Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Meridiana 3 stars

Via Rota, 1/3, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#64 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 212 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Location and private parking.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overprice compare to room price and size (weekend more than 200 Euro). Old furnished that need a renovation.

    Location and private parking. Reception staff is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wouldn't have minded a small refrigerator in my room as it was very hot when I was there. The airconditioner was also a bit hit and miss as I struggled to get it to work.

    This hotel is ideally located. It's very close to the centre of town and the train station. The room was really clean and though basic it had everything I needed. The restaurant downstairs looked really busy all of the time but I wasn't sure about gluten-free options so didn't try it. The hotel had arranged a car transfer from Naples train station to the hotel for 100 Euros and this was well-coordinated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    great staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was great for the price that you pay, especially if you're on a budget. But you need to walk about 15 minutes to get to the port or about 7-10 minutes to get to the main market and restaurants.

    The staff was really amazing and definitely made our experience better! The lady that works at the front desk was so nice and helpful! She was willing to book taxis, excursions, restaurants reservations and much more for us! She suggested things for us to do in the area and was always super helpful with any questions we had! The rooms, the lobby, the restaurant and the rooftop terrace were all extremely clean and comfortable! The staff here will definitely go above and beyond to help you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel staff, great breakfast and also the free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed here for 1 night on our way to Capri, and it was slightly overpriced for the conditions

    Very nice hotel staff, great breakfast and also the free parking helped a lot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    I had a great stay and had a bar and it was just close to everything .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard a few things were not working properly. A water tub on terrace would be a finishing touch as no pool but did not exspect one. The roof terrace is a bonus to the hotel.

    Very central for Sorrento, top off road the best pizza in Sorrento. Not far from coach station. Very helpful staff and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, nice staff, ok breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the staff was good, didn't like the breakfast - spread and quality could have been better.

    Location was great - 7 mins from station and 10 mins from the walking street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.8
    Staff were friendly but couldn’t solve problems due to lack...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly but couldn’t solve problems due to lack of facilities mattres was poor quality cot looked like it was on its last legs mentioned to staff and they said will be changed but nothing got done. Had a baby chair for breakfast with no harness and no tray table so my wife had to keep holding the baby they had another baby chair which was reserved for another baby staying at the hotel we thought it was on a first come first served basis and alsohow come they had only 1 baby chair in a good condition. I would like a partial refund for my stay. Also ants present in the Rome and Wi-fi not working they changed our room but still not working finally it worked but connection was awful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, yet, for a 4 star hotel I was expecting to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could and should have more options,

    Good hotel, yet, for a 4 star hotel I was expecting to have more option for breakfast. Good location short walk from the center, with restaurants and shops

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    you can see the magic guy in this hotel. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not various a breakfast just change one fruit a day. and not catch up wi-fi in the room.

    very very nice staff .we had problem a room . he fixed like magic. hotel was calm area and near police station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Very good hotel close to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I am not sure if there is a safe, which I usually like to have. Breakfast was a bit limited - for instance there was only one type of cheese and ham, but otherwise good.

    We had a room with seaview, and so had a fine view of the Naples bay. The room was quite comfortable and very clean. Also it was about 10 minutes distant from the centre, and very close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, will without hesitation would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Minor issue no fridge in room.

    Quite & convenient location,10 min walk from Sorrento station/bus terminus ( bus direct from Naples Airport ), again 10 min. walk to centre of Sorrento. Well worth booking a room at front of hotel, to have a great view across bay of Naples. Breakfast usual continental spread + bacon, frankfurt & scrambled eggs. Coffee & Tea, all as much as you feel like. Room, spotless clean , beds comfortable , only downside no fridge or tea making facilities in rooms we had. ( assume applies to all rooms ). Nice roof terrace with sun beds for those wishing to relax & sun bathe. Over the years we have stayed in various hotels in Sorrento & we would put this as our second choice out of the five previously used.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    Good location and breakfast but Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't ready at 4pm checkin so we were told to come back in an hour or two. We were very tired after long drive and not happy to go and fill in time somewhere. We were not offered anything for the inconvenience and they didn't care. Poor service and again at checkout. The room was dated and very noisy from outside and other rooms. The air con didn't work so room was warm and stuffy. We parked our hire car on street parking provided and it was damaged.

    The location was good and breakfast options very good. The roof terrace was a lovely bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Not terrible, good location, but it could definitely use some comfier beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds were extremely uncomfortable. It was like sleeping on a plank of wood! When we first arrived the water pressure in the shower was terrible. If you turned it to hot the shower almost turned off completely! We let the reception team know however, and someone came and fixed it.

    The staff were very friendly and did their best to help and answer any questions we might have.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay at hotel meridiana in sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't make it up to the roof terrace (our fault) but understand there wasn't a bar up there. I'm sure this can be quickly amended and would add a lovely perk.

    The hotel was very nice- we arrived and checked in extremely quickly. We were informed we had been upgraded to have a balcony room. Fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Ups and downs in Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been a little nicer. Also our booking became complicated and for 1 night they put us into the Hotel Central - a very nice hotel but despite the name further away from the centre.

    The hotel wasn't far from the train station, and was a short walk into the centre. It had a view of the sea and was next to a lemon grove.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any negative

    Excellent staff, nice breakfast ( different items to choose from) absolutely incredible view terrace from our room! Good location to walking into town and train station. Very clean! Comfortable bed. Good value for your money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bar on the terrace.

    Location. Friendly staff and very helpful. Good breakfast at €10. Cafes were charging 11 or 12.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Very nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no frige

    Free parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    location of the suite is great for exploring Sorrento; just ten minute walk away from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no facilities for young children

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small and outdated

    Location was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Exelant lokation and Straff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exelant lokation and Straff. Really good Food and clean room every day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with an upgrade but it was not too bad and nice and clean

    Good value hotel in a good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be more various in rest ok

    Clean room , aproximately 15 minutes walk to the port area, friendly staff , comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Hotel Ok Staff need to change attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breackfast very poor Staff in dining not very friendly Reception staff very good

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    You had to use the swipe card to enable the air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to use the swipe card to enable the air conditioning.also no mini bar fridge in room to keep drinks cold was an inconvenience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay, will be happy to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handicapped people are not welcome, imposible to lift luagges on the stairs at the entrance, no staff to help,lift not clean enouge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Would choose this Hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and the great view from the roof top.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Three enjoyable days and happy memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More selection for breakfast for hot food

    Reception staff were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Hotels position was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was very good

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable hotel close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two wifi connections and needed to pay for additional ones. Connectivity was poor.

    Location was great. Accommodation was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    2.5
    What a ripoff miserable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Hotel was very well situated, just a short walk from the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was very well situated, just a short walk from the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    The roof terrace was a real bonus with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof terrace was a real bonus with great views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Sorrento getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable.

    Located close to center of town and very nice staff! Parking was right at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    Towels smelled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels smelled. Small elevator. Only one room key.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    easy life in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is only for 2 devices. We have 4 persons check-in. There is no hot water for drinking in room.

    Clean, close to center of Sorrento, Free Parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    Basic 3* hotel for exploring Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite basic, didn't have a window

    Walking distance to town, nice bed, good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.4
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had ants in our room and overall the room was overpriced, uncomfortable and far from the main part of town. Would recommend paying a bit more to stay somewhere better.

    Staff were friendly. Breakfast was okay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    6.3
    - Very nice service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Very, very uncomfortable beds, mattresses should have been change long time ago - For this price, a room was very basic with old and ugly furniture. Noisy. The whole hotel needs full renovation - Overpriced

    - Very nice service - Good location - Amazing roof terrace

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff, pretty good location close to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room facing the street was noisy. It seemed that every scooter in Sorrento went by at least once. The biggest negative for me was the shower enclosure. It was the size of an upright coffin. If you drop the soap, which you will since there's no place to put it, you'll have to turn off the shower and get out of it to pick it up.

    Friendly staff, pretty good location close to the train station and buses to other Amalfi Coast town.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.2
    Small room, but if you upgrade to a balcony it will be well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Older crowd. If you made a peep at night, which we did :/ you will be yelled at..

    Small room, but if you upgrade to a balcony it will be well worth it! Lovely location and amazing view!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    2.9
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at La Meridiana on Sep 5 and Sep 7. (1) Terrible service - The check-in time is 16:00. However, when we went there at 16:00, the manager told us to wait "2 minutes". Finally, they kept us waiting > 20 minutes. And the manager just continuously blamed the poor clean lady. The problem is his management, not the clean lady. (2) Terrible bathroom - The water flow of the shower is very very very small. Basically it can just wet your body. (3) Terrible room - Check my pictures. A CRT TV? Come on, it's 21 century now. I have no idea where they got those things. Maybe from a museum? (4) Terrible WIFI - The WIFI is totally unusable. Only 1 device can be connected to the WIFI. And even that device can hardly connect to the internet. Finally we gave up.

    No

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Convenient to the center of town and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Convenient to the center of town and train station. Wonderful view from the roof top patio. Very helpful and friendly staff. Dinner at the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was the typical European buffet. Black out shades good for sleeping. Internet connection good but limited to only one device at a time.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.1
    The hotel is in an excellent position, 10 mins walking from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As it often happens in Sorrento the room is not so big and the structure a little vintage We found ants in the room

    The hotel is in an excellent position, 10 mins walking from the center of Sorrento. Free parking places (when available) are a big plus.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.1
    Nice clean basic hotel with a good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are terribly basic and the beds are horrible to sleep on

    Nice clean basic hotel with a good location! Sorrento seems to be an expensive place for hotels in general but for €99 per night I was very disappointed with the room! The bed and blankets are ancient, I could feel the springs in the mattress & it's obvious it has not been replaced for years. Having said that, the staff at reception were absolutely excellent and extremely helpful with checking in, where to go at night and for booking tours to Capri and Pompeii, couldn't of asked for any more from them.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    The breakfast was delicious and various.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi is only free for one device.

    The breakfast was delicious and various. The hotel is well-located the city center and the train station is about 3-5 minutes walk. You get what you pay for. The receptionists are nice and helpful, the give really good advice. The hotel and the rooms are clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    7.1
    Excellent location within short walk of main centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location within short walk of main centre. Staff very friendly and good breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    Perfect position, good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect position, good room. cupboard space. recycling bins. great staff

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.8
    Roof top terrace was lovely, and our room with balcony was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That a room for 2 people had to share use of wi fi.

    Roof top terrace was lovely, and our room with balcony was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    The view of Mt Vesuvius!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view of Mt Vesuvius! The breakfast was very good.The roof top terrace was a wonderful place for fellow tourists to meet new ones .

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    cleanliness of the place and the great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    cleanliness of the place and the great location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were extremely helpful. View from the forth floor was amazing...worth paying a little extra for.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    6.3
    Wi-fi for free only for one person and it was weak working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-fi for free only for one person and it was weak working.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only one device can login to wifi included

    Location

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: