Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Roccia 3 stars

Via Dei Mille 15, 07020 Palau, Italy

#6 of 25 hotels in Palau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 368 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Clean functional room, bathroom small but good shower. Very good breakfast - home made cakes were lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    very central (Palau Ferry and bus stop) and close to an excellent pizzeria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the short cut to the back of the hotel, via the steep stairs from the main street!! Really quiet location off quaint small streets of Palau. Excellant breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel and great receptionist, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel and great receptionist, very helpful. Sadly only there for a quick overnight. Breakfast was provided early for us as we had a bus to catch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay in a very well-located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could offer more variety (eggs and cut up fresh fruit) and typical Sardinian food choices.

    Very clean and cheerful. Nice garden and sitting area. Very kind and helpful staff. Convenient parking in a town where parking is hard to find.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, bilingual staff, clean but basic rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little too sweet focused- more savoury options would be great. Shower was a little hot/cold but good pressure. WiFi strength was non-existent in room but great in reception.

    Great location, bilingual staff, clean but basic rooms. We didn’t have a car but, there appeared to be private parking spaces available. Walkable distances to a couple of beaches and right by the port if wanting to visit La Maddalena. Great view from room (#21).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Probably one of the best options in Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The facilities in the room were a bit aged but everything was clean and functional.

    - The location was great - The room had a balcony with a very nice view over the city - The room was reasonably sized with a very comfortable bed - The staff was very friendly and helpful - The breakfast was excellent - The private parking was a very helpful addition

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good budget hotel at an excellently central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could add hard boiled eggs and some more white bread to the very nice breakfast. The bathroom is small and cramped but manageable. Unrelated to the hotel: MJ tours told me the Vagabondo boat they are marketing will be sailing to Budelli just to snap a photo from a distance, but they skipped Budelli altogether and frowned at me like it was never promised. La Maddalena island and Cala Corsera on Spargi were nice. The journey was 6 hours total for 30Euros, in May.

    Everything was very good. The location is quiet but central, right behind the town's waterfront buildings. Everything is within reach. Free private parking was very useful. The single room is reasonably sized for a single person. The dining room is huge, and can venue relatively large events.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    New hotel in town centre. Quiet room and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to upper floors.

    Good location at a small street but 50 m from town centre. Clean but a bit small room. Plentiful breakfast. Hotel has own car park. Rooms with large terrace available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    The staff spoke perfect English and went out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff spoke perfect English and went out of their way to help us enjoy our holiday suggesting places to visit & tips for walks. Lovely breakfast. Very short walk to town centre and harbour with restaurants and ferry to Magdalena. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The extra costs of a room with a terrace are definitely worthwhile as it got the sun all day & was great for sitting out early evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved! its the best location.. good and clean rooms. I would come back definitely. also, the lady in the reception was really nice, gave us great tips on where to eat and what to do.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Palau - a lovely place to revisit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None that comes to mind..good value for money!

    Locality being so near to the promenade and marina and then the innovative way it's built around a rock!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay at Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Every staff I met was very kind and friendly. The room was not so large but clean and tiny. Home made cake was served at every breakfast and I like it very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a one night stay before transferring to ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure and temperature in the shower was a little variable.

    Staff very helpful in providing guidance for town facilities and arranging taxi to ferry. A takeaway breakfast was ready for us because of our early departure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in. As I remember check-in was from 10 am and I arrived after 1 pm and have been told that I came early and my room may not be ready yet. Luckily it was ready. Check out is till 10 am. And check in is from 10 am. Does it make any sense? Couple of hours was no hot water(was fixed promptly). Furniture requires replacement.

    Location is perfect, few minutes from city centre. Very close to restaurants, promenade, port. Good breakfast. Be aware when you go for breakfast to pick up the table with your room number.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Nice and clean room, very good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean room, very good value for your money. The staff is friendly and helpful, and they speak English. The location is very good, 5 minutes walk to the ferries and the Trenino Verde.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    All was Lovelly great service and good breakfast!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to go up to the second level and no internet , wifi connection in the room .. very inconvenient to go down stairs to the loby tô use the wifi ..

    The location was great close to all the shops and the marina ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Visiting la Maddelena...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute little hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. Amenities were fairly basic, but we stayed one night in Palau so that we could go on a boat trip to the la maddelena. The hotel was perfect for this, just a short walk to the boat pier. We had free parking, and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was lovely, staff was very nice and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con leaked when you turned it on and shower could be a bit bigger

    The breakfast was lovely, staff was very nice and the room was very nice and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Balanced price-benefit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi does not work in the rooms, only in reception. When I got to the breakfast room I was really surprised to see numbers in the tables and I should use a table with my room number. Why not leave people choose a table they want? A different table per day? I thought that was really bad. And also there is no hairdryer in the rooms, but receptionist gave me one that I could use during my stay.

    The staff in reception in the best, very kind and always ready to help and give information. There is a very good parking lot and it is easy to reach restaurants and the port from the hotel. Breakfast is simple but good, it has typical Italian sweets for the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Central in Palau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay in la Roccia. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. I do however feel that the time has come to upgrade the rooms, the bathrooms in particular look dated. The public areas are fine. The price is reasonable and it holds a central position in town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Nice Hotel, convenient location, wonderful staff. Good Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Hotel in a central location! Wonderful Staff (thanks Daniel), good Breakfast and comfortable rooms. Don't hesitate to book ~ I will stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small and basic for a 3 star hotel.

    Very central. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    La Roccia & Palau exceeded Our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    All Staff were very attentive & kind The Hotel & rooms were kept spotlessly clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I usually prefer B&B but I liked this hotel. Small room but ok, nice breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    As for me, everything was great, especially location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There is no Wi-Fi in rooms, sometimes it's really necessary.

    As for me, everything was great, especially location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Frienly staff, very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic comfort for the price No elevator, lot of stairs

    Frienly staff, very helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Location , staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Daniel from the desk was wonderfully and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good and helpfull staf, good location. Palau is great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast! Nice location, very close to the center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly english speaking owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly english speaking owner. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't have the Internet on the first night. I found it only on the next day.

    Friendly staff. Nice place to sleep and explore the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.1
    very kind people,amazing breakfast,good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    towels and bed sheets got changed only once every 3 days

    the staff was super helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    8.8
    Perfect hotel, really recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The people of the reception and the breakfast very nice. Perfect cakes in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    8.3
    Centrale con suggestiva location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Assenza di mini bar in camera

    Location centrale. Parking privato. Materiale informativo alla reception. Breakfast completo.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too simple breakfast.

    Clean and comfortable room. Central location in the city. Short distances to restaurants. Free parking for cars.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.3
    Location is perfect, easy to find as on to of a hill so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The plumbing! Noisy and showering was a challenge as water went from hot to cold to hot. For two nights we could cope.with the showering game.

    Location is perfect, easy to find as on to of a hill so spotted it as we drove into town!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    6.7
    location is good if you really have to go to that town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower was horrible - water was flipping from very hot to very cold every 15 seconds. very tricky to have a shower. rooms are small but all reflected in the price breakfast very elementary

    location is good if you really have to go to that town (there are so many more beautiful spots in sargedna)

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    What an amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What an amazing place. Hotel brilliant, location perfect and the town was exactly what we were looking for. Relaxed and friendly. The hotel is basic enough but we thought it was ideal. The breakfast each morning was 10/10. No frills just fresh food.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    freindly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    freindly and helpful staff. good breakfast - german speaking staff. left swim suit in hotel - they posted it on to another destination free of charge. service indeed!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Sabrina on reception was excellent & good central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room well laid out with useful shelf but showers kept alternating hot & cold in rooms 18 & 19 after changing room - needs to be fixed

    Sabrina on reception was excellent & good central location & on site parking

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    The location is perfect, the personal is very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WLAN coverage on the 2nd floor. Sound isolation between rooms to be improved

    The location is perfect, the personal is very friendly and helpful. Delicious fresh home made cakes for breakfast :)

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.3
    Good location, friendly staff and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor issues, wifi only in foyer.

    Good location, friendly staff and great breakfast. Air con was good to have as well. Parking included which was really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    8.3
    Good central location in Palau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no fridge in the room no wi-fi in the room variation of hot and cold water during shower at second floor

    Good central location in Palau. Clean. Small table in the garden

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    The lady at reception was just delightful and could not have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the rooms. There was wifi in the lounge but that is a pain when you are travelling.

    The lady at reception was just delightful and could not have been more helpful,. We checked in early and were able to leave our car in the free car park. When we got back to hotel later in the day staff had taken our bags to our room. Easy walking distance to port, shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    We chose this hotel, because of the good reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I saw it before in other reviews and it is true: stangely the water in the shower changes from cold to hot and back to cold constantly. There is nothing to do about it, but it is not a big thing either (compared to all the advantages).

    We chose this hotel, because of the good reviews. Everything was true: great breakfast with freshly baked cakes, fruits, good coffee etc. The location is perfect - 2 steps from the centre with all shops and restaurants, 5 minute walk to the port, and still it is quiet and relaxing place. We had a room with balcony, with a lovely view over the city and partly the port. The staff is very kind and helpful, suggesting places to visit and so on. It is not like a big steril hotel, it is a cozy place with charm. We hope we can return one day. :)

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    7.5
    The room was clean, looked nice and the airco worked really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was unstable and most of the time didn't work in our room. After one day, the water coming out of the shower would suddenly become cold for a while and then return to normal temperarure again.

    The room was clean, looked nice and the airco worked really well. Breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    9.2
    Lobby area buit around a huge rock, mini garden, location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom door wouldnt close,

    Lobby area buit around a huge rock, mini garden, location, staff. Great homemade breakfast, smell of baking as breakfast items are all homemade. My room (11) had wifi signal so I don't understand other reviews where people say wifi is only available in the lobby . And you get blackout curtains/shutters, which I find quite essential.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Very nice 3 day stay, excellent position in the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice 3 day stay, excellent position in the town

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    The friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.3
    Safe parking, easy to find, friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fridge in room.

    Safe parking, easy to find, friendly staff, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor wifi signal

    Location..comfortable rooms..decent brekkie

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, who help to coordinate your stay and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, who help to coordinate your stay and provide suggestions for trips and activities in the area.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff is great and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is great and very helpful. In the morning on my cappuccino was written BUON GIORNO :) It was great.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Wifi in the rooms, only close to the reception. Payment at check-in.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and helpful staff Location - close to beaches, cozy, relax area Cleanliness Parking place

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    excellently located central and close to bus and ferry,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellently located central and close to bus and ferry, shops and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Staff are very polite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff are very polite! Nice hotel!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location. Staff was very kind and helpful

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: