Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Zorza 1 stars

Via Colombo 231, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy

#4 of 5 hotels in Riomaggiore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 515 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was facing the alley, was dark and small and had a very small window. Shower was so small that it was hard not to touch the wall or the shower door. There is no lobby. Check-in is done in the cafe downstairs

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was not told that my room was 80 steps up stairs when I made my reservation. (I did fail to ask about room location.) But when I arrived I was told that anyone coming to Cinque Terre should know that hotels will have stairs and no elevators and people with mobility issues should consider these facts before coming? Does this mean that is a town only for young and well fit people? Not a very good comment to make to three old 70 year old just arriving visitors.

    The hotel is located in Riomaggiore Cinque Terre some 250 yards from the train station, some 150 steps from the marina and surrounded by restaurants and bars. The hotel is a typical Cinque Terre hotel without elevator and long and high stairs to reach its rooms. Be sure to ask for room 104. In fact we were shown a room located above the 5th floor and after we claimed upstairs over 80 steep steps to reach our room we refused to accept that room because my wife could not make her way up so many floors, only then we were offered room #104 that was vacant (the lowest room at the hotel) located just one floor up or just 16 steps up from the bottom floor. Activity at Riomaggiore starts early in the morning and street sounds reach front window of this room but most noise stops after 10:00PM. The best asset to this hotel is its staff, superb group of people with great customer attitude and very helpful, Nicolas help us with the luggage when we first arrived, Natassia and Olga two ladies with a great humor and always cheerfully creating a fun atmosphere at the bar and Amy serving a delicious breakfast every morning with great tasting cappuccinos. The food and the drinks were always good, ask for Aperol spritz, delicious as all the food they prepare and served. One piece of advice is, if you come to any of the five town in Cinque Terre, travel light, a backpack and one small roll on suitcase, because rooms are all upstairs, there are no elevators and rooms are very small. If you want help to move luggage ask for Roberto's phone number in Riomaggiore and he will be happy to take your bags from your hotel to the train station for a very reasonable price. I will recommend La Zorza hotel because its superb personnel supervised by Samuel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't hate the stairs but I didn't love the stairs. Staff were incredibly helpful and assisted with getting the bags up the 60-odd stairs

    Great location. Apartment was a great layout and looked down the main Street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was so good , only thing which bothered me was the stairs. We had room at the fifth floor and there were no elevators so we had to drag our bags which was hectic. Otherwise This place is an amazing place with beautiful views. Recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved a balcony, but all rooms with balcony were already taken when we booked.

    Super comfortable beds, buffet breakfast, super friendly staff, location can't get any more central, yet quiet room which allows you to sleep this extra hour you want when you are on holiday. I also loved how they have kept the stone in the walls and the wood on the ceilings as part of the decoration; in all other respects rooms look like they have recently been refurbished and are modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor could be modernised, shower area/ shower head repaired. Musty damp smell in the wardrobe/ cupboards meant they couldn't be used to hang clothes in. Room was advertised as being in the hotel but was in the next building, with a different entrance which was open to the public. Cleaners left the room unlocked after cleaning it.

    Variety of food options available for breakfast was great. The room was cleaned daily and new towels were made available, regardless of whether they were required. The staff were generally very friendly. The shower had plenty of hot water. Location is very close to the train station which is great for getting around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in Riomaggiore. The hotel have rooms across different buildings around the street, but that was actually good because it made you feel more like a local. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It was way overpriced. The room was horrible. The toilet was loose and leaking, the showerhead was broken, the linen and towels smelt like vinegar, the walls were lined with polystyrene, and combined with open electric wiring everywhere this was a serious health hazard. The doorknob was broken.... I can carry on... I simply cannot believe Booking.com will allow this place on their site...

    Not much apart from location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was pretty narrow and hard to move around in - so was the super small bathroom. The breakfast sandwiches were cold and stale.

    Peter, who checked us in, was super friendly and helpful. Our linens were clean, as was our room and bathroom. The cappuccino at breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As others suggested, it is a little noisy. We were right above the bar and the window was right above the bar door. However, once the bar closed down, it was peaceful. And they were not noisy in the a.m. My husband actually enjoyed the noise, which he sleeps better to. We did not use the shower, which was probably the smallest we encountered. It looked useable, but would be pretty tight for a bigger person.

    The location was perfect. Right on the main road close to everything. The breakfast was the best free breakfast we received during our travels. They even made us a fresh cafe americano and cafe macchiato. We also appreciated the late check out of 11 AM. It gave us more time to get our things together and not feel so rushed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was two single pushed together which was a bit annoying. Wifi either didn’t reach our room or was really weak.

    Excellent location. Standard free breakfast and they refilled it regularly. Decent prices food and drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, the property sends an email saying if you arrive after 9pm to check in, you pay €20 fee and after 0.30 you are not admitted anymore, which defies the purpose of booking a hotel room. We weren't given the wifi password. Called the property to get the password, they gave me a wrong one after showing they are annoyed on the phone.

    Location was close from train station. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating towards my 3 year old son. I requested a fridge for the room and they provided one no problem. Very close from the tunnel (train), but you don't hear the train. The room is simple, but clean. Good value for the money. Breakfast is standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    The staff was quite friendly and kind. And the location is amazing. It's situated in the center of Riomaggiore, and breakfast is included as well. When we had to wait for the train in the cafe, the hotel owner offered me even a cup of coffee for free. I was quite moved by the hospitality of this hotel. If I ever have to come back to Cinque terre, I'll definitely revisit here agian.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk up to steep staircase n no lift to the room. But I guess most of the hotels/accmodation at Cinque Terre are like this. I travelled with my mom who is senior citizen and it was difficult for her to climb the steep staircase. My advice is not to travel with large luggage here n with yournger family.

    The location is reasonably near to the train station. About 10 mins walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was uncomfortable, only window looked into another stone wall. Bed was uncomfortable and pillows too. Very basic room. Definitely not worth €150 for 2 nights, paying for location and that's it!

    The staff were very friendly! Easy check in and helped me via email regarding directions to the hotel before arrival. Breakfast was really delicious and good coffee. Location on the Main Street, near the train station was handy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    as above

    Our room at La Zorza was clean and comfortable with a lovely balcony but the breakfast was very average and the staff grumpy and not at all helpful. It was the end of the summer season so that may have been why they were grumpy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The offered "juice" for breakfast is disappointing... Bathroom shower was small and not very clean. Be prepared for carrying luggage up stairs - no problem for us, packed fairly light. Slept with open window, some noise early morning facing the main street, but for us acceptable.

    Fair room with comfortable beds, tea/coffee making facilities and view overlooking the main street. Possible to sleep with open windows, but early start in the morning with traffic and activities may be too noicy to some. No lift, pack light to walk the stairs; easy walk from train station, central location and easy to find. Possible to store luggage in the bar if early arrival. Breakfast in selected part of same bar in the morning, good coffee, cereal and both sweet and savory selection including yoghurt and fruits.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff the whole property has not had any maintenance done on it paint peeling of the walls. We were on the 5th floor I am 66 years old and asked for help with our bags. The young guy started to help he didn't speak English and wanted to give up on the second floor then sounded like he was swearing and threw his arms in the air. A young lady then came around and she helped him carry one bag up to our room I carried the other. Inside the room was completely outdated and the shower was that small if you dropped the soap you had to open the door to get it. To top it all off this young lady said she would send a guy to carry our bags down the 87 steps for us at the end of our stay, well he didn't turn up I am quite fit so it was no big deal but disappointing end to an interesting stay. The photos on Booking.com looked like a complete different hotel.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit aloof. Breakfast in the bar downstairs was ordinary. Guests were helping themselves to open new packets of cereal and refill the dispensers.

    Very convenient to the centre of Riomaggiore, to restaurants and to the train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in a good location from the train station, but the directions from booking.com were completely wrong. We eventually found our way. Directions should read: When you exit the train station, turn right. Go straight for 50m where you will enter a pedestrian tunnel. When you come out of the tunnel, take a slight left and proceed up the hill for 40m. Hotel is on ,but you will see their small cafe before you see the hotel. Go into the cafe to register.

    The 3 ladies working the hotel and restaurant were extremely friendly and happy. Always laughing, joking and singing. The hotel was of course very old and you go through a tunnel and up winding stairs to get to your room. Very cool experience. The room was quite small but very clean, so no complaints.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning wasn't bad, the main things were properly done. Whatever it could be better, drawers top and down of furniture and some places with a lot of dust. Funiture could also be improved especially in the terrace.

    The location is in the heart of Riomaggiore. We were in the three-floor apartment and it was good. The apartment has two good air conditioners working well and it is not a noisy one. It has the basic things that you need. The staffs were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and difficult to have to walk all those stairs. Breakfast ok but no breakfast room so it was handed over from the bar. Sitting area narrow and limited.

    Good location, nice and clean rooms, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wouldn't mind if wifi made it up to the rooms instead of just bar, but that's a really minor complaint. Otherwise, everything is perfect.

    This is our second time staying here (last time was five years ago), and we still love it. Great location, plenty of space in the rooms, and as two couples traveling, we shared an entire group of one regular room and a small apartment, so it worked out. Staff is always friendly and helpful, and having breakfast and evening drinks in the same location (the bar is part of the hotel area and serves as the office) has a nice symmetry. This place is fantastic, and while it is right above a bar and the busy main street, noise is at a minimum in the rooms, so no problems there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi does not work at all. We advised staff that it wouldn't work and they did nothing and didn't care. Bar staff running the hotel are rude and don't care at all. The breakfast was so bad and definitely all the food the bar didn't sell from the day before. We couldn't eat it.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi in room, se possibile? Oh to find hotel La Zorza, the reception counter is at the first bar you see on the right after you get out from the tunnel. But on the day time reception is received at the side door, so turn right in an alley you see with stairs, there is another door on the right just before the stairs.

    Ladies and gents at the bar are always friendly. The one that I knew the name of is Olga, but other two ladies e anche una brava. Grazie a voi tutti. The location is nearest to train station and our room is not so high eventhough we have to climb stairs. Cinque Terre, however, are famous for the stairs due to its hilly formation. But still, old folks and family with young children must be very careful when choosing this area for holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi inside the rooms. Smell in the room isn't the best but you get use to it.

    The location is the amazing . A min walk from the train. The bar is great stays open late and has great drinks and food. The hotel comes with a breakfast which serves great coffee and croissants. The rest of the breaskfast is ok. The staff is friendly. The wifi at the bar downstairs from the hotel is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok,...the shower was small but who cares? It was a shower. I might not spend a week here as it is a small place but for a night or two, it was great.

    Location right away after emerging from tunnel, taking a left and passing the two restaurants as indicated in their directions. Funky little place that fits the ambiance of the village. Stayed in 101 - definately humble and just above the bar/breakfast area but still quiet and safe. Really liked the close proximity to the tunnel to the marina and to the train - with bags it was easy to get to, drop stuff and get going. Good A/C. Glittery ceiling paint. Unique. It's what you make it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Funny shower door seemed too big for the already small shower.

    The hotel was friendly. It had a cafe/bar downstairs (with a couple of happy hours). The room had air conditioning which we had been missing and was very welcome and a fairly short easy walk from the train station. We were allowed to leave our bags until our room was ready and also after we checked out. Nice breakfast and there is a water fountain immediately opposite with free cold drinking water and lots of shops, cafe's and places of interest very close by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not look like the pictures. We had a small window overlooking a ally (2meters wide) where they had the trash cans... You can hear the trains through the walls and the bass from the bar downstairs...

    The location was the one good thing about this hotel/hostel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The directions to the hotel were crap. Walked all over the stupid cliffside trying to get there. Don't take a bus or whatever the directions say, follow these directions: Pro-tip: You'll walk through a tunnel - turn right out of the train station towards the tunnel and there is a pedestrian walkway. Walk through the tunnel and you're there. It's a five minute walk from there.

    The room was cool - wooden ceilings and a cute little sitting area. The A/C worked great and the location couldn't have been better. It's a 1 minute walk to the train station and marina area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cozy, beds extremely comfortable and the view was excellent! Centrally located, we lugged 3 suitcases easily. The staff was really cool, we spent a night in the bar, talking to the owner and staff :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room air conditioning unit did not work and the hotel staff said " We can't do anything about it because this room's A/C unit is connected to a single system that operates multiple rooms. Apparently, someone in another room set their system on "Heat" (during the heat of the summer... Really!?) and therefore we can't fix it". It would have been okay to open the windows to catch the breeze, but this room only has 1 window and the only way the air would circulate was to leave the room door open to the public walkway next the the bar. The staff couldn't care less about the circumstances and didn't even offer an apology when I filed a complaint the following morning.

    Good location with relatively short walk from Riomaggiorre Train Station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite dark and a little damp, but overall clean.

    Location is very central, easy access to the train station to visit all the other villages. Friendly staff, but that seems to be the case everywhere in Italy. :) Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i liked that it was near the foot of the slope. Carrying heavy luggages around can be quite difficult. The rooms were relatively clean and big. Breakfast had a decent variety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a hotel, they don't have a reception and anything you need you have to ask at the bar (the ladies there are not so friendly). By the way, when you arrive you need to check in in the bar downstairs. Terrible breakfast, one of the worsts I've ever seen in my whole life...I spent 6 nights in this hotel and had all my breakfasts in the cafes nearby. The mini bar was not working properly.

    Nice and clean room/bathroom with AC, Pietro, a really nice guy received us when we checked in. The location is perfect to explore cinque terre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their English could be a bit better, but they were nice and helpful. Would have been nice if there was somewhere we could shower after we checked out at 11am, and had a day at the beach, with a swim etc, and before my train left at 7pm, but that is a minor quibble. Quite basic, but clean, so does the job.

    My room was up some stairs, but was back behind the bar, so quite quiet. My room actually also had a sitting room with kitchen in it, so was bigger and better than I expected. The hotel is really a cafe/bar with rooms attached, but breakfast was good, standard continental fare. Cereal, pasteries, bread, ham, cheese, juice etc. Located right on the main street of Riomaggiore, it is convenient to everywhere. A short walk along a pedestrian tunnel from the train station. Might be a pain to get to in a car, as the road outside is pedestrian only for most of the day and the car road is aways up the hill...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfriendly staff on arrival, the room had been cleaned prior to my arrival but not very well, there was an awful smell coming from the drains for the entire stay, downstairs was filthy did not even attempt breakfast, no lift in the building and no one to help with very steep stairs, very noisy.

    The building was located in a good position (e.g. close to train and shops) in the town however the hotel rooms themselves are literally on top of a bar/night club so don't expect quiet time before midnight

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room deodorizer they use smells like cat pee, it was so bad we had to buy spray and that didn't really help. Shower was so small even a small child would have a problem in it. Refrigerator just froze everything no matter the setting and the breakfast was not fresh.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location above bar, no view, noisy, noisy, noisy! Ugh! Price was outrageous for value of amenities. I couldn't cancel because I booked through this website and had to pay upfront.

    The room was clean, the staff was nice. The location was above a bar and in the center of a busy town. It was very noisy!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm not a big fan of breakfasts in hotels in Italy ...

    I loved the location of the hotel. Right next to photo locations. We have stayed in 3 hotels in Cinque Terre and this one was the best.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is tiny. Only the single bed (of the three-person bedroom) has the air-con.

    Good location. Near train station, cafes/restaurants/places of interest.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located just by the railway station, which can be good or bad. The rooms are not soundproof, so you always hear the trains (1/hour or even more) when you are in your room. Also, it wasn't that much clean - there was dust under the bed and by the chandelier. The bathroom was very little and there was no bidet. The towels didn't smell quite good....

    It's in a good position (the centre of RIomaggiore). It also has a bar just downstairs where you can have any meal. The bed was quite comfortable and the room had air conditioning. I called for checking in early and the staff was really nice and let us do that.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not knowing you cannot drive to the hotel and you have to cart your luggage up and down the stairs and through the village - that huge hill. Did not like being above the bar the first night but the room was comfortable.

    I liked the ladies in the mornings at breakfast. Great coffee and food. The upgrade the second night was awesome. The facility the first night was way too loud with the window open right above the bar, which happened to be the hot spot for the village. The second night we moved upstairs to the third floor. Other than all the steps, since it cannot be helped, it was fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was sparse with burnt croissants every day-and scant savoury option. Everything about the odd shaped rooms was tired. Our room was directly above the bar (the noisiest bar in Riomaggiore).

    The location - easy walking even with trundle suitcases from the railway station,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Why was there no toilet seat in the bathroom at the bar/lobby? Also the lock didnt seem to work right which was annoying while trying to use the bathroom and people kept trying to barge in. The bar gets a little loud at night, which was ok for me and my friend but may be an issue if you are traveling with small children or if you do not want to enjoy the nightlife in town. Wished wifi worked in all the rooms.

    Staff was nice and seemed like they enjoyed their work and were all friends. They were able to fix the hot water for us the same day which was nice. Price was expensive but the room was at the top floor with a balcony, kitchen and a view and was very close to the train, no need to climb a hill to get there which made it worth it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wood imitation flooring.

    A nice and comfortable apartment in a great location, friendly staff in the bar below on the day that I stayed there. Good value for money for the size of the place (bedroom, sitting room, kitchen, shower room). The building has quite a bit of character and the roof terrace (4th floor) is a fantastic feature to have. Good breakfast buffet, with a good variety of food for a hotel of this more affordable type.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything but the bedrooms would be inaccessible for people with mobility problems having a steep stone staircase

    character renovated bedroom in an old 5 story building.In the middle of other restaurants and not too far up the hill Excellent location 5 minute walk to train station and marina giving easy access to other cinque terre resorts

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast, which does not seem to be very important, was marginal. We ate in the bar once and outside once. Eating outside made it more tolerable. We did not stay there because of the food. We stayed there for the location.

    The location was great. It was in the heart of the town. Coming from the train station it is a very short walk. You do need to drag your bags up many stairs, but the website indicates this. The place was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of a thing to improve. Loved it just as it is.

    Loved everything about this little funky hotel. It has a certain vibe full of life. The croissants were to die for, the bed was comfortable, loved our little balcony just above the cafe' where we sat and sipped on our pre-dinner drink and listened to the music. The staff were always happy, smiling and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is superb if you are commuting to Cinque Terre by train as it is just 5 minutes walk from the train station. However, if you are driving to Cinque Terre be prepared for a walk down hill to (very steep) and uphill back to your car as parking is located high up at the village entrance for those coming by road. We were family with kids, and our luggage can be quite a handful. Was tough carrying the luggages uphill back to the car! My advise to those driving is to park your car at La Spezia town and take the train to the Cinque Terre villages. Don't bother driving as most of the villages are downhill and are not accessible by road. Staff were also busy manning the bar (understandable as there are a lot of customer at the bar when we arrived) so we had quite a wait to get checked in. But after he had time to assist us, they were helpful and friendly and even carried our luggage to our rooms upstairs as there were no lift. so we were thankful for that :)

    The location is close to the train station, beach and other attraction. Just 5 minutes walk to the train station, so its very convenient to explore other villages within the Cinque Terre by train. Couldnt have asked for a better location as a base to explore the village Rooms were basic and comfortable for our night stay. Easy to get food as its near to most restaurants and the bar below also have food (like pizza) until late. Staff were friendly and helpful but they were also busy manning the bar, so have to wait to be assisted.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk is also the bar so check in there before climbing the stairs with your luggage. My fault I'm not good with signs.

    Room was in a funky location, quiet and comfortable. Good base for Cinque Terre. I loved my visit and the staff were lots of fun. I recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brekkie could have been better. Burnt croissants and the apples that were on offer were very old. More fresh fruit needed, considering a fruit store is just a couple of doors away. The shower was the smallest I have every been in - like a small cupboard.

    Room was very small but very clean and satisfactory. Nice pillows, sheets and towels. Good coffee and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    stairs up to the room

    considering the Cinque Terre is full of stairs and hills this hotel is close to railway station and the least amount of climbing compared to others and right near shops and transport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was basic and clean. We had a balcony which was wonderful, we spent a lot of time there watching the activities on the street below us. The bar downstairs was very busy which we could hear but did not interfere with sleeping .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift which means if you are not mobile or cannot climb stairs this hotel may not be good for you.

    Excellent location in the first of the 5 towns of Cinque Terre. When talking to other travelers in the bar at the hotel they all preferred this location because everything else was uphill, away from the water. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows and the shower adequate in size, water temperature and water pressure. Breakfast was included however I did not take advantage of it. There is a bar on site that the hotel staff also works at and it is where you check in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is run from a bar, which also serves as the location for the (fairly basic) breakfast. Staff seems to be more interested in running the bar than the hotel, which does not help to make hotel guests feel welcome.

    Located in the middle of Riomaggiore, an easy walk from the train station, the sea front and very close to restaurants and bars. The room was clean and definitely served the purpose, though the decoration could have received a bit more attention. As the old building has a lot of character, rooms and the bar/breakfast location could look wonderful with the right decoration.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 nights and paid for the breakfast in advance but when we arrived we were told breakfast started at 8.15, which if we had known before we would have gone elsewhere. So we skipped breakfast both days so we could start walking. We only really needed a cup of coffee but that wasnt on the menu also.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the expensive side for a budget hotel, however this is to be expected during peak season

    Great location in a beautiful town. Room was clean and comfortable. Shutters did a good job of blocking out light and street noise, meaning we slept very well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a little pokey, but for somewhere to sleep it was fine. Would have been nice with some tea and coffee making facilities.

    Location for train station is very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be prepared for the music booming from the bar below until 23:30. View onto the street. It was a last minute booking with last minute $$$ pricing.

    Convenient location if using the train, not too far of a steep climb. Breakfast was good and fresh.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very large, but outdated. The bed was about as good as any bed you'll find in Italy.

    The staff was great for a young couple! The bar under the hotel was extremely fun and a great place to get drinks and meet people. Great location, very close (5 min walk) to the train.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved on, if you were a little later, the choice was less and the bread had dried out, it was good when fresh. The stairs to our room were very steep with suitcases but Ok otherwise!

    The staff were friendly and great vibrant atmosphere around the place, double glazing meant the noise outside didn't keep you awake!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very impolite, and never seemed to react or care when we arrived, needed to ask a question or even to check out. Each time, I had to deliberately go and interrupt them after waiting for 5+ minutes with a heavy backpack. We stayed in a basic room on the first floor, which was very basic. Shower was the smallest I've ever seen, and the tv was ancient. There was a small window by the entrance to the room above the fridge. As we were on the first floor, it was also very noisy at night with the music from the bar below. I wouldn't stay here again, far too expensive for what you get and it turned out to be quite an unpleasant stay.

    One of the first hotels when you come out of the tunnel from the train station. Avoids walking up a very steep hill.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I book three double rooms and they are separated to three different place, one of which is very dark with only one window near the bathroom side. The bathroom is too small to turn around.

    the location is very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night as our room was above the bar. The balcony had a air conditioning unit blowing hot air out so couldn't really sit out. The breakfast was very disappointing. Compared to everywhere else we've travelled to around northern Italy during this trip, this hotel was sadly overpriced.

    Very close to the sea and in the centre of the action! If you want to stay at a fun bar with a short climb home...this is for you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was really good - right in the heart, so you really felt like part of the town.Appartment was spacious enough and clean.All in all a nice place to stay in.We didn't have much interaction with staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and the room was very basic for the price for one night. The towels that were left on the bed were like bed sheets. So would recommend taking your own.

    The hotel was very close to where we parked the car, so only a small walk down the hill and we were there. Very close to bars/ restaurants. The bars were lively but where our room was it was very quite, couldn't hear any hustle or bustle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For us "mature" folks maybe a small elevator. But then again a great way to stay in shape!

    Fantastic newly renovated room with a spacious chic bath. Everything was perfect and very clean. The bar/restaurant downstairs is very cosy with a great staff. We were there during the European football Cup 2016. The staff lined up a large tv screen so everybody could enjoy the game.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean and superb location being very central and in the heart of the village activity. It may be nosier but its a fair compromise and tradeoff for being at the heart of the action. Also the window can be closed off and then the room is fairly quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was below average apart from the espressos, getting to your room up flights of stairs with luggage was a struggle with no assistance from hotel staff and the shower was so small you couldn't even move. Due to the Italian train strike on the day of our expected arrival, we had to delay our check in day but sadly the hotel couldn't offer anything to compensate.

    The bed was comfortable, great view from our balcony and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    we stayed on the 3rd floor which was important as you are on the main street

    We stayed for 6 nights and used the hotel as a base for Cinque Terre, great holiday for us as couple. The staff were really helpful, always smiling and friendly. When they got to know it was my birthday ... they sang 'Happy Birthday' and suggested places to go to make the day special too. The room was clean when we arrived and was cleaned each and every day. The hotel on the main street and it is close to the train station so you don't have to climb any steps or walk up the hills too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on an alley. It was noisy at night and early mornings. The bathroom light didn't work. Towel rack was broken. Furniture old wiring poor. Safe broken It was the most expensive and worst hotel I stayed in in Italy.

    The hotel was close to the station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen equipment and crockery/cutlery looked like it had been adequate some years ago but had since become a collection of mismatched and incomplete pieces. Don't plan to invite friends round for dinner! Seats on the balcony were the same vintage as the cutlery.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Even carried our bag up 10 flights of stairs. The cleaning person came every day, even on Sunday, and did a great job. The hotel is good for nearby places to eat and drink and only a short walk to the sea. The apartment room we stayed in had lovely views from the balcony -great for people watching in the Main Street below. The Saturday night buskers in the 'Town Square' were terrific and created a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a view

    Great location, right there after you come out of the tunnel and into the town. The staff was very friendly and fun. They made an excellent breakfast and cupicino.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel La Zorza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: