Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Dune 4 stars

Via Lungomare 16, 04016 Sabaudia, Italy

Review score

Based on 466 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Stunning location with so much potential, lovely friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness overall needs improving. Service in the restaurant is diabolical. The building is really tired and crying out for a makeover. Not a 4 star at the moment.

    Stunning location with so much potential, lovely friendly staff at the Kid’s Club. Informal, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, with beautiful pool and access to a big...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though room was very clean and beds comfy it smelled of old and a bit humid. Wardrobe very old and smelly. Toilet needs a good modern face lift.

    Great location, with beautiful pool and access to a big clean sandy beach. Bar staff, beach staff, and all hotel staff very courteous, professional and helpful. Breakfast ok. Dinner not so much for Italian standards

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok, but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception unfriendly and beach umbrella’s to close together, very uncomfortable. So we went to public beach with more space.

    View was nice of sea and beach Clean beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent services - fabulous beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor of the hotel is very traditional, old-style. It would warrant an update to be a fabulous hotel.

    The beach and services at the beach were fabulous. The beach staff were super nice! The services at the hotel and comfort overall were very good - better than expected. The A/C in the room worked well and was quiet. Parking was easy just outside the reception (in and out as you like). On check-out you can still have use of the pool (chairs and towels) so you can still go to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    A lovely holiday in an ugly room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tragic! It had a terrible smell when I arrived, I had to keep the windows open for all 5 days!the hotel didn’t have any improvement since it was built ( in the 70’s , I guess), really old furniture, a quiet disgusting smelly little fridge, the door didn’t work that well neither. I could’nt use the wardrobe neither, too stinky for my clothes!the bathroom old and didn’t feel clean . The staff was really embarassed for my complains, they couldn’t do much.the room was far too expensive for its commodities.

    I loved the good position next to the beach, the staff next to the swimming pool/ beach was extremely helpful and nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, relaxing stay. Overpriced and in need of renovation. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had seen better days and could use a complete renovation, which would have been ok if the price we paid reflected that, which it did not. The charge for a triple room resulted in us getting a double room with an uncomfortable cot taking up what open space there was in the room. All furnishings are old and ready for replacement. The restaurant dinner menu is rather limited and you would need to drive to find another restaurant.

    The beach is amazing. The view from the room onto the beach was so nice to have (would only stay if I had a sea view). The breakfast that was included was very good, too. Pool, though not used by us, looked great - clean and well kept. Parking was included. Staff were friendly but knowing a bit of Italian would have helped - you are off the beaten track for North American tourists. Room included an umbrella, chair, lounger and towels on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Not worth going to from the USA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too isolated, and showing too many signs of aging. The Staff was somewhat aloof and didn't make an effort to interact with guests. It was a "here's your key and see you," type of attitude. The Reception insisted that my original pre-payment of 588 euros (converted at US$699) was actually 568 euros and asked for the small difference. I even showed them your email, but they were inflexible. Finally, the room itself: a dark, dingy looking, courtyard facing, room which required to physically remove a screen before being able to open the shutters. I told the reception that I didn't go to the hotel to be in "prison," and requested a room with a sea view, which was promptly granted for an additional 199 euros. In the United States the hotel would have been more accomodating.... There was another episode that left me quite disconcerted on Thursday night, June 15, in the hotel restaurant. The head waiter, on the pretext that there were no available tables, upbraided me for not having made a reservation. No one at the Front Desk had bothered to mention that when I arrived. Contrary to what the head waiter had stated, I observed that 2/3 of the tables were empty upon walking into the restaurant, during dinner, and on leaving. His claim was petty and without merit, and as a senior citizen, I resented it deeply. That's LE DUNE for you! I sensed from day one, when the hotel insisted on a non-refundable full paynent, that something would not go right. And it sure didn't! Cordially, Franco Antonini PS-I'd be happy to write to Le Dune's Milan "sede legale," and in Italian, if you think it would make for a stronger case.

    The hotel seaview is unarguably beautiful, with a great beach and crystal clear waters.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    hotel should keep it's maintenance more strictly, and handle small details like the wifi and t.v.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel was very disappointing in terms of their help to provide wifi service in my room, it was really annoying. and the t.v. is flat screen but impossible to open with remote control, also impossible to change the channels.

    testaccio is a great place to stay, for those who don't like to hang around with tourists, it feels like true rome, the market is great, and just nearby. great bars and restaurants all over.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely weekend in September
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At least the room we stayed in needs renovation, in particular the bathroom. Furniture a bit outdated.

    The position of the hotel is just excellent and Sabaudia is really the best beach close to Rome, in my view. I also like to the style of the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Nice view from the hotel room onto the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Overall, very nice property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was a little bit of a "tight" fit.... the eggs at breakfast could be cooked a little more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    It was a very nice and pleaseant stay. The location is gorgeous the food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit aged but clean and comfortable

    The staff, the location, the view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely minibreak just in front the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late check-in time

    It was a pleasant experience just in front of the seaside. The breakfast is very nice and the stuff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Not great value for money but comfortably on the beach and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really shabby.

    Easy just on the beach near everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel in a remote area, ( which is not a bad thing but we needed a vechile)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get to by public transportation. Need to have a car.

    Nice beach, quiet, clean, helpful staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely gorgeous beach. Very good breakfast! This is the place to come back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff, room, breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Patio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle

    Patio

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very firm.

    Everything about the hotel was first rate. I particularly like the proximity to the center of town. It was a short walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    pool , beach and overall location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast buffet could be better

    pool , beach and overall location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    They focus on making you welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pre arrival communication

    The staff and the atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    It was quite, fantastic and the perfect get-away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite, fantastic and the perfect get-away. Can't wait to go again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.7
    great beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    furniture/room can be improved

    position excellent; restaurant good furniture/room can be improved staff very kind

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.0
    Their food and the service in the restaurant - perfect - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Their "classic" rooms - in our opinion catastrophic (rooms with sea view and balcony ok) - the behaviour of the hotel manager

    Their food and the service in the restaurant - perfect - the beach well entertained

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    6.3
    The hotel was nice, and right on the beach which led to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in this hotel for three nights and three days without a working air conditioner the entire time. We informed staff the night we arrived and were told it would be fixed the next day and it was not. When we told them again they insisted it was working. My fiance repairs air conditioners for a living, and assured them that it was not working. The staff was polite, but nothing was done to fix anything during our stay. The restaurant was extremely overpriced for dinner.

    The hotel was nice, and right on the beach which led to beautiful scenery. It wasn't far from Sabaudia in fact we walked from town to the hotel one night. The breakfast offered was good and had more variety than other places we'd stayed. The staff was polite and helped us when they could.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.4
    Far too pricey for what would be a 75 euro hotel room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far too pricey for what would be a 75 euro hotel room elsewhere. I stayed here 25-30 years ago and found not much has changed including the decor which is now shabby and sorely needs refreshing or a complete make-over. A martime theme would be nice for this beach hotel. The pool is very small though perfect for families with small kids. Very poor mobile service and sketchy Wifi in our room though ok in public areas and hallway. Nice breakfast though on balcony overlooking sea. Friends in the area told me there is at least one better hotel nearby for our next visit.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.3
    la posizione
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    ero stata a Le Dune tantissimi anni fa: non è cambiato nulla da allora per quanto riguarda le maniglie delle porte delle stanze da letto, la rubinetteria dei bagni, le parti metalliche dei lumi. Non solo non sono cambiate, e fanno ribrezzo a toccarli!

    la posizione

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    9.2
    Balcony in our room looking out to sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant food expensive, quality not as good as last visit.

    Balcony in our room looking out to sea. Hotel is right on the beach. Staff all very helpful from reception to bar to restaurant, especially with gluten free food.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    7.1
    Great location, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable beds, outdated bathrooms, insects in room

    Great location, wonderful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    All of the staff are very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    All of the staff are very helpful and friendly. They go out of their way to ensure you are looked after.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    The location and the view over the sea from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restarant could be better and the waiters much, much better.luxu

    The location and the view over the sea from the room.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.1
    Location - Terrace overlooking the sea - Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ageing bedrooms and furnitures

    Location - Terrace overlooking the sea - Staff

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.5
    Private beach with chairs and an umbrella provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some refurbishment should be done especially in a bathroom. Too many flies.

    Private beach with chairs and an umbrella provided.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Hotel Le Dune traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: