Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Pozze Di Lecchi 4 stars

Località Molinaccio, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy

#5 of 12 hotels in Gaiole in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 275 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of food options. I am pregnant and some of the food options for dinner were so hard as they also have a lack of vegetarian options. More sides amd alternatives need to be offered as there isnt much around to eat in the hotel :( Dirt path driving up to the hotel wasn't fun as we were so scared of driving at night lack of street lights and no barriers on the edge. Dirt path needs some work as our car got stuck - very dangerous especially if you are on hill with no edges!

    The beauty of the hotel and views were amazing. Director of the hotel was so accommodating!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road to the hotel was rough..but fine.

    Overall, Hotel Le Pozze Di Lecchi is a beautifully restored mill, set in the rolling hills of the Chanti region. The grounds and surrounding woods are peaceful and equally stunning, drawing you in and forcing you to slow down a bit. My wife and I did something we hadn’t done in 35 years. We took a stroll around the grounds, ending up on the banks of the small stream, under the bridge. We just listened to the wind in the trees for over an hour. It was bliss. I highly recommend this hotel, if you need a little peace and quiet. Remember, transportation can be an issue (to and from) so plan ahead. Also, the 1.3K road to the hotel is unpaved and not for the faint of heart. Other than that….It’s a wonderful place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and the nature are really amazing. The staff was really caring and helpful. We also enjoyed the restaurant and the spa, everything was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The access road. The access road..... I do think that this hotel is closed when it`s not summer as I can`t imagine anybody driving on a 15% angle road during rain or snow! 1.1 km of dirt road which in some parts, because of the incline and the quality, it really looked like we were in an off-road competition. Killed the spirit to go out several times a day just by thinking of having to endure that road with a rental.

    Very isolated place, really good to relax, restaurant is a good choice for dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not really supportive, rooms very dark and furnishings are old. Lots of mosquitos and rooms need cleaning. Spa only at an extra surplus of 30€ per person: ridiculous.

    Beautiful surroundings and building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just take care on the unmade road to reach the property. First gear helped up the first section otherwise we were struggling in the Opel Corsa hire car in keeping traction on a steep, pot hole covered incline :) Also check when the restaurant is open for dinner. There's loads of options in the local villages but the hotel closes for staff nights off.

    Tucked away in the Tuscan countryside, with a 1.3km driveway, meant we could truly escape for a long weekend. Staff were really attentive and helpful. Breakfast was great. Dinner was delicious. Outdoor pool was really relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The spa costs EUR30 each to use for only an hour and a half which I thought was a little expensive given the cost of the hotel already so we chose not to pay this. When we checked out we also had not been told (on arrival or by any email previously) that you need to pay the tourist tax in cash. Perhaps we could suggest informing guest whilst they're checking in as it's unlikely that people are carrying cash if its the last day of their holiday!

    Lovely hotel in a perfect location to visit Siena for the day as well as enjoy Chianti wine tasting! The room was really spacious, clean and air-conditioned. The pool was fabulous and as its a small hotel it was nice and quiet. There was a good selection of pastries, fruit salad, cold meat, coffee and juices for breakfast and the staff were very attentive. The evening meals were also fantastic - We loved the tiramisu! If you want to eat out from the hotel, there is also a path that you can take and walk to Lecchi where the Ristorante Malborghetto is well worth the visit! Amazing food!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights on booking.com for four people. But, when we arrived after a 3 hour car ride through rolling hills and a steep rocky road in 100 degree heat, we were told by the hotel manager that the owner made a mistake and only booked 1 room instead of 2 rooms for the first night. While annoying, they did make it up to us by arranging for all of us to stay in a nearby castle that night instead. Whatever, everyone makes mistakes, not a huge deal. The castle was actually much nicer than the hotel and we wish we just stayed there the second night. The hotel manager was overall contrite and friendly. We still were in good spirits when we came back for the second night at pozze di lecchi, and they put a free bottle of wine in our rooms. But, the rooms had so many insects inside the room!! I woke up at night getting bit by bugs INSIDE the bed which I saw with my own eyes. This concerned me. I am not afraid of bugs at all but it was so unpleasant sleeping while getting bit. We went to the lobby at 8am to tell the receptionist, who laughed it off and basically said "this is the country, what do you expect?" We know it is the country, but this was the 5th place we stayed within Tuscany and did not have this problem at other hotels/agriturismos/castles. We even said we only told her for their own information before other guests stay in that room, to which she replied "our guests know it is the country, they know there will be bugs here." Her attitude was condescending and dismissive and we left in poor spirits feeling like we just got duped somehow. All four of us are doctors but we were treated like children by some of the staff. I would not recommend this place to anyone and would never stay here again. There are more hospitable places out there.

    Bar in the lobby had complimentary croissants and oranges. Pool was cool on a very hot summer day. It was nice to have restaurant on site and the dinner was very good. Waiter was nice and the restaurant was not crowded. Pretty tomato garden to look at near the pool. Rooms all had A/C which was necessary on a 105degree day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we regretted going for dinner at the hotel, the quality of the food was excellent but it was very overpriced for two courses and our portions were small. In comparison we had a meal at a similarly priced hotel the night before for the same price but for five courses.

    Great location, very helpful staff who advised us about a nearby wine tasting experience. Lovely pool and comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival we learned that the wellness had to be booked for private use for extra charge of 30 EUR/person. We only chose this place because of the wellness. The swimming pool is not yet operating, and will not be open until summer. The room was tiny with old furniture. The staff in the reception was not friendly with me after I complained about the wellness issue. The place is in the middle of nowhere, be prepared to take a 10 min dirty road uphill from the main road, our smartfor4 had troubles taking it.

    It was in a nice forest, by a tiny river, in the place of a former mill. The food and wine were very good in the restaurant, with great service, breakfast not bad however there could have been more variety of food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food could be served somewhat hotter in the restaurant.

    We had a wonderful stay. The old mill is beautifully restored and makes for a very comfortable stay. The staff are very attentive. The restaurant is good and the flavours excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was refreshing but a little chilly even in late August on a sunny day; pretty sure it isn't heated. We could hear our upstairs neighbors walking around and talking in the mornings in our cottage house. I usually wear ear plugs anyway, which solves this issue. The location is slightly remote, although not that big of a deal because you will need to have your own car to be staying here anyway. Probably most notably, it takes at least 45 minutes to get to Sienna. If you want to stay here as your single location to travel all around Tuscany, just keep this in mind, and the driving scenery is beautiful.

    This is probably the best overall value we had at anywhere we stayed, our trip also including time in Rome, Florence, and Amalfi Coast. This is because of the quality of the accommodations, restaurant, pool, wine selection, and overall experience. The on site restaurant was one of my favorites, if not my number one, on our entire 9 day vacation in Italy. Prices were average or below average and the delicious food was cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend the pear and pecorino crostini, fresh lasagne, fresh pasta with wild boar sauce, and chocolate lava cake. The outdoor dining area is serene, and made the otherwise average / good breakfast a fond memory. Good coffee and eggs were notably available and free at breakfast. The two tiered pool is beautiful and we had a wonderful time lounging out there with our wine on a sunny day. A good selection of local wine is available to buy in the lobby. You can apparently walk to the town of Lecchi on a foot path through the countryside direct from the hotel, we saw the path but didn't have time. Something to look forward to next time. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we asked about our free drink as a genius perk we were told they have no promotion like that through booking.com

    Beautiful lodging and grounds. Good location for wine tasting and exploring. Breakfast was great with lots of options and dinner in the hotel was delicious. Booked a massage and it was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing!

    The staff were especially helpful and engaging. The meals were outstanding! The restoration of the farmhouse was meticulously completed and added so much to the experience. The elevator was a nice touch as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the 1,5km dirt road to reach the hotel and the tiny shower

    The beautiful views and the very helpful staff,excellent pool and the food was top rate particularly the home made lasagne followed by homemade panacotta,yum,yum,yum

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff needs to understand that tourist traveling to the location do not want to be displaced, inconvenienced, or directed to another location for dining. Customer service is lousy and they were very rude to my lovely girlfriend.

    The charming feel of a historic property.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool, the food and the staff were all fantastic! Extremely relaxed. Small "hidden" things like tidying the room while at breakfast, were noted and appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious room with jacuzzi. Remote place but without any problems with wi-fi. Very friendly staff. A place to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not completely fresh and rooms not very well maintained

    Location and kind staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All up a very nice place to stay in Tuscany, very relaxing! Nice people, helpful, great dinner too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    slightly tricky white road to hotel

    caring,courteous,charming staff,excellent pools,tranquil location,good breakfast,good value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in room not great.

    Staff very helpful, hotel in very nice setting, pool area very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful driveway which was 1.3 km long and untarred and a rough track

    Excellent breakfast with lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The position was fantastic , pool fantastic, rooms beautiful , staff v v efficient especially Sandro , loved it here !!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the hotel is tricky because it's a muddy path uphill

    Air conditioning!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic quiet location in the heart of the Chianti region. Good restaurant. Great Pool(s).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is superlative

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location for travelling around Chianti Classico wineries. Nice food. So helpful reception staffs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very cold and shöuld be a little bit cleaner

    Breakfest perfekt

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast. Perfect Italian espresso!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So delicious breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location in the middle of the Tuscany, friendly and helpful staff, nice dinner in the restaurant and calm swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovlier dining room.

    The room and view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the spa acces costs 60 euro

    The place is beautiful Lovely surroundings Great pool and gardens

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is very remote and you definitely need a car as there is no taxi service available when you are there.

    Hotel remote but very beautiful ,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service in the restaurant for dinner was a little disappointing and the food was average. Much better for breakfast service... Maybe we had a bad day.

    Staff in the desk went out of their way to assist and provided multiple suggestions of things to do in Chianti.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The professionalism of a luxury hotel with the warmth of naturally kind and nice tuscan people! The hotel is wonderful, an old mill from '500 beautifully restored and very well kept. All you have around is forest, all you hear is birds singing, water running from the river and the breeze. In a 10 mins walk, through an unpaved road with breathtaking views you can get to the small and beautiful Village of Lecchi. The road to get to the hotel is unpaved but we did not have any issues with our mini because the surface is even. It's enough to go slowly enjoying the forest around. We had dinner at the restaurant 3 times and it was excellent, quality ingredients and delicate preparation and presentation. The breakfast plenty of choice and everything was fresh or homemade. The hotel is close to wonderful places: Siena, Val d'Orcia, San Gimignano. Apart from being a stunning location, the real treasure of this hotel is the staff!! Each one of them were fantastic, they are a wonderful team always available and eager to help. They are really passionate about what they do and the place they work at. At the same time, they know how to respect your spaces and intimacy. We cannot thank them enough for the interesting chats, suggestions and for spoiling us. When travelling is nice to discover beautiful places, it is even better to meet great people!! Grazie di cuore per i preziosi consigli e l'incredibile accoglienza Sandro, Benedetta, Vladi, Francesca, Elisa, Sig.ra Carla e marito. Non vediamo l'ora di tornare! Daniela e Juan

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the shortest way till hotel. Ask your gps for help to find it! :) If you don't try it with rented not 4x4 car, you will not be able to say that you visited.. only stayed.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The dusty road upto the hill was extremely bad. Nothing for sport cars. They seemed to be forced to keep it in its "original" status, no asphalt and no concrete is allowed. There were aggressive moskitos at the pool. But It was tolerable, and I believe it might be season related. Overall it didn't disturb much.

    The swimming pool was excellent and well thought. The promenade in the forest to Lecchi and discovering one of the best restaurants I have ever tried.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting to the hotel is a bit tricky with a low chassis car (due to an unpaved road that leads there); room we stayed in could have been more thoroughly cleaned (especially windows)

    Amazing location - surrounded by beautiful Tuscan landscape; nice property with great outdoor swimming pools

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road to the hotel from the main road was really a challenge for a sportscar with 2-wheel drive. Steep and dirty.

    Very discrete, nothing but nature in sight. Nice staff and service. Great food, breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not easy to find. No transport available to or from the hotel. Once at the hotel staff could not organise transport.

    Loved the location and surrounding villages.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa/sauna had to be pre-booked at only certain times of the day.

    Staff were very friendly, great food, allowed pets, beautiful get away.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed.... But never found a bed in Italy that I did like....

    buildings stone work; isolation

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La location, un'oasi di pace

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Le Pozze Di Lecchi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: