Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Piazza 4 stars

Via S. Pietro, 98050 Panarea, Italy

#12 of 17 hotels in Panarea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing not too like!

    Absolutely fabulous! Incredible idyllic setting with charm and character that is sadly lacking in most of today's modern establishments. A must have experience to get a taste of what heaven probably will be like. Loved every moment!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful staff, delicious breakfast, extremely clean bedroom, cute cats 🤗😜 I would definitely recommend this accommodation to everyone. Well done Hotel la Piazza!!! 👍🏻👍🏻

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. The pool was much nicer than portrayed in the promotional photographs. But the outstanding thing was their consideration for our late ferry. We didn't check out 'til 5pm. With no extra charge! I was very impressed by this!! Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really bad breakfast... not that many choice and the things available were of low quality

    Beautiful and large sea water swimming pool with an amazing view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are rather dated .

    The spectacular view ( l think) from all the rooms. The lovely swimming pool with the wonderful view of the sea . The helpful staff and the fact that 'Out of season' ( May or September) there are no crowds and it is tranquil, incredibly beautiful and affordable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are old but the hotel is on an island - probably not so easy to renovate.

    The views, the pool, the dining area are all absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The island is a gem that has not changed since i came for the first time very long ago and it kept it's full beauty and charm. The hotel has an amazing kind frontdesk -staff and Maitre- Alessandro will do the outmost to please his clients!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food wasn't great, we only ate there for dinner on the first night and found it a little disappointing.

    Included breakfast was lovely, the hotel was in a beautiful location and the staff were very attentive. We went in April for four days and that was plenty of time given the island very small, I imagine in the summer months there is more to do as the excursions start up etc. We had a really chilled few days though and everyone at the hotel made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are definitely not four star with old beds, ancient blankets on the beds, cracked tiles in the bathroom. We were also not happy to see the spa closed (eg Jacuzzi), as this was one of the reasons we chose this hotel; being too early in the summer to use the outdoor pool. If facilities like this are used to promote a hotel, then I feel it's dishonest to not have them available upon arrival.

    The view was amazing, and the food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's nowhere near 4 star, it's dated, shower is tiny, very little in the way of four star facities. Bed was lumpy and 2 singles disguised as a double was uncomfortably annoying. Breakfast was average but covered in wasps and flies, it was not very appetising. The smell of sewerage outside our room was also off-putting. For the pricey pricetag, this hotel was nowhere near worth it. I heard the air bnbs are supposed to be fab at a third of the cost.

    The seawater pool and location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was cold wather in the shower - or it could take up to 10 min before the wather got hot.

    this hotel was more than expected, the staff was very nice, especially the bartender. hotel room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice but a bit basic.

    Perfectly located! Large room with scenic view. Great service and kind staff. Superb swimming pool and cocktails bar. Excellent restaurant. We enjoyed every minute in this lovely place!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps some people would find the shower a little small but to be honest that did not bother me at all. It was perfectly adequate for my needs so I have no complaints!

    It was my first solo trip and the hotel, location and above all the staff were absolutely wonderful. I felt very looked after the whole time and they went out of their way to help me when I had travel problems on my way there, and also very kindly arranged my transport back from Milazzo to Catania at the end of my stay. The facilities were wonderful, the hotel and island very peaceful (I was there in mid July) and the food and drink was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and once again a huge thank you to the friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Shower i the room was bearly working. Old rooms. Expected more for that insane price (both higher standard in general and also better service).

    The poolbar was good, and the hotel is located centrally.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allowed an extremely late checkout with in cutting anty extra cost

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor - almost no choice

    Amazing location and stunning views. Great value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location and the pool is wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds need upgrading

    This hotel has an amazing position and the owner and staff are very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room. We had the room on top of the laundry which is very noisy from 8am to 12pm! Not the best to sleep.

    The pool, the view are amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs a bit of updating

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were small and hard (twins).

    Everything! Location, food, pool, ambiance all wonderful. I wanted to stay for a month.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the view from the room terrace and the salt water pool were spectacular

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bees at breakfast

    All the staff especially Salvatore.Maurizio.Giovani

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We almost missed our ferry and they gave us a ride in the golf cart directly to the boat!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast Great views Very clean Great staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nicer to have fresh juice for breakfast- but that's about it!

    The welcome and staff were very helpful. We arrived before the pool was ready (very early season) but nothing was too much trouble. Recommend whole heartedly for lovely views, good location expert staff - and a very good meal

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I posted a review of Hotel La Piazza on 6th August 2014 (Anonymous) and could not wait to return! I spent another week at Hotel La Piazza in July 2015 and loved it even more the second time! The gardens are beautiful with exotic and abundant flowers and greenery. The rooms are spacious and arranged in such a way that you always feel as if you have lots of extra private space. The views from the restaurant are wonderful. The light changes over the sea throughout the day ; in the evening, candle light adds glamour and romance. The pool is a fantastic place to relax and again has fabulous views. The staff are excellent - so warm and genuine as well as professional and efficient. The port, cafes and restaurants, public beaches and mountain are but minutes away and yet Hotel La Piazza has a lovely secluded feeling too. It is a gorgeous place to stay, a wonderful place to meet people, and a perfect base for a holiday on Panarea. Hotel La Piazza is romantic, fun, unforgettable. The Aeolian Islands, Panarea and Hotel La Piazza are exceptional in every way and, once again, I cannot wait to return!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we loved everything about La Piazza and would definitely stay there again. we also went out on a boat trip with Giovanni to visit all the coves around the island - definitely worth doing, lots of fun.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    First room was small and poky, barely big enough for twin beds. Hotel is in the slightly old fashioned style that can be described as 4 star only in Italy.

    Our second room (after we moved) was much nicer, with a lovely sea view. Food in the restaurant was good, if a little pricey compared to nearby non-hotel dining.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was sometimes not working well ( different password for different areas in hotel)depending on location. It would be good to have some happy hour or similar initiatives organized by the pool at the end of the day. Better to have the beach towels straight down by the pool not upstairs at reception. A few more sun umbrellas around the pool would be good

    Beautiful authentic location unpretentious but at the same time charming and very special magical, real Italian experience. Staff all very friendly helpful and service oriented. The rooms with a view on the sea and the small balcony were simple but beautiful and characteristic. A small oasis close to everything on the beautiful small island of Panarea.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit overpriced. No Wi-Fi in ROOM. Toiletries are average. Breakfast could be better.

    Swimming pool with amazing view. Quiet room (except when they organise private parties around the pool). Staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They had no high chairs for little people (2 years or younger). That made it hard to enjoy meals. The pool had a very small shelf that was shallow so not great for little ones either.

    The pool was lovely as was the dining area. The property is beautiful and nicely located within town. The staff was very accommodating of our little one which was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a double with a single bed but the bed was made up of two unconfortable single bed matresses. The pillows were also not up to the hotel standard.

    The location is beatiful. The swimming pool a major feature in Panarea where access to the sea is not straightforward.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was rather dated and the shower cubicle was minute...however, the view from the balcony way makes up for this. People with limited mobility may have problems getting in and out of the pool as there is no easy access and the shallow end is still very deep.

    Amazing views and the peace of the place! It was terribly quiet with only the noise of the occasional hydrofoil passing by and the gardens around the hotel are beautiful. The view from our verandah was stunning and the pool was wonderful. The breakfast is incredible, quite the best of a 3 week holiday in Sicily and Panarea. Beautiful fresh cakes and pastries are baked every morning with delicious fresh coffee and the chef will make omlettes to order. We loved it here and will definitely return, but not in high season as I get the impression it would be manic. The location of this hotel could not be bettered and having taken a look at all the others in the town I think we made the right choice.We rented a boat for a day for 50 euros from Marco in the harbour and it was an absolute highlight of our trip...a must!

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much going on and not as interesting as Stromboli

    Our room had a nicely shaded terrace overlooking the sea. Restaurant/bar area also has a fabulous outlook

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have booked a room with the sea view.when the staff showed me the room, I did not like it since the trees were blocking my view.helpful staff immediately found a solution.they moved me to Villa Lydia which is very close. The views from Villa Lydia is breathtaking.it has its own private beach.you can chill in the big terrace and meditate,fall in love with the sunrise over and over again.at night you can listen to the sound of the sea... If you are solo traveler, you can go to an inner journey, if you are a couple this can be a very romantic holiday. in addition to all this pluses, the staff is very friendly.just learn some basic Italian and your holiday will be more fun. highly recommended, will come back again.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Very limited choice and variation in (lunch) menu (the same warm dish during 4 days, although it tasted very well). This will probably be different in high(er) season

    - View from the hotel (in particular from the pool) - Tranquility (at least in May) - The Island

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything- we went to panarea to trace family history. The owners and staff did everything to help us find our ancestral home and local cemetery . Our bags were lost in transit and they stayed in contact with airline until our bags were recovered.fantastic thank you Lydia and staff

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The view is amazing. Great pool. Our room was small but perfect. We could sit outside and gaze off into the horizon. The staff and the owner were very kind. The hotel is off the beaten path, but perfectly located.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel, with the owners present felt like visiting a family, the pool with sea water was great. No hyper design, all nice and homey. Will go back again!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The setting with sea view was fantastic, from restaurant, pool, and room terrace. The breakfast was lovely served by a very gracious woman.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bad WiFi

    Beautiful location and staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    "Garden View" was really the path between the rooms however beautifully planted.

    Hotel Location, Pool, Terrace.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful view from the room a very nice hotel on Panarea

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: