Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Sommità Relais & Chateaux 5 stars

Via Scipione Petrarolo 7, 72017 Ostuni, Italy

#4 of 25 hotels in Ostuni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told to get to the square and ring reception and someone would come to show us to the ca park on the edge of town. We rang but was answer machine. We climbed the hill and were told someone would take us to the car. 45 mins later he arrived after many assurances he was on his way. Our room was lovely but we paid for a balcony which we couldn’t use because the door was jammed. Many promises later on the last day of our stay it was fixed. Lots of empty promises!! In fairness they reduced our bill to compensate but this is not the standard you expect from relais amd chateau.

    Loved the location right in the centre of the old town. It was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the holiday (May 1 st) the eggs were excellent. The next day a new cook and we had to send the eggs back. Sub-mediocrety ruined the entire breakfast moment

    The female manager was terriffic. She took a poor situation and made it classy. She was great !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unfortunate with some heavy duty construction work in the building next door that started at 07:30 am on the first day. Once that was solve, we could again enjoy the quietness of this great location.

    Fantastic location overlooking the valley, Excellent breakfast, Confortable room even if without real window, Historical castle beautifully renovated, Very helpful hotel staff. Very entertaining shuttle from parking lot to hotel with a 5 seats 3 wheel scooter from Piaggio called "Ape". Kids loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to leave the car in a outside parking. But they pick you up and drive you where ever you want.

    Very good hotel, clean, new , breakfast very good with quality food made in house. High recomended. Located in historical centre , on the pedestrian part.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful hotel in a spectacular location. Had one of the best meal's of our lives in the Michelin-starred restaurant. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was frigid cold for first two days. Called downstairs handy man said it was broken. It was a lie as other reviewers said the same exact thing. Truth is they didn’t want to heat our room because hotel was empty. They did not bring extra comforters as promised. They did not provide space heater as promised. They did not refill toiletries at all twice. Ridiculous. Room was freezing cold for two days. Chipped paint on small balcony on ground. Windows with cold air coming through cracks. Unbelieveable. Wouldn’t let us use fireplace. Had to have them block it up with cardboard. Check out time was 12 and I was told we could leave bags with them and explore and then we would be taken back to carpark8ng at our leisure. I received a phone call from my husband who was hotel panicked because they did not have a driver and one was hired and waiting for us since 12 pm. Cielo restaurant good for special occasion. Breakfast great. Pasta dishes at brassiere were so completely over salted almost unedible. They did however the day before make us some delicious baguettes that were off hours for lunch.

    Staff was very good, attentive and nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps up and down in bedroom tricky for older couples and luggage. Noise in dining room deafening due to large group of female guests. Dining area too small once weather too cold to eat outside. Definitely need a car.

    Lovely old buildings well renovated on working farm situated in pretty countryside and wood. Friendly manager and staff. Food good. No problems parking, very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely pool area. Would be great in summer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    La Sommitá is a wonderful place. The staff is lovely and helpful. The parking is outside the villa, but they are always ready to take you by their small cars. The breakfast is unbeliveable, so delicious! All the materials provided inside the hotel are of excellent quality. Also the location is great, in the heart of Ostuni with a beautiful view. To finish, they have an amazing Michelin Star Restaurant, the Cielo, that you can't miss. We will definitely go back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would like tea / coffee facilities on room and complementary water. Had to wait 1.5 hrs to check in till 15:45. But couldn't get a later check out. Could do with some international channels on TV.

    Lovely room with balcony and view. Very comfortable bed. Enjoyed the breakfast setting and surprising degustation menu at Cielo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and facilities were beautiful. Every staff member was incredibly friendly, helpful and approachable. Their fine dining restaurant Cielo was also wonderful. Every dish we tried was delicious, clever and fun. Their Michelin star is well deserved.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was our second visit to La Sommita so we knew what to expect and it didn't disappoint us. Gorgeous views, a lovely dinner, welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All small things in reality Water in the rooms would been nice Pool area a bit limited Only one (high end) restaurant Breakfast could have been more structured

    Location was fantastic Service was excellent Room was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two Deluxe rooms and were surprised to find that neither had a window, only a very small skylight. This is due to the nature of the building, however it was not made clear at all in the room description. We only stayed one night, but could get very unpleasant for longer stays. The decor in the rooms was also a little off: somewhere between unfinished and ikea.

    The garden and terrace are breathtakingly beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Italian beauty! Feeling of luxury. Amazing building with nice rooms. The view is amazing! It was not out first time in La Sommita and defenetly not last! I just love this place!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main Restaurant in the hotel looked quite nice although pricey. It mentioned being "dressed" for dinner which caused us to opt out as we were traveling to multiple areas on our trip and only packed casual clothing; nothing fancy! No suit or dinner jackets for my husband etc. There is a Bistro there also that is more casual and reasonably priced. They even had Gluten free bread for my husband! Walking in this whole area is for the fit and stable. The cobbled roads although beautiful are very uneven and slippery. Many steep stairs to climb. Not much at all for handicapped accessibility.

    This is an absolutely beautiful hotel with stunning views of the Adriatic coast. The staff was very helpful and kind. Our room was lovely and quite comfortable. It is easy walking distance to the main Piazza with tourist shops and cafés along the way.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the rooms. While they were large, they were awkwardly laid out, sterile and not totally functional. Very few windows and the few there were, were up so high. Not outlet in bathroom. Just didn't like the rooms. Beds super firm. It was very difficult to find the hotel initially. Only 1 reception staff spoke English which wasn't the most efficient.

    Breakfast was excellent. Shuttle to car park was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable place to have a great holiday-experience. Situated in the heart of the old town of Ostuni you're in an oasis of calm and peacefulness.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    More than a ten star star hotel. Fabulous and two min from Bari airport, with a shuttle van ready to zip you overeally and an espresso machine and croissants awaiting travelers who must depart before the included breakfast hours.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, it was a buffet but the items that were most popular were not replenished, for example the orange juice. Crossaints were provided per table, 3 bite size portions between 2 people. The servers seemed to make it their business. We had better breakfasts at other hotels in Puglia at less than half the price of this stay.

    Very clean and well equipped for a centro storico located hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The suite we had was not one on two floors neither did it have a view, it actually had the window giving on a white wall at about 50 cm distance.

    The location, the design of the hotel as well as the atmosphere. The one star restaurant is really superb.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is amazing and the staff are super helpful and very accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and boasts a very lovely view over the olive groves and out to sea. Perfect for sundowners on the balcony

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the degustation dinner. Please do not tinker with food and try to be too clever with it. Just serve it as it is.

    fabulous location right beside the cathedral at the top of this stunning white hill town, Ostuni. Marvellous décor and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    An absolutely stunning hotel, friendly staff, beautiful terraces to eat and drink on and a plunge pool which was wonderful in late July when we arrived! The location is also unrivalled, being at the top of Ostuni with views to the sea and in the heart of the action of the Centro Storico - overall extremely impressive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room there is only one door to get out and another glass door covered by a curtain to go direct in the middle of the restaurant but you can't open it. So we heard a lot of noise and the room was only quiet at 2am when they close the restaurant. They didn't care about the client and push the table at 2am to set the restaurant for the next day. During the day there was a weedding and in the evening a special dinner so always noisy. At the hotel they told us that they will tell it to the supervisor as if it was the first time they heard about this trouble. No apologies from the staff. The jacuzzy was dirty and we were not allowed to use it.

    Nice place and well located in the city

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent - thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff; great resataurant; hard to fault.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful, professional, thoughtful staff, beautiful premises, minimalist design with all comforts, delectable breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a castle, our room only had a roof window.

    Beautifully appointed hotel in the castle at the top of the hill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, service, interiors, bathroom products, breakfast, location,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, staff friendliness and Michelin star restaurant on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good .....great value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I guess leaving

    Everything was fabulous

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find, pool is 2 feet deep piped in music gets old

    Beauty, fantastic restaurant and sommelier , spa treatments

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Luxury, personal attention. Nothing was a problem. Staff approachable. Views stunning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome at reception very poor & charging for coffee when machine in room was petty.

    Rooms were fab

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Car parking arrangements complicated and cumbersome.

    A very beautiful place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spa is missing, can be only used for therapies

    very nice laid-back hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning property in the best location in Ostuni. Wouldn't choose to stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,decor,comfort

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Going Home !!

    The staff, the food, the location, the sheer quality of the hotel and everybody involved with it. We were there on a 50th birthday weekend and it was made all the easier with the help of the staff at the hotel with there advise and knowledge. Thank you !! We will be back again as soon as we can !

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was far away and a challenging uphill walk of at least ten minutes. Actual car park was pretty sketchy looking. You cannot drive anywhere near the hotel even for bag drop off so you are dependent on staff giving you a lift up and down. Room was heavy on style and short on actual useability. If not in bed, no real lounging space despite it being a large enough room to accommodate a pair of decent chairs and a table big enough for use.

    Great looking design heavy property Excellent breakfasts. Comfortable bed Good views Innovative use of an historic property

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    surprisingly uncomfortable mattresses

    We go there for cocktails: a must for any visitor to the region! but needed a hotel one night....why not splurge? Magnificent locale: view, architecture, amenities, staff Possibly the best included breakfast ever!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was not very friendly at breakfast. The spa is really not up to any level...just 2 doors in a small foyer. Definitely not more than a 4 star hotel.It lacked professionalism.

    The location is great right in the heart of the old town of Ostuni.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is difficult to access if coming with your own car. Do not attempt to drive to the hotel door unless you have a small car, and experience in driving along narrow roads. Call the hotel in advance to let them know you are coming and they will take you to the car park first and bring your cases to the hotel in their own vehicle

    Exceptionally well located with superb views to the coast. Excellent breakfast. The rooms are well appointed with quality fittings and tiling

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom was large, as was the bathroom. But there was little space for hanging clothes and none for long clothes and too few hangers. Most of the surfaces were taken up with hotel promotions. A tiny sanitary bin in the bathroom and no waste paper basket. More thought needs to be given to the needs of travellers. Very small modifications are needed to make this a great hotel.

    The building is stunning. Fabulous terraces and seating areas, views amazing. Extremely elegant architecture. An aesthetic treat.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhat overpriced, especially for the area which sets expectations. We think they have ideas slightly beyond their offering at present.

    Great location, modern clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a water problem with the room. Puddles of water in the doorway to the balcony. No idea where this water came from but we did notice a damp smell in the room.

    Great location. Delicious. breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bit of a pain that parking was a 10 minute walk from hotel. Also would have been good if there was a swimming pool.

    Great location, stylish hotel & decor, clean & comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Two facilities that would improve the hotel are a bar, albeit small and an enlarged pool area

    Lovely, tasteful, beautifully designed interiors and staff responsive

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa is really non existent. No spa facilities available other than massage.

    Property is beautiful and very well kept. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a great stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like to get charged room service fee to give me wine glasses so I could drink in my room.. 25 euros for wine glasses...

    Breakfast was perfect and the wine dinner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only issue is cant park nearby and need to phone hotel unfortunately we had details stolen but local man very helpful

    beautiful location really high class hotel excellent breakfast helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Few minor irritations like the lack of air conditioning in April (the bedrooms got very hot at night), and they wouldn't provide an iron for clothes!

    Amazing location; Great town; Fantastic food.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is lovely and because we booked off season we basically had the whole place (including the rooftop terrace) to ourselves. The highlight of our stay was the restaurant. They created a vegetarian menu just for us and it was extraordinary.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff; superb food

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast... especially the coffee. Luke warm and not good

    good location an lovely surrounding

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was lovely, beds very comfortable as too were the pillows! Great location, lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a flat tire while traveling around the area, and the staff went out of their way to help us.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very enjoyable stay in a beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sophisticated and very comfortable, staff are gracious, property is a unique structure beautifully designed

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Group

    the water was never hot for either bath or shower

    the staff

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    In centre of Ostuni. Near lots of lovely restaurants and bars. The narrow streets of Ostuni we fun to walk around. Lots of churches!!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stunning location, helpful, friendly staff, lovely bathroom facilities

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    deign of hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Avevamo prenotato camera con vista ed abbiamo ricevuto un up-grade pero' senza nessuna vista

    La posizione. Il confort. Lo staff. Il servizio.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel in a spectacular hill town

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elegant , boutique style hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant menu.

    Staff were excellent. Building and situation fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hotel interior is magnificent

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attentive service, tasteful design of rooms and shared areas, exquisite restaurant, everything at La Sommità meets one's highest expectations.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The individuality of the room and the hotel building, combined with excellent service and high quality cuisine, made our stay very special.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything about this hotel is beautiful. The most lovely stay and place.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: