Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Laurin 4 stars

Lungomare Marconi,3, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy

#15 of 22 hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 936 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in a magnificent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    - very friendly and helpful staff - large and clean room with private terrace - amazing view of the bay from the room - on the roof top there is a terrace with pool where you can relax with your close ones over at a drink or snack - diversified breakfast with awesome pastries - if you want to travel to Portofino you can take the ferry which is just a few minutes away or you can take the bus from the nearby stations - just 10 minutes walk from the train station - delicious food at "da Alfredo" restaurant - a place where I would return any time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect experience in Santa Margherita would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is slightly outdated in terms of the rooms. However, with such a perfect location who spends time in the room anyway!

    The location is excellent. It is central to everything in town and also right across from the water. Additionally the hotel makes it very easy to enjoy the town. They helped with reservations and helped us find the best beach for a great beach day! Additionally, they had private parking available and breakfast everyday!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Laurin is a cosy, friendly and extremely well located hotel that I cant wait to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were just incredible. It was our first trip with our 11 month boy, and the staff were so friendly with him. Each morning we were greeted with a smile, and even when he was making a mess (or noise) at breakfast the staff were trying to help in any way they could. No matter who was on reception, they always made it their business to greet us with the friendliest of welcomes. The icing on the cake was when we left our passports in the safe, and the receptionist retrieved the passports, arranged a motorbike and they were delivered to us in time for our flight. The location of the hotel is incredible. Everything is in short distance from the hotel, no taxis needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Great view of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two si hole beds were like cots. Completely inappropriate males above 6ft. Ended up putting the mattress on the ground and the other slept on the sun lounge. Overall underwhelming experience. Beds are awful.

    Great view of the ocean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing was that the bathroom accessories were not replenished when finished, and we had to ask them to do so.

    The location is fabulous overlooking the port and within easy walking access to all the important points in the town. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The upstairs pool area is lovely and lying there one can look out at the yachts and boats below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.0
    Great location and friendly staff; good clean basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The twin room was a little on the small side. There was no toilet facilities at the pool area.

    We had a fantastic 5 nights at the Hotel - the pool area was lovely and our balcony overlooked the harbour. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall price and extras - bikes €10 per bike, beach facilities (towels, chairs and umbrella) €20, late check-out (Sunday- with low possibility of new guests checking in) €€ etc.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Second visit over 10 year period was as good as the first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in Santa Margherita has always been a challenge.

    Very friendly staff. Private enclosed parking available down street for fee when area not too busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Budget Approach Unnecessary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have a pool and you are charging to use towels??? So unnecessary! Also, providing no complimentary water in the rooms? Again, totally unnecessary, so easy to do and more importantly essential. Your reply was ‘we are only a 4 Star hotel’... hello! I’ve stayed at 3 stars that provide water and towels!!! This hotel could be so much better if you paid a little attention to details, especially such crucial ones mentioned above. Little disappointing !!!!!

    Great location, pool, balcony’s

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    A special celebratory holiday for my Parents Wedding Anniversary and it was just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms are great but a lady likes a little more cleaning.

    Loved the location, quietness, pool terrace and staff. Made the Royal Wedding celebration a lovely experience!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    We had a pleasant stay in Hotel Laurin,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have had more choice. Noise in the early morning from other rooms or elsewhere.

    The beds were comfy. Pool area was nice and not too busy end of May.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly Staff and really helpful , flexible about checking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were just small for me ,,but was okay , I guess you can request extra pillows , also there's a church near by so you will wake up by the bells ringing in the early morning , sometimes there was a sound in the water pipes but it was okay didn't last for long

    Friendly Staff and really helpful , flexible about checking - out late , clean room , and services , and comfort Location is 2 minutes from the bus stop ( either to portfino or to train station ) also location is right in front of the marina so you get really nice views ( however my room was on the garden view ) . I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Santa Margherita Ligure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Location, views and the amazing lithograph I got for free as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing between bedrooms. Could everything going on I the next bedroom. Specially when they got pretty loud at 4am coming back from partying

    Location, views and the amazing lithograph I got for free as a souvenir form the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Great seven day stay here. Good self-serve breakfast. Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location was outstanding. Close to everything in town. This is a great base location if you plan to explore the area, but don't want to stay in the other very busy, crowded locations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our visit in mid April was a few weeks pre-season and the air conditioning was not switched on. The weather was very good but with record temperatures which made our room very hot. We asked for and were given a fan by reception. This improved matters a little but it would have been better if the management had turned on the air con.

    The hotel was ideally situated and convenient for the very pleasant town. The balcony was of a reasonable size with table and chairs and sunshade canopy overlooking the bay/marina. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and English speaking. The breakfasts were very nice with a good variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Great spot for exploring Portafino area. Clean and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't aware when booking reservation that the pool would be closed during our stay. Kids were looking forward to swimming.

    Desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Good location and great views from deck. Beds were super comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Wifi did not work in the room on 1st floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work in the room on 1st floor. Parking was one of my filter selections and didnt read the fine print AFTER I'd booked. Its miles away and another 16 euro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Perfecto. Grazi mille, Hotel Laurin staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Treated my family as if their own.

    Second week at Laurin in two years and can't wait for another visit. All staff, from front desk to maids to restaurant -- helpful, welcoming and kind. Breakfast and service by Guiseppe, Paola and Margheritta is terrific. Location and terrace overlooking harbor priceless. No road noise at night with automatic shutters.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Amazing location in the heart of Milan, simple but great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and bathroom could have been updated or a bit cleaner/nicer

    Loved the location - couldn't get any more central or easy to get find. The quality of the hotel wasn't spectacular, however you get what you pay for, and the location outweighs anything else. I'd still be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Too short a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave when the sun was shining!

    Lovely harbour front (there is a road in between) location, which is quite bustling. Noise was never a problem for us, the balcony door stopped that. Very helpful & friendly staff. Try and get a sea view room which also has a balcony, so you can eat & drink & watch the world go by. Breakfast was good with a good choice of eats. Would definately return as this is an excellent location for exploring beautiful Santa Margherita.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed everything about our stay apart from the buffet breakfast. would stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet breakfast! Not all bad just the cooked breakfast bacon very fatty, eggs looked plastic and taste as they looked!! cold bacon & eggs not very nice. Not worth 15 Euro.

    Very good location. Friendly staff. Room very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel bar lacked a welcoming atmosphere.

    The accommodation overall was good and met with our expectations. The staff were very willing and helpful particularly where a knowledge of the surrounding area and its transportation links were required.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location, lovely staff - bit run down property no deserving more than 3 Stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering the price - we paid for a 4 Star place. However, I would not give the hotel more than 3 stars. Lovely people but the place is just not up to what is promised, somewhat run down. It clearly needs some renovation and brightening up.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Extremely enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did change our mattress from a very firm to a little bit more comfortable for us with out any hesitation

    It was a little bit basic but extremely pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern, clean and comfortable room with great view of the harbour. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast with wide variety. Short ride from train station and by the boat launch. Loved our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    All in all a good choice, I was happy with my stay at Hotel Laurin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next to the lift, which was very loud. Breakfast good, but a bit too expensive.

    Excellent location, nice balcony with sea view, good roof top pool area. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Property was very good, but the staff made it outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs some updating, which I was told will begin in their off-season. View of the port was wonderful, but was a bit compromised by some traffic noise. Plumbing noises and noise from recycling were a little bothersome at times. Price seemed a bit high, but not sure how it compared to other 4 stars in the locale.

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Tiziana, Genni, Hazel, Fernando- all went above and beyond to make our stay a very memorable one. Have never experienced a better staff in all my travel. Location was ideal. Local restaurant Da Gennaro and their 5 star waiter, Marco, were every bit as wonderful as the hotel staff. Next door restaurant, Da Alfredo, also excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    A lovely well located hotel in a beautiful resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The built-in hair dryer was hard to use. I should have brought my own European one for other hotels as well.

    The location and views from the room were amazing. Lovely town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    If you are ever in Santa Margharita area, you have to stay here! You will not find anything better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our door squeaked, which we notified them of. They sent someone up to fix it, but called a carpenter to do a better job after we left. Our request was not ignored.

    What a wonderful experience we had at Hotel Laurin! Besides the fabulous location, we were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful accommodations in our room and the pretty terrace outside our room that looked out on the Ligurian Sea and harbor. Not only that, but the staff could not have been nicer. They were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a road between the Hotel and the harbour and as the room was at the front, could be quite a noise nuisance at times. Good to have a nice sun deck by the pool, but the pool was quite small.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a nice terrace off the bedroom over looking the harbour which caught the sun until early afternoon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Laurin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was uninspiring but OK,

    We loved the central location within the town plus Santa Margharita has easy access to Portofino, Arrangement for car parking is excellent and it is also easy to unload/load car in front of the hotel. We were lucky enough to have balcony/deck overlooking harbour, Fabulous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel on the water with beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area was a little disappointing- small and not quite as clean as the rest of the property, but we liked having the view. It was a busier street than we expected and loud late into the night.

    Great location on the harbor and walkable to the many shops and restaurants in town. Very nice staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, fab sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had just come from a five star hotel so the room wasn't as luxurious or spacious as we had just left but it was fine.

    Lovely sea view, couldn't be better. The room had all we needed. Staff very helpful. Thanks to wet weather we didn't use the pool or outdoor terrace but it looked nice. Good pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a small hotel so I can understand why the breakfast choices were more limited. There were no bananas or tomatoes available.

    Very nice hotel situated perfectly for walking around Santa Margherita and for the ferry terminal. Added bonus was the pool area on the roof. Spectacular views from our sea view room which also had a very nice balcony. Staff were great. A very nice experience in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Had a really great stay and the town is really fun and busy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower only had a half door and the shower head only had a stream of water out the center.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and restaurants to go to. The view from the room was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Very practical & lovely hotel, slightly over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was a little smaller than expected, and not very warm for a couple of days, probably because it didn't receive enough sunlight despite this being summer. The breakfast was also a little limited, and the facilities themselves are a little old (although well mantained). The price therefore ends up being just a little too high for the value you get.

    The staff was great: Warm, friendly, very helpful and quick to respond to any need. The room was very spacious, well maintained and practical too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Both very good and bad service, it depends on the person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both very good and bad service, it depends on the person. I do not like plastic glasses, and then I expect to have real glas when I ask for it. The view and the balkony was perfect. Very nice .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    My perfect vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. The staff couldn't do enough to help. The view was amazing. We even got to watch a concert from our private balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms could be a bit more comfy and i was disappointed when first arrived but the proximity to everything and great staff outweighed this.

    The best thing about this hotel was its location and the super friendly and helpful staff in particular Aligi and Stefano, fantastic. Breakfasts simple and good, best restaurants a stones throw away, lovely views of harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Authentic hotel at great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was severely overpriced for what is offered. I think the judgement is relative - for 150€ a night this is a lovely quaint old and authentic hotel at a great location. For 400€ a night (what we paid for one 15m2 room) it was really not living up to the expectations.

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Not happy booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above....the price

    Overpriced I paid €828 for 2 nights stay in quadruple room with terrace only to see a special on booking.com for same dates, room at €643....i have a screen shot of offer.....not happy booking.com. When i enquired at desk i was told...."thats business"....well they wont get my business again....your price match is quite restrictive as well...ive booked all my trip with you....i should be treated as a valued customer and not be overcharged to this degree for same room that someone just walking in on day and getting rewarded with almost €200 discount.....not happy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Great staff and wondrrful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that due to its size the pool is only suitable for cooling off and not for swimming more than a couple of strokes. Even so it was very popular with both ourselves and absolutely perfect for our water loving 9yr old child

    Location with view over the bay and only a few steps from the marina and town was perfect. Staff excelled in both courtesy and helpfulness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area is great but not really designed for boisterous, energetic kids with lilos because the pool and pool area are quite small! First day was a trial but subsequent days when kids were better controlled were much better.

    Wonderful view of the bay from room terraces and the pool area, delightful, helpful staff. Great location within easy walk of town attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff and nice little pool for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff and nice little pool for the kids. Clean. Restaurant, not run by the hotel but in the hotel, very good. The breakfast was in a very small room and sometimes it was hard to get the stuff due to people standing around. In Italy I would expect better coffee, not a 'do it all' coffee machine. Bathtub is very slippery, we put a towel on the ground to avoid slipping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Location,with best ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool, dingy lobby and gym. Looks very dated. Ants in the bathroom floor.

    Great breakfast. Beautiful marina view from the terrace. Great location with walking dist. To resturants and shopping stores.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Very nice staff that will go the extra mile to help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking on site, except on the street just in front if you can find a space. There is a public car park, Riviera, but it is 5 minutes away by foot.

    Very nice staff that will go the extra mile to help. Location is excellent, with a great view over the harbour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    A star on the Italian Riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint was breakfast. Out of all our stays, this hotel, probably to be more efficient, had most of the juices equivalent to Tang and the fruit was either over ripe or hard. Salt and pepper were only on the buffet. The pastries were fresh. All in all, This caliber hotel should spend a little more effort on it's breakfasts.

    Excellent location with knockout view of harbor and sea. Pool had great view with lots of deck chairs but was cold. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant Location in Santa Margherita
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a little old fashioned, and could do with a makeover to make it look more modern.

    Brilliant location, and the breakfast was quite good! The bathroom was modern, there was lots of storage in the room, and I liked the terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Very well managed hotel with small rooms but great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greater variety at breakfast like oatmeal or genuine wheat bread would have been nice -for us younger,health -conscious travelers!

    The hotel always had sufficient staff at front desk-so no waiting -for anything!The breakfast had some healthy choices(prunes,granola, soy milk,yogurt) but the fruits were mainly canned-which is a crime in a country known for it's delicious fruits. Wifi was pretty good in room. The rooms were pretty small but the explansive deck compensated for it-and the view over the harbor is better at this hotel than the view at Miramare or Lido Hotels-hands down!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard, I generally don't care about comfort of the bed at hotels because I can easily sleep everywhere but this was very uncomfortable. I hope they will renew the beds in a short while. So that the hotel will be perfect with all facilities.

    Location is perfect, view from the room is incredible. We booked a room with a small balcony but they upgraded it with a terrace one. It was very relaxing spending some time at this terrace looking to a beautiful sea view. It's easy to go Portofine from the hotel, there's a bus station near the hotel but I suggest to go by walking. It takes approximately 1 hour by walking, there is a pedestrian way and the view on this way is very beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Very welcoming staff and helpful with restaurant suggestions, and directions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've had hot eggs scrambled and bacon or sausage for people that are used to a hot breakfast.

    The breakfast was good, lots of choices great coffee attentive wait staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy in the morning because of housekeeping making early the neighbours rooms: lots of loud talking and making noise - should not be at 8 o'clock in a holiday hotel.

    - nice view to harbour and perfect location - friendly night concierge and reception stuff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Great hotel, amazing attitude, 100% recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a great location. People at the reception were very kind and helpful. They made us free upgrade . We received amazing family studio with the large terrace with riiviera view- amazing! Alfredo restaurant next to the hotel is great, real Italian delight! Always we returned there! Thanks for the incredible experience, Hotel Laurin !!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    The Beautiful Italian Coastline
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got to experience an Italian train strike. Fortunately, they put us on a different train and it only delayed us for two hours getting to Santa Margherita Ligure. It would have been good to spend an additional day there.

    The best part was the hotels proximity to the marina and the beautiful views that it afforded. It was also a relatively short walk (10-15 minutes) from the train station to the hotel. Our bus the next morning to Portofino was easy to catch and only 5 Euros round trip. Santa Margherita Ligure is a beautiful city with interesting sights and wonderful restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect to explore SM and Region. The rooms were older style but very comfortable and well serviced.. the roof top pool was a real bonus with a fabulous view across harbour. The hotel manager and staff were also excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel Laurin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location and the hotel was very comfortable. The reception staff were exceptional and were always ready to assist. The view from our hotel room was stunning!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small.

    Amazing views from pool and room balconies. Pool area is lovely to relax in and excellent location right in the heart of Santa margherita.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    Generous relaxed hotel on seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One receptionist a little cool in attitude. Tiles in our bathroom could benefit from regrouting or renewing.

    The location is perfect, bed enormous and very comfortable. Breakfast an extravaganza of choice and abundance. The staff very friendly, warm and helpful. We only stayed one night and arrived quite late so did not use all of the facilities e.g. the pool which was a shame. The hotel "grew on us"-we wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location with good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location that is accessible to key points with a wonderful sea view. We walk to nearby restaurants, shops and the bus or train stations to go to Portofino or Cinque Terre. We were pleasantly surprised and grateful that our sea view room was upgraded to one that had a balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Unforgettable view, pathetic breakfast and no wifi signal in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi signal in our amazing room was totally useless. Breakfast was very simple, poor selection and the same thing every morning. The bathroom was rather small and missing some basics. Nothing 4* about these major shortcomings.

    Our room had a spacious balcony and the most amazing view over the marina - absolutely unforgettable!! The staff was pleasant and competent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Great staff, remarkable service at reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, remarkable service at reception desk. Amazing views from rooms and very good location, close to everything. Big rooms, good beds, very nice shower and ammenities. Fast checkin and out. We recomend it without doubts!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Would like to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, other than would have enjoyed staying longer than 1 night. The town is very quaint with a variety of shops and places to eat.

    Very nicely appointed room, super view over the harbor and lake. Terrace was a great place to relax and enjoy the activity below and the scenery. Overall, a very nice feeling of luxury but not posh, stuffy or pretentious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Wow!!! Loved the experience. Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet in room was 1 bar and would not connect. In lobby and by pool had 4 bars.

    Front staff excellent. Spoke great English. Very helpful. Elevator. Great 180 view of marina. Quite room. Awesome balcony. Lovely pool area. Great breakfast buffet. Enrique made the stay and was the best. We loved room 130.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    Would consider re-visiting for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Lounge area wasn't very comfortable. Swimming pool had no shaded area.

    Great position. Seaview at front. Lovely town very close. Biggest balcony we've ever had.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent view over the harbour and perfectly located. Breakfast room was ideal and supplied everything you could wish for for breakfast. Pool area had wonderful bay views also.Very happy there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.3
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no hot water and they moved our stuff and personal goods to another room without letting as know. Was very upset

    The position of hotel is excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location in a pretty town; near to Portofino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could be a bit noisy, as there is a busy road outside the front of the hotel; however the location compensates for this. There is no restaurant in the hotel, though lots of good places to eat locally.

    Great location and friendly staff. Great view from the room, over the harbour. Good location for visiting Portofino.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Stay here and have a great holiday in Santa Margerita
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Can think of nothing

    excellent location, breakfast adequate, room superb with view over the harbour with large terrace. Staff all helpful and friendly, it was all just perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    6.7
    The location is superb but very limited resources and tiny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is superb but very limited resources and tiny area to relax in the evenings with no restaurant. The pool is nice but very small and it is way over priced for what u get

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    The hotel was close to the main centre of town and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was close to the main centre of town and the beach. Ferry available to get to other towns. The staff were friendly. Our thanks go to Enrico who was so helpful in getting medical and pharmacy services Organised for us. All requests and needs of information were given In a very helpful and friendly manner. We had a lovely balcony room facing the water which was great. A minor thing to mention was the wifi, unavaible most of the time in our room. A lovely stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    The staff makes the hotel....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit basic in terms of furnishing, could use a spruce up....

    Centrally located, very helpful and knowledgeable staff, excellent breakfast and very, very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not renewed since many years Bathroom is poor of bad quality products The materasse is uncomfotable. Its the hotel you use when no others available. Breakfast is poor.

    Nothing No charme

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice and clean hotel with a great poolterrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is a bit expensive according to what you get. But I think it has to do with the area close to Portofino.

    A nice and clean hotel with a perfect pool area facing the port on the roof.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic value clean spacious and cozy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Bedroom was beautiful and spacious The bed was the most comfortable so far on our whole trip (8 hotels so far some 4 & 5 star) staff were excellent Loved the hotels Art Deco flavour too

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels stained with strange smell. Not enough shade by pool area. More umbrellas needed. Make Bar more appealing, perhaps with music or entertainment in the evening. Slow WiFi

    Good size room with good air conditioning. Excellent location; balcony with beautiful sea view, nice breakfast and nice helpful staff. No restaurant but nice restaurant next door.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Laurin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: