Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Leon - Ristorante Al Cavallino Rosso 3 stars

Via Tratturo Delle Corse 14, 71013 San Giovanni Rotondo, Italy

#12 of 54 hotels in San Giovanni Rotondo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and fresh. Very well decorated. Rooms were comfortable and premises were beautiful. Outside gazebo, gift store...perfect place! The staff was friendly and extremely helpful...kind and courteous!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    2.9
    Cheap hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room smelled strongly of cigarettes but the staff did move us to a new room. Beds were hard. The hotel was hosting a party in the basement until 1:30 with music so loud we couldn’t sleep. Felt more like trying to sleep in a disco than staying at a hotel to rest and sleep. The manager did subtract small amount of our total (15%) to accommodate for the inconvenience. Would have rather had a restful nights sleep at a quiet hotel.

    Cheap hotel. Decent food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    It was great and a good value for anything spent here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far from Padre Pio's Shrine but their free shuttle service compensates for this a lot.

    We love the food, the staff and the facility. Their dining area looks superb. The rooms are big enough to move comfortably. Everyone is pleasant and answers questions readily. They are very hospitable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Service and hospitality extended by the family run hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service and hospitality extended by the family run hotel is simply"WOW". Very accommodating and friendly people who go out of the way to be of help.That to me is the essence of service. Very strongly recommend the "home" hotel.☺☺☺. They also give a free pick-up & drop to Padre Pio church.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    The hotel is run by a family.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could think of nothing.negative

    The hotel is run by a family. Several members of the family chip in to make your stay comfortable.A free shuttle to the Church is on offer at any time of the day.Donato and family made us feel well looked after and completely at home.I would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.9
    Perfect stop before/after a trip to Gargano mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin towels, stale bread at breakfast, noise from the corridor and outside, very small desk.

    secure private parking, beautiful and functional bathroom, spotlessly clean, breakfast with excellent espresso, a croissant, some cold cuts, fresh fruit, etc. Unbeatable price/performance!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.7
    Good place to stay with groups of people to visit the church of Padre Pio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in my bathroom basically needed a new shower unit putting in. The breakfast could be improved on, I would suggest a few gluten free products as my friend had to bring her own in although the hotel did cook gluten free pasta for her at lunch time.

    The staff were extremely welcoming with spacious rooms and a good Wi-Fi connection which was free. I stayed with friends, we ate lunch and dinner in the hotel which was excellent value for money especially as we had fresh fish in the evening. The private car park was right next to reception giving easy access on arrival. Good location for large groups. There is also a souvenir shop were everything was very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy air condition.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great Hotel, friendley English speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Hotel outside the town. Friendly English speaking staff. A lift is offered into town for sightseeing. Secure parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.1
    Hotel is newer, room was spacious, staff were extremely nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Electricity kept cutting out even though there was no storm, staff forgot to pick us up with the "free shuttle" offered to/from the Padre Pio Shrine-so we had to walk the 2 miles across town back to the hotel.

    Hotel is newer, room was spacious, staff were extremely nice, found cheap deal on booking.com

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    7.5
    Helpful hotel staff, comfortable quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The booking.com site shows the location of the hotel incorrectly as near the centre of San Giovanni Rotondo. I have emailed booking.com about this, but the map on the hotel information has not changed. We wanted a central location and feel we were incorrectly informed. We would not use this hotel again for this reason.

    Helpful hotel staff, comfortable quiet room

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    personal were great with lot of helpful informations about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is about 15 minutes walk from city center.

    personal were great with lot of helpful informations about place and useful maps. Private parking.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Guests also reviewed these properties: