Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Magnolia Sorrento

Viale Enrico Caruso 14, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#95 of 142 B&Bs and Inns in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, Carlos the host was so helpful & informative on arrival, A beautiful secluded b&b in the centre of Sorrento with a lovely breakfast on the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, perfect place to stay in Capri!

    Breakfastbon the terrace was wonderful (the croissants were amazing and doughnuts on day two fuelled our trip to Capri!) and the smell of the magnolia was amazing to wake up to. Carlo’s local knowledge and advice was fantastic but not pushy and he was great fun to have around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door leaked .

    Friendly and welcoming hosts. Very quiet given central location. 5 mins walk from everything including train/bus. Great breakfast served on balcony in your room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If Carlo could have abolished the rain.

    Everything was excellent. Fresh, clean, comfortable and Carlo was most helpful in answering numerous questions about getting about the region.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prior to Booking, I read reviews and noticed that people were saying that the people who run the hotel do not stay at the property which means no reception staff. Upon booking, I sent an email to the property and had no reply, a text message with no reply asking how do i collect keys and advising of arrival time. No reply gave me some anxious nerves which I didnt appreciate. Upon arriving at the property, once I was through the gate, the reception door was unlocked with a note from the manager with my key saying "apologies he was not here to greet me in person" so it all turned out fine. My only critic and feedback for the property is to reply to emails or proactively message your guests via mobile to advise them of smooth entry.

    Location was right in the heart of Sorrento. The bed was very comfortable and the coffee making facilities in the room were a great add on

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't realise when booking that this was not a proper guest house but a sort of B & B. However our room was comfortable and more than adequate, the balcony breakfast delicious and generous, the host Carlo falling over his feet to be helpful. Location outstanding. What more could one ask for?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad thing is that the breakfast is kind of pricey.

    This place was very comfortable. Staff/manager was very good. For some reason when we arrived the room we booked was not available so we were upgraded for free to the suite, definitely no complaints there. But great location near the centre of town and only 5 minute walk from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    car park was expensive

    Proximity to town centre, public car park next door, wifi & breakfast included - owner gave us good tips for local restaurants - Franco's pizzas the best!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one on reception most of the time Wasn’t too happy about getting into the property

    Location was perfect for getting around owner happily printed our boarding passes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in, and lack of staff on desk to advise on things. Patchy service. One day we asked for breakfast slightly earlier as we had an excursion booked, but it didn't arrive, despite them agreeing it could easily be done.

    Comfortable bed and clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    “Ravello” room has no window or balcony There was an outside table on small patio for sharing but sometimes it was already taken. So nowhere comfortable to chill available all the time

    Location excellent, walk from rail Very clean, staff friendly, good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a

    It was our first time in Sorrento but we got the help of the personal touch of the owner Carlo. He sent us a car to the airport and waited for us late at night, his dedication to his clients made our visit a breeze.... The place had a nice atmosphere and was clean and spacious, a walking distance from everything.....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I really liked the hotel, afterall it is one of the finest places you can find at this reasonable price at the center. I'd likte to mention a few minor issues; they did not change the towels regularly so after five days we wanted two clean towels and thanks to Carlo who replaced them for us. Another thing; the doors were wooden, so you hear people locking and unlocking their doors or talking at the enterance, you might hear them if you are a light sleeper.

    Well, if you are looking for a central location, this is the place you are looking for. It is literally at the center. Or let's say the center is all around the hotel. The bus and train station is in 3-4 minutes walking distance. No need to take a taxi or private car to reach the hotel. Just take the local transprotation and walk a few steps. The main square is within 50 meters where you can find many restaurants. There is a small market where you can buy food and etc very next to the hotel and a big car park where you can park your car safely if you rent one, which is a great deal since finding a parking space is almost impossible in Sorrento and all Amalfi Coast. Although it was at the center, noise from the streets did not reach us at all. The room was well equipped and lovely furniturised with wooden touches, where the wooden bed head was a bit cracking noise which we found acceptable. Our room was at upstairs and we did not have any window other than the one at the ceiling. This looked like a problem at first but since it can be opened and closed with a remote control and we only used the room to sleep, it did not bother as at all as we could get fresh air whenever we wanted. It was nice to face the sunshine when you wake up in the morning and open the ceiling window with the remote. It was much better than switching on the light. But if you do prefer rooms with windows you should take this into consideration. Bathroom was spacious, with green white ceramics tiled. Never had a problem with hot/cold water. One reminder; you should bring a hair conditioner as the hotel only supply soap and shampoo/shower gel. Carlo at the reception was very helpful and kind. He gave us nice tips about where to shop and seeing around. If I visit Sorrento agian, I would surely stay at Magnolia again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A couple of minor issues first night - no hot water and the safe did not work - but quickly sorted out by Carlo the host.

    A kind of cross between a B&B and hotel. So not strictly a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Very sweet and quaint. The owner and staff were absolutely wonderful. The location was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. It exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have our own terrace attached to our room which was mainly why I booked as I like the idea of breakfast on our own terrace but we had to leave the room and sit on a terrace shared with another room.

    Air conditioned spacious room, fridge, breakfast, customer service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, but its a B&B and not full hotel with 24 hour reception, owner can be contacted if needs be, so if you are the kind of traveller who needs their hand holding, go to a big 4 star and spend more money. Room very clean, we had one with a skylight only, others had balconies at extra cost I think. You cannot be any more central. Parking is not cheap, but it is just next door. If you want to park for free, drive up to the Hilton and park across from there and walk back down, if you are there a few days it will be worth the effort.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some fresh fruit at breakfast would have been good and maybe the offer of another coffee otherwise all else was excellent.

    Lovely traditional property in a quiet, hidden location in the middle of town. Room was a good size and well furnished. The king size bed was comfortable. The air conditioning was good, the room stayed lovely and cool. The fresh croissants for breakfast were served warm and the cappuccino was excellent. The owners were pleasant and friendly, what more could I say?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and really felt like coming home at night as the property is gated. We had a room with a private terrace on which breakfast was served every day. Lovely staff. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more substantial even an extra croissant. But really a nice place to stay

    The ambience and the central location and the friendliness of the Proprietor Carlos.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just around the corner from the main square, and within walking distance from the main bus stop and train station. Comfortable room and the plumbing worked!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By the time we booked there was only one room available which only had windows in the roof which is fine if you are not planning to spend much time there as it was a little cell-like! It also helps if you are a heavy sleeper (or purchase ear plugs!) because if you require air or cool, a choice has to be made between the noise of the street or the air con. Staying in such a beautiful place as Sorrento we were out all day,literally only using the accommodation for sleeping and showering so our room was ok for us but there are more attractive rooms there ŵith windows and balconies if that is important to you. This is just advisory, not a complaint!

    Central location with a very friendly and helpful host,Carlo who had an excellent command of English and a cheeky sense of humour! The accommodation was spotlessly clean,comfortable with a reasonable price tag and we were made to feel very welcome. Superb Internet connection provided and free wi fi. There was the option at an additional cost to have breakfast which we did not take but we saw it being prepared for other guests and it did looked superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Plenty of breakfast with coffee made how we liked it by our host on the sunny balcony. Room was comfortable with coffee making facilities, fridge, a large bed and plenty of room for our luggage. Our room was very quiet considering how close it was to the main street. It was in easy walking distance of sights, shops and transport. We stayed an extra night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Complaints

    The owner was very friendly and always checking in to make sure we had everything we needed. The location is GREAT, just a block from the main square and within walking distance of everything in town. Room was just a bit dated in decor but very comfortable and cleaned everyday. The weather was a bit chilly and wet when we were in town so we spent more time in this hotel then we normally would and we were very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The showers were not adequate - bathrooms were very nice, but the shower stalls were sub-par - plastic tracks that were now well aligned.

    The owner/manager Carlo went out of his way to make our stay comfortable - he was very helpful in making recommendations for excursions and local restaurants. The property was very well located in the center of Sorrento, and quiet, since the courtyard is off the street. Rooms were small, but modern and clean. This was a very easy place to like! His recommendations for tours to Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Capri, the Amalfi Coast, and Naples were very well done, with a both friendly and professional driver - Claudio De Angelis, from: Excursions and Transfers Sorrento.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The terraces are made as balconies and our private terrace was next to the common one. It was a bit noizy in the morning when people gather to chat and drink coffee

    Perfect location next to Garage and 100m from city center. The property was nice with outdoor terrace and huuuge and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel charged credit card in full for our stay 2 days after booking and 7 weeks before our stay!

    Great central location, comfortable bed, nice balcony and bathroom. Loved the sweet, friendly hotel cat!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was extra, and we paid ahead of time for that. The first morning there was no one at the desk, no breakfast. After waiting 20 minutes in the lobby, we left to have coffee and pastries down the street. We asked our bill to be reduced by the 20 euros, and had a hard time getting that adjustment. The owner was abrasive. There was one employee trying to handle customer services and also clean, laundry, etc. No one on site at night.

    The location was one block off the main promenade leading down to the beach. Very convenient, and not noisy from the traffic. Spacious room. Parking in public facility right next door. Nice shower. Lots of good restaurants nearby Fridge in room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warm item for breakfast or some cheese would have been welcome.

    Excellent location, one minute from Tasso Square and 10 minutes walk to station. Very Comfortable room, tea and coffee making facility in the room which was useful. Close to many good restaurants. We were leaving at 5.30 am and they very kindly kept some breakfast for us in the fridge so that we could have something to eat before we left. A place we will definitely return to if we are ever in Sorrento again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After traveling before Sorrento we needed an iron took a while for them to track one down. They should invest in one in each room! We didn't like the towels was like drying with a sheet,but we're very clean.

    Nice relaxed accommodation & perfect for discovering Sorrento very quaint. We payed extra & change room as wanted somewhere to sit outside as we were there for 7 days. Rooms upstairs great for short stays.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arriving at the B&B for the first time at the end of a long day, you stand outside a large green gate - and there are no instructions how to get inside! After a garbled exchange through an intercom, eventually you are buzzed in to find there is no one inside waiting for you, there is a key on the counter with your name and room name on it, and then you start searching for your room. It is a very impersonal start to what is otherwise a very enjoyable place to stay in Sorrento.

    The location is fantastic, literally a 2 minute walk to the Piazza Tasso (the main square in Sorrento) and an easy 10 minute walk (with suitcases) to the train station. Rooms on the main floor have a very nice private walkout with individual table and chairs for breakfast or lounging, the WIFI was excellent, breakfast was plentiful, and the rooms were very quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd bed in triple room not suitable for adults, street facing room gets quite a bit of traffic noise. Sorrento not a great place to stay compared with Positano.

    Central location in Sorrento, nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small, no window Toilet didn't flush on occasions

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely stay, helpful and extremely friendly staff. Wonderful location. 100% recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtain, no view

    Location, great staff, fine room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent - very close to downtown and train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not the best.

    Perfect location, very kind host. Bathroom was clean ,spacious and well equiped.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding hotel on arrival Breakfast in room if weather not good enough to sit on balcony as only one chair in room. Bed mattress was hard

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Norhing in particular

    Good location and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough space to place suitcases or clothes.

    The location, the staff and fairly comfortable size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking.

    Good service. In the city center. Beautiful little B&B.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very good. A lot of restaurants around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very service minded staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cool on occasion but the owner fixed it when advised.

    Location, quality of the room, the owners, the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the hosts were very friendly, the location was unbelievable, good rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    leaving!

    Absolute local Italian family perfection!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Walking distance to everything in sorrento.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hassle free, always willing to help, clean and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful building.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location. It is in the center of the town!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English speaking TV .

    Location and the fact small traditional accommodation. Walking distance to main square, railway station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in room.

    Good bed, great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great location! Carlo was extremely helpful in booking airport transfer and tours.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This lovely little place was in the best location and had a kettle in the room which is unusual for Europe. Just a nice little place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Booked a triple room so had to sleep on a camper bed, which was so uncomfortable! Thought they would have a double and a single bed considering the price we paid. Thought it was pretty expensive at 525 for 3 nights without breakfast and a proper bed. It was also very noisy at night.

    Location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed our time in Sorrento, and the location of La Magnolia B & B was wonderful. We easily walked to La Magnolia from the train station, and we were able to walk to all of the attractions of Sorrento as well as meet the van for our tour of the Amalfi Coast. The continental breakfast was plentiful, and it was served on our little table on our patio.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing we didn't like. La Magnolia was terrific!

    Superb location! Close enough to town center in Sorrento, but far away enough, so that the noise wasn't an issue. Convenient parking right next door. Group floor room with terraces were well worth the little extra price.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bath-room was not heated. It was not so comfortable while taken a shower.

    The best location, helpful staff, fresh hot croissants and buns for breakfast, teapot, climat-control into the room. Receptionist advised perfect trattoria for dinners

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The towels were more like table cloths and the insides of the pillows had turned into lots of little balls, very uncomfortable. Plus the mattresses were quite hard.

    Pedro the pig walking through the grounds each morning. Our little daughter loved seeing him. Breakfast in the room, great time saver.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Carlo was super friendly and made us feel very very welcome. We loved this B&B. We decided to have a picnic for lunch on the patio at the B&B and he brought us plates forks knives cutting boards wine glasses and even washed our fruit and veggies for us. He even made us great cappicinos after. Great experience.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no dinning room breakfast includees kindes of bread jam& butter,thats it... towels been changed after 3 nights when we asked to

    perfect location calm nice and warmy room

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst breakfast was good enough the juice was more Sunny Delight than Tropicana - so very sweet and synthetic tasting. The bed was quite solid and the wooden frame very creaky so not as comfortable as we would have liked. There is quite a lot of noise from inside the hotel early in mornings (8am on - early on holiday!) this is the breakfasts being served in rooms and the hotel being cleaned and on 2 of evenings there were noisy guests inside the hotel until fairly late - I think this is the downside of the owners living off site.

    Perfect location literally 30 seconds from Piazza Tasso one of the main squares in Sorrento and 10 minutes walk to the port. The price was very reasonable for what you got - we paid around £50 equivalent a night in February. We arrived on a Sunday fairly late - we'd let Carlos know this. There is a mobile number to ring on the gate and we got hold of him Immediately and got instant access to the hotel so despite other review comments no issue here. As others have said Carlos doesn't live on site but he was there every day and very friendly and helpful. This isn't a large hotel I think there are 7 or 8 rooms. The decor is traditional and the room we had was large and airy and very clean. Breakfast was included and it was fine - not amazing but good enough - coffee, juice, croissants and brioche with butter and jam. The bathroom was good and the shower the right side of powerful. The room is cleaned every day and bedding/towels changed every 3 days. The bed was a super King so 2 single mattresses on a large frame. There was little to no noise from outside the hotel so quite peaceful in that respect

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast-room. For us was the lonely possibility to have breakfast on the terrace. The breakfast contents for 2 persons: 3 roll (or Croissant), 4-5 small boxes of jam, 4 small butter and 2 cup of coffee (or tee). No comment.

    Location is excellent, with few minutes walk you can reach to everywhere, what can be interesting (restaurants, pizzas, ice-cream, coffe-house, shops, see, harbour, departures to Capri, etc. House is nice, comfortable, We liked, that the rooms hasn't number, but names (We had the room CAPRI). It was a nice and comfortable room, with windows to the street. We heard no noises from street. King size bed was also very comfortable. The doors and the furnitures are very elegant with the intarsias. Owner or boss speaks excellent english. We arrived very late in the night, on telephon call we got exact information, how we can get our room. For two nights it was an excellent solution.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed in Ravello room, which was very small and very noisy all night long. Wanted to change the room but were told that it was one of the silent ones.

    Location was excellent. Staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room had no window to look out of. I felt a little stuffed in the room but that was pretty much it.

    I came by myself to explore a new part of Italy and I was treated better than expected. The staff was friendly and the location was perfect. I will defiantly be coming back to visit. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing we did not like about this Hotel.

    First of all we loved Carlo and Ginny there are the perfect Host and Hostess. The location is the best just off the main square. Walkable from the train station in about 8 minutes. Our room was spacious and extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more of a continental style but it was nice and relaxing. I would stay at La Magnolia again..it was great.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no lift. Breakfast was terrible. We were there 3 days & we never had clean towels or linens after the first day.

    Fabulous location! It was 3 blocks from the train station and close to wonderful restaurants and stores, yet was quiet. Room was lovely!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The towels were plain linen, not terry towelling; they didn't absorb much, and are only changed every 3 days. Staff were a bit stretched at breakfast time, and there was some unnecessary confusion over our booking at first.

    Good location, interesting building, nicely furnished, clean room, comfortable bed. Breakfast was good though a bit disorganised. Wifi generally good.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The management, breakfast on the veranda outside our room, comfort, location, tranquility, Luna the cat and Pietro, the domestic pig, both of whom lived near-by.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was noisy from the main road outside and also other guests. The walls are very thin which we accept is out of the control of those that run it.

    WI FI was fantastic, breakfast was great value and the staff were helpful, kind and passionate about delivering high quality. It is also a great location for the two and getting a coach back to Naples airport (which is the best way)

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room only had skylight window which couldn't be left open at night due to noise from the main road. Air conditioner made a strange gurgling noise.

    Great location, breakfast on the terrace, spacious bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The proprietor was a very angry rude person who insulted my daughter and her friend which totally put me off ever booking this place for my family or friends again

    The location was excellent and the room very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La Magnolia is a perfect little B&B to base your stay in Sorrento and to explore the Amalfi Coast from. Carlo was a terrific host offering advice and making arrangements on our behalf. The location of the B&B couldn't have been better also. I'd recommended staying here!

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: