Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Laura Christina 3 stars

Via Puri 5, 37018 Malcesine, Italy

#55 of 57 hotels in Malcesine

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1225 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Great view .terrible food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a double room with balcony with lake view as a special birthday treat. When I arrived and they saw I was 1 person they offered me a poky single room with single bed pushed up against the wall and no view, I insisted on having the room I'd booked which was lovely and that was ok. Breakfast was ok but dinner was one of the worst meals I've ever had. And I had to send the wine back as it was undrinkable.

    The room and the breathtaking view of lake Garda.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Didn’t particularly enjoy our stay at this hotel which we found had no character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was not good. We had to cross a very busy main road every time we left the hotel. Did not appreciate being told where to sit for our breakfast. When we wanted a drink from the bar there was never anyone available to serve us.

    Room was a decent size. Nice view of the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    Was very average and not well maintained .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building needed lots of repair work . The hotel was a longer walk than expected for the town . The beds and pillows were poor.

    The rooms were clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was excellent. The property location is really quite and a few minutes walk from Malcesine. I will visit it again for sure in the future!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Good positioning within a 20minute walk of Malcesine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in the room isn’t air conditioning and doesn’t work. It made the room incredibly uncomfortable when the weather was hot outside. I would not use this hotel again during the summer.

    Good positioning within a 20minute walk of Malcesine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Basic hotel expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were slow, quite rude at times. They don’t speak English which of course shouldn’t be expected so I would advise anyone staying here to have a phrase book or google translation with you to help

    The pool was great and well kept

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Nice time of relaxation in Malcesine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel was perfect for our holidays,very kind people, nice view from hotel to the lake, very very tasty breakfast and also delicious lunch. Fresh but nice swimming pool. We will come for sure again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Very old fashioned and dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned and dated. Bed linen and towels worn with holes in some. Very geared up to German visitors. Restaurant food very poor but staff apart from the owners were great. It’s a lot more than 800m to the town and access is not suitable if you have walking or breathing problems. Much better hotels available locally at same price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and reception could have been cooler although they were very nice rooms. Rooms were basic and dated although they are very clean. I didn't think the pool was heated as advertised. I think that water should have been available for free at the evening meal a one litre bottle cost 3.50 E.

    Nice room with Aircon, staff were really helpful in the restaurant and the cleaning staff kept the rooms fresh and clean. Plenty of choice at breakfast and spumante and water was available free of charge. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    2.5
    Leaving the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was 76 year old lady who (I was told) is the owner. Not a friendly person. Beding didn't have a flat sheet, only a cheap wornout duvet cover (from Ikea), matrasses should be replaced years ago. I have never slept on worse mattrass. Since it was late, I have tried to call reception desk to ask for a flat sheet. Well, phone wire between handset and phone was missing. They accept pets, but this is far from pet friendly establishment. I have a service dog and the owner/receptionist lady dn't let me go to have a breakfast together. Hotel location is more than 800 meters from the center. You have to walk on the road to get there. When we checked out, my "favored" receptionist charged an extra meal. She removed the charge after my objections.

    Leaving the

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Great non central location for those with basic needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Given this hotel is not located centrally within Malcesine, for those who would like the odd lazy day and eat in the hotel in the evening such as myself, i would have preferred more choice on the evening menu. This was was a set menu of two meal options and a single desert. More likely down to personal preference but something to bear in mind if this is something you also like to do.

    Everything was clean and tidy, if a little dated in places. The bathroom was modern and well stocked, the continental breakfast had a good range of choice to suit most tastes. Typical Englishman i went without knowing a great deal of Italian expecting to get by. Although the staff spoke little to no English (which was a bit of a barrier at times, English speakers bear this in mind when booking) they were extremely friendly and helpful in attempting to cater to every request once they knew what i was asking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful place would go back to Malcesine
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would have liked more info when we got to the hotel, map they gave was rubbish. Needed info on breakfast times, bus times etc. Pool freezing. Extremely hilly to get back to the hotel from town. Bedrooms could do with updating.

    Hotel very clean, staff very friendly even if they didn't speak English. Breakfast was fine plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Place to put my head. Wouldn't spend any time in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic. Desk staff were grumpy. Hotel very dated. No facilities in the room. Generally very uninviting

    Lorena that worked in the bar was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely peaceful stay
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel needs updating.

    The hotel is a little dated but is very clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Stayed here as we were attending my sons wedding and it was peaceful set away from the road. Lovely walk down to the harbour along the lake. Breakfast was good. Adequate selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Malcesine is a fantastic place to stay with plenty of places to visit. We’ll be visiting again but i
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lacking investment and it showed. Didn’t take any photos of the hotel which I think sums up our view of the accommodation.

    Needs some cash spending on it. Some areas quite shabby. Pool area not conducive to spending any time there. Loungers need cleaning, no cushions so very uncomfortable. Wire netting around pool can’t be considered a safety feature, sorry but poor really. Water clean bu pool area needs a deep clean. Generally looks a little uncared for old oranges fallen from trees still on the ground from last year. Astro turf has replaced grass not what we were expecting. On the plus side bedrooms were clean, staff were helpful and there was a good continental breakfast, sorry no bacon and fried eggs. Wouldn’t recommend for wheelchair users or anyone that has difficulty walking as there’s a significant slope from the main road and up to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, good swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t book transfer through the hotel, we were let down the morning of our arrival when we had it booked for 4 weeks, we were also travelling with a baby so you can imagine how annoyed we were. Needs a refurb as quite dated

    Clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, good swimming pool and sunbathing area, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent few days !!!
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area could if been prettier !!!

    Staff were excellent !!! Felt very much at home !!! Loweana, Nicole and Bruno were fantastic and a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty old bathroom equipment, but still working!

    Nice, big room with balcony. From the balcony lake and mountains are visible - pretty nice view. Personal very helpful. Delicious and very nice breakfast, those croissants were very tasty!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Glad it was just for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated, decor very dated. Window from bathroom opens out to the hallway. Very thin walls, I could hear people returning back to the hotel and coughing during the night.

    I liked the lake view, the cleanliness, friendly staff and proximity to the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Could not have done more to be nice to us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly staff, very welcoming and helpful, nice view, outdoor pool, rooms large and clean with balcony, decor alittle old fashioned in some parts but it has character and comfortable with great service, lovely walk into town Centre only 15mins along seafront. The town has everything from a spar to every price range restaurant. The castle is worth a visit only 6 euro but great view. Recommend as perfect location for travel round the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Basic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities in the room we're... there. The AC was not plugged in, so if you needed it you had to take out a night lamp. The fridge there but as well not plugged in. We had to move a bit the furniture in the rooms so that we could plug it in. The facilities looked poor. Swimming pool dirty, and even though was not in the season it could have been cleaned. due to the fact that it was raining one days, we ask them if we can use the tennis table, of course we could but it was outside as well. The Wi-Fi is really bad. Internet surfing is really slow.

    The room was ok and very clean. The breakfast was good, the staff from breakfast was really friendly and help fast with whatever we have asked. The staff from the whole hotel was really nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful views and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just a little on the expensive side and a bit of a walk from Malcesine

    Large clean rooms with stunning lake views; good choice at breakfast and some very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and pleasant, I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated and the bathroom wasn't great, our shower was useable but you had to hold it rather than put it on the wall stand, in fairness we didn't report it as we were only there for 2 days and I've no doubt if we had they would have fixed it.

    All the Staff were fab, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Excellent overall but be aware of the FIRE issues at this Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated, but functional. Reasonable walk into to town and back but did find an easier route turning right out of the hotel to the main road, cross at the crossing and walk towards the town a few 10,s of metres then left down the path to the lake then a level walk, better than walking down and up "Via panoramica". BIG concern on the first night the fire alarm went off at 5am. There was no info at all in the room about fire procedure or anything else. Made our way to reception only to find the door was locked and many people in reception not sure how to get out. There was a button by the front door to open but not at ours. Walked around hotel to the reception and was let in by a resident and we tried to work out what was going on. No signe on ANY staff on site and no info for how to contact them. I walked the hotel checking to see iof there was a fire, which there was not, suspect someone smoking, then myself and a German guest checked the alarm and eventually reset it. Everyone happy no fire and went back to bed. In this modern age it is appalling that there are no fire info in the rooms and no staff on site or at least a system whereby the owners are alerted to an alarm going off. Malice sine is a wonderful beautiful place and well worthy of a weeks stay.

    If you have a lake view room then the views are great. Staff helpful and onsite parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    Clean, but in need of a refurbishment, very expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was locked up by midnight and difficult to get in. The hotel is really really dated and very tired it needs serious investment The bar and restaurant are only open limited hours and not flexible on food times The hotel bar closes very early in the evening The key security is very lax all keys are visiable and available to any guest if left at property when you go out The bedrooms are very dated, tired and not very pleasant No English speaking staff at the hotel Very very expensive hotel

    The hotel was very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Good location, good hotel..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast lacked choice and no bowls! No safe in room Shower quite small.. but manageable! Main door shuts at 12am, have to wait to be let in after this time

    Good location, Friendly staff, Good bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.3
    So disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is to many reasons to list why I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The main ones are, owner's need manners, especially the wife, who is the receptionist. They also charged us more than booking.com rate, we tried to talked about it and she walked off, saying 'speak no english'

    They only good thing about this hotel, it was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On departure they did not check the diference in price (changing of the season). On my request they corect the bill and refund the money.

    Superb location-15 minutes walk to Malcesine by the lake. Spatious balcony with same lake view, the room had 2 bathrooms recently renewed yet was packed and outdated, with almost no storage. Friendly stuff, especially in the dining hall and the bar. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall an enjoyable stay. I could of sat and looked at the view all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and only one flat pillow. The scrambled egg at breakfast was cold. Could of done with a toaster.

    The view from the hotel terrace and our room was breathtaking. Good location even though it's a 15 minute walk to town. It's a nice walk alongside the lake. Very peaceful. Nice to have the use of a pool. Airport transfer organised by hotel excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfy, quiet stay, with some improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool didn’t get cleaned or heated at all. No english menus for food. No icecreams (especially in 35-40 degree heat). Breakfast was great if you are German, for British there was not a lot of choice. Not a lot of shops near by, access to water was difficult/expensive in the hotel. Only 1 bar women everyday- who didn’t speak much english at all. There was no do not disturb for the outside of your door, so maid would walk in on a morning when your still in bed. No warning that the hotel closed at 12pm at night- even though they knew we were here for a wedding. No entertainment on an evening (other than a guy playing a very annoying piano).

    Bed was very comfy. Air condition was perfect and room was always kept clean by the maids- everyday without fail. Great size room with amazing view of the lake! Shower room was fantastic, great size and amazingly perfect water pressure. Fidge in the room was a great size and kept water perfectly cool. Good size wardrobe for hanging clothes. Safe was free and easy to use and kept hidden away in the wardrobe. Bar and food was great price. Fresh towels everyday. Easy and ontime hotel transfers at a great price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    Fabulous Wedding shame about the Hotel
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of an old gentleman on reception

    Had a problem with the room for my grandchildren electrics not good at first waited and waited for them to find alternative room wasting most of the day. Bad as we were only there for 4days for a wedding mostly staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced, outdated hotel in need of maintenance and modernization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel needs some serious modernization and attention to maintenance. It could be lovely, but unfortunately was disappointing. There was a broken floor tile on the steps up to our chalet style room, no lighting on the outside path or steps, dodgy electrics in the room which fused one night leaving us in darkness. Awful music in the bar meant that we usually sat outside it in the lounge area (as did everyone else). Very cold water in the swimming pool.

    great view of Lake Garda from our room. Has 3 clay tennis courts up the hill (not immediately obvious). Staff were very helpful and pleasant, all except for the grumpy lady behind the bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value hotel in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The dining room, though large was without windows, stuffy and rather gloomy. Such a shame given the fantastic location. We were able to take our breakfast on the terrace near the bar which had the view, but is shared with the smokers. The hotel provides a good value set evening meal but after trying this once we just couldn't face the surroundings and went out.

    Our "luxury" room was beautifully fitted with fantastic views of the lake, definitely worth paying the extra. The standard rooms were a bit dated but still had air conditioning, fridge and safe. Very nice pool, comfortable lounge area and friendly, helpful staff. Ideal location, less than 5 minutes down the hill to the beach and a further 5-10 minute stroll along the lakeside to the town. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay, bit dated decor but great value for money and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten free bread would be nice (they only had what I think were crackers that tasted like cardboard) and a toast machine.

    Clean, friendly and helpful staff, lovely salads, great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Please say hello to my nephew Alex Gener the Deputy treasurer who works for Booking.com in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It is a long walk up 3 steep hills to the hotel after a quarter of a mile along the promenade into town centre. The hotel could do with a shuttle bus into town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Awesome little place by the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location meant that cars could nto always get there. it was quite tight. but a little walk did no one any harm,

    i just loved the service and the prices

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Great stay after a rocky start
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an initial problem as I had requested a transfer from the airport as I was travelling alone with my 3 year old son. The transfer never turned up. I had to call the hotel several times over an hour and a half before I could speak to anybody who spoke English (quite a few are fluent in German as well as Italian however I was in too much of a tizz to remember my GCSE German), and when they chased it up I was told that the driver had had 'a little problem' and that the hotel would organise a taxi. I was then telephoned back to be told I had to 'find a bus'. By this time I had been waiting in a strange airport with very few staff about for 3 hours trying to work out what to do. Luckily I was able to work it out and it is a fairly easy journey on 2 buses if you know what you are doing but I did not get to the hotel until 4 hours later than originally anticipated. However, the English speaker was only on her third day on the job so clearly didn't know yet how to handle these situations, she was incredibly helpful, apologetic and friendly for the remainder of my stay as was the hotel manager and they organised and paid for my transfer back to the airport at the end of the holiday (which did turn up) and we had a lovely stay. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

    The breakfast was extremely plentiful, fresh and good. The room was very clean, with two single beds pushed together (perfect for me and my clingy 3 year old) and very comfortable indeed. The room was thoroughly cleaned daily. The shower was very powerful and the bathroom a very good size for us. The room also had a fridge which was very useful. The balcony was a nice size with a good sized wall that a child could not climb over and the partition wall was fine, you could only see neighbors sitting out if you leaned over. Beautiful view as well. Here is a bus stop very close to the hotel about a 5 minute walk down a hilly road (so would be tricky In a wheelchair or if you have mobility issues) and it is about a 25 minute walk from the main town where there are lots of shops, bars, restaurants and activitities with good bus and boat links to neighbouring towns, a really good tourist office and a large supermarket. The swimming pool is also very clean and smallish (perfect for a small child) with more than enough loungers and next to the bar. They were flexible when we wanted to opt into the evening meal which was reasonably priced. Staff were friendly although there was only one English speaker. Although there was a problem initially (details below) the hotel staff and owner were very apologetic and made up for the mistake. I would stay again definitely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Great value hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering the price we had paid, I wasn't expecting too much but on arrival we almost thought we were at the wrong hotel! The Laura Cristina is a lovely large hotel with a very impressive foyer. Parking was available onsite once you've negotiated the very narrow lane from the main road. Large comfortable room with excellent view of Lake Garda, very nice bathroom, safe, TV, excellent wifi and air conditioning. Good breakfast choice. About a 10-15 minute walk to the main part of Malcesine and perfectly safe to walk at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely friendly place, nice pool and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't reply to my email asking about transfers from Verona, but they did arrange a transfer on the way home.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and did everything to make our stay enjoyable, they were lovely with our 22 month old son.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel with all things we wanted and even more!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice hotel with all things we wanted and even more! Fascinating view on lake, kind owners and the staff, they liked our dogs which was amazing. We had wonderfull breakfast in the morning.. Our holidays were perfect there :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Great service and staff. Clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. family room was great with 2 bathrooms. Swimming pool was clean and just the right depth for our 9year old.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    The scrambled eggs were to die for absolutely gorgeous and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs were to die for absolutely gorgeous and we were late having them the pastries were nice too. I didn't get the girls name on reception but she was great especially as we forgot to bring our passport from peschiera but she done everything she could for us

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.7
    Fair base to explore Lake Garda from
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff spoke little English (if any). This hotel caters predominantly for German visitors which is fine we just found it very focused (understandably) towards their needs. The town of Malcesine is more for the 'older' visitor a demographic we did not fit into.

    Very clean and a reasonable base to explore the towns of lake Garda from

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.0
    Below average hotel in a great Village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities not updated since The 80s. Room VERY Basic, restaurant (dinner) poor food and poor service.

    Free parking and pool. The Village of Malcesine which is 1km walk from The hotel is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Stunning scenery, fabulous hotel, pretty town and lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything that could have been better.

    Huge choice for breakfast. All the staff were so kind and helpful. They couldn't have been any nicer. Great pool, lovely bar inside and terrace bar outside. Our large balcony was an unexpected but delightful bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Mostly good, but some problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had faulty air conditioning and no other room available till next day which meant a hot and sticky night! Then no hot water for last two mornings!! Staff did discount bar bill but I really feel some of our original payment should be reimbursed for discomfort. This hotel is 3star not the advertised 4 star.

    Room had a fabulous view of Lake Garda. Cleanliness excellent, with plentiful towels etc. Had same table for breakfast which we liked. Good selection at breakfast of cold items. Patricia, a brand new receptionist, was particularly helpful and spoke English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    3.8
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was horrible, each night in the bed was a struggle. The room was minimally furnished for a so-called "Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View". There was no shower curtain in the bath. The air-conditioner did not function the first night and roared throughout the nights the rest of our visit. We could not turn it off. The elderly woman at the front desk was almost never at the front desk. No one else except a young girl we saw at the start working her first day. At one point the elderly woman lost our key and had difficulty finding it exactly at the moment a digestive emergency induced me to wish to get to the bathroom immediately.

    The breakfast was very good. The personnel in the dining area and bar were very helpful during the times the front desk was empty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Likes & dislikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of the staff don't speak English. I didn't have a room with a view.

    All staff friendly, and helpfull. Nice views of the lake from the front of the hotel. Rooms very pleasant, good size room, large enough bathroom, and room leads onto a balcony. Bed is also comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in had very thin walls and we could hear everything from next door from baby crying to toilet flushing

    Staff were amazingly friendly and very accommodating great value. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    3.8
    A hotel that reminded me of the 70s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in an annex room with a view of the back of the rest of the hotel. There was no wifi in the annex, the airco didn't work. There was no proper shower just a shower head in the bath. We requested an iron - it appeared 3 hrs later with no ironing board.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    Hotel clean but dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel was high up and too far from main town ! Breakfast was average at best and 1 dinner we had was poor ! Air conditioning was poor and not working for 3 dates of our stay ! No tea or coffee making facilities in room

    Very clean & staff very friendly!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.8
    3-4 hours to check in to a room is not acceptable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor service relating to one of our rooms not being ready, AC that didn't work, overall a refresh of the hotel would be needed for us to revisit. Access to Malcesine not too bad.

    3-4 hours to check in to a room is not acceptable and the management weren't most helpful apart from the lady at the bar who had exceptional customer service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Lovely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The location and wonderful scenery.A lovely clean hotel with nice rooms and lovely friendly owners and staff.A return most likely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Great setting, wonderfully views for a peaceful & relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated which isn't a big criticism as this added to the character of the hotel.

    Interesting area with lovely setting which was reasonably convenient for the town centre. Clean and comfortable. Lovely staff and good choices for breakfast. The location makes for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slim pillows! Whole hotel a bit dated but still ticked all the boxes. Mainly German clientele so breakfast was aimed at that market... could have done with a heads up that the access from main road is the tiniest road ever so getting there in our large vehicle was a challenge! Go into town and take the top road instead!!!

    Friendly staff, good size room with balcony, fantastic value for money. Town is absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mothing

    Fantastic lady I charge of the dinning room called Elena spoke English and made sure that we were well looked after. The owners were available everyday. Very nice domestic staff too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.1
    decor dated but hotel clean and staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was quite minimal. Hotel was quite empty at the time (very early season) so pool was not yet up and running. Hotel decor is quite dated but functional.

    Really friendly staff. Short walk into town. Spacious rooms. Eary to park in early season. Well signed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    4.6
    Amazing views, get a room high up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check in wasn't very friendly, the room clean enough though very dated. There was a fair amount of furniture which didn't need to be there... 3 different desks

    Amazing views, get a room high up!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I sent a message about early check-in and got an answer that they will grant my wish but when we arrived at 11 oçlock nobody from the reception knew about it.

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    6.3
    A curious but not unpleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has great potential but appears to be in need of updating. A number of simple changes would certainly have a very positive impact on the hotel, which is well placed, reasonably priced and by no means terrible. Air conditioning didn't work, but views from the balcony were lovely. A little less overt religious material around the hotel would give it wider appeal.

    The cheese at breakfast was lovely, as was the tennis court and the location in this reasonably priced hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Some parts of the hotel not yet modernised.

    Rooms 506 to 512 are spacious, modern and have probably the best view from any accommodation in that part of the lake. 20 minute stroll into Malcesine, mostly along the traffic free lakeside promenade. Small but very good pool area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.4
    while the hotel is close to the lake and the town centre you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    while the hotel is close to the lake and the town centre you have to climb a steep hill and walk along a very busy road which has no pavement, not ideal when travelling with an infant in a pushchair. Staff weren't fantastic. My husband had to ask 3 times for some extra pillows

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    8.8
    One of our new Italian favourites!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym is not a gym, and the building might need a bit of modernisation.

    Great location, very friendly staff with good level of service at their eyes and we were also very happy about our rooms. Highly recomendable!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast was a good selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. All rooms very basic. Beds extremely uncomfortable. Shower very old looking. It was spotlessly clean but had not been updated for so many years. Bright strip lights, decor very dated. In a great location near to main town and great views. Bit of a steep climb but many are like this. Just needs someone to bring it in to this century!

    Breakfast was a good selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money, good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money, good position. Decor a bit shabby but we didn't expect any more for the money we paid. It was very comfortable the breakfast was what you would expect and the staff were a bit reserved at the start but keep smiling at them and they warm. We used the pool and the bar and had a wonderful time. I would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.8
    Very disappointing, not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located up a steep hill, the walk to the main square was a long and busy road with a very narrow walkpath for pedestrians, so not good for older couples or families with young children. This wasn't mentioned in the hotel description. The pool was small, the pictures are very deceptive, could probably only fit around ten sunbeds around it. The room, even though it was spacious and the bed was comfortable and the air condition was a bonus, the patio door didn't lock (there wasn't even a lock in the frame) there were wires hanging off the wall on the balcony, the shower didn't drain quick enough so we had to stop the shower every few minutes so the shower tray didn't overflow onto the floor. Also when we arrived we only had one large towel for the two of us so had to track down the cleaner to get another one. The hotel is largely focused to German tourists, the staff speak little English and signs and menus are in Italian or German. The whole hotel is like walking back into the 80s, the decor is very outdated, if you like brown patterned carpets and sitting on leather sofas in 30 degree heat then this is the place for you. As a non religious couple, we weren't keen on the enormous statue of the pope in the reception area (bigger than a life size statue) or the pictures of the pope around the hotel or the painting of angles literally above our bed...seem to throw religion down your throat a bit there! The breakfast was very disappointing,boring, quite tasteless, staff were there to pretty much clear the tables, not to serve even drinks. The only cooked thing available was scrambled eggs which were hidden in the corner. The only three star thing about this hotel is the view...which you have to pay extra for.

    Hotel room was large and spacious, the girl who checked us in was friendly and polite. View was really nice too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    6.7
    The location was great.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accomodation is very old. The wifi didn't work properly. The receptionist was highheaded.

    The location was great. About 5 minute to the lake and 15 minute to city center.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.3
    Great for older German people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The athmosphere was kind of like a German holiday resort from the 80's. The wifi didn't work all the time. Fitness area was a joke and I guess they were embaressed and thus it seemed to be really difficult to get them to open the door. There were one really nice young woman in the reception and personnel of the restaurant were nice but the others... The worst service of my life and I am a really nice customer. I guess they hated me for not speaking Germany. At least the owners hardly said a word to me and one woman was angry every time I dared to ask something. She only smiled a bit when I left. And the air condition was a joke also. I had to sleap with balcony door open every night.

    View to lake Garda was a amazing from my balcony. The place was clean and peaceful. 15 minute walk to center was ok for me. There was a bus stop near (named La Rocca). Breakfast was ok. WHEN the wifi worked, it worked in my room also. Not only in the common area. The was an elevator to my room but I guess not to all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.3
    Good parking around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of our travelling companions were yearning for a hot breakfast.

    Good parking around the hotel. A tip would be that you can drive round the back of the hotel if you have a lot of luggage to unload rather than taking it up the slope and through the front entrance. Lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable holiday in pleasant hotel with lake views, within walking distance of town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    no tea making facilities/fridge in room

    fresh fruit salad at breakfast was varied and plentiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Location, staff, quite, view, pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, not even a bar one.

    Location, staff, quite, view, pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Views weather and weather great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal rubbish

    Setting and view from balcony bar staff lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    It was very close to the centre of malcesine and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very close to the centre of malcesine and very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is pleasant and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer

    The Views were stunning not far from the main square

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: