Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of La Vecchia Fonte This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Fonte Vecchia 48, 07020 Palau, Italy

#5 of 25 hotels in Palau

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 470 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Delightful stay in authentic Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was spacious and very clean. The hotel staff was very friendly. They arranged for packed lunches for our scuba trips and let us check out late. This kindness was unexpected and we appreciated it. The hotel was newly decorated. I was very happy with my choice, knowing that good hotels in Italy aren't easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Location great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could offer more choice and be replenished as some days a limited choice nearer to end of service

    Location great Staff very friendly and reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit squeaky

    Alessandro at the front desk was so helpful and kind and did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. He welcomed us with juice, organised an earlier check in time when we arrived early and managed to find and book a sailing tour for my partner and I last minute. The sailing tour was the highlight of our trip to Italy and we are so grateful to Alessandro for booking it for us. He is so lovely - as are all the staff at the hotel. The breakfast was delicious and there was a large selection to choose from. The location is excellent if you are doing a boat tour around La Maddalena Archipelago - the port is just a minute walk from the hotel. There is a big parking lot outside the hotel that is only 1 euro an hour during the day and free from 8pm - 8am. The rooms are nice and very clean. Great value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast area was a bit crowded so go a little early.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect-right across from the harbor. The attached bar / snack bar is perfect for relaxing and people watching.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    5.8
    Dreadful worse experience that we have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked for 7 nights but left after 5 (which was as soon as we could get a flight home) We did not get any sleep at all as a Night Market came every night from 8pm to 1am & it was right under our balcony . The bars & cafes were allowed to play very loud music until 1am which meant that there was loud noise intermittently until 2.30am. The street cleaners started up at 6/6.30am. We were so tired all the time. After 2 nights we told the guy on reception that we were going to leave & he did not suggest moving us to a quieter room (think that the Hotel was full) but as we were leaving to catch our flight a different guy on reception said that he would move us but by this time it was too late. It totally spoiled our stay & cost us over £400 in 2 nights lost room + flight home.

    Staff pleasant,breakfast & room good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hairdryer was a but ancient & hard to style hair easiky. Sorry to mention but this was the only negative thing.

    Great location. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and the port area. Great sized room with view of ocean. Breakfast was great with plenty of cold & hot selections. Coffee was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly situated on the harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A problem with hot water flow which was weak. Cleanliness in the shower should be improved.

    Nice place near the port next to the center. Lovely lady at the front desk was friendly and professional and gave us recommendations about the city. The design of the hotel fits its location with marital elements- door, lamps etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.6
    Good & confortable hotel at perfect location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    La Vecchia Fonte is a welcoming, comfortable hotel located in the perfect location to explore the touristic points and get the ferry to La Maddalena. The staff is friendly and helpful at all times. The room was lovely, very good size, bathroom with great shower, comfortable bed and sure, I will recomend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Very clean and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and friendly staff. The rooms on the top floor is totally new. The buffet is great with enough choices. We enjoyed very much our stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.9
    A great place to stay for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable and the air con didn’t work very well.

    Great location. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were big and the breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    very clean and centrally located at the port of Palau, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If weather is bad Palau does not have much to offer, but it is not the hotel's fault.

    very clean and centrally located at the port of Palau, good for trips to the surrounding islands. Good breakfast with pretty much everything. Staff veeery friendly and helpful. Short walk to a nearby beach, maybe 5-10 minutes. Friday there was a local market right in front of the hotel with local products. There is a big playground right in front of the hotel for the kids to play. In April plenty of parking in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was clean and comfortable, but the value was not worth the high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The photos show a jacuzzi, but it is in fact a private jacuzzi for select rooms online, and cannot be accessed by the other guests. The description says "sea view" but the view is in fact of a large parking lot, with a children's play area, and the port visible in the distance. The description says there is an airport shuttle but it was actually a private taxi service that was very expensive. The female staff member we spoke to was not very helpful. We visited Sardinia without a car due to unforeseen circumstances, and instead of helping us to be creative with activities or offer to call certain boat services for us, she simply lectured us on needing a car. In the end, there was plenty to do without a car and we were able to find boat rentals thanks to other people who helped us.

    One of the staff (Antonio I think) was very helpful and courteous. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is in a convenient location. There is always someone at the front desk at all hours. The room was large and cleaned frequently.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    Good central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Rooms were large spacious and with everything you need. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very helpful. We left our car in their underground parking for 2 days while we visited an island, all safe and alot cheaper than parking in other car parks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    8.8
    Great location and lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Spa Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived early and asked about parking our car and didn't feel very welcomed at reception but the attitude changed when she realised we had booked one of the most expensive rooms. That was a bit disappointing.

    We booked a suite as it was our 25th wedding anniversary and it was great . The lady that cleaned our room was brilliant and deserves a special mention

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    So nice place and friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe you have to rent a car or motorcyle to get there

    the staffs was so kind and friendly. just next to the hotel, there are nice bars and restaurante Ant wine club with good music and party people (but not noisy in rooms) breakfast is delicious parking lot is just front of the hotel I am highly recommed this hotel to others

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    6.3
    Good location but low value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room view: simply awful. Electricity plugs hiden behind the bedside table. I wouldnt say this is a 4 star hotel

    Location: just 5 min. walk from the Bus station/Ferry dock

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    8.3
    Nice and spacious hotel in the heart of Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water pressure in the shower is a bit low, however that's a minor point. It would be great if the hotel offered free parking since it's quite hard to find a place to park in the proximity - the staff was very helpful in helping us find suitable parking though.

    The room was nice, clean and spacious. The hotel in general is very beautifully decorated, even if a bit old fashioned. Great location right at the port, very close to a host of restaurants. Good variety of breakfast choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.9
    Good clean room and very friendly staff. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the hotel's fault as it's location was very central, but there was no free parking. Had to pay for car park, which I imagine can become crowded during peak season.

    Hotel was in a good location, very close to ferry and right by the harbour. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    4.2
    A 2 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That its a 2 star hotel and not 4. The floors where dirty. Our bedroom door didnt worked properly thru the stay. The bedding had stains and the towels where worn.

    Just the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    8.3
    relaxing time out away from the bustle of daily life - beautiful setting - we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It would have been nice to have really good food in the cafeteria - only a pizza and burger style menu - we had heard about Sardinia being a place for food lovers and hoped for a selection of good fresh food with plenty of fruit and vegetables. This wasn't just at the hotel but through Palau. car park is a gold mine for the town -would be great to have free parking for hotel or at least reduced cost

    We liked the size and cleanliness of our room - cool and airy with fresh sheets and towels each day. Breakfast was good - fairly good selection with fresh coffee on demand - any style you like. Liked the little cafe terrace at the front and side - nice place to sit for aperitif or after a day out at the beach. Nice friendly staff generally - helpful and approachable - from the breakfast room ladies to the cleaners and receptionists.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    9.2
    A decent hotel in the centre of a town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really stands out, perhaps a note that the place is in the middle of the town - so not a remote peaceful oasis. But - if one looks for that and knows what one is booking (we did, and it was extremely practical) - this is not negative at all.

    Very decently renovated hotel in the centre of Palau. Though - very good sound insulation so no noise from the centre. We upgraded at a very reasonable price to a bigger room, and that one was very decent. Stayed for one night only, so can't say much about the walk to the beaches (they seemed close enough). Compared to the price madness just a few km south on Costa Smeralda, very decently priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    8.3
    Very good location and hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rate is expensive for a three stars.

    Very good location and hotel with character. Very handy to have a garage under the hotel (for free ; very close by and you leave the car in the shade!). The triple room is spacious and bed comfortable. All The staff were very friendly and accommodating (before and during our stay).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely loved it, personnel is very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely loved it, personnel is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are fantastic, very clean and well-equipped. Location is great as well, very close to the ferry to La Maddalena.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    8.3
    Really pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place has a nice Mediterranean vibe to it. Was near the Marina, which great, lots of food options and just near everything in the area. Room despite not having a view (which was what we booked) was spacious and comfortable! Staff were friendly and breakfast options good. Paid public parking is available right out front.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    8.8
    Cool little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed could have been a bit more comfortable. It was a little squeaky.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, right next to the big public carpark which was free overnight. The ferry port was not far away either which allowed great access to La Maddalena.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel for Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con quits after a few hours so I had to get up during the night to turn it on again. Can be quite noisy in the evening.

    Superb location, public parking right in front of the hotel. Nice hotel bar. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    7.9
    Convenient hotel for a tour around La Maddalena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a bit dirty. The air conditioning was broken in our room and this was not mentioned during check in. I think this should have been mentioned and some consideration provided especially since it was the hottest it had been in 15 years. When we realized it I spoke to the receptionist who told me we couldn't move rooms (they were allegedly full although it didn't appear to be so) and the repair man would be there the following day. We were told to open a window instead. I am disappointed at the lack of urgency with which the hotel handled this issue and the fact that they knew of this condition and did not mention it up front or try to accommodate us in some other way (for example with free parking, a meal, or a discount on the room rate).

    Location extremely close to boat tours and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel with room for improvement perfectly located at the Palau port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A real balcony would have been nice, especially when booking a Junior Suite. The noise until late in the night coming from the restaurant / bar Il Grillo was really annoying.

    The hotel is perfectly located at the Palau harbor so you are close to all the relevant activities, like sailing and the ferry to La Maddalena. The breakfast and the coffee were also good. We enjoyed the view on the port from the 6th floor of the Junior Suite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    9.6
    The room was spacious, very clean and with a tea kettle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious, very clean and with a tea kettle. The bed was super comfortable. The view was sea side but not that close to the sea so it wasn't that nice. The staff was very helpful and with a smile on their face. Plenty of parking spaces spaces in front but you must pay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    Definitely i will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They don t have restaurant to take lunch/dinner but they have good partenership with an restaurant 1 min distance,where you can eat very very well

    Very good location at 1-2 min by foot from the port, we were there just for one night. The breakfast is very very good and it s not very poor,you have from where to choose.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    7.9
    A gateway to nearby heavenly Sardinian beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not many things to do in the town. A car is must to expand your possible activities during your stay.

    Good location right in the marina with lots of restaurants. Spacious room with acces to large shared balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay in Palau, pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist (a lady) was having a private conversation over the phone when we came to check in, and continued for quite a while despite us standing in front of her and waiting. There is a paid parking at the hotel, but if you keep your car on the free common parking in front of the hotel - you are limited by only 1 hour.

    We enjoyed our stay. We travelled out of season, so the price was a good value for money. The rooms differ a lot in terms of level of luxury, we stayed in the most simple one. All rooms have a view to the sea/parking. The size of the room was quite big.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    10
    Excellent small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Four stars except no bathrobe and plastic glasses.

    First bidet in Corsica or Sardinia-3 foot vanity in nice tiled bathroom with handy plug for electric tooth brush-two chairs-table-desk English news on TV-terrace with doors to open-ice from bar refused tip-two blocks to ferry-well attended 30 foot breakfast spread with changes every day-English speaking front desk

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was a bit hit and miss

    Location is ideal, we had a room with a balcony which gave us a view over the harbour! The room was spacious and the bathroom was great with many toiletries! The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was gorgeous

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2016

    9.6
    Part of a touring holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good, nothing to dislike

    Everything about this hotel was easy. Near car park, the port, shops and restaurants. Well worth a couple of nights or more

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    10
    Great spot in Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Super helpful staff gave us great tips on the area. They checked us in early and allowed us to leave our car in their garage for several hours after we checked out. It is low season but even so, many places don't do that. Great variety at breakfast and perfect location for access to ferries and cruises.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    10
    best hotel we stayed in Sardinia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The photo on Booking.com is misleading as it is of the Royal Suite which has a hot tub on the balcony. If you want a Seaview ask for a room at the front. These are more expensive.

    Lovely location just metres from the marina. Pleasant small town. Great market outside the hotel on Friday mornings. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The reception staff were all multilingual. Rooms were typically Sardinian decor. Fridge and safe in room and super size bed. Air-conditioning set at 24C which was not changeable. We both didn't take dinner at the hotel but breakfast was typically continental, meat,cheese,limited cereals,fruit and yogurt. There are several excellent restaurants within a 2 minute walk. There is an underground secure parking for 12 EUR per day. It costs 11.50 EUR in the public car park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    4.2
    Not great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located next to a car park which has markets every night! Parking our car was difficult and expensive. No views, except the car park from the restaurant area. We would definitely not return or recommend.

    Front desk and domestic staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water in the shower had no strength at all. Breakfast is not appropriate for 4 star hotel (e.g. no hot dishes at all).

    Good location. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2016

    9.2
    Stylish hotel in the centre of Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking can be tricky in old town (just as you may expect) but the staff will give you a map of parking places.

    Rooms (and the hotel as such) have a great style and are really comfortable and clean Best breakfast we had during our stay in Sardinia. Superb location in the Marina area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    8.8
    Unpretentious, beautiful place to stay in the center of Palau. Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would be good to have an iron in the room to iron clothes etc. Also a better bar/cafe downstairs would have meant we would spend more time at the hotel.

    Unpretentious, lovely hotel. Staff v friesnly & helpful. Breakfast was great! Room was nicer than expected and the whole stay was v pleasant. Near to everything going on in the town and close to beaches. Perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2016

    9.2
    Best location with all facilities close to you: bars,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mini fridge is really very small.

    Best location with all facilities close to you: bars, restaurants, shops, bus stops, boats trips... and a very nice beach reachable by foot in 10 minutes. Room very spacious (201) with terrace all very new and clean, staff very friendly and keen to help.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2016

    8.8
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly over priced, however we did go for one of the superior rooms which cost more than the classic rooms.

    We liked the hotel very much, all the staff are very professional and helpful. The breakfast was really good with lots of choices. The bedroom 403 was large and had a bath tub.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location at the heart of Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower temperature was difficult to adjust.

    Location was excellent and the room was very spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful staff at the hotel that was perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    Location was great, close to the Marina and to the ferry to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free parking available.

    Location was great, close to the Marina and to the ferry to visit La Madalena island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Beautiful little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Lovely area of Sardinia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    The breakfast was good. The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Perfect 5 day trip away in a lovely part of Sardinia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The staff and the cleanliness of the hotel were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.2
    Good choice in Palau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, just next to the port where you can rent a boat. Spacious room. Very good breakfast with a wide choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    The courtesy and availabilty of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The courtesy and availabilty of the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free parking is a bit of a challenge

    Very nice and clean room, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.6
    A perfect place in a beautiful town on a marvelous island. No need for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit crowded the breakfast room

    everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    8.8
    A lovely well situated hotel with good service and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furnishings of traditional Sardinian embroidered textiles and historical photos were lovely as was the little balcony with a view of the port

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.5
    Very difficult with parking space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very difficult with parking space

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    9.2
    Recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise at night

    Everything was very good. View from balcony perfect, staff spoke perfect english and german and they were all very kind and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    5.0
    Location, 5 minuts from beaches, restaurants and the boat to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy hotel, not very clean

    Location, 5 minuts from beaches, restaurants and the boat to la maddalena

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable larger size room on great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking expensive nearby.

    Great location near waterfront and restaurants. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2016

    7.9
    Nice friendly and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one available plug socket to be shared to charge 2 mobiles and hair straighteners etc

    Staff were very friendly and room was nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    9.6
    Nice short stay close to nicest beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really

    Very good position of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2016

    9.6
    Large room, excellent bathroom with shower, balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room, excellent bathroom with shower, balcony overlooking marina.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful little harbour town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good.

    Lovely hotel perfectly placed on the harbour. Left early but the staff still managed to organised tea and coffee.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    7.9
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy at night because of nearby market.

    Clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2016

    8.3
    good central location, tasty breakfast, welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good central location, tasty breakfast, welcoming and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2016

    10
    Great location in Palau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was good but staff a bit surly

    Very efficient reception staff. Location great for boat trips. Nice size room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2016

    7.9
    The room was very big and very nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was uncomfortable and made noise whenever you were turning. The balcony was super tiny. The room was a bit cold.

    The room was very big and very nicely decorated. The hotel was clean, the staff was nice.

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2016

    9.6
    Centrally-located hotel with spacious rooms, clean bathrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is surrounded by bars and located next to a central parking space. We stayed there one night from a Saturday to a Sunday (in May); during the night there were some people blaring around, one even continuously honking a car horn on the parking lot. The hotel windows have a very good sound insulation and all in all, we could sleep well; however, I guess in the high season we would not want to stay longer there.

    Centrally-located hotel with spacious rooms, clean bathrooms, more or less quiet in the off-peak season (May).

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect: the staff, the hotel, parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect: the staff, the hotel, parking, breakfast. We have been upgraded for free in a superior room that was wonderful. I strongly recommend the superior room.

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is located next to an open fronted restaurant which has a very loud live disco running from about 9pm to 1am. Despite using ear plugs the music, if it can be called that, reverberated throughout the hotel on our side(directly next door). We contacted the night manager who informed us it would cease at 1am. Which it did. Next morning, Friday, we asked the front desk if this was to be a nightly occurrence. Later that day we were told there would be no loud music that night. Wrong! 9pm more of the same. We phoned reception and luckily the house manager was on duty and he immediately offered us another room on the opposite side of the hotel where we enjoyed a relatively quiet night's sleep. Not the best of experiences. Apparently this has been the case for some considerable time. I would recommend when booking to ask for a room on the opposite side to the cafe/disco.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    10
    The Staff was perfect, very helpful and friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT!!!!

    The Staff was perfect, very helpful and friendly, room&bathroom were spacious, clean and very cosy. Wifi works perfect. They have free private underground parking. Perfect little hotel to spent nice time.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    8.8
    Palau is a great location for exploring the La Maddalena...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very firm. Breakfast was mediocre.

    Palau is a great location for exploring the La Maddalena Archipelago and Costa Smeralda. Hotel was conveniently located directly opposite the marina/port. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and beautifully decorated in Sardinian style.

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    6.3
    Superior room was a good size and was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the staff are surly and unhelpful. The wifi constantly drops its connection. Really irritating. The Friday market meant access to the hotel was severely restricted. It would have been helpful if the hotel had warned us.

    Superior room was a good size and was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    10
    Spacious room with enough space to store your luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing at all, except maybe the wifi connection that could better. However this as also the case in other hotels in Sardinia; therefore I wonder whether this is not rather a general problem.

    Spacious room with enough space to store your luggage. Well cured breakfast and most amiable staff. There is a large paying parking facility in front of the hotel. The hotel has a beach towel service. Plenty of good restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    10
    Really well appointed and decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really.

    Really well appointed and decorated room. Lovely ambience within the hotel, generally. Great location by the harbour, with easy access to all the restaurants and the lovely evening market which, despite its close proximity to the hotel, didn't create any disturbance.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: