Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Palma 4 stars

Corso Umberto I 33, 28838 Stresa, Italy

#4 of 29 hotels in Stresa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1285 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel, great location, food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt they could have had more information regarding where to go to find places of interest and places to shop. Yes there were brochures at reception but a list of the above places would have been an advantage so that we didn't have to annoy keep asking the reception staff.

    Lovely modern hotel, very clean, excellent location. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location and the sky bar and swimming pool was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy rooms and no iron available to iron anything in your room (had to send it off to housekeeping which takes 24hours)

    Great location and the sky bar and swimming pool was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Balcony with lake view, perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Balcony with lake view, perfect! Infinity pool on roof, where we spent an afternoon on a beautiful day!!! Close to lake boats for Lake Maggiore, as well as town shops; walking distance from train station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Very nice hotel! Excellent staff, very good location, the room was well-sized, with a big balcony and a fantastic view! The swimming-pool is the best in all Stresa!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel with an amazing view for an unforgattable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is nothing special and it should be improved taking into account with the hotel standard.

    Amazing hotel with an amazing view on the lake. Good bed and nice bathroom. Really good also the SPA with a view on the lake from the Sauna and relax area. Roof top bar and jacuzzi on the 7th floor make the experience unforgettable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrace service - poor choice of food and drink and excessive price.

    Perfect location, tasteful breakfast, gentle stuff, beautiful terrace with Jacuzzi, very nice swimming pool, exterior green garden, clean room, comfy beds...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Stay nowhere else in Stresa or any of the lakes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is absolutely stunning. The entire area of Lago Maggiore is breathtaking but this hotel truly does put the cherry on top. My partner had travelled from New Zealand and it was his birthday the next day of our stay, the staff were fantastic and upgraded us to what I can only believe was the best suite in the hotel. The views, decor and environment were fantastic. Views from the rooftop pool are great, we loved the pool by the lakeside. If you get down early there is hardly anyone there and it is so tranquil and gorgeous. I would not recommend anywhere else to stay in Stresa. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. A side note is that the drinks at poolside on the lake are a little pricey ( 14 euros for a gin and tonic ) so be a bit careful but I am aware the price reflects the private area of the pool and the environment it is in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, all staff friendly and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn't great struggled to connect to the internet and then it didn't seem to supper what's app usage

    Great location, all staff friendly and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Spacious, modern, friendly staff, great views, wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, modern, friendly staff, great views, wonderful swimming pool. Our dog was welcome too. Restaurant, sky bar and garden to enjoy. Indoor parking. Centre, shops and restaurants within minutes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    The Skybar is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Skybar is incredible. All ages, complete chill out experience, a must. You wouldn’t even know it was there, the music doesn’t impact on the bedrooms below.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    The sky bar was amazing beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not quite as good as expected and the staff were a little less friendly than expected. However would definitely return due to location and sky bar

    The sky bar was amazing beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overwhelmed by a wedding so no space at sky bar.

    Sky bar has wonderful views. Loved the pool by the lake. Food in restaurant good.excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    The new pool area is superb and the sky bar is also fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was not that extensive and the waiters during breakfast are all a bit grim faced, but efficient.

    The new pool area is superb and the sky bar is also fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Location in Stresa , beautiful swimming pool , and our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skybar being used for outside events , and one of our rooms not fully renovated - renovation taking place whilst we were there

    Location in Stresa , beautiful swimming pool , and our room. Reception recognised an issue we had and dealt with it well .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in a great location, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge needed defrosting.

    We were allowed early check-in (11am) after long flight from Australia. Breakfast was excellent and view from dining room over the gardens and lake was superb. Skybar was fabulous and drinks, although a bit pricey, came with snacks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely resort, great hotel with most stylish roof bar and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the whole I can't think of anything of significance that needs improving.

    Great location and Sky Bar and small pool on roof are exceptional - only jacuzzi I have used with such amazing views right over Lake Maggiore. Rooms had lateral view of lake and were a good size, very stylish and lovely shower/bathroom. Good breakfast selection. Very good pool situated right opposite hotel with an affinity pool overlooking lake, small bar and changing facilities. Perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great view from our waterfront room. Enjoyed the hotel and Stresa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main dining room was old fashion. Said they were renovating next. Lots of mosquitoes at night. No candles or spray to help.

    Roof top bar, great pool, modern and up to date decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice on the breakfast was limited: no porridge, no fresh vegetables. Little bit noisy from the rooftop bar, but it wasn't too annoying.

    Location is perfect. Fantastic view from the balcony. We asked to change room to upper floor. The staff gave us nice option on the 6th floor. Nice rooms, modern design. Free big parking. Very friendly staff. Nice bar on the rooftop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice Hotel but a few negatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very comfy bed, great new pool area, breakfast average great location but negatives cannot always use Sky bar when external events on seems wrong when your a paying guest and also no coffee in room or lounge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Great homebase to check Lagi di Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thiefs on the parking lot. No security or surveillance there.

    Location right at lakefront and close proximity to the center of Stresa. Rooftop bar and pool area were swanky.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, there was nothing I didn’t like.

    Loved everything about this hotel. Staff very friendly, very clean hotel, right on lake front, excellent breakfast, we had room on side which had views off mountains and lake, beautiful, extremely comfy bed, fantastic air con and then there’s the Roof top bar and pool, just WOW, WOW, WOW. Stresa is a beautiful town and I would recommend this hotel. No need to take your own beach towels either as hotel provide these up in rooftop bar and pool. Perfect place to end your night having a drink there too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    False, all front without any of the practicalities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very neat and tidy hotel but obviously designed by a man. Total focus on gadgets, such as a shower that had a foot spray and 6 other shower settings, but didn't have a seat anywhere near a mirror or a plug point to allow someone to do their make-up, their hair or anything else when you need a mirror and electric power

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Overall we were delighted with our time at La Palma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The layout for the breakfast buffet is mysterious - bread and rolls miles from the butter/jams/honey, popular places like where to get bread and the toaster at opposite ends of the buffet table and wedged between pillars, so it is almost impossible to pass to the other side of the table as too many people waiting there, juice placed at a table far away from everything and a requirement for waiters to serve tea, coffee and so on, but most waiters seemingly unable to take such orders - there are special waiters to do this but quite how you know which is which defeats me. You also have to wait to be seated by one of the coffee / tea ordering waiters. Also our wash basin plug did not work and the balcony doors did not lock - not a problem as there is a security grill, but once again a sign that hotels never check these things, leaving it to guests to point out what does not work and being put to inconvenience whilst the problem is rectified during their stay.

    La Palma is right opposite the Lake with a wonderful view up towards Switzerland and of the Borromean islands. Our room, which appeared to have been renovated recently with tasteful decor, a super shower room, sockets with USB ports liberally spread throughout, a decent sized room safe at a sensible height for everyday use and plenty of wardrobe space with enough hangers, was very comfortable and overlooked the lake view from the balcony. The Sky Bar is delightful and the newly renovated pool across the road was a joy to use in the unexpected heat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    The sky bar was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older room was not to my taste and it was dark.

    The sky bar was lovely. The first room we stayed in was modern and lovely. We came back 2days later and were put in an old room without a lake view - they did take 50euros off the bill for lack of view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location, extremely relaxing beautiful town and felt very safe out standing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The three course meal was a let down so many people and by the time we got to desert there wasn’t much left so maybe need to put on more food

    The sky bar is amazing , only problem was if there was a private function on most tables were reserved so you couldn’t sit up there .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, small essentials let's it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room No slippers or robes Hot food at breakfast always cold 5 euros for coke drink Uncomfortable toilet, no slow close lid No drinking water provided in room Basic toiletries soap, shampoo

    Loved the sky bar pool and lounge area. Staff were lovely Locatation View from balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many private functions either in the bar area or on the roof top bar on more than on one occasion during our 4 night stay.

    Delightful hotel in a great spot. Super room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Stunning roof top bar + splash pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious without going overboard. A perfect location to enjoy the view and walk to restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We needed a corkscrew to enjoy our wine on the balcony but we figured it out.

    We upgraded to have a lake view balcony and were so glad that we did. Breakfast was included and was very extensive. Make sure you say hi to the hotel golden retriever, Whisky. Don't miss a trip to the Sky Bar, the views are stunning. The free parking was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.0
    Lovely position, would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities in bedroom. No swimming pool. Some senior staff at breakfast less than friendly.

    Excellent service from staff in the bar. Christina in particular. Very good dinner in restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    Stylish modern hotel spoiled by no aircon, very noisy pool works and private functions at Skybar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Aircon not working all week Swimming pool refurbishment and expansion meant noise from 6am in morning all week Skybar often closed to residents due large number of private functions Can hear people in neighbouring rooms at night Bottles from functions being noisily disposed of after midnight plus accompanying shouting from hotel staff

    Food good, ambience good, stylish modern

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Skybar great when you can use it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Sky bar was shut in the first night ( bad weather ) but on the second night there was a private function for 120. This seriously limited the hotel guest’s use of the bar. At 18.00hrs we were asked to move as the seats we were using had been booked for the private function !!! The hotel should notify guests before booking of dates where this will take place. Without the skybar the hotel is just another nice hotel. We booked this hotel because of the skybar ( friends recommendation ) This might seem a bit of a moan but it’s the reason we stayed at this hotel and we weren’t told when we checked in, so beware.

    Warm and welcoming staff, nice location. Skybar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliaint views,excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    snack menu very expensive,no kettle or iron available for room.

    Fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. Lake view rooms ensured that you were woken by the sunrise over the mountains. Staff lovely,hotel spotlessly clean, breakfast good. Sky bar views amazing. Our second visit and already planning for next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Renovated hotel with a rooftop bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is full of visitors brought by buses and staying just overnight. The staff does not care, because tomorrow another bus will arrive anyways...

    Good location. Skybar on the rooftop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Incredible sky bar with beautiful view on the Boromean...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large hôtel feeling

    Incredible sky bar with beautiful view on the Boromean islands with a small swimming pool. Nice rooms. Free parking. Nice gym with state of the art materials. A larger swimming pool on the lake is being renovated at the moment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay at one of the most gorgeous locations you can imagine, only 50 minutes away from Malpensa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner at the hotel restaurant was a real disappontment - only a basic buffet available and no a la carte menu. How can this be at a hotel of this standard? Breakfast was also at most average, if even that. Disappointment was also that the hotel pool at the lakeshore was under construction and not available, this could have been better visible at the website

    Location, location, location - what a great spot by the lakeshore with a gorgeous view over the lake and snow-cap mountains. This all at a 3 minute walking distance to the town center and 10 minute walk to some of the main sights. Most awesome roof top pool area and sky bar we have ever seen anywhere in the world. Nice rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Very nice location to stay and enjoy the best of Stresa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool on the roof terrace should be heated for a perfect setup!

    Very nice people ate the reception makes things easier. Hotel is so nice and with great amenities including electric shades , brand new a/c system and keyless entry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant. We plan to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Except for the pastry, the breakfast is pretty mediocre.

    We enjoy modern design and style. Unlike many of its neighbors, with their turn of the century Italian style, La Palma is sleek and crisp. The staff is friendly and helpful and the prices are very reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Took some amazing pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think the cleaning lady cleaned the room floor every day and never added toiletries although we stayed there for over a week.

    The rooms were lovely and clean. Gym amazing. Rooftop fabulous. Food very good and staff wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly designed bathroom. Nowhere to hang clothing in bathroom. Breakfast no better than what we received at a Bed & Breakfast . No fresh fruit salad. Only dried fruits. The whole apples were old and shriveled. Check in staff unfriendly and didn't bother to volunteer any dinner or touristy guidelines. She did however ask us to move the car because she thought we were blocking the entrance and then she walk us to our room to show us how to open the door and operate the aircon 🙃 No tea facilities in the room. Information guidelines in a tacky folder Paid to use the internet and printing facilities in the lobby

    Spacious room and bathroom. Beautiful spacious lobby. Long balcony facing the lake. Free parking across the road Loved the mirror in the bedroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Recommend facilities ....just don’t eat there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was terrible and the music so loud we took desert to our room and did not eat another meal there. Definitely a place for large tour groups who are not picky about the food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    One of the Grand Hotels of Stresa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many of the floor -- not desk -- staff encountered seemed too brisk, not pleasant. Desk staff were very helpful.

    The hotel has been renovated to a contemporary, sleek look except for the spacious dining room. Breakfast is extensive, although service is a little spotty due to an excessively pretentious head waiter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The skybar is stunning. The staff are exceptional and are so very helpful. We loved this hotel for its location, its facilities, and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable and modern lakeside resort with spectacular lake views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative comes to mind.

    LaPalma is a modern resort hotel nestled among some older grande dames with all the amenities a traveler will want including large well appointed rooms with spectacular lake views and a complete spa and workout facility. The public areas including the rooftop bar with drop dead lake view are appealing. The dining room is very large and busy with many small tour groups lodged at the hotel. We enjoyed a fixed price menu dinner in the hotel dining room. A full breakfast buffet is available with American style bacon and eggs available at a small surcharge. The lake ferries and the centro storico with restaurants and shops is just a short stroll along the lakeside promenade. All in all a great value for the level of comfort and service provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Generally very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle provided in rooms, although one can request for hot water at all times, it's not the same. One of the necessities for seniors. Found only one very helpful and amiable waiter in the restaurant, the rest were a little aloof to the point of being condescending. Not sure if it was because we're Asian and not familiar to them or because we're more used to smily faces.

    Excellent view, very good and convenient location within walking distance to the town center and restaurants. I appreciate the warm tower rack in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    A perfect week all,round with a touch of luxury and attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool across the road.

    Rooms with a view were perfect. Breakfast at tables for two were always available. Location was fantastic. Sky Bar was spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    We had a fantasy few days at La Palma. It is a wonderful hotel. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with the ceiling lights in our room. They did not turn off completely and so we were left with 5 very bright stars shining down on us when the room was in darkness. It wasn't a huge problem but it was quite irritating after the second night. We did tell them at reception after the first night, also the heating was an issue. The room became very hot and we had to ring reception several times to turn it down, The very fancy dial in our room didn't seem to control anything and the staff at reception said they controlled the temperature which seemed a little strange.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we arrived after 15:00 o'clock ( Checkin Time) but our room was still not available, we had to wait until 16:00. As reward the host offered us welcome drinks at the SkyBar on top of the hotel.

    Great location, close to the city center, and wonderful view over the Lake Maggiore and Borromeo Island. Lovely view from the SkyBar on top of the hotel. Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Hotel La Palma Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three days before scheduled departure we asked to check out one night early due to early departure of flight in morning. We were charged 40 Euros per room for changing the departure date. While this is not outrageous after paying for nine nights and letting them have 3 nights notice and the hotel is full. It just seems petty!

    Excellent hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Relaxed atmosphere, stunning scenery, Oozes Italian Style, perfect getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My pillow and bed were much too firm for my preference.

    The sky bar was breathtaking, each drink came with delicious snacks, breakfast was fresh, flavorful and the coffee was perfect.We had a side view room, which still had an incredible view. The Bathroom was spotless and beautiful, amazing shower.Cleanliness was 5*. Truly relaxing and would highly recommend if you are staying in Stresa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful Stresa, Great Breakfast -Good location not so great nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were so hard , cleaners so noisy every morning right outside our room opposite the lifts . Despite requesting late check out weeks before there was no note nor negotiation for an extra hour or two or more . Could have had a better choice of toiletries & would have loved tea & coffee making facilities in the room.

    Rooms very clean , great bathroom & good choice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    I would still stay here again now I've learnt a few lessons from this trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot drink facilities in the room. Sounds simple but for a coffee lover this was noticed. Probably spent €60 over 4 days just on ordering cups of tea/coffee for the room. (€6 for a cup of tea!) No iron either in the room or at Reception and so couldn't wear half the clothes I'd taken. In their defence, these aren't listed in the amenities but I would never think to look for them either as I've never not had access to these simple items during my travels. The Sky Bar prices were more than the bar in Reception too which I thought was a little strange.

    Very clean and great care taken to keep the hotel looking good. Great location on the lakeside and a nice terrace next to the swimming pool. Hotel provided beach towels too. The front lawn was lovely and provided another nice outdoor seating area. Some staff were lovely and helpful but some weren't. They allowed us to arrange a late check out and have an extra 4hrs due to a late depart but did charge us €50 for the privilege. We got a good price on the room as booked early. The prices shown nearer our travel dates were not worth what you got. I wouldn't pay more than €180 a night. Continental Breakfast was included however.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    We stayed there for 3 nights and apart from evening events,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there in August weekends and each evening Hotel had some events in Skybar (weddings). So, starting from 18:00 there were lots of people at the lobby who were occupying almost all the space as well as lifts which they used for going from lobby to skybar and back. As you may guess these guest ended up at Skybar and there were literally no possibility to go there and have a drinks in the evening.

    We stayed there for 3 nights and apart from evening events, everything else was very good. The rooms are spacious and have new furniture installed. The whole experience I would rate as excellent for 4* Hotel. We liked the bar at the top as well as the lobby-bar. There were cozy sofas in the garden which provide quite good view on the lake. + Free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Great because of the friends we were with, but spoiled by the lack of decent pool facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get near the sunbeds on the roof because people booked them with towels. There were also whole families up there taking over the complete area including children jumping in and out of the plunge pool. This meant we were forced to use the pool next to the lake which was shabby, neglected and extremely cold. It was also very difficult to get in and out of. A huge disappointment.

    The hotel was comfortable and the views from the Skybar were stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were separated from our adult children as they were given rooms in an old building at the back of the hotel! It all turned out ok but we weren't happy at the time. The rooms were not of the same standard as the main hotel rooms, also there wasn't a mirror in the bedrooms!

    Breakfast just ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Only a 3 day stay after we had attended a wedding at Lake Como. Hope to go back sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roof bar was a bit crowded at night with children. Still I suppose you can't leave them in the bedroom and it is school holidays!

    We did not request a lake view but the side lake view we had was lovely. We were across the road from some elegant deserted grand houses. Very pretty. We liked the small pool area on the beach across the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    We arrived at midday and were able to check in straight away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an interconnecting room and could hear, very clearly, the whole conversation of the guests next door, when they went to the toilet etc; just like they were in our room. (Presumably they could hear us too!) The staff would have changed our room to a non inter-connecting one but we decided to leave it as the other guests weren't up late so it wasn't for too long. When I was at reception one morning I heard another guest complaining about this problem. Do not get an interconnecting room!!!

    We arrived at midday and were able to check in straight away which was wonderful. Our room had 'lateral lake views'' which were better than I expected.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay at La Palma!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water temperature in lake pool

    The hotel is the best in the area Staff is excellent and in particular the Manager was fantastic, I heard some noises from an adjacent room, he immediately called the occupants and the noise stopped - Thank you! Skybar is FANTASTIC, the best view in town! Swimming pool in the lake amazing but water temperature too cold...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Really nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing, not a great selection of fruit available. The larger pool is across the main road from which hotel.

    Rooms really comfortable, air con in the room very effective (which was handy given it was a heatwave). Liked the modern room controls (air con, do not disturb functions etc). Large bathroom with walk in shower was fab, rooftop bar and rooftop pool really good. Great location. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    great location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room a little cold

    Great location with the lake view, spacious room with the balcony, lovely alfresco breakfast. Walking distance to the town centre, free parking underground. The roof top sky bar was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Great , very comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but paid for partial view lake room which was as far as possible away from lake but still a partial lake view

    Very comfortable , great air con , efficient staff and perfect location in stresa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Divine stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wouldn't change a thing.

    Gorgeous location, friendly and helpful reception staff, lovely rooms, flower-decked balconies and 2 pools to cope with the summer heat. Close to restaurants and the old town and right across the road from the lake. A delight from start to finish.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    I expected more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty (hair on the floor) and the bathroom was smelly. I wouldn't have thought that it was necessary to complain about those things at a 4star hotel. Anyway the hotel solved these issues quickly. Also the staff at the "sky bar" was impolite and didn't seem to be interested in the needs of the guests.

    A free parking was offered next to the hotel on an old property. The breakfast was great and didn't leave a single wish open. The waiters in breakfast hall were super friendly and did a great job! Also the location of the hotel and its own pools on the roof and next to the lake are awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    4.2
    Beware of Management who will trade your right for a restful night for the occasional wedding party
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A wedding took place in the one and only dining room and the adjoining lawns!! all lakeside rooms are located above the venue. The noise was terrible. Not only the very very loud music but also the shouts of drunken guests to 2 am. The staff, including the Night Manager, were very unpleasant when we asked to tone down, close the hall's windows, and drive out the drunkards from the garden. Mind you, our windows were double glazed and closed and it was impossible to fall asleep. This hotel will betray your trust for the occasional wedding party.

    Sky bar with a great view....but...not worth it when you consider the answers to the next question

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Ideal lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy in the morning when other guests were in and out of their rooms to go on excursions. The breakfast room was old fashioned, with a weird rigmarole to be served tea or coffee. We would have appreciated tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Staff seemed to focus on the various corporate events taking place in the bars, rather than residents.

    Hotel was in an ideal location, 5 minutes walk from the town, where there was a large choice of restaurants and bars. Room was very comfortable and well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Almost everything,location and the town of Stresa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were unfortunate with the weather, spoilt our relax in the sky bar

    Almost everything,location and the town of Stresa. Hotel is a traditional hotel ,We thought everything was spot on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    Balcony (on the 5th floor) very claustrophobic and grubby -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Balcony (on the 5th floor) very claustrophobic and grubby - uncomfortable chairs. Pool very poor - limited umbrellas - limited shade - drastically needs total refurbishment. Sky Bar very good for evenings but useless as a daytime leisure area as no shade.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic setting and loved the sky bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mosquitos all over the area family were badly bitten spoilt the holiday more needs to be done as it will hit tourism in the area. Second time here and last time were not troubled by them. Spoke to a lot of other people and in the pharmacy and it is a big problem. Would stop us coming back

    Fantastic setting and loved the sky bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    This hotel sells itself on its Sky Bar, however, because the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel sells itself on its Sky Bar, however, because the bar is open to non residents it proved very difficult for residents to use. Perhaps it would be a good idea to reserve an area for residents only.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Lakeside luxury and style
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful location on the promenade in Stresa, over looking the Lake and the Borromean islands. The hotel was very comfortable. There is a pool right on the edge of the lake and another on the roof. The views from the Sky Bar an infinity pool are spectacular and it's a great spot for an evening drink.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Nothing to disappoint at La Palma, Stresa, Lake Maggiore .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym could be a bit better equipped.

    We loved the large room, huge bed and contemporary furniture. Also the wardrobe corridor and really good en suite. Nice terrace (lake view). 5 minute walk into town along the promenade where there are lovely eateries and shops. Sky Bar on 7th floor is amazing and perfect for that sundowner. Very good buffet breakfasts overlooking pretty garden and lake. Very glad we upped our budget to stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended, but some small improvements in staff interactons would make it even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not aĺl of the staff seemed to engage as effectively as we would have liked. Some could have shown better customer care.

    This was our third stay at La Palma. We love the hotel, which combines modern facilities with old style service and comfort. The public areas snd grounds are lovely. The rooftop Sky Bar is fantastic. Cleaning staff and some bar staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Left hand wardrobe was very dark - light needed. Insufficient drawers of the right size for clothes.

    Spacious room, general ambience, large balcony shaded for most of the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Great Views, Comfortable Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay here! The beach/pool right in front of the property and the pool on the top were great. The view from the room was incredible and the room was clean and very nice. The sky bar was incredible and the perfect place for apertivo and to watch the sunset (with great staff!). The location is perfect in Stressa and right by the ferry, cable car and, walkable to all the restaurants/town. Again, THE VIEW!! Overall, great stay and no complaints!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely superb hotel with amazing rooftop terrace bar and pool and nice second pool by the seaside. Best airconditioning ever, quit and efficient!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    A great place to stay while in Stresa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Partial Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only drawback was the high temperature due to very little air conditioning in the dining room and lobby areas. All other aspects were very good to excellent.

    I liked most everything about the La Palma.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Palma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: