Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Residenza 4 stars

Via Rota 44, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#72 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Orange covers on the furniture in the decor was a little odd. Shower incredibly claustrophobic. Some might consider distance from Sorrento a problem (15 minute walk), but it wasn't for us. Charge of five euros each way for shuttle bus. Four Star rating would not hold in UK as facilities we consider standard are not standard in Italy e.g. no iron in room, no tea/coffee making facilities.

    We had a garden view room but were delighted to find the view was over the garden and out to sea - it was magical. La Residenza shares the same site with Parc Le Principe so it is their restaurant (expensive but wonderful - a special occasion treat), bar, beach and pool that you have the opportunity to use. Amazing views from these facilities and definitely the highlight of our trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is like 15' walking to the center, is good. We came from the port and paid 30 € for a taxi (8 minutes).

    Nice stay. Wonderful breakfast. Very nice position. Very professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive beach, and we didn't realise if you wanted to eat in the evening you had to go to the sister hotel!

    Nice and close to the centre, very helpful staff and nice pool and view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am not normally one for long negative reviews, but I am a former hotelier and there are some serious mistakes being committed here which are frankly unacceptable for the price - Summary: generally not feeling valued as a customer, rude restaurant staff, being made to sit with strangers at dinner when there were tables free, not being allowed to sit at empty outdoor tables, poor quality of food offering, silly rules, slow service, extremely poor English abilities across whole staff making basic communication very hard - The shorter male receptionist was decidedly grumpy and unhelpful. Simple requests seemed to be a major chore. (e.g. being provided with a new towel, which they store at reception) - The breakfast was pretty poor considering the cost of a night's stay. No healthy options and no cooked options with the exception of boiled eggs. Most of the breakfast options were bread/toast or full of sugar (cakes, biscuits, tinned fruit in syrup, extremely sugary artificial tasting juice) and there were no things like fresh fruit or yoghurt. I found myself coming away from breakfast with a sugar induced headache! - Dinner was frankly appalling, both in terms of the food and staff. On our first night we (we are a couple) were asked what language we spoke and taken to a table with another couple already sitting at it (i.e. a table for 4). I explained there was a misunderstanding as we were not with them, but I was told to sit down by the head waiter as 'there aren't enough tables for everyone to have their own one' and so they put people on tables with strangers who speak the same language. I refused to sit there, as it was hardly a romantic meal sat in close quarters with two people who were already halfway through their meal. I was told that 'maybe, later in the holiday' we would be given our own table.

    The cleaners did a good job, the female receptionist was really friendly and the aqua aerobics instructor was good fun. The setting and gardens are exquisite with all kinds of beautiful plants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was very poor. Having emailed to request an earlier check in, we accepted when told on arrival that that was not possible as only one of the two rooms I'd booked was ready. No problem ... we'll leave our luggage at reception and go to the pool. The person who dealt with me advised that we couldn't check in until the rooms were available and that we couldn't get pool towels until we'd checked in. (?). Accepting that we left the bags and went for lunch by the pool; the food and service we good. EVentaully we were able to get pool towels and sun beds. Arriving back at reception just after 3pm, we were kept waiting for 15 minutes whilst 2 staff dealt very slowly with 2 customers. Another member of staff was working in the background. I had a sense of the fact that I was the only person aware that a queue was forming behind me. The room and the stay were good but another negative which we should possibly have challenged at the time was that after checking out if the room by 11am, we were not allowed to use the pool / sunloungers which would have been great (and fair) as we had planned to leave for Naples at 4pm. The pool was very quiet at 11am with many empty sun beds. After sitting for half an hour we decided to move to a nearby 5 star hotel for lunch over which we discussed the fact that our hotel had lost our good will and our business (lunch for 4) when they could, at no apparent cost to them, have retained both. Of course, good reviews are also invaluable!

    The 5 star hotel which is located overlooking the sea, a short stroll through the gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A 10 minute walk from town and many of the eateries.

    Great, large bed in a spacious room. Pool was big and led out onto a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea. Not many beaches around Sorrento so the pool was great. The gardens were beautiful. Breakfast had a great selection of foods to fill up for the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel did not meet expectation on the standard of the room (e.g. air con not working properly, wifi not good and beds uncomfortable). Breakfast was very limited, same food each day. Staff were a little uncompromising.

    Location was good- great scenery- good sea views on the terrace at the other hotel. It does have lovely gardens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at reception were lovely. The restaurant staff, terrible service. Sorento is busy and not worth the stop on the holiday we had.

    The Pool was great, particualry the diving board. Service at the pool was dreadful. No waiter even cleaned up dirty plates or cups. I'm not sure why they are there? To hand out pool towels only?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The premises are outdated, everything costs (so you might as well book the perfectlyvon the cliss licated mother hotel parco dei principi), eg. Beach access 20e/person. The breakfast was also not quality, cheeses dried (obviously sliced from prev day) etc.

    The hotel is placed in a beautiful park!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room had an awful sewage smell - we suspected this was coming from the air conditioning which may have been faulty. We reported this to the gentleman on reception who said he would ask the maintenance team to look into it. The problem wasn't fixed and our apartment had a terrible smell the whole of our stay.

    The pool and bar facilities are amazing, shared with the 5 star Parco dei Principei. The female receptionist, Stella, is WONDERFUL - always friendly and helpful and gave us lots of advice on alternative activities when one of our trips was cancelled.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well kept rooms of reasonable size overlooking amazing gardens and grounds. Shared use of affiliate hotels swimming pool and amazing view over Capri and Vesuvius. Staff friendly and extremely helpful. Can't recommend highly enough for the price point.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow Wi-Fi nearly 2 km into town 20 Euro by taxi one way or on the half hour 5 Euro per person. Marginal breakfast

    Clean and nice pool down the walkway

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was very limited in comparrison to hotels of similar price and rating. Drinks were expensive and I don't agree with paying twenty euros to use the beach.

    Pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for breakfast no food,coffee or bar facilities available in block that were staying in.

    Rooms were spacious, great air conditioning,great choices at breakfast, near Sorrento centre no hills in between.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unused pool in the grounds was a bit shabby and neglected. One of our rooms didn't have a balcony which would have been nicer.

    The use of the sister hotel's pool which was beautiful; the security on the site was excellent; the rooms were pleasant and the staff were very accommodating. The proximity to the centre was good if you don't mind a 15 minute brisk walk but there is a shuttle bus if you pay a little extra for it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I thought it was great.

    The well kept gardens were an amazing sight to wake up to. The staff were truly fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were highly efficient. A great asset to this hotel. I particularly liked that my bill was already made up for me so there was no hassle when leaving, just a quick check over and paid.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The size of the room was very small. Room 261. The other rooms appeared to be much larger. There was no iron to use only the laundry service. Breakfast was nice but simple, the same and seemed to be tinned fruit.

    Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside our room was busy and a bit load but when the doors were closed it couldn't be heard at all. The breakfast was good and all we needed but I have had better at other hotels.

    After seeing a few of the reviews I was concerned about the location of this hotel but I was pleasantly surprised...the walk into the town is 10 mins and have a choice of walks...scenic to more direct. I found it safe walking home late at night and was actually a good way to let all the delicious pasta/pizza and wine from dinner go down. The pool is great, lots of space to relax, and the scenery is breathtaking! The hotel is surrounded by lush gardens. Panoramic views of Naples and Capri...I was surprised to get 2 bedrooms for three people rather than sofa bed. Taxis are waiting outside if you want them. Train station/bus station close by. I would absolutely recommend this hotel, we actually ended up staying an extra day and will be returning!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait for check in always 8Euro for ice and had to wait No kettle in rooms Breakfast poor variety Understaffed Parking facilities poor Mainly for large groups not for family

    Pool and fairly ok location to center of city

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great olace and location very nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay shuttle and pool facilities

    Gardens

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath room door very uncortable the door stop should be moved close to toilet bowel

    Nice and cofortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really bad, showers very tiny and staff not so nice.

    Good locations. Walk distance to the centre of the town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    having to pay to use the beach

    the beach and the pool, breakfast..alot of choice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Best hospitality, no complains, staff friendly and very polite.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What can I say? We know the area well, hence our return visit. The "cool - retro - 60s - look" is very evocative of my childhood. Italian chic has a unique style of its own. The whole place has a bright, fresh, understated feel to it which is pleasing to the eye and very refreshing. We like minimalist. And as for the view from the restaurant? Watching the morning break over the Bay of Naples with Capri emerging from the rising sea mist. What would Turner have done with a scene like THAT? We were sitting, reading, one afternoon on the terrace and one of the waiters ( hoping to work in Brighton, soon!) noticed us, apologised and then immediately brought out fresh coffee and pastries. This I like! Throughout our stay we were treated with courtesy. The staff, though omnipresent, were never intrusive. The whole place had an air of languid efficiency; nothing was rushed but yet everything somehow seemed to appear at just the right moment. A tiny packet of chocolates every evening, brought to the door - nice touch!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The scrambled eggs at breakfast were a little runny. Otherwise the food was good. The beds were a little hard for our tastes.

    We really enjoyed this hotel overall especially the pool and the beautiful grounds.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel does not accommodate 4 people (2 adults and 2 children). They charged us extra for the extra person but gave no extra bed. They basically told us to pay or go somewhere else. They charged guests $20 person to go to the beach when you could walk two blocks and go to an even nicer beach with a nice restaurant and hotel that we will stay next year for sure

    The pool and views of the beach was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too far from centre (20 mins walk) and so needed to use hotel bus costing €5 per person per trip. Breakfast not value for money. Use of 5* adjoining as previous would have been better. Doors banging as did not close easily particularly early morning. Hotel needs updating (still use a key rather than electronic card key). Tiny shower and no bath in some rooms. Old style TV (not flat screen) Definitely not 4*hotel.

    Clean Friendly staff on reception desk

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a little hard for me came away with sore hips due to laying on my side, the breakfast was a bit the same each morning variety would have help.

    The layout of the hotel was really nice beautiful gardens which made it a pleasure to sit on the balcony, staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Didn't notice the resort fee when I booked it which bumped up the price considerably. For this you get access to the 5 star hotel's pool but you'll have to pay 20 euros per person per day extra if you want to use the beach. It's a bit of a trek into town, especially if your heading for the station with suitcases but there's also a charge of 5 euro per person for the hotel shuttle bus.

    Beautiful sunsets viewed from the balcony in front of the five star hotel. Lovely gardens.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Walk into Sorrento was slightly longer than we had hoped, particularly with the very hot weather . It is a pity that there was not a free shuttle bus occasionally. Also a bit of a shame that we would have had to pay 120 euros to use the private beach of the other hotel. We didn't bother. Maybe a half day fare would have been better

    Beautiful pool and using the other hotel facilities - balcony /bar overlooking the bay was perfect

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beds were very hard, and a small shower with little power.

    The pool and gardens were lovely. Good wifi across the hotel, and the view was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just outside Sorrento 15mins walk to centre of town, beautiful terrace with wonderful views across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. Garden and pool very pleasant to sitin or walk through.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tried to book bicycles through the staff at reception. They messed up our booking two days in a row spoiling our plans for two days

    The room was clean and comfortable and access to the five star hotel next door is handy. The pool is excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The great breakfasts and beautiful tropical gardens. I also liked being a few minutes walk from the free beach. We had a room with a panoramic sea view. Friendly staff too.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit far out of central Sorrento.

    Facilities including pool and beach. Garden setting. Feeling of luxury tho a bit tired.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wish the pool would stay open after 6:00

    Beautiful grounds and great swimming pool.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: