Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leon Bianco 3 stars

Piazza della Cisterna 13, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#17 of 44 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1484 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    - The view and location of the hotel is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast buffet could have been better, but I set other priorities when travelling

    - The view and location of the hotel is amazing - A lot of bars and restaurants around

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel with great location in the heart of San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    W-LAN reception in our rooms was quite weak, but we were able to get by.

    The location can't be beat, right in the middle of the town. Rooms overlooked the cistern in the main city square, yet were quiet spacious for an inner-city location and with dual-pane windows were very quiet. We were able to drive up to the hotel to load/unload luggage, though one has to drive through a few tight spots to get there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely the best place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely the most perfect location. Wonderful breakfast on the first floor terrace with a nice view. This town is gorgeous and the hotel is right in the center. Wonderful air-conditioning and very nice stuff. Good restaurant attached. I cannot say enough about how perfect this place is.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Loved it! A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We just adored our stay here and would recommend to anyone planning a visit to San Gimignano. Such a perfect location and staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean and super comfortable. Breakfast was simple but fresh.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to have tea and coffee making facilities in room. Parking is quite far although we realised after we arrived that we could have asked for a shuttle service

    Location is perfect, and the view from our room was awesome. Right in the centre of the square yet very quiet room overlooking the country side.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in the heart of San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an historic building on one of the main squares in the town. The location is fantastic to see all the sights and ideal at night with restaurants and bars not far away. The room was fantastic with a brick vaulted ceiling with subtle lighting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Loved San Gimignano - magical place in the evenings. Hotel is perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Loved the location of the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Young lady who checked us in gave us two excellent recommendations for restaurants. Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Centrally locates, cool, and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was rather pedestrian.

    Clean, great location, comfy bed, great water pressure in shower, ability to drop off bags at hotel, and free shuttle with your bags back to parking lot ( with reservation). Nice view and AC too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, perfect for one night, marvelous view on the Toscana valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner didn’t work really well but still worked and it was fine.

    Cleanliness, comfortable, good location, helpful and nice staff. We got the clear instructions how to come by car almost directly to the hotel to leave the luggage few days in advance and where to park. We asked for the room with a nice view and really got a room with an amazing view on the Valley.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    I always enjoy staying at Leon Bianco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all!

    I always enjoy staying at Leon Bianco. It’s a very comfortable, clean and conveniently-located quality hotel (right in the centre of San Gimignano located on Piazza della Cisterna) that is excellent value for money with a great breakfast, although I didn’t partake on this occasion since I unfortunately had a bit of an upset stomach (that I’d got in Rome the night before!).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and hotel were not very clean, the breakfast was average (bread not good, eggs too cooked).

    Good location but we can’t park the car. It’s right in the center in front of a beautiful piazza.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    We had an apartment in this hotel with two rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing is that the bathtub was very high so it was difficult for my mom ( 82 years old) to get in and out the tub to have a shower

    We had an apartment in this hotel with two rooms. It was wonderful. The views from one of the bedrooms and the dining room were surreal, stunning. The place was very clean. The location is great, in the Piazza De la Cisterna. Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel in the beautiful San Geminiano

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely small hotel in town centre, yet relaxing and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative about hotel or surrounding are.

    This is our second visit to this hotel. Great room, spacious and clean. Breakfast on a lovely terrace, excellent selection of food. Location of hotel is excellent, right in centre. However despite it being high season in San Gimignano and crowded the room was cool, quiet and had excellent soundproofing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    The location is fantastic as you are very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind at this moment.

    The location is fantastic as you are very central. The square is so prettyasid the whole of San Gimignano. The cafe/bar next door is also fabulous! Their pizza was amazing as was the Aperol Spritz!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Very helpful and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful and kind staff. Nice room and excellent breakfast. The location is more than enough to explore the village. You can drive to the front of the hotel but please ask the details in advance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Truly great...in a town that even Hollywood couldn't duplicate.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am walking the Via Francigena and had to leave earlier than breakfast started. Lisa went the extra mile and made sure I had a bag breakfast in the morning...prepared the night before. A " ***** " (FIVE STAR) staff...and an awesome location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elavator is a little creeepy: you push the botton and nothing happens, and then stars moving like is going to fall down.

    Room with a great view of one of the main squares in this lovely city. Parking is outside of the city walls and somehow trick to find it. Location is superb and you can walk and wander around the city very easily from the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Super location in a magical city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! A tiny think that would have made our stay even better would have been some shower gel in the bathroom.

    Breakfast was excellent.....very fresh with great choice available. Eating on the terrace was an added bonus

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    The location with a room overlooking the square was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toiletries in the bathroom were minimal (Only a tiny bar of soap) My wife felt her pillow was too hard.

    The location with a room overlooking the square was magnificent. Staff were very friendly and a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The room was nice, with a great view and, even so the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice, with a great view and, even so the hotel is in the center of San Gimigniano, very quiet, as it was not leading to the Plaza but to the gardens of the neighbouring houses. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Living the Tuscan Dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy when the market was being set up, but that was only a minor point as closing the windows cancelled out almost all the noise. A room at the back would avoid most of it too.

    This was our second stay, which is a recommendation in itself. A clean & comfortable room with quite air conditioning if needed. Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent - very varied and plenty of it. Fantastic view of the square and an excellent choice of restaurants within five minutes walk. We'll definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Location was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was superb. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room quiet and comfortable with lovely view. Excellent selection for breakfast in this amazing town. Couldn't fault it. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in magical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn’t great

    The location is brilliant right on the square and the hotel has everything you need. Air con was great and the room very comfortable. If your driving don’t rely on your satnav, turn it of and make sure you get directions of the hotel, follow them and they will take you literally straight to the front door. Car parking is outside the city walls and I would recommend Car park 4 as it’s the closest and cheapest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had a really nice room overlooking the square, with two high stools, so were able to sit and relax and enjoy a glass of wine while watching all the goings on in the square. Lovely breakfast on the breakfast terrace too. You could not get a better location if you want to enjoy San Gimignano and the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great, there was nothing we didn’t like.

    Amazing location. Great room with fabulous views, comfortable bed, big bathroom! The breakfast has plenty of options. Everything was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    We loved the terrace for breakfast every morning something...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good

    We loved the terrace for breakfast every morning something us English appreciate as it’s something we can’t do very often ....also in the afternoon just sat there with a book peace and quiet . Location was spot on right in the heart of it all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Gimingano Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of .

    Great room with fabulous views , bed very comfy , big bathroom , shower excellent ! Breakfast was ample , many choices . Staff were very helpful , especially the 2 restaurants they recommended out of the tourist hub !! Location very good & 10 mins walk to bus stops . We enjoyed our stay for 2 nights , lovely town !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    An excellent 3 day stay made a really good start to our Italian holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. The drive into the hotel does pass through a narrow stone arch in the city wall. We had a BMW X1 and I wouldn't have wanted anything much bigger as another small wall prevents you getting a straight run at it. Having said that they have a shuttle to take you back to the car parks outside the town wall (you can't park inside) and the young Italian girl driver got an 8 seater mini bus through - I suppose practice makes perfect.

    Excellent central location all the main sights just a few yards away. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Very good directions to the property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed our stay. We’ve lived and traveled to Italy countless times. San Gimignano and surrounding hills and valleys are beautiful. Leon Bianco is located at the top of the city. Getting to the hotel is a challenge, but worth the time. Tip: Always find restaurants off the main square if you enjoy good food at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay in San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The nearer carpark is around 600m away.

    The hotel is a historical building finely decorated. It has in my opinion the best location in San Gimignano. They offer great service and a deliiiicious breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in wonderful San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel right in the centre of San Gimignano, returned with out friends for their 40th wedding anniversary so upgraded to rooms with a view which were great. Great choice for breakfast, we were not disappointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in a great loction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is brilliant, central to everything. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable. All in all this hotel met and exceeded all my expectations. I would not hesitate in recommending it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best view of the entire San giminiano province and on the other side it’s very very central. They upgraded us and gave us the best room possible and the breakfast was delicious !! Perfect stay amazing staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location. Large comfortable room with original features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some issue with our bathroom.

    Hotel located on the main city square, so we really like the location. The furniture was vintage and created an atmosphere of antiquity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Big room with a great view over the square. Local Gelataria was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved the location of this beautiful hotel on the square. A great base to go to other towns around including Florence for the day. Beautiful town. Small but had enough to see and keep us busy shopping! The restaurants were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Would use the hotel cisterna next time . San Gimignano is very expensive for uk visitors puts you of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Resturaunt breakfast expensive for what it is bed was too hard for me and my partner .

    Breakfast should be included in the price of room not separate also no restaurant which was disappointing the hotel Cisterna opposite is ten times better .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location, super central and convenient to walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff wasn't able to help much with restaurant recommendations. Facilities are a bit aged.

    Perfect location, super central and convenient to walk around San Gimignano.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    A Mediaeval Hotel on the Piazza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel right on the main Piazza. Friendly staff. Lovely, well-furnished room. Great breakfast served in a lovely breakfast room which had a private outdoor terrace. We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful, calm and relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    Beautiful old hotel, with quirky and lovely rooms. The hotel is right on the picturesque main square in San Gimignano. The hotel is within 20 yards of two fantastic gelatis - one of which claims to be "The best ice-cream in the world" and the other has the claim "World Champion Ice Cream Maker". We laughed when we first saw the signs, but them after a bit of research (eating large ice-creams from each), we decided that they could indeed both be true ..... A great hotel which had a copious and delicious breakfast buffet. All of the staff were super-friendly and cheerful and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here - wishing that it could have been longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Ahhh, Italy.....Tuscany, wow!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can we get a little less salt in the eggs........

    Big breakfast for Italy, hotel right across the platz from the worlds greatest gelato!!!!!! I love Tuscany. Location was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect, in front of Piazza della Cisterna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect, in front of Piazza della Cisterna (centre square). You may have to carry your bags from a car parking (we used parking 2: Montemaggio EUR20 for 24hours) to the hotel, but it's only 5,6 minutes walk. The hotel is clean and comfort, has a special atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Great location, very comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the square so the people setting up the open market at 7am were a bit noisy.

    The room was very spacious and bright with excellent view on the square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Highly recommended -- plan to stay there again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some staff at the front desk didn't speak much English -- I ended up using Google Translate on my laptop to communicate.

    Unbelievable location -- right in the center of town! Views of the Tuscan countryside out of the window were idyllic. Breakfasts were ample and of very high quality. Room was very quiet. The location was a challenge to drive to, but their directions were very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed every minute of our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little over priced.

    Great location, beautifully presented, nice staff, very clean, but much more expensive than comparable properties in neighbouring area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic Hotel in the heart of a beautiful city - was worried it would be noisey being in the main square but we didn't hear a sound Room was spacious and comfortable Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    S. Gimignano up, cruceros down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    San Gimignano is wonderful, but seems that everybody knows it and seems also that the half of the total population of the whole world was there. The massification of the cruceros travellers in a little space like this is a very bad thing, destroy the peace and the calm that i need to savorize the trip.

    The location is the best able in St. Gimignano, all the hotel is very nice, and the staff is impecable. The town is a pure wonderful place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    A view over the piazza was a brilliant bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no towels in the room when we arrived, but that was very quickly remedied.

    A view over the piazza was a brilliant bonus. Lovely terrace area with a roof top vista was quite nice too. Breakfast was very good and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Unique
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievable place, traditional and very special. The people were very kind and friendly. The hotel is very clean and in the middle of the magnificent Piazza Cisterna. Spirit, historical and antic place. Amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    A perfect location within the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is long distance from the hotel & it was hard to find a park on a Sunday.

    The location of Leon blanco is excellent within the main square of San Gimingnano. The hotel is elegant & the rooms are spacious with all fine amenities. They have a nice terrace upstairs we're you can sit & have a drink & breakfast is served on another balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    A happy place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was hard with no bottom mattress.

    We loved the piazza view from our window. The unit was well furnished and the window coverings ensured quietness and darkness. Perfect location and staff professionalism enhanced our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    A lovely location, very stylishly decorated and I'm glad we stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame the Jacuzzi on site was not on - would've taken too long to heat up by the time we wanted to use it. The staff speak little English, but having said that it was enough to get by and I perhaps should've learnt some Italian too?!

    We had a four poster bed! Friends we were staying with had a fantastic view over the valley while we had one of the inner courtyard garden. The view of the square from the seating area next to the ping-pong table was also fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being that the hotel is inside the city wall it is necessary to park about a half mile away and walk to the hotel. It was inconvenient, but certainly not a deal breaker.

    Great hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Spot on location at the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit worn out interior, breakfast modest.

    Spot on location in this old town at the main square. Spacious room with a view to the square. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was the reason I chose this hotel! I wanted to be in the Piazza di Cisterna! Our room was overlooking the piazza and with triple pane windows, there was no noise at all!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel in San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great - no complaints!

    This modern hotel was located right on the main piazza with a good restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast offered a full selection of items and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.0
    Excellent Experience . One that will go a long way to be beaten !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my only issue was a booking issue not a hotel issue - the room I reserved was advertised as a Quad Room but on arrival this turned out to be an apartment with two bedroom (sleeping 4) but for the 2 people in question this was too big and very very cold. We did ask for the heat to be put on but the hotel said they could not do this because it would mean putting the heating on for the whole hotel so we had to sit in the evening wrapped in coats and duvets. The hotel did very kindly reduce the cost of the apartment because it was for 2 people only but I do think that Booking.Com should advertise the rooms a bit better in their description.

    perfect location. friendly welcome. rooms a good size and amazing views. breakfast was good even though not a huge choice but was adequate for the purpose of our visit. would thoroughly recommend this hotel for the whole local experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Terrific Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - I can't think of anything that I would like to see improved.

    The location was perfect for exploring central San Gimignano. Beautiful view from our room (22) across the Tuscan countryside. Excellent breakfast with lots of variety - would definitely stay here again. Mini toiletries provided in the bathroom, decent hairdryer and an iron and ironing board were provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Parking is outside the city walls - we arrived late and were stuck in a lower parking lot with luggage and they made a plan at very short notice to collect us. Great location in the central square!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    A Room with a View. A stunning view. I loved this hotel. Location, staff, service, & brekkie too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little tricky if you decide to drive up to drop bags. I would just park in P3 if you are coming by car & carry a minimum of luggage for your stay: a backpack or 1 wheely carry-on luggage. Go!!

    This was one of the most basic rooms I had on my trip, in a most beautiful historic hotel, fabulous location.. and I liked it the best of all of my accommodations. I had the most incredible view. Couldn't get enough of that. They had to pretty much throw me out of the room the next day. Staff was incredibly hospitable and helpful. Fantastic place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel, excellent location right in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the fact that the village has a no car policy the closest parking was about 10-15 minutes walking. But then again this is the same for the rest of the hotels in the area and its a small price to pay given the location. Bathroom was a bit cramped.

    Good hotel, excellent location right in the middle of the main square. Staff was very nice, and the room was clean and decent for the price. It was not modern, more on the rustic side and had a nice view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Thompson couple visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tutto bene

    Very comfortable beds, quiet and cool rooms. Air conditioning was very efficient. The central location could not be better. Many good restaurants within short walks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    The city and the Hotel Leon Blanko are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without comments

    The city and the Hotel Leon Blanko are wonderful. I strongly recommend all to visit the city that bears the charm and tranquility of the Tuscanе countryside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Price quality ratio excellent. Would stay here again and recommend to friends as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at the breakfast was no good. Only espresso ordered separately was Ok.

    Great location. Good size room, nice modern bathroom. Good breakfast with bread, boiled eggs, ham, cheese etc not just pastries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Ideal hotel for a short visit to a superb Tuscan location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given the 40 degree heat, drinking water in the room (other than the mini bar) would have been appreciated

    Location superb - great breakfast spread and great terrace for breakfast - being able to drop cases off before parking the car - great value for central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Quiet hotel on the main square of San Gimignano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air con went haywire and kept switching off all night. Parking is outside town and cost about 20 Euros per day.

    Quiet hotel on the main square of San Gimignano. We enjoyed the amazingly quiet room and going around town. The breakfast terrace is beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    the hotel is perfectly located to explore the city with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was a little disapointing, quality wasnt great and the breakfast room was shabby

    the hotel is perfectly located to explore the city with large, quiet, clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great character, large rooms, good air conditioning (it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay €15 to park the car in a public car park, and having to ask for a 3rd towel when the room has been booked for 3 people.

    Great character, large rooms, good air conditioning (it was 37 degrees outside), peaceful. In a great location towards the top of this beautiful hilltop town. Receptionist was very helpful and friendly Iron and ironing board in the room, which seems surprisingly rare in Italy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel in an historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Leon Bianco is a lovely hotel within the historic building that dates from before the Middle Ages. We had a lovely quiet room looking out over roof tops to the beautiful Tuscan country side. Everything about our stay in the hotel was excellent, from the welcome by the reception staff, the daily servicing of our room including clean towels etc, the breakfast staff do a wonderful job with many home made delights plus an excellent array of delicious food. San Gimignano is a lovely place with its historic buildings including the fourteen towers. We went for walks in the countryside which is very easy to access - great exercise with the rolling hills and valleys.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel is very well located at the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good but parking and dropping luggages is a bit problematic. Parking area is very far from hotel.

    Hotel is very well located at the heart of the city. Breakfast was good. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    This hotel was smack in the middle of the town which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park far away and the GPS does not work in town so it was hard to lactate the property

    This hotel was smack in the middle of the town which was awesome. The staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. This is a medieval city without parking lot at hotel, but you can go by car to pick up luggage and drop off family. The parking lot is 5 minute walking. The employees are very friendly and supported us very well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Perfect boutique hotel in the centre of San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    This is our 3rd Visit to Hotel Leon Bianco over the past several years - we love it here. The location is perfect as it sits right in the middle of San Gimignano - in the square with the world famous gelato seller! This family run boutique hotel is well looked after - all newly decorated inside and new bathrooms. All rooms have air conditioning and our bed was very comfortable. Our room had the stunning view over the Tuscan countryside and sunrise in the morning is something to behold. Breakfast is held on the 1st floor terrace and has everything you could need, eggs (boiled or scrambled), bacon, cheese, ham, croissants, cereals, yogurts as well as a selection of fruit tarts. There is no restaurant in the hotel but it's not needed as there are so many in town (do book into San Martino 26 or La Vechia Mura - our favourites!). The hotel doesn't have parking if you arrive by car, but you can drive up through the town and drop off your bags (20 minutes) and then they have a reduced parking ticket you can buy for a few of the carparks outside of town (which is a leisurely 10 minute walk away. I think they can also offer to drop you back off in their own mini bus (do check this though). On the top floor there is a room with some gym equipment in and also another room with a table tennis table set up. All the staff are so friendly and can speak very good english. Highly reccommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Central location, breathtaking views and excellent service! A blissful retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    This is a small hotel with a small staff, so the bar/coffee serving area on the terrace is not permanently supervised. However, the reception staff will prepare drinks for you at any time when requested.

    This is a small, family run hotel where everyone gets to know you very quickly and are extremely eager to make your stay as perfect as possible - nothing is too much to ask. The owners are clearly very proud of their hotel and their town, and this shows in their knowledge and willingness to help/recommend everything from parking to restaurants. The views from the first floor large double rooms are breathtaking, and the rooms are furnished in a charming and traditional style to blend in with the ancient building the hotel occupies. Despite the location right at the heart of San Gimignano, the rooms were very quiet and peaceful. Beds were amazingly comfortable! The breakfast offered was one of the best in terms of choice I have had in hotels in continental Europe. Coffee is prepared freshly on request.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Stay in the middle of a medieval town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double room without view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This Hotel is right in the centre of the old medieval town. In a very old building. It is charming, and exactly where you want to be. Surprisingly quiet, delightful terrazza for breakfast on the roof, lovely people. There is no ordinary traffic allowed. You must leave your car in one of the carparks outside the city walls. You can drive in to deposit your luggage if you are game for the route to reach the hotel. 15 minutes to unload only. However, it is not a problem, you get a very nice walk back to the hotel. But be aware of this. Most importantly, once arrived you can walk everywhere, and the best time is early in the morning before all the day trippers arrive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Another great stay in San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was very hot and the air conditioner in the bedroom was not that effective. But everything else was up to standard.

    The location is prime. The rooms were large, as was the comfortable bed. Breakfast was also good. Our third stay in Leon Bianco, so that should be an indication of how satisfied we were.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: