beach suitable for families with kids. Lovely restaurant on the beach serving anything you want at lunch time. The spa is tiny but it has everything one needs to relax. 10-15 min walk into town and the docks. Mineral water pond on the beach, water is cooled by the sea water so you get the best of both! It's a beautiful hotel, beautifully finished as well, lovely furnished. Very good breakfast with lots of fruits and lovely croissants with that wonderful cream. I could carry on like this forever...

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although I was looking not to check my e-mails all the time, my wife and two grown up children missed the WIFI in their rooms.

    On the crowded (August) island of Ischia, the hotel is a heaven of peace overlooking the sea from a height. If you don't mind beautiful yachts passing by all day, this is the place to relax :)

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was really charming and well maintained. The location is beautiful and the view from the terrace of the hotel and from the rooms is astonishing. The hotel was also very quiete. The staff was nice and friendly and the food in the restaurant was really delicious.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was OK but nothing special.

    Excellent location and value for price with beautiful private beach/cove area and amenities, including spa and sauna.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service-staff seems to be a bit clumsy and the maitre seemed grumpy most of the time. But all in all it was a very pleasant stay and we can recommend this hotel!

    We really enjoyed the quiet pre-season at La Madonnina! The hotel was renovated in 2014 and is in a great condition and very neat. The beach with its platform is very well done and of high quality! The SPA area got everything you need and is in perfect condition. The staff is super-friendly and very helpful (reception, driver, housekeeping, spa-lady, bagnino, most of the service-team)

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved that it was on the water and close to amenities. The hotel manager was fantastic and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location,great sea views

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food options could be improved

    Views from our room balcony were beautiful

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Hotel La Madonnina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: