Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Pia 3 stars

Via Montebello 30, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy

#9 of 96 hotels in Montecatini Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    It was an excellent holiday, enjoyed all aspects of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy from the courtyard but only before 12mn.Suggest taking earplugs as I always do .

    Everything was very good. Room spacious, very clean, bed very comfortable, view from room was spectacular. Aircon was excellent as temp was 30 .plus. plentiful hot water at all times. Maria and all staff were helpful, cheerful and attentive. Would love to return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.5
    Great friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    'twas all good. Love this place.

    Great friendly staff. Talked all the languages needed. Good position in town for everything. Railways line close to get to Lucca, Pisa, Florence. Town is lovely anyway. Good restaurants. Safe to walk at night. Never had a problem in 6 visits.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a great holiday and will surely stay at Hotel La Pia again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hand shower in bathroom leaked and therefore couldn't be used. Strange hair dryer.

    Very clean, plenty of space to hang and store clothes and personal belongings. Safe in room. We ate in the hotel on a few nights, the food was traditional Italian and delicious. Staff incredibly helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike. The breakfast was good. It would have been even better if there was some fresh vegetables (e.g. tomatoes) available as well.

    Clean, spacious rooms. Solid breakfast. Great hosts, always willing to help us and answer all our questions. What especially impressed me is that Ms Maria easily communicates in several languages, at least in English, German, French and of course Italian.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyable in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The welcome on arrival - the friendly atmosphere around the hotel. Our room with a balcony was excellent. The food was extremely good, the staff were very professional. the owner could not do enough to ensure our stay was memorable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    We loved Montecatini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Home cooked meals every evening were a wonderful surprise and we didn't need to hunt for restaurants. We are ignorant about wines from that region as we usually drink Australian wines. Marîa has a wonderful knowledge of Tuscan wines and was able to recommend something suitable to accompany each delicious meal. A real treasure. We'll definitely return there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Simple and short stay, Good little spreading Spa town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold boiled eggs at breakfast. Rooms not 100% sound proof, but for this well ran small hotel, no major complaints.

    Good price, great and helpfull hostess and staff Clean rooms, and good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was satisfactory, not so big choice, but enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV was not operating, we could not switch it.

    Breakfast was satisfactory, not so big choice, but enough. The staff was polite, she asked us about our demand. The room was big enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Value for Money Deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could use a bit of renovation. Furniture a bit older, bed could be more comfortable. It is not relevant if you are comming for a short stay.

    Hotel La Pia is real value for money hotel. Staff is really great, pleasent and helpfull. Facilities are very clean, and breakfast is quite ok, you can choose from spread whether you prefer saltie or sweet breakfast. Furniture is a bit older, bed could be more causy, but everything is very clean and it has big bathroom. Montecatini (altough quite charming itself) provides great location and starting point for exploring Tuscany. We stayed here three nights in July 2017 based on a recommendation and would recommend it for short stay definitelly to others. Especilly if Montecatini is just a base for daily excursions, as it was for us. We went from here to Cinque Terre, Florence, Luca and San Gimnigano.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    A perfect little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Madam Pia is such a wonderful host! She always has a smile on and is never too busy to answer questions or help the guests. She booked our tickets for the Uffizi gallery over the phone and saved us hours of waiting. She gave us recommendations for restaurants and advice on what to do and how to travel in the region. The hotel is exactly as shown in the pictures, the rooms are large enough and some have balcony--we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony at the end of our day, the view is wonderful. Also, this hotel has tables outside on the small square, where we enjoyed our breakfast every morning. In comparison, most hotels around it only have a few chairs squeezed between the hotel and the street where cars are passing by. There is a private parking lot right behind the hotel, which was definitely worth the small daily fee. Breakfast is varied and plentiful. We enjoyed our time at this hotel very much and we will be definitely going back on our next trip to Tuscany.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great, spacious room in really central location. Pia was extremely friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    The best place ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find anything wrong if I tried.

    Maria Pia was amazing. She tried so hard to please her guests, and make them feel at home. Her directions, tips on what and how to do things were excellent. Her staff followed her lead, & were equally great. Her English is excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, and would stay there again in a heartbeat. The free breakfast was good. The tables outside, out front, are lovely. you I just can't say enough good things!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    The Best Hotel in Montecatini!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our 8 night stay at Hotel La Pia could not have been better. Maria Pia, the owner and operator, was like having your own personal tour advisor. No request was too difficult for Maria. When we return to Italy, we will definitely stay at Hotel La Pia.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Great service and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria Pia, the owner of this hotel, was such a wonderful, attentive host! If you are looking for a typical Tuscan experience stay at Pia- it will be everything you had hoped for and more! The breakfast is fantastic, the room very clean and the view from our balcony- splendid!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.5
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit hard.

    Maria was wonderful & helpful. She gave us tips for places to eat & where to go. Breakfast was good. Easy to walk to the center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect in every way!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Perfect in every sense
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Perfect in every sense

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, good breakfast, good outside space, parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, good outside space, parking space (costs extra)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff were lovely and accommodating and it was a excellent location. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower

    I liked the cappuccino

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    swimming pool or jacuzzi

    Extremely friendly and accommodating staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Good location, poor facilities, basic accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi Poor breakfast Hotel parking €6 a day Very basic room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    great placr to stay near florencee
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great host

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic rooms, but clean and sufficient.

    Great location and secure parking - nice restaurant. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location Very clean Great staff Good Wi-fi Nice Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Needs a refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a refurbishment..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent traditional hotel in a top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, friendliness of staff, wi fi, lounge, all ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value hotel near Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very clean hotel, very helpful staff, the hostess of the hotel is an expert on the region. Closed parking near the hotel. Overall great value !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Beautifull family hotel, great stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifull family hotel, great stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Great stuff, really try hard to satisfy a customer
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stuff, really try hard to satisfy a customer

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Maria and her brother go out of their way to be helpful by buying railway tickets in advance, organising tours and supplying much local information, leaflets, maps and timetables. Food home cooked and excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    A great value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad.

    A great value hotel. It is 3 star and that is what you get. Staff are very friendly and helpful - they get rail tickets and have maps of all the local cities. They know about all the best (and less well known) attractions. Everything very close, yet a quiet spot in itself. Breakfast good and extensive. Room comfortable. Good Aircon (it as 42 when we were there!) Please do stay here.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    Maria and her brother did all they could to make our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maria and her brother did all they could to make our stay enjoyable Breakfast and other meals very good Air conditioning very efficient Balcony - we paid extra for balcony room...well worth it.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything about our stay

    The staff. Maria was very helpful She made our stay very memorable.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    The staff at Hotel La Pia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff at Hotel La Pia. Pia and Hugo are the best. They treat us like we are family.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: