Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Tonnarella 4 stars

Via Capo 31, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#55 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had had a spectacular balcony with a breath taking see view. It was so beautiful that we decided to spend there part of the afternoon rather than staying on the beach. Also the room where we had breakfast had an equally beautiful view. The hotel has a private cozy beach that we could use for free (only had to pay for towels since we didn't have any) on the first day of our stay (we only stayed one night). The staff was extremely friendly, professional and polite, especially one of the receptionist we met, the one who checked us out (I am sorry I didn't catch her name). This stay was a birthday present for my partner and I can safely say that it was a success. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fridge didn't really get that cold, other than that everything was fine.

    Fantastic view from our balcony looking over Sorrento and all of Naples/Vesuvius.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay regardless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dissapointed restaurant was closed

    Fabulous location with uninterrupted views over the Bay of Naples. The restaurant is now closed so we walked into town for meals Breakfast was basic but they do cater for Gluten Free View from breakfast room is amazing. Lift access to private beach is fantastic but remember to wear shoes be cause of the large pebbles With a little TLC and some positive thinking this would be an absolutely stunning hotel Rooms were large with big bathrooms and balconys Easy walk in and out of town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    The view is extraordinary and some of the hotel interior was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were not informative and were disengaged. We were kept waiting to check in whilst they enjoyed social conversation for 10 minutes - not a good start. Generally the external spaces were unkept and dirty - the beach could be great and is unique but it’s dirty and disorganised. There is no bar or restaurant and we discovered this for ourselves rather than being helped by staff. We were disappointed given the price and the potential that it’s amazing location offers.

    The view is extraordinary and some of the hotel interior was authentic Sorrento and lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When you walked into the town, the hotel is located by a busy traffic street and the sidewalk is very narrow. It can be risky to walk on the sidewalk because of the speed of the vehicles. But it's not the hotel to blame rather those who take care of the street system in Sorrento.

    Great staff that make you feel comfortable. Good breakfast, bacon and eggs freshly cooked. The room was nice and clean with a balcony with a major see view. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we spent our honeymoon in this hotel and we had a fabulous time, i would highly recommend this hotel, the view from our bedroom was stunning!! thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    On the whole very enjoyable a good boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Need a restaurant,the arrangement with the hotel next door dos'nt work as the restaurant is poor.Also the arrangement of the shower in our room (20) was a challenge ,very difficult for senior guests to get in and out.Otherwise a great stay,

    Service and staff excellent, met all our requests and were very helpful and responsive. Location good although access restricted.Breakfast satisfactory and rooms very clean . In addition the scenery from the hotel outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    It is a beautiful part of the country with plenty to do and see
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Initially, we thought the bathroom/shower was unusual design as there was a rather high partition to step over to access the bath/shower, but once we had used it a couple of times we found it was actually quite good as it also had a jacquizzi incorporated into it :-) Don't think it would be suitable for elderly people though !! (fortunately we are youthful 62 year-olds)

    The staff were very curteous, friendly and spoke excellent English. There was an excellent variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals as well as a selection of cooked breakfast options. We had an early departure time of 6 am and at checkout, we were supplied with a packed breakfast to take away, which was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Stunning views and Italian Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee was terrible (Americano)

    This hotel is in a great location close to the center of Sorrento. (15 min walk) The view from our terrace was stunning. The hotel has Italian charm, which I was looking for. If you want a Holiday Inn this is not the place. We had the deluxe room with a huge terrace with sea view. Rooms are small but comfortable. Breakfast views are stunning. I have to make a note to commend a staff memeber, Lorenzo, he was amazing. He was the bell boy, the bar tender, the breakfast guy...he did everything! One negative, the cafe americano was horrible. I had to order cappucinos to get any flavour. I should mention that there is alot of traffic noise but you get used to it. Overall, very happy with my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Small Romantic hotel with an incredible setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant facilities, that is all.

    Incredible coastal views from rooms, terrace and breakfast room. The private beach at the end of a beautiful gorge, and of course the staff who were fanstastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    We hAd a superior room with a very large terrace which had 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry we could not find anything we did not like!

    We hAd a superior room with a very large terrace which had 2 loungers and a small table and chairs overlooking the bay of Naples and the most amazing view one could imagine. From your room you almost felt as though you were on an ocean liner — we weee in full view of Mt Visuvius . All rooms at the hotel seemed to have a different decor as I peeked into s few others as they were vacant. They all reflected rich woods, tiled floors which were decorative, our room had a comfortable King bed, extra pillows, fluffy comforter , desk, frig, coffees / tea maker. Room also had a seating area/ daybed so could sleep three if needed in addition to a comfortable side chair. It is not your average hotel at all .. setting decor unique and elegant. Bath a large enough dize for comfort with a full sized shower. Front desk very helpful. We had a rental car and parking was at the foot of the hotel @ 10e/ day. Public trans bus stop about 50 meters outside the hotel to take you into town just down the hill . If you have a car and are willing to pay a bit more you can drive down into town . We found a lot just a short block or two from Piazza Tazzo but there are a few others nearby too. Majestic sure you take the drive to Positano beautiful drive but of course many twist in the road. Breakfast was pleasant sitting in a beautiful dining room overlooking a cliff and 180 degree view! A menu is provided daily and you can choose cooked eggs, bacon or salami and of course various caffe choices. Let’s not forget fresh cut fruit, breads pastries. We agreed if we returned to Sorrento we would stay at La Tonnarella again! Loved the European decor and atmosphere!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    An incredible hotel with lovely attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hotel in a great location, brilliant bedroom, lovely view of Sorrento from the balcony. friendly and helpful staff, great breakfasts, perfect :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice location but disappointed with the accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were older and not that well maintained. Our room was tiny with a tiny balcony barely big enough to stand on. Had to duck to get on it. Price was way too high for what we got.

    Location on cliff was beautiful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good locations, I woud take again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit was difficult to get the breakfast. For a bit mushrooms by the breakfast was charched every day 5 EUR. By the leaving we could get very difficult an invoice for my company name, however we ask this before by the booking and by the arriving too. The lady was not very friendly.

    Very clean rooms, very good cleaning every days. Very good beds, pilows. Good quality and quatity breakfast. The parking place also very good. The midle age men on the recepcion was very kind and sympatic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A romantic Mediterranean holiday 💙
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the sink in the bathroom.

    Amazing view, ambience and location. I loved the colours and craftsmanship in all details from the interior and exterior of the hotel. A romantic villa for a splendid holiday !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable short stay-La Tonnarella is a real gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the restaurant wasn’t open as the high season hadn’t started with little other options close by for dinner, but enjoyed our meals downtown on the waterfront and the walk was good exercise.

    Views are sensational-we could almost see forever. Wide choice for breakfast with hot food options cooked to order by friendly chef. Wait staff and reception staff all super friendly and helpful. Private beach looks like a great spot to enjoy a summer’s day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Very nice and quiet accommodations out of the way, but easily walkable to the center of Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Since the terraces were lower than the street there was no road noise at all, just a gentle soft sound of the surf below. The room, the lobby, breakfast room, and public terraces were all very nice with local ceramics and tile. The staff were very accommodating in our needs. We experienced lower prices when booking a taxi service through the hotel than just taking one from town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Simply perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not at all the fault of the Hotel, but one night the couple across the hall were very loud and angry about something. We could hear it all.

    La Tonnarella met and surpassed all expectations! We were there for the last 5 days of our 25th anniversary trip to Spain, France and Italy in October '17. I can't even express how impressed we were by this amazing place, perched on the cliff over the Bay; the very authentic, antique Italian furnishings, wood work, and tile; the amazing views of the Bay in Sorrento and of Mount Vesuvius from the TWO balconies of our corner room; the satisfying, included breakfast each morning; and, last by definitely not least, the staff of the Hotel who quietly and efficiently readied our room, booked our outings and served us coffee throughout our stay. I could go on and on. We could not have been happier to end a magnificent trip with a stay in this beautiful Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Good position, great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (10) didn't have a shower, just a small bath, which was disappointing. The staff were quite friendly, but again they failed when they charged me 3 Euros for a very small cup of milk for tea making facilities in our room.

    The view & the terrace area are fantastic. Position of the hotel is good. Easy to walk into town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good value with ample parking onsite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the restaraunt was already closed for season even though there were several guests. That meant had to walk down to center to find dinner and walk back up

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Chose Sorrento based on a picture I saw 8 years ago. LaTonnarella exceeded every expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving. I really didn't like having to leave this amazing place. We left at 5am, in a taxi arranged for us by La Tonnarella, to Naples airport, and I realized afterward that we had forgotten to leave the tip! (We will mail it.)

    For our 25th anniversary, we chose La Tonnarella for our last 5 days in Europe and it could not have been more perfect! Every nook and cranny is my dream of Italy, the staff were wonderful and arranged our excursions to Capri and Amalfi, the morning buffet had the usual items to the sweetest of treats, and the views from BOTH balconies were better than any website photo could capture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.6
    Fond memories but needs investment and relies on the fantastic view to attract potential guests.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came here for our anniversary as we had our wedding reception here 12 years earlier ( same dates) and loved it . Sorry to say but the place is definitely in need of some TLC and investment . Most of the facilities where not available as end of season which was not advertised and a huge disappointment as the food on our wedding day was fabulous. The room and decor could have been cleaner and all the plants have been left to die. It's a shame to see such a beautiful hotel so run down . The price was massively expensive and didn't accurately reflect the services and amenities provided or the quality of furnishings expected for a hotel of that standard which could easily have been found for much less money a bit further along the road. Such huge potential even for end of season . La Tonnarella you are doing yourself a real disservice . Please bring it back to what it truly is - a fabulous hotel with character . End of season should make no difference to a guests experience.

    The view The night receptionist who was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Next time the only thing is we paid for a view and were place in the last room and the view wasn't very great even though we paid for the view..

    We loved our stay and will definitley come again. How can you go wrong when your in italy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    Nice experience, would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs re vamp,room smelt of cigarettes,never had a proper shower, eating in surrounding area very poor, very overpriced for so called deluxe hotel room.

    Views were great, breakfast average, comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Very Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very near the road and noisy people stood above our terrace often waiting for taxi / shuttle. The restaurant and service at the private beach were not available the time of year we went.

    Extensive breakfast although my partner did not like the bread selection. Great service from staff, very accommodating. It's a beautiful hotel with old world charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Amazing view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel were a little tired.

    Amazing view from the room. Loved having a balcony. Breakfast was excellent. Room was very clean with pretty tiles.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.2
    Not ideal for all ages. There are spectacular views from the terrace and dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was dark and had no view whatsoever. The shower was very difficult to get into as you had to climb over an odd wall. Not ideal for my mother of 80. When I asked if all the rooms were like this, I was told no and I should have put in a request. It is sad that the receptionist did not have a mind of her own and see that mother would have difficulty. The path to go to the beach was over our bedroom so constant noise and I felt our room could be viewed from the steps to the beach. The hotel has so many steps up and down and our access to the dining area was from outside, very slippery when it rained! It is advertised that it has a private beach however you have to pay additional for a sunbed and additional for a parasol. The beach is pebbled along with lots of broken glass. the sunbeds have seen better days and it looks very unkept.

    The beautiful views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    It was a great stay still - location, view and staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wanted to catch the beach at the Hotel you would need to get down early in the morning as the sun goes quickly about lunch time. Also the double bed we had were 2 single beds put together which didn't make the sleep overnight restful.

    The view is absolutely amazing. It's the highlight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent views and beautifully decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to town from the hotel was a bit difficult as it is a bit aside. Some directions/suggestions on wich buse to take from the station etc. would have helped.

    Excellent views and beautifully decorated room. Reception staff was very friendly and hefpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Hotel location was fantastic with views all over over Naples...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Private beach OK but needs attending too and smar

    Hotel location was fantastic with views all over over Naples Bay. Only 10/15 minutes walk into town slight incline for return walk, again views fantastic. Very Italian style hotel building with lots of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    2.5
    A kilatas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the staff are so rude in the hotel, at the restaurant we couldn't have food, because if we asked for something which is finished from the buffet, like bread for instance, the answer was " oh sorry, it's finished " . Is it normal that you can't have BREAD on your breakfest !!! Besides, the room was so durty, the floors full of durt, the toilets smelled so bad, the

    A kilatas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful views and location, average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has private beach but it was very crowded and dirty because beach is not for hotel guests only. Room was small and looks shabby ( not as shown on hotel pictures). Very bad sound insulation. Breakfast room - large and without atmosphere, breakfast avarage. Glasses and cutlery was dirty!!:( Hotel restaurant has a very good view from terrace, but is very overpriced!!! You can eat two times cheaper in the city.

    There were two good things - fantastic and breathtaking views from room terrace and location. Terrace - great, large ( we booked deluxe double room with sea view), with sunbeds. Easy walking distance (15 min) to the centre of Sorrento where you can find restaurants, shops etc. If you will decide to visit Capri (highly recommended), leave the car in hotel parking and walk to the port to catch a ferry. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed the setting of the hotel and the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was in and out for English Channel.

    We loved the truly Italian look of the hotel, the antiques and the most important the beautiful views of the ocean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    Good location but basichotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to reception was hard to access with suitcases. There is no lift therefore you've e to carry your luggage down stairs.Thr menu was limited and the food poor.

    It was an easy walk into Sorrento

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Just a short stroll out of town away from the hustle and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a short stroll out of town away from the hustle and bustle of the main shopping. The hotel has a fantastic little beach with a casual restaurant at the back. But the views are the big winner. Panoramic views for days!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    I love La Tonnarella and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was a little uncomfortable.

    The location is breathtaking. Beach is a little gem with a lunch cafe at the beach that was amazing. I will go back!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.8
    Dissapointed, only good thing was the view..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very dirty, it was not possible to stand up in the shower. Old mugs with toothpaste stains on them. The restaurant had a nice view on the terrace but the food was not very good and it was much to expensive. Waiters tipped themselfs by entering more on then card machine then the acctual bill. The same happened at the beach restaurant when paying by cash and we got the wrong change back. Both times taking 10eur extra. No information about any service charge either. Very dissapointed with this hotel, looked nice with its setting, but this was the worst hotel on our italian trip.

    The view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Amazing hotel to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast at the hotel was a bit plain and can be improved.

    Amazing hotel to stay at. Within walking distance (10 min walk) from town or next to a bus stop. Private beach was beautiful and definately worth it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Incredible beach views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The views from our room were incredible! Full ocean views and views of Sorrento town. I'd highly recommend this place for honeymooners and couples.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice, but not worth the money for unfriendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room picture misleading. There is a picture on my booking of balcony with table and chairs and I was told sarcastically that they don't all have them and "if I had have arrived an hour earlier..." I could have had that. That was really disappointing because we paid to have somewhere to sit and enjoy the view and we did not have that. Staff did not seemed bothered if we enjoyed our stay. -We asked reception to help us book a restaurant for us and felt like we were asking too much. This made me feel unconfortable to ask for any help. - No iron available in room. Only dirty one in a communal toilet. - £10 a day for parking. Should be included in price. - Had to pay to borrow beach towels and use the chairs down near the closest beach.

    - Nice location, a bit of a walk from center, however that made us explore more. - Authentic feel with amazing tiles and Italian style. - Great view from rooftop restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Staying at Hotel La Tonnarella gave us the vacation and views we have always dreamed about!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is absolutely nothing we would have changed about our stay here.

    Our room and view was amazing! The staff was wonderful and food was delicious. We couldn't have imagined a better place to stay during our vacation. We didn't want to leave and we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Friendly, family hotel ideal for Sorrento visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could take a while to find someone to serve at the bar.

    Family hotel feel, good size private terrace with great views, private beach / harbour area, excellent breakfast. Location just 20 mins walk from central Sorrento.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Superb service with an amazing Restaurant 'Radici del Sud' - Michelin listed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    La Tonnarella is an amazing structure, a truly 4 star hotel that provides all the comforts needed. The rooms decor is characteristic, I found the comments on the 'dated decor' quite stupid, this is a Sorrento's hotel if it was modern it would lose the spirit and soul of the local mood. We stayed in both the junior suite and the superior suite, both have a fantastic view on the Sorrento coastline, same applies for the breakfast area, the view is breath taking. The amenities of the hotel are exceptional, the junior suites have bathtub with jacuzzi and the superior suite is located over two floor, includes a private garden, balconies and an ensuite hot tub with waterfall with another amazing view. The access to the beach is easy via the free of charge lift, the beach is nice and quiet and never too overcrowded, on the beach there is a patio and a small restaurant serving freshly cooked meals for lunch. The main perk thought is the Radici Del Sud restaurant, also accessible to non -residents of the hotel. This restaurant is amazing, all the ingredients are organic and the fish is caught on the day. The restaurant is located on the amazing terrace of the Hotel leveraging the amazing views that makes Tonnarella so famous. Service is also impeccable and it is worth ask the hotel when the restaurant is opened because it is truly unmissable. We just came back but we are already planning for next year, absolutely superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    One of the most charming hotels I'ce ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most charming hotels I'ce ever stayed at! A beautiful old villa with great decor - even the emergency exit signs are hand painted tiles. Very friendly staff who spoke good English. Location simply wonderful. Nice little beach to which you can take the lift. Excellent breakfast and good food in the restaurant. I only regret staying just for one night!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    View was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were pretty hard. Terrace was not very private as rooms next to us were very close but it didn't bother us much at all. It is still amazing to have your own terrace area with sun lounges.

    View was amazing! Loved the authentic Italian feel of the accommodation. A lot better than staying in a modern western hotel. Staff were helpful with transport and siteseeing in Sorrento. Breakfast buffet offered a great variety of food and staff were always cheeful in the morning. Would definitely come back!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only issue we had was the bed - it was not good. It was 2 single beds pushed together, and because the frames of the bed hit each other before the matress did there was a 20cm gap in between the matresses. Not ideal. We asked about this, and the staff said this was the case with all of the beds in their hotel. Strange, and not very comfortable!

    A beautiful hotel, and well worth the walk out of Sorrento. The private beach was our favourite - especially the lift to get down there. Amazing views over Sorrento and the port, all the way over to Napoli.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Great Location, beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location, we can walk to the center of town as the hotel is very close, the view from the rooms and the restaurant is beautiful, the rooms are large and very clean and the staff are very helpful, plus a very good food in the restaurant. Will be back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Breathtaking views, historic and impeccably maintained Italian villa, hospitable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only complaint is of the bed -- two very firm twin beds pushed together. The bed and linens were not as nice as I would expect in a hotel of this caliber.

    The pictures online do not do this place justice! The hotel is a beautifully maintained villa and a stunning attention to detail. It has a private beach with elevator access which we did not realize but would be reason alone to go back. We had a corner room with two balconies and had a hard time finding a reason to leave our room everyday. The restaurant has an amazing view, particularly when the patio is open in the summer. The breakfast buffet was well-stocked with a variety of pastries, charcuterie, and beverages. The staff was lovely, but as there is only one front desk staff member, they were not always easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful, booked all our transfers and tours from the hotel for us. Great location, 15 minute walk into Sorrento with beautiful views of the bay. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Hotel La Tonnarella feels like home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a shuttle service to the marina and train station would have been really helpful

    The staff was outstandingly helpful, accommodating and friendly. Katia and Karla were great and I wish I had learned the rest of their names. They knew mine! The delicious breakfasts with smiley face cappuccinos overlooking the bay, the private beach with Lorenzo the lifeguard, our room with a huge, 3' deep tub with jets and balcony, dinner on the terrace outside - I can't choose the best part! I would qualify it as more of a resort than a hotel. We didn't want to leave the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    The views of a lifetime
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little dated in places--the carpets in the hallways need replacing. Rooms aren't that big, but the terraces are crazy spacious.

    The views are unbelievable, terraces are huge and amazing, tons of nice details on the property that make it unique and homey and well-loved and taken care of. Restaurant is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little far from the town center if you walk. About 15-20 min walk

    Loved how cute and comfortable the hotel was. Breakfast was great. Service was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    2 star hotel with 5 star view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One woman at desk totally incompetent. Poor English. Said there were no elec converter plugs. Couldn't give me a telephone number in English. Restaurant closed. Minibar empty. Hotel needs money spent on it

    Great views from terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Friendly little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the money there was nothing not to like.

    It is a 12 minute walk to the edge of town, bed was comfortable, breakfast so very nice, dining room view across the bay is fantastic. 30 minute walk to the train/bus station. Would I recommend this hotel - YES.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Gorgeous property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our experience was very positive-- there wasn't anything we didn't like. The service was great, the rooms were clean (my parents also had a room and were very satisfied).

    The breakfast included a nice variety of foods including items from a buffet and a menu to order from. The rooms are beautiful, the tile floors and decor are lovely. The property has a gorgeous view with lots of patios that are open to all guests. Our room had a view of the water but no private porch, some rooms have porches (cost a little more), but we could still sit outside with great views. There is an elevator down to the beach, which was very convenient as it is a long way down :) There is a pretty waterfall on the path down to the beach area. There are a couple of restaurants very close by just a little past the hotel heading towards Positano. There is a bus stop nearby. The staff recommended a fabulous restaurant, Donna Sophia, that made for a wonderful evening. There was parking on site which not all hotels in Sorrento have. Take the ferry to Capri for another great experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from the hotel are spectacular!! The staff recommended a very nice restaurant called Donna Sophia. The restaurant sent a driver to pick us up at no charge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Amazing views, high above Sorrento!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New bed sets would be a great change and possibly a free place to fill up your water bottles.

    Good breakfast, cute rooms and great service. Very friendly staff and only a 10min walk from the centre of Sorrento. Lovely to be a little bit away from the centre and have the gorgeous views high above the bay over to Vesuvius, truely spectacular!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel...hidden gem, will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the staff and all their help with our plans. We got an upgrade with a full terrace. It was beautiful!!!! Everyone was amazing. Great breakfast as well, Giuseppe was great to us. He works hard to be of assistance to his guests.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay again, even though it had a beautiful view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very small - too small to open 2 suitcases at same time (type you can carry on airplane, so not large) - we had their "deluxe" room, which was supposedly better than the "superior" room. Bathroom very small, just like room. Safe located behind a picture, so would not hold any electronics.

    Nice view from large balcony. Beautiful breakfast room. Breakfast choices were just ok, not particularly memorable. Beautiful view meant a long walk from center of town - about 1 mile.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms flooded after a very heavy rain. Had to request to relocate in the middle of the night. Hotel should have compensated something.

    Location was beautiful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Fantastic view, breakfast, parking.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to reach from the city on feet, it is not far away but it's uphills and at a dangerous very narrow very busy road. Very bad room insulation you can hear everything from next room or the one above you... no restaurant during off season... very expensive for just the view

    Fantastic view, breakfast, parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Busy life's, busy jobs just what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the weather for us with rain on a couple of days but soon cleared.

    A little out of town gem with a short walk to the centre but we knew that when we booked and what we was looking for, up high on a cliff giving the most stunning views of Mount vesuvius and sorrento, we were a little out of season going in october as the private beach facilities were closed as was the evening restaurant but again we knew when we booked but still had access to the beach and you certainly don't go hungry with the many fabulous restaurants in sorrento,staff were very knowledgeable to any questions we had regarding transport and surrounding areas but having been to sorrento twice before still lots of hidden gems to find and explore but we're biased as we love sorrento so much getting engaged there last year and planning to marry there in two years,a lovely clean Italian gem of a hotel worth the walk being out of the centre to get the stunning cliff edge views thank you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    "UNIQUE"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture in walk ways could have been cleaner. Overall, rooms and dining room very clean.

    Spectacular views, great location out of town but within walking distance. Loved the private beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room with rooftop patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    We did not have a water view but we had a lovely rooftop patio with lounge chairs and a table and bench. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was was nicely sized. There was no shower but the bath was spacious and had jets. It was in a nice location a short distance from the bus station to the Amalfi Coast and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.3
    Worth a walk .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Towards the end of the breakfast period (10 minutes left), there was no more of that delicious bread left and we were not able to get any).So get there earlier. There is no restaurant in the hotel,so except for breakfast we had to go into town.( There is a beach cafe that serves lunch that belongs to the hotel and can be reached by the elevator, 4 stories down. )The cost of the 2 chairs and umbrella on the beach was not included in the price of the room but that seems to be standard everywhere. The bathroom could use a bit of updating,especially the button in the wall for flushing the toilet. It had to be pushed very hard and more than once.

    Room #1 had a beautiful unobstructed view of Mount Vesuvius and the sea. Breakfast was served in the lovely old fashioned dining room with decorative tiled floor with big arched windows looking out to sea . Freshly baked bread or buns were delicious and eggs were cooked to order. I liked that the hotel was an old villa repurposed into a hotel. It had a nice authentic feeling.(only 25 rooms)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel with impressive views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not impressed with breakfast service! We arrived at 9.40am (breakfast closes at 10am) and were told that the kitchen staff wouldn't be cooking hot breakfasts as we were too late. Nowhere did it state we needed to be in the breakfast room by 9.30 in order to get a cooked meal. Never ever come across this in all our travels around the world!

    Lovely hotel situated at the far end of Sorrento. Our junior suite was fantastic with a balcony which overlooked the township of Sorrento and beyond.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.7
    Clean, nice staff, no food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed last year, they had a great restauraant. Went this year, No restaurant at all.almost $600.00 for two nights and had to walk half a mile against opposing traffic to get something to eat? NOT AGAIN.

    Staff were all great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    We loved Sorrento and La Tonnarella was an excellent good value place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem with the hotel, but quite a long walk up and down the hill to the town.

    On the third night we upgraded to a suite with a terrace which was lovely. Reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice privately run hotel with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was cramped. A bit of a hike from town but staff provided helpful info on local bus service which worked for us. Lots of steps and low ceiling going down steps to office (watch your head!). I got tired of the steps. Wish we could have gotten room with a view.

    View was excellent and staff was helpful. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that they charged for parking on thier private lot. A shuttle into the city would have been nice but not essential.

    The breakfast was great and the view from the breakfast room superb. We had a comfortable room although my wife found the bed too hard, a common concern for her in Europe.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    South end hotel -gulf of Napoli
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny balcony in room, only room for one chair.

    The views of the sea and coastline of Sorrento from terraces were stunning. Breakfast buffet incredible! A good walk to town center but great for burning off calories from breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    4.2
    5 star view... but 2/3 star hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is tired, and mainly run by staff that can't be bothered. The much praised terrace restaurant is closed (permanently) and the breakfast menu is limited. There are lunch snacks at the beach. The plumbing is old-fashioned (with restricted cold water at certain times) and very noisy and noise - every noise - travels throughout the building. Stone or concrete construction with tiled floors throughout must have seemed a good idea, but you get to hear your neighbours more than you'd like. The worst aspect, though, was the staff, who were abrupt to the point of rudeness, and sometimes just rude. One of the three receptionists was friendly and helpful, but the others looked indifferent. The sullen porter stood by and watched me struggle with heavy bags on arrival and departure. There were loose stair runners on the narrow stairs in the morning that were still loose in the afternoon. The cleaner was friendly but some bits of cleaning were overlooked. The waiter in the breakfast bar was erratic, often surly and prone to fiddling with piles of cups or clearing tables rather than greeeting and offering coffee (which was not good coffee when it eventually came). The happiest we saw him when he came across at 10.00, after waiting five minutes to say the breakfast closed at ten; he did offer get coffee and possibly eggs, but we apologised and left, thinking we had made a mistake, only to find the times in the room brochure, the only place they were displayed, said 10.30!. The pastries were delicious but the hot food was only eggs, bacon and frankfurters; the eggs were good, but the bacon was cremated. It displayed an 8.3 overall Booking.com 2015 at reception, but it has lost its restaurant and looked tired, like a place on the way down. They take the payment weeks before the stay - is it so you can't leave early? We loved and enjoyed the view, and for some people it may be enough, but you have been warned!

    We chose La Tonnarella for the sea view on the website pictures, and we paid the premium to get that view. It is stunning, and the deluxe room gives you a private terrace so roomy and warm we didn't even go to the private beach. The clifftop site on the edge of town ( a 15 minute walk) gives you an memorable and uninterrupted view of the Bay of Naples.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.2
    Charming hotel with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay at the beach for sun loungers and umbrellas - we got a discount as we were hotel guests so it wasn't very expensive but this wasn't clear when I was booking the hotel.

    Charming bedroom, nice and big, with unique tile decoration. We didn't have a sea view, but we had a lovely little terrace with a table and chairs. An easy 20 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento and an amazing view over the bay. Breakfast is lovely - freshly baked bread, fresh tomatoes and fruit, and freshly baked sweet cornettos and cakes. We booked one trip (to Pompeii) through the hotel and it was well ran and good value for money. I booked the hotel because of location and the access to the beach and I wasn't disappointed with either. Nice little cafe at the beach and the water was glorious!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent, friendly staff who went out of their way to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel restaurant now seems to be closed other than for special occasions.

    Excellent, friendly staff who went out of their way to help us with booking excursions. A lovely hotel, with beautiful views over Sorrento town and opposite from Vesuvius. The private beach was a bonus, and with a lovely bar next to it in the shade of a vine-covered terrace. We enjoyed a superb meal for the Feragosto on the terrace - the scenery was beautiful and the waiters delightful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.8
    Great get a away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not quite explained in photos online. Online the balconies and rooms seem bigger. We got the medium rooms (deluxe with view) the beach isn't great, but it's still a beach, and having to spy for your towels and beach chairs and umbrellas does seem a little silly for the price you pay for rooms

    They went out of their way ahead of time to accommodate all our requests for bookings of excursions, the view from the breakfast too was incredible. The views were incredible and the breakfast is good, especially since you can order cappuccinos and eggs any way you want them

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: