Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Dune Sicily Hotel 3 stars

Viale Kennedy 10 B, 95121 Catania, Italy

#54 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 779 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was a bit dirty. Few abandoned buildings nearby. Not so easy to get there from the airport. Can't really walk there. Cab is pricey,costs 20 euro. City centre accessible only by one bus (D line). You can walk if you don't mind walking across the highway, avoiding cars.

    Beautiful hotel and its premises. Very clean,well maintained. The pool is amazing. Easy access to the private beach (which is amazing!). Breakfast is very tasty, big variety of food. We enjoyed their coffee and cream puffs a lot! The staff is helpful and polite. Very comfortable room with air conditioning. Nice view from the balcony! We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff cheerful and helpful. Room adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guess Italians don’t do breakfast! More variety and meat dishes on restaurant menu.

    Restaurant menu very Sicilian but bit limited. Great if you like seafood. Breakfast menu sparse after 08:30 unless you like cake and sugary pastries. Hotel provide taxi service for guests cheaper than town taxis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor surroundings! There's no place to go on the evening in that area! Bad connection to the center! Bus D is horrible!

    Everything! Very helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    Only good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, after a while at the reception we noticed some people well dressed up taking the elevator and found out it was a birthday party. We asked the reception if it would be noisy and apparently it would be. Staying only one night we wanted some peace and quiet as it is normally why we come to a hotel, to have a good sleep... we got a different room located near the parking place. It was quiet but certainly not the standard we paid for. Value for money was very bad...

    Perfect if you are coming from the airport. The staff is friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    A good find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike about the hotel Le Dune. Very nice. However, the beaches across the road are not well kept up, but maybe that's because it's not the season yet.

    Excellent location if you are flying out of Catania. 8 minutes from airport. Easy access from the highways. Looks like a timeshare resort. Mature vegetation, lots of bougainvillea, nice pool, good, simple, stylish rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Really tried to make our short stay comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Close to airport, good access to beach area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi fares are ridiculous.€20 for a 2k journey. Hotel to town by foot is a non starter. Roads too busy, going through the side streets involves walking through an area with broken glass on the floor and seedy doorways. Use a bus for €1 but they don't run after 21.45hrs which is too early when your enjoying a nice meal on your holiday.

    Close to airport, good access to beach area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    Poor Holiday resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Broken sink. Broken electricity socket. Noise. Lack of breakfast even though in the breakfast room early. Uncomfortable beds. Asked numerous times to have our sink fixed & broken throughout the whole stay

    That it was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Rooms OK, service and facilities could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very cold and disinterested reception. Gentlemen at the desk gave us a key, took our passports and that was it. No information about the hotel or the surroundings whatsoever. Other staff were very friendly though! Room and bathroom were much smaller than expected. Also there wasn't a lot of light in the room. The hotel is not within walking distance of Catania (about 40 mins walking, but VERY dangerous as there are no sidewalks) There was practically no WIFI reception in our room or on the balcony. The pool was not prepared yet (we traveled late April), and the fitness was nowhere to be found (probably in the part of the hotel that was under construction).

    Clean and tidy room and bathroom. The hotel has a nice Mediterranean style. Every room has outside seating on the balcony, and there is lot of space outside with grass, trees and hammocks to lounge in. Good restaurant with reasonable prices. The hotel lies across the road from a number of beaches (both with paid access and public). Also close to major roads to explore Sicily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pleasantly surprised when we located Le Dune. We chose it because of its proximity to the Catania airport. The rooms were clean with a view of the garden. We were delighted with the restaurant-it was reasonably priced, very good and the decor was very nice. We would definitely stay there again when flying out of Catania.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice, simple, convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is really tiny.

    The room felt and was perfectly clean. They have several small and cosy picnic sets (table+chairs) right outside the ground floor rooms. Airport poximity: a great choice to stay the night before the early flight tomorrow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.2
    We needed a place near the airport.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed a place near the airport. What I didn't realize is the hotel is somewhat near the airport as the crow flies but not for driving. An expensive cab is needed to get to and from the airport. It would have been just as easy to stay in Catania proper instead of trying to stay at an airport hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Ideally located for Catania Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired, but fine for a late night flight arrival if moving on the next day.

    Very well located for the Airport - only 7 minutes by rental car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Ray of sunshine in the Catania with thounds of faces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't much info regarding the public transportation towards the hotel, from the airport. You can either take the Alibus or you can take bus 524 from airport and switch to bus D in Borcelino. Not much info at the hotel regarding alternatives to get to Mount Etna using public transportantion. The stret near the hotel had no lightning in the evening, but its not the hotel's fault.

    The staff (Cristian) was very nice. The breakfast was good, variat products. The room was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to the hotel will be difficult if you don't have a car. Taxis are a bit expensive. Beach was post apocalyptic. Massive amounts of rubbish. Would be a nice beach otherwise. But we went in the off season.

    Staff were friendly. Helpful. Hotel was nice enough. We went in the off season so hard to judge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    The stay was OK all in all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed - have to change the matrases, some extra hooks to dry the swimming suit and the towels.

    The stuff is great , especially Antonio and Paulina. They both speak good English and were very helpful with the advice how to get around Sicily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    An ok stay but probably wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom has been built in the wrong way, the water in the shower drains all over the floor and almost to the room itself. Very uncomfortable, the shower should have been built with walls.

    The room itself is quite basic but quiet and we slept well there. Also the breakfast was good to the Italian standards but the staff in the breakfast was too busy talking with each other and not filling what was missing in the buffet. The wifi in the room isn't good, it works only 50-50.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast is delicious, the staff is friendly and helped us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach on the sea is dirty, a lot of garbage.

    Breakfast is delicious, the staff is friendly and helped us settle in a comfortable room for us. Good location to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing to complain about, my stay was a very nice experience.

    Loved the wonderful, helpful staff. Very anxious to please, the food was great. Would visit AGAIN!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean, modern, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of swimming pool so close to main road was pretty noisy with traffic passing by.

    Pretty good location, very close to beach and 30 minutes walk from main Piazza. Very helpful and friendly staff, in particular checking out train/bus timetables to other tourist locations for day trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Great for airport but that's about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are from another era. Way overdue a refurb even if the prices increase.

    Location to the airport is helpful. Good for overnight if you have a morning flight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    2.9
    Avoid it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we found that sheets were dirty with a stain with hair stuck on it, and when told about it the person at the front desk said that it was too late to do anything (it was 10 pm). When we insisted, he said that a colleague would come to change the sheets. An employee arrived with fresh sheets, but then just handed them to us to do the changing. We then discovered that he brought the wrong size and called him back. The next day the front desk said that I could not cancel my stay because I had already arrived, and that if I left I would be charged the full amount. He then offered us another room that was just as small and uncomfortable as the first. My impression of this hotel is that it is not at all worth the room rate. The staff, while all smiles, needs some basic training on customer service. They also need to clean the rooms better and invest in some beds that you can actually sleep comfortably on. My biggest complaint, though, is that I don't believe they were honest about their cancellation policy. I should not have to pay for the entire stay if I choose to leave early due to the hotel not being a proper 3 star.

    Proximity to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic comfortable garden at 5min from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast is good but the same everydays - traffic on the road in front of hotel sometimes dangerous, take car when you cross the street to the beach - wifi only in common places, should better in all the rooms

    + very clean + good breakfast + staff very nice + pool clean and with a great staff + close of airport, beach, restaurants, bathroom is large + room comfortable with airco + hamac in the garden + towels at the pool + free wifi in reception and restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    The lady who checked us in was so so lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little claustrophobic being on the ground floor meant we couldn't have our window or shutters open.

    The lady who checked us in was so so lovely. Very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower cabin was very small and poor (at least in my room) Also, the lack of a balcony can be an inconvenience. You can go out in front of the room for a cigarette, but it's not exactly the privacy of a balcony.

    Near the airport for a quick transfer, but also far enough not to be disturbed by the specific noise. Situated right by the beaches, ( vis a vis is the hotel beach and the restaurant there is excellent). Clean pool, neat garden, parking, everything you need for a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.0
    Would pay less for that level of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is shabby and the hotel itself needs to be renovated. The air conditioning system was too noisy, waking us up at night.

    The hotel has a nice territory with a swimming pool and gives possibility to visit the closest beach and use a sunbed and umbrella. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.2
    hostel experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there are a couple of thing: 1. we've got a room on the ground floor so i had to ask them to give us a better room even though half of the rooms were empty(not sure why they are offering the worst rooms first) 2. rats. there were a few rats on the hotels territory. 3. the room was cleaned each day but they could have done a better job. Overall feels like you live in a hostel instead of a hotel.

    The overall experience was good. easy access to the beach, the breakfasts. The staff was really kind and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Really bad and overpriced hotel with nice front desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful. Old and uncomfortable mattresses. The room wasn't exactly clean. Extremely noisy air conditioning. Bad lightning.

    The front desk staff was the highlight of our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Not bad at all for 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean the puffs in the garden so guests can sit on them. They are very dirty.

    It is close to the beach but the area is dirty rough and a lot of trash around. Swimming pool is right next to the street, you don't see the cars much but can hear them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Unfortunately wi-fi was only at the lobby and not in the rooms. The most uncomfortable thing for us was that suites on the first floor dont have any devices to dry towels and swimwear after beach.

    The hotel is quite good. Territory is beautiful and clean. The beach is clean and umbrellas were for free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel & use of wonderful tennis courts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was impossible to walk into Catania because of the pavement (or lack of them) therefor you had to take an infrequent bus or use the hotel taxi

    Rooms nicely situated around the pool & you could see the sea. Food was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    very close to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel is quite basic - we arrived at circa 10pm and the bar was shutting within 30 minutes of arrival and the restaurant had shut. arrived at breakfast and all tables had not been cleared and there was no hot water for coffee/tea - breakfast was average. Beds were very hard.

    very close to airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK, but could be a bit better

    Good location, just 5-7 min walk from the beach, you receive a ticket at the hotel reception with which you access a private beach with sunbeds - very easy and for free. Hotel is clean and beautiful, with nice trees around and a clean nice swimming pool. Nothing bad to say!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel "shuttle" costs 20 euros one way, hotel clean, staff friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It turns out that the shuttle offered by the hotel is actually a taxi service that charges 20 euros for one direction (of 3 km!). I expected the "shuttle" to be free or at least reasonably priced. The breakfast is a matter of taste: mostly sweet baked stuff, white toast bread, one sort of cheese, one sort salamy, boiled eggs, yoghurt. I expected a much more tasty and diverse breakfast from Italy. the fruits were also not very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, close to the beach, all in all ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many staff can barely speak english and the air conditioning in our room was tricky to work out. Stepping out of the hotel's front yard, you're "welcomed" by poor looking abandonded buildings and there is absolutely no grocery shop nearby, not even a corner shop thing. No food stands either. No safe way of crossing the road, nobody blinks an eye at you.

    Scenic surroundings with lovely trees and pool, comfy sitting area at the reception and the bar. Breakfast tasty and what you expect from a 3* place. Room basic but had all necessary things. Friendly and helpful staff. Beach just across the street with free aerosols and sunbeds. Fair selection of the restaurants at the beach. Lovely old town with huge fish and fruit&veg market.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    A good convenient location for Catania airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although clean the accommodation was basic and felt a little like an hostel. Seemed to be mostly students there during our one nights stay. Nearby beach unimpressive.

    Property very conveniently located for a nights stay before or after a Catania airport flight. Good buffet breakfast. Nice outdoor pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.0
    not a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no confirmation of our booking on arrival. I had a printed a copy so we got a room.There was not water for 2 days so we could not shower.My husband told reception that morning and they said it would be back in an hour I was told the same at 7.30 that evening. It did come back but you could not wash in it as it was not safe. The service was not good. Asked reception for a last drink from the bar The bar man at the time was in serving 50 kids in the restaurant,reception offered that we go into the restaurant and get a drink there with the 50 kids. We went to bed. We stayed late May for 2 nights . 2 nights too many.

    Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    5.4
    Good hotel not far from airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant could have been better since the hotel is away from the city.

    Nice hotel with a bit of own garden and parking. Must be very good in summer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.1
    Great if you want to avoid the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast coffee in vacuum flasks. So don't go late if you want a hot coffee. Room air conditioning does not seem to work properly. Front door did not lock. Door jamb out of place.

    Extremely clean rooms and just the right distance from the town centre. Good parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    2.5
    My stay was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like staff.but.specially Mr Ninu the Receptionist. He was a great help to me.when i had a big problem of iiness.he. did every thing to help us,and.we.are greatfull to him.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.2
    It is OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nithing in particular to mention . The general overview was OK .

    Location , outside look is perfect . personell verry nice , every wish i had was fulfilled . Breakfast OK in italian style . Perfect location for what i needed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.1
    Conveniently located small hotel with pool and beach, near to town and airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from a small area of the beach that was kept clean by the staff at The Rainbow, the rest of the beach was covered in litter.

    The pastries at breakfast were great especially the custard doughnuts. The sand was perfect for sand castles.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.5
    Hotel was conveniently located for return to airport next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They only served "American" coffee at the morning breakfast. A disappointment after having excellent espresso for a whole week.

    Hotel was conveniently located for return to airport next day. It is also easy to get to and from the center of the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.3
    4 days in nature's paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No playground for childen, bus D has no actual schedule and is the only public bus service to City Center. We couldn't sleep at noon due to refurbishment works, that were quite loud.

    Wonderful garden and design, very friendly personnel except one older man in the reception. Nice food for fair prices, free bikes for guests use, very good cleaning service, free wi-fi. Good prices for drinks at the bar. Beach very good for children across the street, very nice park at 5 minutes walk, with a turtle lake and rope courses for kids and adults (closed in November when we visited the location). Chinese restaurant with all you can dat menu for 11 € for lunch and 17 € for dinner at 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.4
    Nice pool area, close to the beach, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms really need to be refurbished, especially bathrooms. Area around the hotel was not very pleasant and the walk to Catania centre seemed even dangerous. Dinner in the restaurant - very average

    Nice pool area, close to the beach, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.1
    Facilities were fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personel told me the bus didn't go to Catania city in low season and i needed to take a taxi. But every 30min the bus stopped right outside.

    Facilities were fine

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work properly but once we told reception the fixed it promptly

    The staff at this hotel are amazing. So friendly and welcoming. They were also super helpful in finding our way around Catania

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    We will come back next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If it is possible to serve something different for the breakfast sometimes, would be great :)

    Beautiful hotel just in front of a sandy beach with a view at Etna. Bust stop next to the hotel. Great people! Thank You, we will come back next year for sure!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Pool area really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New mattress for bed needed, could not sleep. Wires was hurting my back :( also water in the shower could nit drain properly!

    Pool area really nice! Nice staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    4.6
    Unless need to avoid Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were shown an awful room first of all and told couldn't change as was done by booking.com and was for a triple (more expensive than double) as no other rooms available they said. Eventually changed to a nicer first floor double (for same price). Room basic but ok with a shower needing a rehaul.Was a reasonable green environment and near the beach sure nice if weather was better. We still went for a windy walk on beach. We decided to try to walk/take bus into the city which became a dangerous endeavour. The bus didn't come so we walked past gypsy camps,us and the stray dogs then couldn't cross the busy road as the footpath just disappeared, it felt quite depressing. We all crossed risking our lives. Eventually got a bus into town. Think if not looking for beach definitely stay in the centre of town where there seemed to be a reasonable vibe. Saying that we had three occasions where people tried to fleece and felt if not in an obvious toursity place it was poor and charged; loads of police about!and I am a city girl- Palermo mad driving but nicer city. Food in Hotel restaurant was expensive and not very good, think keep to pasta and it will suffice. Seemed like either business people or people like us just using for a one night stop. It served it's purpose.

    Welcome drink was nice touch. We chose as by the beach and not central, so felt easier for carrying too much luggage for a one night stay rather than up to the heights in the city centre. Close to the airport so handy for flight.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    not what I was expecting, room although brightly painted was dark, if everyone staying at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bedroom window opening onto a rubbish tip, I thought I was getting a balcony room bright and airy, could have been planted with colourful shrubbery. ran out of English tea on the fourth day. no toaster

    hotel was clean, no problems with continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.3
    Large room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit spooky in october. Next to abandonned buildings. Industrial area, but maybe different in high season.

    Large room and bathroom. Good airco. Breakfast was good. The hotel area itself is charming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Pragmatic B&B with swimming pool, no luxury, nice service, parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As small details, the hair dryer didn't work in our room. There is no bacon or sausages in the breakfast, for those meat lovers. Plus you need to be careful with mosquitos if you open the windows during the evenings!

    At first sight we thought it was not very nice but after one night our opinion was better. You can see that the hotel is not new but the apartments are reformed, new windows and doors, new wood floor and new beds (or at least quite firm and comfortable). At the beginning the bathroom doesn't look great either but shower and WC work perfectly, despite not very beautiful. There is also air conditioner in the room, very useful during the summer. Service is very helpful and friendly, although maybe not the best English speakers. They offer you a welcome drink in the bar and there is also water in the room fridge on your first day. Breakfast is quite complete (fresh fruit, different types of bread, eggs and natural tomato, cheese and ham, cereals, mini croissants, homemade cakes) and they make great Italian coffee for you, on demand. You can also go to a very near beach, crossing the road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    4.6
    Location is very convenient for Catania airport (5 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mosquitoes were very bad mid Sept. We were eaten alive! also, unfortunately there were large parties of students and school children there at the same time, who swarmed everywhere and took up all the sunbeds and chairs around the pool and in the bar. Quite noisy. We don't criticise the hotel for this, they have to make a living, but it was our bad luck. The food in the restaurant wasn't great either compared to our travels around the rest of Sicily. The quality wasn't great, and it was expensive. We couldn't get into our room until after 3pm though - we think the students wouldn't get out of bed!

    Location is very convenient for Catania airport (5 minutes drive) and there are fuel stations if you have to refill a hire car. The city centre is within walking distance, about 15-20 minutes, although this is alongside a very busy dual carriageway so not very pleasant. Convenient for the beach too if required.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice pool, very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ok for the price you pay but Catania is not the city for tourist attractions, it is very dirty. Walking from the hotel to the city centre seems like you are in dirty Asian cities. The beach is sandy but boring, nothing to do there, no beach bars.

    Nice pool, very close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.3
    Free access to a lovely beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room got some mosquito's in as we left the windows open and our room was at ground floor. Bathroom could be bit better. Hand wash basin is small.

    Free access to a lovely beach. Nice pool at hotel. Decent breakfast Cheap drinks at hotel bar itself

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    September break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic continental breakfast

    Nice hotel good location close to the airport and Catania center.The room are clean daily well done to the staff great work. The pool is very clean and all the area most enjoyable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    - right across the street from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - difficult to get into town if you don't have a car and there aren't any restaurants or shops in the area - the pool was right by the street so it was pretty noisy - the rooms could have been a little more modern and well kept

    - right across the street from the beach - the complex itself looked very good (alleys with flowers and trees) and some comfy couches around the garden - big, clean pool - good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Good value for 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine for our needs. Rooms would be basic if staying for longer.

    Very close to airport.We only staued one night as a stopover but breakfast was very nice and the staff could not have been more helpful or nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Perfect choice to relax for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel location is just not suitable for a long stay for a beaching purpose, so just don't consider it for a one or two weeks of reside and you'll be not disappointed. I mean - the road is just near, the see with a cargo harbor view, lack of any city activity around and so on.

    Very good choice to stay for a couple of days before/after long trip across the Sicily. There is a private and very clean beach just few minutes walking, hotel's pool is also clean and a very rich breakfast also included. Perfect to relax and do nothing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    8.3
    Perfect place to enjoy your last days before take the flight back to reality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner time was quite restrictive to be in Sicily (or let's day south of EU)

    Perfect location, in front of the Beach and 20 min from the Airport. The staff was really really nice. The access to the Lido in the beach is included, so apart of the swimming pool you can enjoy the facilities of a typical Sicilian Beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.3
    The hotel grants acess to the beach with 2 chairs and an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant was very noisy, we ended up dining elsewhere.

    The hotel grants acess to the beach with 2 chairs and an umbrella. The room was clean and rather comfortable. The hotel is relatively close to the airport (~15min in car, 20€ buy taxi). The staff is pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.9
    Really nice pool area and bar / sitting areas - free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location seems close to the centre of Catania, it's actually not very convenient. The public bus system seems almost non-existent (not worth waiting for anyway), the walk isn't very nice along a busy / dirty highway type road that feels quite unsafe at night and a taxi is €15-20. Recommend if you have a car or don't plan to visit the city centre.

    Really nice pool area and bar / sitting areas - free access to a great beach over the road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff tried to be helpful but language was a problem (which is fair enough - it is a foreign country!). But would have been good if they had printed a welcome sheet with useful info on in all the various languages. (Eg - things about the hotel/ restaurants/ supermarkets / taxis etc). Very small shower!

    Pool and pool area was lovely. Although not many sun loungers it was never a problem getting one (people didn't leave towels out when not using). Each sun lounger had it's own shade thing for your head/face which was great. Breakfast wasn't hot but had a nice variety. Room cleaned every day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    4.2
    Don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is just front of the national road and you have to cross the road to access the beach. The facilities were broken, no wifi in the room, staff who does not speak English

    Convenient parking and close from the center if you have a car

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many good restaurants in the area. If you want to go to the city centre there isn't a good way to cycle to the center (not a problem of the hotel but still)

    Very friendly staff. Great that we could use the bikes for free! Great swimmingpool with a very friendly lifeguard from Kenia. Good price for what you get, to bad I only stayed so short in this place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.2
    Inexpensive and beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel could do with a little bit of re-furbishment especially the shower cubicles which are old and very small. I really cannot understand why they are not replaced considering that the bathroom is very big. Other than this I fully recommend it.

    Splendid location and beautiful setting. A very nice uncluttered hotel with lots of facilities such as a pool and private beach available for residents. Large clean rooms. Inexpensive. Good breakfast and Wifi. They offer free parking on site. Highly recommended especially if travelling by car.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is outdated. The shower is so tiny. There is al lot of traffic. The bus D in front of the hotel most of the time arrived after 30/40 minutes in stead of 20 minutes. On arrival you could hardly get into this overcrowded bus. Walking to the city is not an option; it is too dangerous because after a couple minutes there ia a highway.

    The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was great. Every day fresh fruit, warm croissants, meats and cheese and a lot of bread. It was the best breakfast during our long stay in Sicily. A very large, clean and nice swimmingpool. The room was very large and suitable for 3 persons. Since two years the hotel has a new management. According to a taxidriver they made a lot of improvements.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.7
    The pool was wonderful and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good except for the beds, they were entirely way to hard to sleep comfortably, I mine as well have slept on a tile floor, the pillows were flat and worn out, the showers were really small, I could hardly move around to wash, the food at the hotel restaurant was not worth the money i paid, other then that... It was a decent place to stay a couple days.

    The pool was wonderful and very clean. The inside bar was great as well. The staff was great. The location was amazing and bear plenty of night life and right across from the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.1
    Good value for money, but that's about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast was a challenging experience: random stuff missing all the time (plates, spoons, forks, glasses), food would not be restocked for long periods, and you always had to ask the staff for whatever was missing, even if they were in the vicinity, usually just looking busy or talking to each other. The shower cabin in the bathroom was desgined for liliputians: a rough 40x40cm.

    The location is a bonus, and you have a bus that runs direct to the city center. Also, the hotel has an agreement with a nearby beach which means you don't have to pay for the facilities (chairs and umbrella)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Good living
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few restaurants, wi-fi only at the reception

    The pool was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small gloomy. Air conditioner not working properly. Area was not great, beaches were dirty.

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location and lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vi-Fi need to be stronger :)

    Good location and lovely staff!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent alternative to more expensive airport hotels...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in experience was easy and the dinner was excellent... All the staff exceptionally helpful at all times.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Le Dune Sicily Hotel traveller photo gallery