Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Ville 3 stars

Monteverdi 15, 95131 Catania, Italy

#42 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 210 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful local and Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the historical center, but possible to do on foot.

    Staff very friendly, cozy place, old building and beautiful. Large, clean room with terrace. Good breakfast with the indispensable, good wi-fi in all venues. Located very close to the Station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel advertise the trasnfert from the airport but it is actually a city bus that you have to pay yourself (really efficient but not link to the hotel at all), also the hotel adverstise room for 4 adults with 1 double bed and 2 singles beds. This is actually a complete lie there is a double bed and a convertible sofa for 2, the sofa is really unconfortable for adults and I do not recommend to take such room if you are 4 adults.

    The place is pretty stylish and the location is very great if you want to visit the city center. The gentlemen in charge of the front desk is really helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Useful for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was in a slightly unsafe feeling area. Glad we got a taxi there. Very little in the immediate area in terms of restaurants etc. Hotel itself very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Spacious room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know how I would feel about staying here alone as a woman due to the area being slightly off. Strange AC system. Quite worn down.

    Spacious room and bathroom. Decent breakfast. Walking distance from many things. Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    In spite of the non attendance at reception from evening to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In spite of the non attendance at reception from evening to 7 am, our room door closed itself on one of the teenegers, suitcases inside of course, we rang the emergency number and the owner was there to help within 15 min at dawn ! Without this great attitude, we would have missed our plane ! thanks again !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast is really good. Price also reasonnable compared with other locations
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit far from the major city's attraction. if u re travelling with the bus / coach i d recommend not to look for an accomodation next to the central station but close to borsellino which is a bus station. if travelling by train hotel la ville should be a good option

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    If I will come again to Catania I will definitely choose this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative point is that the surrounding area is not nice.

    The hotel is located very close to the train and bus station of Catania which is very comfortable for a one night stay. In 10 to 15 minutes you can walk from the hotel to the town center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.0
    Friendly staff and good facilities. Only drawback is the area surrounding the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. It’s about a five minute walk from bus and train station, but in a run down area with potholed pavements. However, after five or ten minutes walking one reaches the more pleasing parts of the city.

    Spacious clean room if a little gloomy. Good breakfast. Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    A central hotel in a quite location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain but an electric kettle in the room would have been more satisfying

    A very central location with only 5 min walk to interbus station, metro and Papa Giovanni xxiii train station, makes this hotel a must for anyone who wants to travel to other tourist locations in Sicily. The breakfast was great and was enough to get you going till mid day, Cleanliness was up to expectations. Last and not least was the friendliness support of the staff mostly by Antonio who gave us advice of destinations to visit such as Ortigia, we took his advice and spent a wonderful day without spending a lot of money. Only 15mins away from via Etnea which we are already missing now.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel La Vile provides that safe haven you need when exploring an area for the first time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection is good but most disappointingly, the coffee was awful and made more disappointing by it being in Sicily where you might expect high standards where coffee is concerned. We noticed that several guests ordered coffee from the bar rather than drink the breakfast offering but our 'Italian' was too limited to ask for it so we bought out own instant version and used the hot water and milk that is also available. Come on La Ville - good coffee from an Italian hotel is what visitors expect!

    Hotel La Ville is a characterful property with vaulted ceilings and large spacious rooms. Although it is not pristine it has a glorious lived in feeling which is, to us, very much a part of Sicily that attracts us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel looked nothing like the pictures and the street it is on was filthy and made me feel uncomfortable. Also someone had commented saying that the internet was good (whole reason for booking this place to watch the AFL grand final) but it was the worst internet we have had on our trip so far. We had to open our door and stick the phone out every 5 minutes to reconnect.

    The room was as per the website pics and clean enough. The distance to the train station and central was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The immediate surroundings of the hotel are not nice, but after a few minutes walk you can reach much nicer and renowed streets in Catania. The quadruple room we were given was not as shown in the photo when we made the booking, smaller in size, but still a comfortable quadruple room.

    It is quite a small corner hotel but with nice architecture. Our quadruple room with balcony on the first floor was nicely furnished and very clean, having air-conditioning,tv and minibar and a big en suite bathroom complete with all. The hotel has very good access. A small bar and a lovely lounge are present on the ground floor next to main entrance, followed by a smart dining area where a delicious varied buffet breakfast is served attentively (thanks to the kind Signora FINA!).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    I was extremely impressed with the property, the places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I had stayed longer it was in a nice area which is a suprise as a lot of accomodation located close to train stations (that I've found) weren't nice at all.

    I was extremely impressed with the property, the places I've stayed around italy (that were a lot more expensive) some of them weren't as nice as this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    A very comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast was very good. Located close to the main bus terminal and the train station. It was my 2nd stay there ... highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing I did not like

    friendly and helpful staff - very central location, vicinity is somewhat rundown but so is much of the rest of the city and only few minutes walk from smartest areas - hotel is well sign posted from various different street approaches - rooms and hotel in general are very clean, spacious and architecturally attractive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    When In Catania We Stay At La Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine

    very nice facility, spacious. good breakfast, quiet, so so neighborhood, but I never felt unsafe, friendly staff, have stayed there many many times and will continue to do so, good wi fi, close to train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff. We were 2 hours early and they kindly accommodated us with the one free room. Easy to walk to downtown for historical venues. The train station and bus station are also within easily walking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Bed very comfortable, big room and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the position is quiet bad, yes it is close to the bus station but around is very dark and full of prostitute. I felt quiet unsafe going there. Price is a little to hight for a 3 star in that area

    Bed very comfortable, big room and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.6
    Very central location for trains and buses and easy walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location for trains and buses and easy walking distance for exploring Catania centre. Staff were helpful including printing our boarding passes. We had a comfortable and pleasent stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Grand style at a very reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole building is a tiny bit under-lit. If you don't like shabby areas of town (we do) then go elsewhere. It's not the hotel's fault anyway, and we felt perfectly safe.

    Lovely old fashioned beautifully maintained building close to the train and bus stations, and with some really good restaurants near by. Interesting parts of town are 10-15 minutes' walk (we're old-ish and slow-ish). The rooms are grand and huge; plenty of storage; crisp fresh linen; floor to ceiling windows; cool in summer; gorgeous well equipped bathrooms. The breakfasts are above the quality and variety of the normal Italian (ie poor by northern European standards) with cheeses and salumi, fruit juices, and the usual collection of sweet stuff. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Great for B&B and location walking distance for tourists places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood, it's really a not nice to see place.

    The clearness, the staff, the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Best hotel in this area exactly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,

    Best hotel in this area exactly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with very great helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with very great helpful staff. Rooms are big and comfortable and if you are looking for shopping you are in the right place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Definitely will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighberhood, but never felt threatened while out and about

    Have stayed many times,and will again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room deficient lighting Bed a bit uncomfortable

    Safebox Bus terminal station nearby Attentive staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Close to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fair enough, we wanted a stay for one night close to the railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Bingo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the floors were covered with rugs.

    Safe and parking outside. So homy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar open every evening- it was closed on one occasion.

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor. They looked up all the seating area in the evening. No bar open in evening. Hotel poorly situated.

    They had an iron in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shabby neighbourhood.

    Old fashioned, but clean and tidy. Value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    LaVille is my place to stay in Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a little noisy in the morning because of neighborhood activity

    Been staying here over 10 years...always consistent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Quite good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very well prepared

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    It's a must!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. Talk to Marianna! Most kind and helpful receptionist ever!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Very very specious quadruple room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very specious quadruple room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.8
    My friend and I stayed here for the near location to the bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is not much choice for eating and drinking in the near vicinity.

    My friend and I stayed here for the near location to the bus station as we were moving on to Ragusa the next morning. Room was clean, bed comfortable and water hot. Breakfast choice was fine.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    6.3
    The room was large, clean, airy and had a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel felt soul-less somehow although all the rooms were nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. We'd have preferred fresh coffee instead of the thermos flask and there was nothing very nutritious in the breakfast but it was all ok for one night.

    The room was large, clean, airy and had a balcony

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    This is quite an old looking hotel in a back street with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is quite an old looking hotel in a back street with 'local atmosphere'. This might put some people off but we thought it was wonderful. The centre of Catania was in easy walking reach. We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not connect to WiFi

    Friendly and helpful staff Clean and comfortable large room Good Breakfast Nice old well kept hotel in quiet area Would recommend this hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.9
    Quite adequate accommodation, good nearby restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit of a walk to the main shopping street and to where key tour buses depart. WiFi was woeful in room but quite good near the reception.

    Quite adequate accommodation, good nearby restaurants recommended by staff. Good room space and very high ceilings. Would stay here again when in this region.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.6
    Hotel offers excellent rooms and spacious facilities close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel offers excellent rooms and spacious facilities close to main train and bus stations. Professional, helpful and friendly staff. Don't be put off by the downmarket atmosphere of its immediate surroundings - there's a red carpet on the pavement!

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    7.5
    payed sufficient attention to our complaint about the cold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    payed sufficient attention to our complaint about the cold water in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.5
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    latest check in is 11pm

    location.....breakfast.......wifi

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.1
    We went by service bus to the base of Mount Etna and then up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel plumbing under par but good shower.

    We went by service bus to the base of Mount Etna and then up to near the top. Great experience.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    10
    The staff were really friendly and the facilities were good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were really friendly and the facilities were good for the price, the breakfast was really good too

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    8.8
    The large large .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi connection was not good in the bedroom

    The large large ....bedroom for one person the proximity of the station and bus station

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: