Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Renaie 3 stars

Località Pancole 10/B, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#40 of 44 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location for touring to San Giignano and Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful. We were able to have a cup of tea in the afternoon in the lounge. The gardens are beautifully maintained with large hydrangeas. On Tuesday the restaurant is closed but they directed us to their sister hotel, the Villa San Paolo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Very nice comfortable family run hotel, ecxellent service, good food, absolutely just what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Insect bites! whilst we had dinner so did they....

    The quiet location in the hills just a short distance from San Giminagno. Breakfast and dinner on the terrace/verandah.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was kind of hard to find because it didn’t come up on my GPS. Other than that, no problems.

    Nice and quiet. Had a great pool. Breakfast was good. Roseann was a great hostess. Room was beautiful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful, quiet spot with a great location for discovering Tuscany without a high cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property was as described, we were very happy.

    Wonderful, friendly staff. Went over and above to accommodate our sometimes unreasonable requests. Extremely clean, plenty of parking, just a few minutes from San Gimnignano without a high cost, beautiful views, good breakfast including eggs and bacon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay here, the room was of reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our stay here, the room was of reasonable size, the view from the hotel porch was superb, we enjoyed a great breakfast in the morning on the porch. We were on a three week tour of Italy and finally got a chance to enjoy real scrambled eggs and bacon along with the other offerings. Evening meal in the restaurant was equally enjoyable. Staff spoke good English which helped with our bad Italian immensely! Free on-site parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect hotel in a beautiful location with charming staff who made us feel extra welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It can't be improved on.

    We booked in for one night and stayed the week! The hotel is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. We have a lovely room with balcony overlooking the garden. The food is great and it is very good value for money. Also, the location, just a few miles from San Gimignano is the perfect spot from which to explore this beautiful region.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice family run hotel . Quaint and clean. Included breakfast was good and plentiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are hard and the door has to be locked with a key both when you are inside the room and leaving . The front desk doesn’t come in until 8 am . You must check out the night before if leaving early for the airport

    Staff very friendly and accomadated all of our requests

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Pictures from the website, extremely nice and multilingual...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loud, shouting people (I guess other tourists) at night. Cigarette smoke in the breakfast area, restaurant and on my balcony. Felt nauseated from it. Internet non-existent in the room, you have to run with your laptop in the reception area to get it!

    Pictures from the website, extremely nice and multilingual stuff. Good hard working people able to tolerate any kind of tourists.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    relaxed and informal. Fantastic food in a great setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we were there for five nights and no complaints at all

    just loved the `feel` of the place. Old fashioned family values but with a terrific level of service and care. That can only come from a real `hands on` management style that is sadly lacking in many chains these days

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location and comofrtable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    service a little patchy...otherwise all is good

    Nice location, comfortable if small rooms. clean and tidy. lovely breakfast balcony and useful pool. friendly staff and reasonable choice of breakfast foods...tip..get there early as they can be a little slow to top up.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything was excellent. a very quiet place in the countryside with a nice view over hills. about 15 min driving to san-gimignano, a fantastic small medieval town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    The property itself was really clean and in a nice and quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property itself was really clean and in a nice and quiet area, nearby San Gimignano. It had a nice swimming pool which always is a plus and breakfast was very good. The most important for me was the service, people there were very welcoming and kind, always paying attention to you at breakfasts/dinners and giving you advice of the area/activities to do around. I enjoyed a lot my stay and definitely come back if I can.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Great little family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very slow,

    Very friendly easy going small hotel... nice location.... great swimming pool, good restaurant... and off course Dante To make the experience even better they could hang out information about things to see and do in the area (e.g. Town market days, concerts, events...) they already have a small selection available but a lot of events aren't mentioned... ( just a small detail however)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    We would love to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have any complaints.

    Staff was lovely . The Breakfast was superb. We wished that we could have stayed to have a dinner with them and further enjoy their spectacular garden.We loved our stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    A week in Tuscany ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    An idylllic location in a quiet village on a ridge in the Tuscan hills just north of San Gimignano. We stayed three times in the 1990's and returned after 19 years to find it was still the same wonderful hotel, still run by the same family. The rooms are clean and bright, now with WiFi, the swimming pool has been upgraded. Breakfast and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace. It's a great base for exploring Tuscany or just relaxing, resort-style.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent would recommend it to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views ,the property facilities,the whole Tuscan view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, excellent standards relaxed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice, scrambled egg and bacon everyday, continental style, delicious fruit platter, all constantly topped up!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    OK for short stay but too far from the main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    Located too far from San Gimignano and with no other bar or restaurant for competition.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place with amazing views, great staff and location from San Gimingnano 7 mins by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The orange interiors downstairs!!

    Staff were amazing and great rooms. In hiuse restaurant food was out of this world.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    A hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Peaceful, quiet setting. Staff helpful and friendly. Spotlessly clean. Fabulous showers- great water pressure!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Location, room, staff, value for money. Hard to find fault. We booked for one night, and upon arriving immediately extended to another night. I would go back tomorrow.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Great location about ten minutes drive from San Gimignano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was only open at lunchtime; we were quite annoyed that they didn't tell us this at the time of booking, as it meant we had to drive to a restaurant every night. If we had known this we would not have stayed there as we prefer to be able to eat and have a drink and walk back to the hotel room. Also the breakfast was very poor, especially when you consider the price of staying at the hotel. I would have expected much more fresh food and more variety.

    Great location about ten minutes drive from San Gimignano. Lovely clean room and the pool was great. Really friendly staff who were happy to recommend restaurants. Very peaceful and this was the only place in Tuscany where we saw a few hummingbird moths - maybe because the beautiful garden attracted them.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    5.8
    It was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is outside San Gimignano you need a car and in case you are hungry for dinner the restaurant is closed. The photos are much nicer than reality and is overpriced in general. We are in a roadtrip in italy and we stayed in much luxury hotels with much more facilities in places like Genova cinque terre chianti como with the same amount of money.

    It was clean and tidy. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.2
    It was what I expected from the view on the internet, quite,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was what I expected from the view on the internet, quite, and comfortable the pool very clean. Had a great time, all the staff happy and for us being from Australia were able to speak english very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.1
    Rooms are very clean and spacious, nice pool area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was advised on my arrival at 6pm that the restaurant was closed that evening and the following evening. This was extremely disappointing as I had no car and the nearest restaurant was 3 km away. I was offered a pizza which was delicious but disappointing as part of the attraction of italy is choosing from various delicious options on a menu. Also on the sun lunchtime, I was advised i required a reservation for lunch (first time that week this occurred) , that they were very busy as had a private function and the kitchen was too busy. They did offer me a sandwich but I was disappointed no one advised at breakfast that I needed a reservation that day.

    Rooms are very clean and spacious, nice pool area and friendly helpful staff.. Gardens are beautiful and very well cared for

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.2
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was edging towards tired in appearance but it was comfortable enough

    Stunning location. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    family run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    family run. spotlessly clean. lovely food.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    WiFi could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi could be better

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.6
    The staff, room and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff, room and the food.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: