Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Papaya

Via Don Mander 10, 56128 Marina di Pisa, Italy

#3 of 8 hotels in Marina di Pisa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 368 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.5
    There was no breakfast but we could make it ourselves on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no breakfast but we could make it ourselves on the terasse. We could use plates and glasses. Was perfect for us. Coffee we got around the corner. Location is very good and cute place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    " I'll be back ";)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Greate localisation, quiet even if next to the main road, very nice owner offers clean rooms. Next to room a lot nice places to get perfect meal. bus stop just next to it so easy to get to PIsa for example.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sign for the pension is quite modest and easy to miss if there are large vehicles parked by the entrance.

    The Papaya is a small pension with rooms at ground level arranged around a courtyard. The parking is street parking directly outside the pension. The owner has a shop which has simple meals and supplies including wine which is located at the back of the pension facing onto the main street. The owner was very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Owner very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I never found a kettle/coffee maker as advertised! If you opened the shutter, you were looking directly at the communal inside courtyard so this meant keeping the shutter closed most of the time and zero natural light.

    Owner very friendly. Peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and clean with top location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stuff was very frendly. Our room was very clean. The location of the B&B La Papaya is top. You can walk through the streets to shops, resturants and cafes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    The room and bathroom were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had not looked closely enough when booking. Breakfasts were no longer being served as we arrived out of season. There are bars very close where you can get delicious coffee and cakes though. Our room had a loo which was a bit slow to flush.

    The room and bathroom were very clean. Liked the rustic furnishings in the room. Ideal for us as a one-night stop-over close to Pisa Airport - absolutely no plane noise. Short walk to the promenade: beautiful long stretches of sea. There is a very good supermarket close by. The owner was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    The ubication an the room beautiful furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is the first time that I come to an hotel and does not have a telephone into the room I have a foreign phone that I cannot use in Italy the persone who attend me was nice and borrow me his phone but I think is very important have a phone inside the room If I need anything.

    The ubication an the room beautiful furniture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, Enrico and his mother were excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple breakfast which with the addition of a few items from the connected deli would have been perfect.

    Brilliant host family, comfortable room, great location and the attached wine bar/deli/restaurant is a hidden gem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant family break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the friendly family who run this b&b. We enjoyed our little seating area outside our room and how relaxed everything and everyone was. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For me it's too late to have my morning coffee at 9. Usually I have breakfast some hours earlier. It would have been nice with some vegetables and cheese for breakfast, not only sweet yoghurt, jam and white bread. It was hard to find the place when we arrived by public transport, because the name of the street wasn't written in the street and people we asked didn't know where La Papaya was, so we had to call the owner. He was very nice and came and picked us up.

    The location is excellent with a very good food market in the same block. It is also a very short walk to a good beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.8
    Calm and Relax place to spend quiet time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just bread, a yogurt, bottled juice & coffee ! To be in Italy I was hoping the breakfast will be bit more than just bread and a banana yogurt. Overall everything else was good.

    The location, very close to the sea, pretty much that will be the main attraction of Marina. The room was very clean and conformable to spend a relax and alone time in a very calm and quiet place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    La Papaya brightens up Marina di Pisa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    La Papaya had a great large room for us, but the tight toilet position in the somewhat narrow width bathroom made leg clearance for my over 6 feet tall partner somewhat difficult. It may be just the peculiarities of retrofitting a bathroom into the original house structures. It was doable, and somewhat charming as well.

    Enrico and his mom were so friendly and helpful to us as we checked in and got acclimated to the beautiful little locale of Marina di Pisa. He speaks English and German as well as Italian and pointed out helpful locations in response to our questions. The interior patio and breakfast area was so Italian and welcoming. Great cappuccino, juice and rolls for breakfast. Quiet location away from hustle and bustle of Pisa, with opportunity for long, quiet walks along the seawalk in May.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. 3 min walk from Beach. Parking on the street but was plenty. Owner was nice, explained everything perfectly. The place was clean, had a private patio available for use. Everything was clean. I had no negative things to say. It is not luxury place but just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    4.6
    Mould in the shower bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is B&B but they Don't offer breakfast until May! Do the first unpleasant surprise.the second unpleasant surprise is the room tideness. They clear it every day, but diring 3days staying they have not washed the floor :( there is a mould in the shower bath and on the walls on same places in the bathroom

    Very friendly owner and his son

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    Great place to stay, but no breakfast in October
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This bed and breafast only does Breakfast in the Summer season. WE specically booked this site because we wanted a hearty breakfast prior to our heavy days of touring. All was not losr however. There is a bread shop around the corner where we could get food as well as a grocery down the street from the bread shop. Also, they left the shower window open after cleaning so each evening we had to battle mosquitoes and each morning show our new bites. We came in October.

    My kid lost her key. 10€ to replace. They had space for our large family. QUAINT fun accomodations (Loved the open air courtyard), near the beach front, restaurants, lavanderia, and bus stop. WE stayed 5 days.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Small room furnished in retro style with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very small and not very convenient.

    Small room furnished in retro style with everything you need.The owner has done successful experiment of minimum area to provide maximum comfort for guests. Good location near the yacht harbor and main street. Nice little patio and breakfast in the Italian style. Very friendly owners. I recommend this place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    A lovely, cozy b&b a few step from the beach and great tuscan cities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was very welcoming and friendly. We only spent one night there but we will definitely consider to go there for a longer holiday soon. Note: Mattresses are very super comfortable !!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Very friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Customers can be provided with more information of how to get to the place by public transport+ schedule of buses BEFOREHAND - its not very often especially at night, and when arrive train station at night, it was a big problem to find a bus station. - Breakfast can be less sweet (it was only sweet juice and sweet cookies) and more European (water, cheese, eggs)... For those who has no habit to est so many sweet things, can be a problem. Although its no problem to buy it supermarket of course..

    Very friendly owner. Close to bus station. Supermarket 1 minute. Clean rooms. Perfect coffee and very sweet lady who served the breakfast)))

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing stay with great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could use fly screens (mosquitos), a slice of cheese or ham would be a nice change in the super sweet breakfast

    Nice clean (but rather small) rooms, extra blow dryer, daily room service (not really necessary, still nice), close to the supermarket and a short walk to a small sandy beach. Really nice hosts, homemade cakes for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Great Place to Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pleasantly greeted upon arrival by Enrico. Everything was clean and tidy. The venue is close to the beach and local shops and restaurants. Great value for money! To cap it all we were served a great continental breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Pisa Marina weekend on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't that I did not like what was offered at breakfast. I would have preferred more choice.

    Location, lovely friendly owner, easy place to stay We will definitely stay again when we return to Tuscany

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location and staff. Secure for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was very close to the beach and local amenities. The courtyard is closed in and v secure for young kids to play in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent position for beach, 20 mins from airport. Excellent hosts very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent owners were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, the scenery at beach front is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location was great, the scenery at beach front is incredible. Marina Di Pisa is so beautiful!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea or coffee machine

    Quiet place . Good location. Very friendly owner. Excellent food and wine at Manzi (owner place)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Host super polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t really think of anything.

    Host super polite and helpful. It’s obvious how properly he takes care of property and guests comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    nice & easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no complaints

    I‘m coming to this place once a year and it‘s perfect for me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    A quiet place, good to chill out,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good. Location, lots of restaurants, good coffee shops all nearby, also bus stop 1 minutes walk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and enjoyable ,good bus service,too Pisa and Livorno, mostly free we never found out why.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the courtyard a bit chilly although we enjoyed it

    The very friendly owner and staff, the Italian feel of the property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Close to the boulevard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only sweet for breakfast. Pay for parking (4 euro a day).

    Close to the boulevard. Cosy breakfast scenery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant, friendly and helpful host who also runs a superb deli/cafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street parking is 4 euros/day.

    Breakfast was a bit meagre. Good coffee though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I LIKED THE PAPAYA VERY MUCH INDEED, NO COMPLAINTS

    i WAS MADE TO FEEL MOST WELCOME, EVERYTHING WAS AS IT SHOULD BE, EXCELLENT

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    a little bit quiet at this area, season ended, some nearby restaurants seemed closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, clean and well organised.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.5
    nice location, all restaurnts are near, parking was free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice location, all restaurnts are near, parking was free.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable room and ideal position in a quiet street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Tea/ Coffee making facilities in room. No breakfast service available.

    Very comfortable room and ideal position in a quiet street but close to the bus stop for Pisa and the local shops and restaurants. Welcoming and helpful proprietor. The inner court yard was wonderful for sitting out in,sheltered and with both shade and sunny areas.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    The room was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I suggest to place a support for soap inside the shower case.

    The room was very nice. The B&B is placed in a quite and silent part of Marina Di Pisa. The parking is just in front of the B&B, it's public with blue lines, it means pay area, but during winter it's free. Good wifi. The owner has a food shop (called "Manzi") nearby, in Maiorca Street.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.3
    Very clean and simple accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean and simple accomodation. Interconnecting bedroom for our daughter which was great. Good location, walking distance to marina,beach & restaurants etc.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Enrico was very helpful - he organized transport from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Enrico was very helpful - he organized transport from the airport for us - he was was always available to ask questions - the lady Maria serving the breakfast was very pleasant and helpful too. They were very happy for us to use the facilities for self-catering during the day. It was also easy to communicate via email with Enrico so this made it easy to plan before the trip. Everything was very clean and good air con and wi-fi - it was easy to walk to the beach and to the shops and resturants. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    This is the perfect place to stay at if you are spending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This is the perfect place to stay at if you are spending most of your time outdoors in Marina di Pisa and Tuscany (Pisa region) in general. The rooms are moderately sized, but extremely tidy and clean, they have A/C and a hairdrier, the windows have shades. Breakfast is brought to your table, and last but not least at all: Enrico Manzi, the owner, is extremely welcoming and friendly, and he makes you feel at home instantly. Great choice, and will stay there again next year!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Great atmosphere, small and personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The road name needs to be exactly correct so that the sat nav can find it and we don't drive all round the town trying to find the place.

    Great atmosphere, small and personal. Rooms clean and beds VERY comfortable. Owners SO helpful, found us a kettle to make tea and spent ages sorting out our driving permissions for us. Great to have tables to sit and socialise with other guests and eat our supper.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    Good location for those who wants to swim in the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location for those who wants to swim in the sea. Very friendly stuff and nice clean rooms with air conditioning that saved us when it was 40 degrees outside

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The location is ideal, very close to the sea and it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location is ideal, very close to the sea and it's possible to park the car outside the property for free. The property in itself is very charming and I thought it looked better than on the pictures. The host family is very friendly and helpful. It was a real pleasure to meet them. The breakfast was gorgeous: delicious cakes made by the owner's mother. The bedroom was very nicely decorated, very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I wish I had stayed there longer!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.9
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I prefer to stay in places where breakfast is included and I have facility to make a cup of tea when I want.

    The staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    8.3
    Good location from which we visited Pisa by bus and Lucca by...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Good location from which we visited Pisa by bus and Lucca by car. Owner helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.2
    location, the room itself, friendly staff, free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    would be nice to have breakfast.

    location, the room itself, friendly staff, free wifi

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    Friendy people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast - but stay was out of season

    Friendy people

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    location, staff, hospitality, cleanliness, the courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast could have been a little bit better.

    location, staff, hospitality, cleanliness, the courtyard

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location, friendly staff. The food at the local family delicatessen was amazing as was the family ice cream shop next door!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    3.3
    poor breakfast, uncomfortable room, bed, toilet
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast, uncomfortable room, bed, toilet no english staff except manager

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Very friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Very friendly owners. Lovely room with good air conditioning. Proper size fridge.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Excellent location to beach area and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location to beach area and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.9
    sea side location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a nasty mosquito

    sea side location restaurants and shops nearby parking on the street

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: