Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Leonardo da Vinci 4 stars

via Guido Monaco 12, 50144 Florence, Italy

#361 of 392 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the roads around the hotel are being dug up for tram works so there are diversions in place which made it hard to get to the car park. The fish tank above the breakfast room could do with a clean.

    Quiet hotel, far away from the hustle and bustle but still able to walk into the main parts comfortably. Room was clean and breakfast was amble for a continental.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks and food not available appart of breakfast which i find unnaceptable for 4* hotel.... Parking fee not been mentioned when booking made

    Location Modern

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    A lot of roadworks and a lot of roads around the property...
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of roadworks and a lot of roads around the property were blocked off due to roadworks. Sat nav couldnt find the right route because of the roadworks. 20 minutes walk to main area of Florence. Our room was at the back of the property that backed onto train line. Could hear trains till 11 oclock at night then started again at 5.30.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Generally good but the showers kept flooding the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were badly designed and kept flooding the room. The breakfast wasn’t that great.

    The staff were polite and helpful and the hotel was in a great location. The air conditioning was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. The A.C. didn't work well. The water pressure was horrible in the morning. The Wi-Fi never worked. Construction all over the area. Breakfast wasn't good. Not worth the money I paid

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is horrible. Even though it is only a five minutes’ walk to the train station. The road is under construction but even after the construction is done there will be a train way right next to the Hotel, which will make it very noisy. Also there is a Highway (about 100 m) from the Hotel. The room has no wardrobe and no drawers. Everything is speared with a cheap curtain. It is a simple and empty room with only a bed and a side table. The safe is a joke. It is not fixed in the room. One can easily take it away. TV channels are only in Italian. Not one international TV station. No Kleenex box. No glass. Everything is plastic. The Hotel is certainly not a 4star Hotel. It is a 2 star Hotel. The breakfast was simple and the fruits were from tins. Even the plant decorations in the reception were plastic and cheap. If you were in a village the Hotel would be okay but we expect more from a 4 star Hotel in Florence.

    Nothing. Only the reception was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noise from the train behind the hotel

    Close to train station and big room. Hot water didn't work properly. But it was really nice stay in leonardo apart from the train noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.6
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Tea making facility. 1st room smells really bad including the corridor. Then we asked and changed to another floor. Average breakfast

    Rooms were bigger and easy access to the transport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    3.3
    Really bad experience remind me to never use your services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room the TV did not work the safe did not work the Internet did not work the tile in the bathroom was broken

    The staff jennifer was the only thing we liked ps we travel at least four months a year worst experience we have ever had. If not for jennifer it would have been a disaster she did her best

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.9
    Horrible. Not worth the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't find the property due to lots of roadworks. No instructions were on their website to redirect you to their car park. Poor show. There was no water until late at the property - which in high summer at 40 degrees is not good! We were not told about this until we tried to use the shower and it didn't work! We were told it would work within two hours. Half way through a shower the water stops - not good! When it did come back on it was brown. To be fair to the member of staff he was very apologetic and tried his best to fix things but because of the works could do nothing. He was also very good at directing us to the city centre etc so could not fault him in terms of his customer service. The lady who checked us in however, should have told us about the water issues. For the amount of money also - the bathroom was not 4 star and I had to ask for more toiletries as we were given sachets of shower gel?! It was also ridiculously hot in the bathroom and the air con was not that strong in the room. The hotel backs onto a railway too.....

    Not a lot. Location was about 20 minute walk to centre of Florence so I guess this is the plus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    What's not to like?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps one toilet was a bit old and cracked Other then that I truely had no complaints.

    I came to this hotel with zero expectations on account of the lukewarm reviews it got, and was very surprised- in a positive way. The room was comfortable, everything worked nicely, breakfast was not incredible but satisfying, and most important- staff was very very friendly and helpful. It's not very cheap but other than that for a business trip it was very very good, way beyond my expectations. It's also in a walking distance to everything you need in Florence.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.4
    Hotel has very friendly staff, but needs some improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall all level of cleanliness wasn't what it should have been. The bathroom should have been cleaner, the shower water would switch from hot to warm to cold constantly, the WiFi never worked the time we were at the hotel, and very few channels on the television. Definitely not 4 star quality.

    Nice staff, breakfast was good. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of sites to see, as well as places to eat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very cooperative and nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend to have Tea cattle in the room.

    The staff was very cooperative and nice people.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Internet works poorly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet works poorly. The coffee was great but only if you arrive early, other wise things would end and they would not bring more

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Location good, internet poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet quality dramatic

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    The beds were really hard, bathroom was very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really hard, bathroom was very small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not there

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    everything ok helpful reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything ok helpful reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    almost all!

    The staff was very nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Good room. Good staff. Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the rail and road works nearby.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not to friendly

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    nice rooms, bigger than average.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy rooms. You can hear the neighbors well and the Trains, too.

    nice rooms, bigger than average. breakfast room ceiling is an Aquarium. Walking distance from Center, very Close to main train Station SMN

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The smell on the halls and chamber. Modeste Breakfast for 4 stars. The shower was malfunctional! Poor phonic isolation and very close to the railways!

    Good location. 10 minutes until downtown

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    5.0
    Good location in Venice and convenient for the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room backed in to the trainline and was constantly woke up by trains, both me and my partner after 2 nights where covered in small bites from head to toe and where not mosquito bites. the bathroom was grotty. Just dissapointing for the money we paid for a supposed 4* hotel.

    Good location in Venice and convenient for the train station.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    5.8
    The staff were reasonably helpful, though they were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet did NOT work at all, despite the tries the staff did to boost its function

    The staff were reasonably helpful, though they were obviously covering up for bad internet service and other issues

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    5.8
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Coffee at breakfast was vile - from a vending machine type thing. Not what you expect from a supposed four star hotel in Italy. Staff polite but not really bothered to be friendly. Decor shabby. Location not great for solo female traveller as on dodgy side of station. On plus side was not far from city centre. Overall was what I would expect from an average three star hotel but was comfortable. My room had a view of the railway tracks.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    6.3
    The rooms were very nice and spacious and the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area that the hotel is in is kind of run down. There are definitely way nicer areas to stay. The staff wasn't very friendly at check in. Also, the trains go behind the hotel so you can hear them coming and going all night.

    The rooms were very nice and spacious and the hotel is within a mile to the train station (Firenze Santa Maria Novella) so it is possible to walk. Lots of shopping nearby

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.0
    Spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff unfriendly. Eary feeling of the hotel-bar never open, no lounge music, non-existent in-room wifi and no love breakfasts. Proximity of train station but on wrong side of town!

    Spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.9
    location was perfect for easy access to the conference...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    one morning we had no water. Overall the internet was so weak so as to not be usable in my room. it was better in other parts of the hotel.

    location was perfect for easy access to the conference center. pleasant staff, good bed, the fish pond in the skylight

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    5.0
    Room was clean and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ensuite was ridiculously small for such a big room, you could barely move in the shower cubicle and the water was just above a drizzle. Decor is quite dated. I would have rated the hotel at the most a 3 star

    Room was clean and spacious

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    2.9
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The air-conditioning doest'n work even though the staff always says that it does, but obviously they are not the ones that sleep in those rooms at night. The staff at the restaurant doesn't speak english!! Very bad experience at this hotel.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.3
    I love the location because it wasn't too far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room wasn't too modern, but it's still comfortable for stay. But you won't find any markets neither mini markets nearby. So make sure to buy anything you needs before getting back to the hotel

    I love the location because it wasn't too far from the station and my room was actually has the view of S.M Novella train station.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    6.7
    It is close to the bus station and city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi never worked nor in my phone or laptop, staff was always like rude, may be is just the italian way, I did´t like it...

    It is close to the bus station and city center.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    3.8
    Walking distance from the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast. Bathroom very very small and not clean. Really needs to be repainted. Dont go there if you expect a 4 star hotel. It is barely an average 3 star hotel. I am disappointed. Breakfast horrible. Just one type of bread, no omelette, even no boiled eggs first day! Cold coffee which tasted terrible! I repeat once more DO NOT EXPECT A 4 STAR HOTEL.

    Walking distance from the train station

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    i liked to have fresh omlet and also some backed foods on...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    the space of the hotel is not happy and related to the space of the city

    i liked to have fresh omlet and also some backed foods on breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    5.4
    Bad tv lack of channels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above

    Bad tv lack of channels. Holiday inns is better Overcharged us.had we booked on the day the rate was a lot better

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    6.7
    The breakfast is included and very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is included and very good

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    walking distance to train station with a few restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    walking distance to train station with a few restaurants along the way.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    6.3
    Location to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    bad smells and very bland breakfast

    Location to train station

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    6.3
    It is good on foot to the railway Station about 500m.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast is not acommpanied to the Four Star Hotel.

    It is good on foot to the railway Station about 500m.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.6
    The room was very comfortable clean and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very comfortable clean and spacious

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    Comfort and great costumer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lift, have to carry my suit case. The breakfast is just a few selections.

    Comfort and great costumer service.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.1
    No cafe/bars near hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No cafe/bars near hotel. Hotel bar closed before midnight. Never saw anyone tending it. Not much for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.3
    location and services are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    you could hear most voice from the neighbor and aisle.

    location and services are great!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    4.2
    This hotel max is 2 star .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel max is 2 star .

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.0
    Big comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Train noise. It's close to the train tracks rather than the station. Air con working on heat only. Breakfast range fair.

    Big comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room smelled of bleach. Bathroom shower screens were filthy. Reception was poor.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Well balanced facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well balanced facility

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.1
    Location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smell in room and lack of lights

    Location . Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    Just 10 min walk from centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room had a bad smell after a day out

    Just 10 min walk from centre.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    5.0
    The mini bar was empty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mini bar was empty. One small mirror in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    4.6
    Not much actually
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Customer service was pathetic, no ice, no acridness, only fans.

    Not much actually

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    Good hotel helpful staff and location close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very close to railway passage which may be noisy.

    Good hotel helpful staff and location close to train station.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    Train station convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Train station convenience A/C comfort on +100 F day Complimentary breakfast excellent Spacious room /quiet/amenities

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Its very clean and breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Its very clean and breakfast is good.The employer is friendly but the Wi-Fi is not good I hope you improve the Wi-Fi

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    4.2
    Just location to termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Never recommend to anybody

    Just location to termini

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    4.6
    Only the location as we needed to be close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No atmosphere, staff not that friendly, breakfast rubbish and messy.

    Only the location as we needed to be close to train station.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    2.9
    Nothings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We feel disappointed with the receptionist, they treat the guests badly, unfriendly. I have never gone back this hotel again

    Nothings

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    4.6
    This hotel does not deserve to have 4 star.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    This hotel does not deserve to have 4 star.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: