Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Riserva di Castel d'Appio- Charme & Relax 3 stars

Peidaigo, 71, 18039 Ventimiglia, Italy

#5 of 10 hotels in Ventimiglia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 431 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a complaint as such but I wish I had gone for a room with a better coastal view. The view I had was OK but considering the hotel location I recommend getting a room that makes the most of it.

    Great location with scenic views away from the noise of the coastal cities below. Fun ride up and down the narrow road leading up to the hotel. Plenty of areas around the hotel to find a quiet spot to relax. Nice pool area, long and deep pool too not one of those small pools you will find in a lot of other hotels. You see staff tending to the grounds all the time so the place is very clean. Very charming hotel, complete with a friendly resident german shepherd. Typical Italian hospitality, everyone smiles and is up for a chat, nothing is too much trouble. I've not had dinner there but menu looked very good and the restaurant decor is better than many more modern hotels. Breakfast was typical mediterranean / continental which was more than enough for me. There is a separate gym by the pool which is handy for the more fitness oriented guests. Lots of secure parking. Very pleased overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accessibility is a challenge up some "interesting" twisting roads, 20 euro taxi each way into Venti.

    Exceptional views from its cliff top location, absolute tranquility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is incredible. Very kind and helpful hosts, food is traditional and sofisticated, very clean, very peaceful location, a little bit difficult to reach without a car but still possible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All brillant

    Everything was excellant.. from the time we arrived .Mario was was a great guy.. always there breakfast ,lunch and dinner.. Will definately b back.. Antonella excellant host..and his mam..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like. It’s excellent!!!

    This is a beautiful property. The views are outstanding. Easy train ride to France. It’s lole stepping into old Italy. Magical

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is advisable to have a car as it is a long way from any other attractions

    The views from the hotel are stunning, the staff are attentive and friendly. The accommodation, food and drink are excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was almost non-existent. The hill access from the coast road was challenging.

    We chose the property for a stopover en route to the U.K. It offered us an exceptional location at the top of a hill accessed by a very windy road from Ventimiglia. There are two routes in - one of 5km from the town, one of 2.5km from the coast road - take the former but take care! The hotel offers splendid views. The room had large balcony for sitting out. The weather on our visit wasn't good and limited our use of the facilities (pool, outside dining and garden) but they looked really good. The restaurant was excellent - service very good with an excellent menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is only reachable by car and a taxi from Ventimiglia station (taxis are not frequent, sometimes you have to wait for about 30 min to get one) is around 20E so you have to count that in as well. The breakfast was not very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many little details where not care about. Nothing important but they overall generate a sense of little decadence (for me even pleasant). By example the basement of the armor at the entrance was broken and repaired with scotch tape, the breakfast room was with amazing view but with rinkled towel paper and unclean carpet, etc. The room was nice and pleasant but the shower and the soap dispencer was broken...

    Very interesting venue. View and position oustanding. The access street is not easy but worth the effort. Great potentiality and old time charm. In my opinion a small effort in caring for details and cleanliness would improve a lot the overall experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road up to the hotel is a little scary, better road surface and more mirrors at tight corners needed as Road is steep and a single track

    Great coffee, lots of choice for breakfast. Great staff. Mario the waiter was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for him and he always had a smile. Views from restaurant, breakfast terrace and sea facing rooms are spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel lies on a hill one is dependent on the bus services to get into town. I would rent a car next time.

    The view from our room was amazing! Really enjoyed having our own balcony to sit out on and do yoga in the morning. The pool area was very child friendly and open all day. We ate all our meals at the restaurant and the food was delicious- especially the fish dishes! We were really looked after by the manager who got out of his way to take us to the train station when there was no local bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the food was good and the menu quite extensive, more vegetarian options and perhaps pizzas as an option would be a welcome addition, as due to the lack of restaurants in the immediate vicinity your choices can be quite limited if you're not a fan of pasta or seafood

    Great sea views and the family suite is perfect for families. The location is ideal to explore both the French and Italian rivieras and you have the added benefit of being on a quiet hilltop just above the town of Ventimiglia so you still get to enjoy peace and quiet away from the tourist masses if you so choose. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and really exceeded expectations in terms of service delivery.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there in June, with very warm weather. Maybe due to that, there was a lot of mosquitoes.

    Location is fantastic, on the top of a hill. It's hard to get there but the views are just amazing and after 1 day you get used to the road. Hotel has the "old charming" of tradition. Staff is great and very professional, breakfast had plenty of choice and our room was really comfortable. We spent a lot of time in our private balcony, just relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Women swimming in the pool had small tits.

    Food, The restaurant is just Great. Road to The hotel might be scarry but fantastic experience, not for boring British tea lovers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great: amasing location with spectacular view, free parking, helpful and very professional staff The room was clean, with a cosy bed The food was A+ I will come back here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    New pingpong paddles!

    This resort/hotel is heaven on earth. We didn't even leave to go downtown because everything we needed is here: fantastic food and wine, kind and generous staff, walking paths to neighboring villages, pingpong, balconies for lounging, pool, gym, grounds with magnificent flowers and plants,and spacious, comfortable rooms and suites! The owner will pick up and deliver guests to the train station, so you don't need a car. Come relax, unwind, and enjoy the pampering!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on top of a hill with beautiful views of the coast. We had breakfast at the garden, close to the pool, with the most astonishing view! However, we were driving. For travelers without a car the trip from downtown to the hotel might be a hassle.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the hotel is treacherous what more can I say . Nerve of steal are required and a small car . I had a large car which didn't help all that said I have managed numerous trips up and down and survived!!!.

    We have stayed here 3 times and have throughly enjoyed ourselves. Great place for exploring the area. Pool and food lovely. Very traditional Italian Hotel with loads of character.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff and owners were so friendly and professional. The food was superb (I had dinner and a free breakfast). The pool was very clean and well-kept. Everything about this hotel was excellent - even the resident dog Eva and the kittens! I will definitely be back. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont allow dinner on the open terace. Why?? Are you absurd? People like open teraces, where they can enjoy the view or a ciggare! I dont understand this rule! Very expensive for what they have to offer! Rude guy serving at the restaurant! Very hard acces by car!

    The view is breathtaking, the swiming pool, free parking space.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the easiest find...but that is not the hotel's fault...and it just wouldn't be the same place if it were any easier! :)

    Our family room was huge- more like an apartment, and had a really large outdoor space with incredible views. Perfect for 2 adults and 2 children (adults get some space!!) The staff couldn't have done more, they were friendly and approachable. Huge choice of meals at both dinner and breakfast, the evening meals we had were superb, fresh fish, pasta.... Loved the pool area and the terrace. The hotel had a very comfortable and relaxing feel to it, to the point that my children didn't want to leave. Me and my husband liked the quirkiness of the establishment. In fact, it's not actually 'quirky' but more the impression of old-fashioned charm...reflected in the decor and the top service recieved. You couldn't better it in a newer modern hotel. Stayed for one weekend, with the purpose of visiting Monaco on the Saturday, but we raced back at the end of our day trip just to get back to the pool and soak up the atmosphere on the terrace with a Spritz! ....would love to revisit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately this hotel didn't work for us. We booked the suite with sea view. Our suite was in an annex building and not in very good condition. The screen door was broken, the overhang kept flapping with the wind and the walls were dirty. Air conditioning in only one room. The drive cannot be emphasized enough. It's a 3 or 5km drive, depending on which direction you go, and it's very steep. The hotel is all that's up there so for anyother dining options you have to drive. The entire facility is dated. The pool is small but has a slide for kids. We didn't end up staying.

    The views are fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel at the top of a very steep hill. A walk down to town in the evening and back was not possible except by taxi. The owner made up for that by ferrying us down to town when we needed to go.

    Everyone was so helpful. Good was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been useful to have been forewarned of the very very steep drive up. I probably would have re- thought my plan. Expensive stay on the whole, dinner was ok but unexceptional for such a top dollar price.

    Staff were great, excellent breakfast. Fabulous view from room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive (but that's the region generally). Had to pay for the water in the suite...nothing at the bedside. Breakfast wasn't great but ok. The poolside and restaurant needs updating urgently - all looked very tired. The drive to the hotel isn't for the faint hearted - especially coming down!

    The views! The room was good but we did have a suite. Clean room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dirty bed when we checked in (lots of hair from the former guests on the pillows). We asked to change everything, they promised, but did not. Food and Drinks far too expensive !

    Only the view down to the sea was great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Terrible food. It's a shame they are doing the Ligurian cuisine an injustice and are misrepresenting as authentic. I was given table bread with pieces that had bites taken out of them (ie they reuse bread). Drive up to hotel, while is somewhat typical of Liguria, is far too risky. Make sure you are an experienced driver with standard transmission, and know where your e-brake is. This hotel badly needs a renovation. When I arrived at the hotel I felt trapped as I did not want to drive the hill again. So you are beholden to the crazy prices and bad food, and bad afternoon snacks. If you do go, bring your own food.

    View - but not worth the negatives. And you can get this view many places on the Ligurian coast without the crazy drive up.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The room was too cold when we arrived, they should be kept a bit warmer! -The free wifi was unreliable didn't always function -Road to the hotel is stressful but manageable

    When we arrived and got into our room we felt that we were mislead by the pictures in Booking.com (maybe they were taken long time ago?) It seemed that the hotel was once very luxurious but maybe not so anymore. The hotel pool and sun area was very nice! The view over mediterranean spectacular!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to move on!

    The attention of the staff, Mario especially was first class. Our suite and view was amazing, food excellent. It was the highlight of our European tour.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt strongly that we were mislead into thinking this hotel was much nicer than what we experienced. The staff was not friendly. There was a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, but the water just trickled out. We complained to the manager, but he said there was nothing wrong with the water pressure and all of the rooms were that way. We didn't feel that the owners were putting any money into the place to keep it up. The Windows didn't open right as the shutters seemed glued down. The place wasn't that clean and my husband found traces of blood on the bed cover. Even though we were on the third floor, when we opened our sliding door, a handful of mosquitos came in and kept us up all night biting and buzzing. We opted to leave after that first night and were over charged $24 when we checked out. We found a cute roomy and very clean place to stay in the small town of Dolceaqua (only 10 minutes away).

    The view of the Mediterranean Sea was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - To get to the hotel you have to drive a very narrow hill road, be prepared to stress. - Not all the sea wiev rooms have proper see wiev, some of them have bushy trees in front of them. - very cheep and poor breakfast, artificial coffee

    - Great view from the hotel lobby & restaurant. - Friendly, professional stuff - Outdoor swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside clean! Breakfast no changeable! Road dangerous

    The room very clean the breakfast not too difficult no new things but ok, swimming pool ok, outside breakfast place not too clean! The seeside wonderful! The road really not easy! Stuff wonderful nice! We love all but a little bit expensive!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5km windy road to Ventimiglia

    The staff were exceptional and discreet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access road to property is a nightmare with a estate car

    Spectacular views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Beautiful hotel in breathtaking location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing, Staff, kitchen, very comfortable room, Antonello personally is fantastic and very helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many creepy crawlies

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s remote location overlooking the sea combined with the wonderful food, very attentive staff and the old world feel made it a memorable stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the road to the hotel was very steep and narrow. I crashed my car into a wall. The beds are too hard for my liking.

    Service, veiw, price, quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old world hotel. Fantastic views. Very good food, excellent service. The road up and down the hill is a nightmare, but worth it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast: coffee machine in Italy!

    The staff were amazing, fabulous views, great food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive up through narrow streets. Expensive restaurant.

    Place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breathtaking views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not the room we thought we ordered

    the beds are very average

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AMAZING!!! The views and location were awesome! The food at the restaurant was incredible!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little tired in places and not easy drive up to the hotel

    Beautiful setting, great staff and amazing old School Italian hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    Great location, service, friendliness, waiters

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to hotel - very steep narrow bendy road.

    The view was good. Staff helpful. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym needs renovation. d'Appio castle can't be visited.

    Perfect view from the terrace. Excellent seafood. Nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access, up a 5 km narrow road, is tricky.

    Wonderful views over the Ligurian coast. Very welcoming staff. Large swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Molded smell in room

    Very friendly and decadent! We loved it and will be comming back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos

    Mario and Davide were superb !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None.

    We loved their old fashioned way of good manners & services. We had the best diner in this hotel during our holiday. Thanks to Mario, you are the best! I enjoyed my sole & fruite a la Mario.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The swimming pool was too cold for our son, would not recommend for children under 3 years unless in very much heat.

    Staff great, view amazing, room big and comfy. Loved the drive to the hotel, it was totally insane! That alone gave our trip an unforgettable memory.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    facilities are somewhat dated, but it is actually part of the charm. All is clean and well kept.

    The staff is amazing; Genuine Italian hospitality. Thank you Mario and Emilio for the way you interacted with our kids! Stunning views at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The drive up needs a bit of concentration, but we got used to it, and it meant that we felt tucked away from the stresses of everyday life, perfect when on holiday.

    Really friendly, absolutely amazing view, really helpful staff, great pool, lovely lovely food.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was disappointing. I had to send my meat back.

    The location is spectacular, high on a hill overlooking the Mediterranean coast--you can see all the way to Nice, more than 20 miles away.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You could complain about small (bath-)rooms or mold in the bathroom or simple glass windows - but in a way it is coherent to the old style of the hotel.

    great view, very friendly stuff, old fashioned hotel in a good way (matter of taste). Clean, modern showers, very nice restaurant (but expensive), great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some rooms has seaview blocked by trees, make sure you get a room with unrestricted view. The restaurant is overpriced and the tough drive up the mountain makes it difficult to go other places.

    The fantastic view from the restaurant. The "secret sandy beach" that the hotel lobby told ud about - the best in a region of stony beaches !

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is extraordinary. We were enjoying a few days away from parenting while our son was in camp. This was the perfect site. The meals are on our list of very memorable moments for our Italian trip. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The views were magnificent, the food delicious and the service excellent. Every morning the family patriarch would greet visitors in the dining room-a wonderful touch. A perfect place to totally relax-can't wait to return!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road to hotel is narrow and needs to be taken carefully

    Friendly staff and fantastic views along the coast. The restaurant food and wines were excellent and the service made us feel at home. Breakfast on the terrace was a great start to the day. Parking and pool were very also great facilities.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cannot fault the hotel

    Staff are fantastic. Friendly and welcoming. Location - on the hillside in ventimiglia. The drive up is steep but easy enough to manage. The elevation makes the views from the hotel spectacular with views of Menton and Monaco in the distance, Food is outstanding, plenty of choice for breakfast with Ligurian classics for dinner, Two pools , a small one for younger kids which my son loved and a deeper pool with slides, The Seaview suite was huge, my son loved having his own room and a large area to sunbathe and relax outside the suite.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated overall, wifi only worked close to reception but not on our 2nd floor room, gym equipment dated and unkept. Expected more from the description and the price.

    Stunning views, lovely pool, nice people. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Car would have been good, easier than with taxi and hotel bus. Room was little damp.

    Nice pool area and view, breakfast ok and included in price, very nice and helpful personnel, excellent food thought a bit expensive. Nice terance with great view front of our room. Nice and cosy atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The very narrow access road

    The sea view from the balcony, Grounds with beautiful places to relax. Wonderful restaurant with great food and excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unlike what the Booking pictures suggested, everything was ugly and ill-assorted. The floor is the ugliest tile I had ever seen. The manager explained that the place hadn't been done over for 51 years and it showed. The toilet didn't flush properly. And the inside of the hotel is just hideous. We'd spent one night at the Eva Beach Hotel on the seafront which was 30 euros less (also a Bookong 3-star) and it was fabulous with huge rooms and a private beach. I don't understand where these guys got their 3-stars came from? To be fair, when I expressed this to the manager, he offered that we return and stay in the suite at half-price, but we just really don't want to go back there. For the record, he was very gracious.

    The view is beautiful - at least from the room we were in. The hotel is perched very high up and overlooks the sea.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road up to the property is not for the fainthearted. But the view when you get there is worth the windy roads.

    Professional staff throughout. Beautiful dining room and excellent food and service.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pretty personal treatment

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great view!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing honestly but if I had to say something I d say .... to be refresh the building.

    Great location and good rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly family run feel to the hotel where every request was greeted with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drive up to the hotel, around 2.5 kilometers, was on a very tatty road.

    Friendly helpful experienced staff. Hotel has a charming family history.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mala conexio wifi. Carretera d'acces estreta i dolenta

    Esta força be en general. Vistes impressionants

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: