Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Villa Hotel 3 stars

Via Torino 7, 14046 Mombaruzzo, Italy

#3 of 5 hotels in Mombaruzzo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 54 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault here, perhaps one thing to note is that there are not any restaurants in walking distance, all require a drive. But the restaurant at the property is so good, this is not an issue.

    Amazing setting, such a stunning vista. Attention to detail in decoration is evident throughout the property. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a thing we didn’t love!

    After 10 days of travel in Italy already La Villa was like a piece of heaven. We truly can’t say enough about the owners and staff who feel like family the moment you arrive, to the beautiful hand kept grounds, we had the Romeo and Juliet room which could not have been cuter, cleaner or more comfortable and huge with windows that open to the gorgeous views of vineyards and rolling hills with a balcony that opened up to the garden! The food was amazing and very delicious! We can not wait to go back! Thank you La Villa for an unforgettable 2 days!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wow what a location and wow what a hotel. If you are wanting to explore the Piedmont region or just chill for a holiday this is the PERFECT place. Chris & Nicola were the perfect hosts and will make your experience staying there even more productive. They have a wealth of knowledge for the area and so much advice for drinking the local wine (very useful). We had planned to go to other restaurants in the area but we were so impressed with the menu they offered on site we stayed there for the three nights to have dinner. Its an absolute must to go here, we shall be back again for sure. p.s we had a small dog and she loved every minute.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A delightful hotel in a lovely situation. The rooms are beautifully decorated with old furniture and have lovely views. The food was excellent. The owners and staff made us very welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner in the evening felt too organized by the english owner. Instead of creating a familiar atmosphere everyone around our table and the next tried to finish as quickly as possible to not be disturbed by them. The place is very isolated and not close to Barolo and Barbaresco and the fantastic landscape they have, it is much more like a country hotel in Toscany. Feels like the english owners suceed in their marketing of the hotel in social media and on the web but it lacked the Italian atmosphere that you will get in the other hotels in Piemente. We stayed at six different once during our stay.

    Nice pool area and lots of flowers. Unfortunatly lots of mosquitos in the evening, but they offered you repellent against it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in we were advised that having booked via Booking, breakfast was not included and if we wanted to have breakfast at the hotel it would cost €15 per person/day. Worth checking when booking.

    La Villa is located just outside Mombarruzzo, a great spot to visit several towns and wineries in Piedmont. The property is really lovely, rooms are really nice and have a wonderful view. The hotel prepared a really helpful guide with recommendations in towns to visit and restaurants to try in the area, we found this very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I had a wonderful stay at La Villa Hotel in late June. Chris and Nicola were consummate hosts and made us feel welcome from the second we arrived. The food was outstanding (our compliments to Ian the chef) and we thoroughly enjoyed our pasta making class as well. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing location, room, facilities, food, staff and owners. We have travelled quite a lot, but we rate this as the best hotel experience we've ever had! Hope to go back some day. Tnx!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything.

    Absolutely everything! It was the most beautiful small hotel we've ever stayed in. The owners, staff, food, room location were all perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an issue with the room lock that needed correction. The layout was unusual with a window over the sink instead of a mirror and the lack of door curtains meant little privacy in the open shower, the result of an old villa modernization. The directions to exchange dollars led us incorrectly to local banks who wouldn't help. The advice cost us plenty of time and worry. The exercise facilities were meager which meant a run on local roads that was idyllic. Dinner service was slow. It would be helpful to know in advance cash for dinner was expected.

    The location on a hilltop among the vineyards was spectacular. Breakfast and dinner outside in the courtyard was memorable. The wine list was impressive for a small hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, and the views from the room and its balcony special. The owners were on site and are exceptionally friendly and accommodating, including quick turn around for laundry. In some regards, it is like an English countryside estate with Italian heritage and influences in Piedmont. For us, the distance from Barolo was not an issue. It is understandable why so many visitors love this place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one and only point that disturbed us were mosquitos - but then it is understable in this area at this time of the year.

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff that is ready to go an extra mile for the comfort of their guests - pure luxus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ruined the rest of our trip. Nothing else came close to La Villa!

    The service was incredible. The facility itself is wonderful, but what most impressed us was the genuinely friendly attitude of all the staff and their willingness to help with whatever we needed in and outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently the chef was out on the night we stayed. The food that was prepared was excellent but it was a very light meal (dessert, chocolate hazel nut cake was heavenly).

    The owners and staff were extremely concerned that the needs of their guests were being made. They even went so far as to try to arrange for me to visit a Peidmontese Cattle farm (I used to be a rancher).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A very nice place to stay. Everything was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality of the orner and part of staff. Didn’t feel it a family run Hotel

    Good value for the three star hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things to do around the Villa we're limited especially during grape harvesting as most of the wineries were closed.

    Food and service was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit complicated, only bathtub. Door to bathroom couldn't be closed.

    Very good wine selection. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely charming property, highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail, personal approach, relaxed, wonderful food, beautifully decorated accommodation and just perfect!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, great hotel, friendly staff and give great advice on activities in the area. Will make in my annual holiday location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, felt like "being at home" very relaxing and top quality finish

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very average breakfast and evening meal was underwhelming and expensive. If the chef is not cooking it's quite a long drive from the hotel to find a restaurant.

    The staff were very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful property and our room was lovely. Dinners at the hotel were excellent and the owners' knowledge of the local area, especially the wines, really added to our enjoyment. We will recommend LaVilla to all our friends.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, only wish we could visit more often!

    This is the third time we've stayed at this lovely piece of paradise. Love being in Piedmonte and the owners Chris and Nicola are superlative hosts always providing local tips for fun things to do, helping secure dinner reservations and providing expert recommendations.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit unexpected how far we were from some of the more popular hill towns, but this did not prove a problem.

    The grounds and property are outstanding, our room was large and nicely appointed, the staff was helpful and polite.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I didn't like was having to leave this little piece of paradise once the vacation was over. Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Loved everything about La Villa: magnificent location with incredible views, wonderful staff, extraordinary food, detail oriented hosts that extend themselves in every possible way for your convenience, comfort and pleasure. If you have a particular interest in great Italian cuisine, wines, cheese, truffles, etc... this is the place to be. Can't wait to return; plan to refer this accommodation to all travel buddies considering a trip to this area of Italy.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - big noise in room number 14 (evening and night) , room is located at the entrance to the room, where dinner is served - unprofessional staff serving dinner -on pre-booked dinner must wait until all drink a cocktail ordered

    - very nice interier

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    we failed to have a car which although we walked was taxi expensive!

    ,position in the middle of beautiful no where, the pool, beautiful september weather, the owners who run precisely but in a relaxed helpful manner and are tireless and multilingual. they dont stop with the good service and comprehensive cellar the pool is pretty and interiors decorated well. lovely restful stay in gorgeous northern italy

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is not a negative but is something to be aware of, you will need a car and you are about an hour from the main Barolo region. We knew this and were fine with it. Also, not a negative, this hotel is a bit more formal and high end than the others we stayed at in Italy - this may not appeal to all travelers.

    We absolutely loved our room - the "Penthouse" suite with sweeping views over the surrounding vineyards. The breakfast was amazing and the dinners were top notch and reasonably priced. Our only regret is that we should have spent more time lounging by the pool instead of trekking out to the nearby towns!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the experience of having to leave was troubling as this venue is exceptional in every way.....

    Chris and Nicola are exceptional hosts that shepard a wonderfully efficient staff at La Villa sure to guarantee an outstanding visit regardless of how long you intend to stay. Facilities are second to none, decor beautifully orchestrated and dining options perfect. Highly recommended...

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hosts. Chris and Nicola were so helpful and incredibly accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The quality of the facilities and the staff. The friendliness of the owners. The quality of the food.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, it was perfect!

    The whole place is magical... stay there and you'll se!!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place, great staff, beautiful setting

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Relaxed ambiance

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse La Villa Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: