Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Vela-Castello Il Rifugio 3 stars

Corso Nicolo' Cuneo 21, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy

#21 of 22 hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 811 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a very good stay

    Its a short walk to the beach and parking is good on site. The road up tot he hotel is quite steep although we found it ok. The view from the tower is excellentThe staff were all very pleasent and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A short walk uphill to the hotel and down again to the town centre and foreshore

    Super friendly staff, very helpful, immaculately clean. Great views from the top of tower/turret

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is an interesting building set in beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was not particularly helpful and did not give me basic informationI needed e.g. breakfast, wifi code etc. The breakfast was ok but some of the food was not very fresh (pastries/ boiled eggs). The hotel is a 15/20 minute walk away from the centre - uphill on the way back.

    The hotel is an interesting building set in beautiful grounds. The room was fine with most basic facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Overall the novelty of staying a in a castle was outweighed by the staff hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very helpful and didn’t seem to enjoy what they were doing, particularly at check in. The two single beds were roll-outs. The Room wasn’t set up as a true family quadruple room. The driveway and parking is very steep and difficult to navigate. I recommend you arrive early in the day to secure a spot where you can turn around otherwise you will be parked in and require assistance to leave again.

    It had nice views and the breakfasts were good. A lovely old building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Santa Margherita is wonderful, and an excellent base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We took our son and daughter in law here for a vacation, and having 2 sets of twins without any separation of area made it less than comfortable.

    Santa Margherita is wonderful, and an excellent base. I chose Il Rifugia because of the castle architecture. This is the one place of our 5 stays @Italy in which we were disappointed. The staff were courteous, but not warm. The breakfasts were excellent. The bedroom was high ceilinged , and adequate, But we were given 2 very uncomfortable beds , both of which were actually twins pushed together.There was a lovely balcony attached to our room , and as it is @ 4 blocks up from the boardwalk area, the view was great.The flowers all around were spectacular.The bathroom was small, but fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train pass in front of the hotel with an echo from the valley, it’s impossible to sleep. It’s incredibly noisy! For me that is the basic of a good hotel, so I consider this is not good price for money. Also, there is no cattle in the rooms for coffee or tea, the service is very basic, it is not a 3 stars hotel.

    The view. But I mean you have this for free anywhere you look the views are amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    This is the third stay here. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it’s a good hike of about 10 minutes from the town center (lovely walk but very uphill) and very steep accesss driveway , a couple exterior flights of stairs (under a charming pergola) , and then interior stairs. absolutely not for anyone with walking problems or problems with stairs. a third floor room meant we effectively climbed about 5 or 6 flights of stairs (outside entrance flights - about three) a steep driveway and interior steps equivalent to about 5 flights to the room ( the main floor ceiling is breathtakingly high) . I consider it worth the hike because the hotel is beautiful in the old-europe -hotel sort of way, with delightful views of the bay, and lovely gardens beautifully tended the whole way up .

    the hotel is most unusual - like a small castle perched on the hillside and i wager unlike any place you’ll likely ever find anywhere in europe, especially at this price. Elegant, huge entrance room with a massive fireplace, comfy sitting areas framed by an lovely staircase that affords a view of the reception area all the way to the top. Exterior staircases allow the visitor to investigate the turrett and rooftops like exploring an italian fantasy villa.Bathroom was newly renovated; the window casings well-preserved and sharply painted and funtional, lovely brass fittings, an actual big brass key to the bedroom doors(no electronic plastic card, thankyou), and classy bed linens. Views of the whole city stetched out below. Easy on -site parking (free) and very cooperative and charming hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great! Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can have a better variety .

    The location is excellent, few minutes walk to the port and the beach. The view from the hotel is amazing. Greenery flowers and all over the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything was very nice and pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not the easiest place to get to by foot.

    Everything was very nice and pretty. The roof deck (solarium) was great when I didn't want to go down to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Romantic stay in Santa Margherita
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situated in a beautiful castle at 7 min walk from the main street of Santa, we had a great stay. Our room has a magic view and moreover, there is a solarium where you can climb and drink a glass of wine with a great view. It has also a private parking and that's really nice since Santa is really packed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, its a bit different staying in a castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would of liked tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

    The property appears to be a converted castle ! so a little different we had a triple room which was quite large also a fridge in the room for guests to use, the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely recommend for the location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a bit more spacious but was clean and adequate .

    A beautiful building with amazing views. Also, a great breakfast with plenty of choice. Perfect location for catching the ferry to Portofino which was the reason for our visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Novel hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money paid, I didn't expect the chairs I sat in in our room to come apart - when I stood up, the cushion and its frame came apart from the main structure and stuck to me every time - not affixed properly. The safe provided in the cupboard wasn't attached to anything so didn't use it - what's the use of using it when the whole safe can be taken? We paid a premium for a sea view room but it was very noisy from the trains passing by every 15 minutes. While the 'old castle' theme is enchanting - it's more an external feature - not obvious from inside. Staff helpful only when approached - not even a 'buonjorno' before you said it.

    We had a corner room which seemed bigger than other sea view rooms I saw which was good, breakfast buffet was expansive and good, location good - not too far from middle of town and sea, views lovely from the room and the top of the turrets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    The gracious old style and spaciousness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less steps to haul my luggage

    The gracious old style and spaciousness. Staff especially Magdalena went out of their way to make my stay a happy experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful seaside view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a little street noise, but that's everywhere in Italy.

    Beautiful seaside view. Nice little buffet style breakfast from 8-10 AM. The walk up the driveway was easy/fine for me, but I am an avid hiker. Great room for a solo traveler.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for romantic weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance road and parking not so easy but we managed well with a small car.

    Great location in the old castle atmosphere and amazing view! Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Great, really great location and hotel apart from parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have quite a big and wide car and it was a bit of a challenge to drive it up and park it. It worked but i had to drive really carefully. Many other cars were at the property which made it difficult to move the car out

    Great location, beautiful view, nice old hotel from inside, beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    Santha Margherita was a good place to discover around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sounds in the next room were directly in my room. The bathroom is very small and no door.

    The breakfast was very delicious, the hotel is in all green.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    No kettle for tea or coffee making in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle for tea or coffee making in room. Hotel is situated at the top of a long and very steep driveway. If guests do not arrive in their own car, taxi will only drop off and collect from roadside which makes it very difficult if you have luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful building high up a hill and longish walk to the port with friendly staff, parking problem,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steep winding approach with not enough parking space at the top. The steep stone cobbled drive can be slippery when wet. We experienced spinning wheels with a car in the rain.

    It is a very impressive old mansion, a beautiful small castle with friendly staff. The room was simple but comfortable. The staff managed to solve the parking problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the steep drive to the hotel. We walked to the centre of Santa Margherita, it was easy going down but walking back was a bit tiring due to the steep drive, but the position of the accommodation and its facilities made up for that.

    The position and the panoramic view of the surrounding area from the hotel was lovely. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Actually we liked all the aspects of the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    A lovely hotel with a dreadful car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was impossible for our large car. There was no room to negotiate the steep, winding, narrow climb to the hotel so that we had to park at the bottom. Also, the entrance to the driveway is on a bend and so is extremely dangerous when you need to leave.

    The hotel and grounds were picturesque and so was the view from our bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Interesting building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike here!

    A very interesting building; away from the crowds, but not more than a 10 minutes walking distance to the centre. Great views from the roof and tower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.2
    Far from centre and beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff when we arrived walked us to our room ( in the anexe outside), open the door, didn't say a word and walked off. Not friendly at all. Quite rude to be honest.

    The building was beautiful but breakfast was full of wasps and they didn't seem to care.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    Not bad....but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better parking, assistance with luggage as it was a long way up the driveway and then the stairs.

    It was just okay......nice building, but nothing extraordinary.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.3
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stair carpet needed vacuuming; small dark bedroom; bathroom needs updating; uncomfortable pillows; no lift and staff don't offer to help with cases; lots of noise from nearby railway; walk to and from town short but part of it on very busy road with no pavement- would be tricky with children; not the standard expected for €140 per night! Wouldn't stay here again.

    Roof terrace and view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful view from rooftop terrace and tower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driveway to access parking area is steep and narrow but doable by me going up. The proprietor was kind enough to safely drive my car back down in the morning, which I very much appreciated!

    Beautiful view from rooftop terrace and tower. Gorgeous beautifully maintained grounds and a delicious breakfast with a view overlooking the town and Ligurian sea. The attention to detail and service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful grand building, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too high

    Beautiful old building with lovely views, and a roof terrace. Breakfast was great, a lot of choice. Close walk (10 mins) to the harbour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Castle base over looking Santa Margherita
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like others have said the little switchback driveway can be a challenge but Europeans are used to this... I had no issues but once you have a spot better to leave the car where it is and walk etc. Go for it... Fun location and village....

    Liked the location and view... easy 10 minute walk down the hill to town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Lovely arhitecture, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking in front of the hotel is hardly accessible, the road is in the ramp and very narrow and you have to leave the keys in the reception. Anyway, it's better to go with a small car. But that's not a minus, you just have to be careful.

    Lovely arhitecture, friendly staff. The owner of the hotel was doing the valet job, parking and moving the cars for making more space. Funny.. :) The terrace on top was exellent, every evening we went there for drinks and toscanelo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    We loved the querkiness of the hotel. A beautiful building with great views. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The slight climb up to the hotel, even though it kept us fit.

    The beautiful building. The great veiws. The breakfast included had a good choice. Lovely and quiet. Well within walking distance of the of the town and harbour. Definatley worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.5
    Okay but could of done better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is extremely difficult and limited. Hotel is 10-15 min walk to the beach downhilll which makes it for a full work out coming back. Beds were a bit old and bouncy. The AC was regulated so you could only use it at night.

    The place had a partial view of the bay. was hotel staff was average except for the lady at breakfast who was very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    We loved the castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The drive was steep to haul the suitcases up and down.

    The sun loungers on the roof terrace among the castle turrets were lovely for a glass of wine and nibbles at sunset. The views were stunning. It was a 10 minute walk into town but a taxi ride to the train station if you had luggage. The castle decor and interiors were authentic and lovely. The gardens were beautiful and there was lots of nooks for private seating outside. The room was spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast was great. Staff were very helpful with a map and suggestions of things to do. We loved the red carpet walk to Portofino that she suggested. A lovely hotel with a difference.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic building but rooms need a little update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was old and needed up dating, there was no shower screen or curtain so the floor got very wet!

    Stunning property, just needs a little updating but beautifully clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.6
    Expensive for this money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the basement The parking is free but very bad, we had to find the other parking place The staff is not friendly The breakfast is poor

    The architecture of building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is positioned on a hill overlooking the town. Lovely old Castillo with well maintained grounds. A little distant from town centre if you are on foot, but still achievable. Room was basic but clean and comfortable. Good aircon and wifi. Fabulous continental breakfast provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Old World feel with high ceilings and gorgeous windows and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated and need a refresh, family room was small for a family with teenagers. Parking an issue as can only take a few cars due to location. 15 min walk to town with steep gradient.

    Old World feel with high ceilings and gorgeous windows and fantastic views,neat and clean - we were a family with 2 teenage boys so space was a bit tight! Staff very helpful and assisting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.4
    The castle is very nice, with wonderful flowers and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tv not functioning, shower without tent, people very near in the opposite room making noise at night (and you can hear everything), breakfast with automatic machines (for coffee, milk and fruit juices) and products not very fresh. The price is too high compared with the quality of the services.

    The castle is very nice, with wonderful flowers and view. It's very easy to reach from the station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent overall lovely views from bedroom & roof top, top class hotel with high standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really just a bit of a step hill to climb to entrance of hotel for elderly people but we didn't mind.

    The hotel overall was very clean and stunning traditional Italian style with amazing sea view from bedroom and roof top With nice views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel only 15min walk to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything with this accom, would stay again and would recommend!

    We loved this accom- the views were spectacular from the roof! The interior is beautiful and well maintained and clean. The castle has its old charm and we loved it! It's about a 15min walk to the waterfront. Breakfast was great and everything you would want. Car parking was tight but the staff are there to help if needed. Wifi worked well along with the air conditioning. Our room was basic but had everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    La Vela was as expected, charming and a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and bedding, air conditioning was not good, but the windows opened and allowed for fresh but humid air. Parking is a big challenge but they work hard to accommodate their guests.

    The architecture, the grounds, the dining room were all lovely and appropriate.... what I wanted for this area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    A memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis will not drive you to the door. Wasn't really a problem except taking luggage up and down the small hill or when it rained one day. We enjoyed walking into town because it was downhill and only took about 10 minutes but getting back took longer and we were often so tired. For active people, it's only a minor inconvenience. There are stairs in the hotel as well but we were no challenged by them.

    Eclectic, great sea view from the room. Large bathroom and had everything we needed for comfort (A/C, mini fridge, wardrobe, dresser with mirror). Lots of choices at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Daytime receptionist could do better. The man on the night time reception was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial greeting was not welcoming at all to the point of being rude. No information was offered to us to help us as overseas visitors.

    The location was quiet and set in pretty gardens. The breakfast was good with a variety of items to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Picturesque hotel with great views in the area. Diffucult access to the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    -There was a tiny parking in front of the hotel with a steep road to climb in order to arrive, really difficult for a new driver to climb. Better to park the car in the surrounding area.

    -The building was beautiful and the gardens and views around the area. -The breakfast room very well decorated and with high quality breakfast. -Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    A hotel you could recommend to anyone. Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really was nothing to complain about; I knew that trains would be audible so took ear plugs!

    Excellent choice of sweet and savoury foods, good selection of hot drinks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking back and forth 3 times a day. There is no restaurant on the property so you have to go to town to eat. We are fairly fit but after three day we were tried of the stairs, hills and driveway

    Wonderful property, however difficult to walk from the station as it's very steep with lots of stair. Taxi charges $15€ flat rat for a five minute ride. Perfect if your driving.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Very beautiful hotel both inside and ourside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a bit far from the town centre and train station and there is bit section of uphill walk.

    The hotel is very beautiful both inside and ourside. We had a large corner room with sea view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous. 10/10. But two things to consider...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The location was fabulous for us - it REALLY is a 5 minute walk down to town - maybe less. But you do have to come up again. Most of it is stairs or steep walkways which may be a problem for those with walking difficulties. 2) Parking - and driving - in Italy is not for the faint hearted. I am confident at driving in Italy, but the parking here is.... an experience. The lovely hotel staff helped phenomenally with guiding me in, but the hotel is up a steep narrow hill, with hairpin turns and jagged walls either side and a car park for 3 cars at the top that they somehow fit 7/8 cars into. We have a big Audi A5. Not a scratch thanks to the hotel staff. But for some this may literally be impossible. You have been warned ;)

    Lovely breakfast with glorious views. This is such a special hotel - it's beautiful, with a roof sun deck and a tower that gives gorgeous views. It's comfortable and clean. The staff are so friendly, helpful - even with the language barrier (both sides tried their best!). It's really unique and we would recommend to anyone! Aircon works perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    We had a room with a nice view of the town below.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tricky driveway to negotiate for a foreigner. The beds were old and could have been more comfortable.

    Very nice breakfast and the room had high ceilings. Very enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    5.4
    Nice building but devil is in the detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi not available in our room. No A/C in our room. Our room had ants. Parking was complicated due to limited number of spots and high incline had to play musical chairs and leave keys at reception.

    View was nice. Main building is beautiful. Breakfast area is nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful historic hotel with fine views - worth the climb !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location up a steep hill just after a hair-pin bend with no pavement at that point. A bit scary if you are on foot.

    A very beautiful hotel - almost like a stately home with lots of atmosphere and history. It even has its own tower. Breakfast was very good. Helpful and pleasant English-speaking staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location! Loved the old castle style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't care too much for the beds. The wifi was also difficult.

    I loved the coziness and decor of the lobby. I loved the breakfast and breakfast area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.3
    A bit different - but does the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive and parking was a nightmare. Once we parked the car - we left it there for the three days of our stay.

    Location - easy to get to town, seafront and station. Easy to catch train to Cinque Terre. Quirky building. Great walk to Portofino.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.4
    Not advisable unless on back packing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For drivers, you can forget it. Parking is very limited to 4 cars. 150m driveway to La Vela is narrow & winding uphill. Location is over 15 minutes walk to ferry point (to Portofino). Our 2 rooms were at top most level (2nd floor) & 45 steps up each way. Tough for jumbo suitcases.

    Only breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Relaxing period in a castle overlooking a beautiful bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy environment with amazing view on Santa Margherita and Pottofino bay. Clean and large room with all essentials (WiFi, air conditioning, large bathroom... ). Close to downtown Santa Margherita offers the opportunity of a relaxing stay close to the best locations in the area reachable also through the close train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    3.8
    Would not return! Too expensive for what you get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we were given was actually one that was converted from a garage. There was no view and the garden referred to was a small round table and two chairs just outside the door. Neighbor used it for smoking and the smoke wafted into the room through the window. Way too expensive for what was received.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.8
    Wonderful Castle but not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff are not smiling or really welcoming, the poor choices for breakfast, no butler to help you carry your luggages to the 1st floor (only stairs), a bit dusty (walked on a piece of glass in the room...), 200m near the Train railway: train passing every 30mn

    The authentic castle when you arrive, the interior, big room, parking on site and easy access, great view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.4
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night we stayed at a garden room which was terrible - dark, small, old bathroom. The second night we stayed at the castle which the room was descent, bright, with renovated bathroom.

    The view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.1
    Great location and wonderful atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues with toaster. The driveway up to the hotel too narrow and winding. The bed needs to be more comfy.

    the gentleman, evening shift, at reception very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Perfect escale in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed, great welcome from the owners. Aldo cooks for gourmet palates an amazing feast. Choose the breakfast and dinner as you will not be disappointed. Wonderful views and very peaceful settings. Very close to Montalcino and all other great wineries for Brunello. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.3
    Good base for visiting Potorfino
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were NOT comfortable and the access to parking was not easy.

    The views from the hotel rooms were nice. The family room was a good size and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Adventurous parking in a castle
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room doesn't have AC and WiFi was only in the main building. Breakfast might have more fruits. Parking is a bit funny if you have big car.

    The hotel is quite unique. We had separate room with its own entrance.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    5.4
    Old hotel with lovely view and stunning garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was an absolute challenge. The driveway is extremely steep/narrow and with a big car (ie - BMW X5) it's quite complicated to get up the driveway (if at all). There was no alternative. Coffee was not good. Machine or weak filter coffee.

    The hotel is located up the hill (about 15 minute walk from the center). The gardens are absolutely stunning with lots of pretty flowers. The interior could do with an upgrade. Very old with carpets and old/heavy furniture. Kind of suits the hotel but not really our style. Would not recommend it for families with young children. Staff was very friendly and helpful. In particularly the "breakfast lady".

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Castle like accomodation close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No such thing.

    Free parking, although needs good hill climbing driving skills.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The view is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view is fantastic!!!! And its a real castle. e will come back to this hotel for sure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a little more information on the area.

    Lovely, friendly staff. Bathroom was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes in the room

    Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely area, great location though it’s a steep walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive up to the 6 parking spaces is.... challenging

    Lovely area, great location though it’s a steep walk from the promenade. Good choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    is something special from the others
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    is something special from the others

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dependance room poor.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay with secure off street parking which was most important
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Off street car parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    La dependance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La salita

    La dependance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    2.5
    Staff were unfriendly and not helpful in the slightest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unfriendly and not helpful in the slightest. Location of hotel is very dangerous when on foot as onto a very busy main road with a bend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Everything was fine 😀😀😀
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine 😀😀😀

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel La Vela-Castello Il Rifugio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: