Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Lucca Relais

Via Castruccio Buonamici, 221, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#66 of 137 B&Bs and Inns in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 715 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before I start I would like to say that I’m not a particularly fussy guest normally! But the shower was tiny and dirty. Tiles missing. Had to leave shower doors open to test water temperature so the floor got wet. Breakfast is a joke. We didn’t realise at first that the cakes left next to the coffee machine were it. Plastic disposable cups for the coffee too! Could have done with instructions for the coffee machine and also a choice of tea instead, not being a coffee drinker. ( yes I know we are in Italy!) Th place seems to be run remotely. Apart from the guy who let us in we never saw any staff. The guy who let us in left straight afterwards and it was only about 3.30 pm. There were envelopes left at the desk with peoples names on for the late comers. They got a PIN by email so they could let themselves in the front door.

    Location to city walls and parking behind building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to the old town of Lucca just outside the wall and within walking distance to everything but not in the busy centre of the town which suited us. The staff very helpful and suggested different things for us to do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had was in the loft. It smelled, was too hot & the toilet Meade a loud machine gun noise. However, when we spoke to Vincent he moved us to a more comfortable room.

    Good location, very friendly staff & good size room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size and amenities of the room, the kindness of providing cookies and coffee upon our arrival at the hotel, the ease of communication with the accommodation, the location, the cleanliness of the room, the size of the bathroom, the perfect stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have made this a perfect stay is breakfast. There was not much closeby to have breakfast (or I wasn’t told about it, but I also didn’t ask either)

    From the outside it might seem not very special, but ones you open the door you can’t stop looking around.. This is a real gem in terms of good quality for such a small price! I know it’s not inside the city wall but it’s just a small and easy walk to the gate of the wall. The room was also spacious, clean and romantic. Bathroom very clean and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been cleaned a bit better. Maybe time for small renovation of the bathrooms (at least the one we stayed in). However, no real complaint given the price.

    Very friendly staff (sorry, forgot his name), who gave us very good recommendations to experience Lucca in less than 24 hours. Dinner recommendation was great at Gigi‘s Trattoria. Great location just outside city walls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    It’s a beautiful (and clean) room in an original building only 5 min walk from city center. The owner is super friendly and will help you to get the most out of your trip. Definitely recommend to everyone who wants a great time in Lucca! Thanks Vincenzo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so uncomfortable and creaked EVERY time you moved so we had very little sleep over 3 nights. Pillows were cheap and uncomfortable. Bathroom sink had large crack in it, shower was needing re tiled and grouted. Toilet leaked. Balcony looked filthy and uncomfortable chairs at the table. I understand this is an 18th century building and I did read reviews before we booked but we took the risk. I also see that the manager gets extremely upset about anything negative said about the property but clearly does not take visitors opinions on board and rectify, he just insults the visitor with a sharp reply about it being an 18th century building. That’s fine but even try buying antique furniture for the rooms, not ikea! This rooms in this beautiful building can still look 18th century with the correct modernisation.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi in room not stable and often had to go to lobby to secure a connection. Too warm - I could not turn down the heating and had to open windows which is a waste of energy. No lift. No one on reception when I arrived.

    Big room, comfortable bed and attractive decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was not clean in our room. Also, called ‘Bed & Breakfast’ but no breakfast on offer?

    Nice property on a quiet street, exceptional rooms. Friendly staff, great location, comfortable and well-priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took room for 5 people, the room was nice but bit dense. There is coffee machine but if you want to eat breakfast in the room it is not very convenient. Better to go down and eat in the street.

    The B&B is located 5 minutes walk from the walls and there is free parking which is great. We stayed and the top floor, we we did not have any windows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note: this is a B&B but there is no breakfast! The room was clean but the mattress had every imaginable dip and curve.

    The parking is safe and enclosed. Not far from the gate to the old city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I rented was in an old palazzo. Amazing looking place to give you a full Italian experience. Unfortunately due to the weather could not enjoy the terrace and the garden that I'm sure are a delight in warmer weather. Vincenzo is very friendly and helpful. He offered a ton of information and recommendations on what to do and where to eat. Parking was just across the street and the old city center is a few minutes walking distance from the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is called a B & B but there isn’t a breakfast as such. There are packaged cakes and a pod coffee machine in the room. But.....

    Vincent was extremely helpful. We were able to move rooms and have a fridge for our medicine. Nothing was a problem for him. The city walls were 5 mins walking. There was a bar (Scilla) on the corner, for cafe e cornetti. The cornetti were amazing. You could also get an early dinner here. The pizza shop was great as well. Their local wine was very good..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast were prepackaged Danish & croissant that were sitting in the room & the coffee maker didn't work. The room was very hot & very few outlets to charge elect devices.

    Parking was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    B&B-Hotel in an old palazzo, perfectly situated between Florence and Pisa with parking space, only 8 minutes to go to the old town of Lucca, clean room, very friendly and supportive owner, fair pricing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in evening when no staff were present and initially had some delay in accessing the building. Poor breakfast

    Lovely rooms in elegant house just outside the city walls

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it is advertised as a bed and "breakfast" is a bit of a stretch: coffee pot in room and a couple of pastries wrapped in cellophane. A good inexpensive breakfast place is the Libreria Cafe near the railway station.

    Excellent location for accessing the walled city. Surprisingly quiet even though there was a lot of traffic nearby. Nice little terrace with table and chairs. The owner was a count of useful information. Good off-street parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast so needed to buy food at supermarket which was ok as there was a fridge in room but no cutlery or plates/bowls so had to buy them too. There was a prepackaged pastry provided each day which was a nice thought but not to my taste.

    Lovely character building. Perfect location. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Coffee machine a bonus. Owner recommended other nice places to visit for our onward trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting our own breakfast, but to be fair, a fridge and coffee machine was provided. Could elevate bed, or shorten bedspread, as I kept tripping over and walking on it.

    The host was charming, welcoming, informative and helpful. Our comfortable room was ready, even though we arrived earlier. Our luggage otherwise would have been stored, for no extra fee, which is very helpful for those in transit. A few extra touches like a fridge, and cakes with coffee was nice. It is a charming old house with a small outside balcony, in a lovely quiet part of Lucca, not far outside of the city walls. We liked it very much and will recommend it to our friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cups are plastic however we were provided with ordinary cups when we asked for them.

    The room is bright, has a fridge and coffee facilities. There is a balcony which is lovely to chill out on, the staff very helpful - provided umbrellas when it rained! Very laid back,relaxing place to stay and within easy walking distance to Lucca Walls. Really enjoyed my stay and it is very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tizzie satin lace bed cover. No kettle or milk yet there was a small fridge that was turned off. Small shower.

    Location, cleanliness and staff all good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    The rooms where nice, but with no staff to be found anywhere in the b&b ( we found the key in an envelope and there was no one to say anything to us all day), we didn't exactly feel at home. Don't think the price really reflected this..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the top floor directly under the roof and were woken up by pigeons cooing and walking around directly above our heads - if I were to stay again I would request not to be on the top floor. Breakfast isn't great - it is better to walk into Lucca and look for a nice coffee / bakery shop.

    Perfect location - 5 minute walk from the wall surrounding Lucca. The host was super helpful with restaurant suggestions and the neighborhood. Clean rooms, linens and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative comments

    great location and great organisation from the owner as we arrived late in the evening after the standard check in hr. Vincezo explained on email how to access and everything was clear. I met him in the morning at 8 am and he was very hospitable and happy to advise where to go and what to do. The building is an old one and very pretty. A little noisy in the night but you can't be too quiet being 5 min walk from the city centre. Coffe machine in the room was a nice touch !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was poorly positioned which made it inefficient. Coffee machine had not been cleaned, nor the rug which was quite grubby. When we arrived the door was opened remotely, but no welcome/person/ instruction for self-check-in despite arriving within check-in hours- we waited in vain then found our room key in an envelope on the desk. No instructions as to how the facilities worked, and security was poor- the shutters had to be put in place at all times as there was no key to the patio door. No breakfast provided or available though advertised as bed and breakfast unless B&B means something different in Italian! Mosquito plugs would have been useful and were certainly required. An air conditioning unit next door? vented onto the balcony which made it even hotter when it kicked in which made relaxing on the balcony uncomfortable. Very pretty, interesting town, bigger than we expected, but would not recommend as a destination for children as after the bicycle/ pedal trollies, a couple of playground areas round the walls and an interactive museum there were not many other facilities we saw that would entertain kids.

    Good location- 5-10mins walk to town centre and bus station, 30-45mins from train station ( tip-walk through the town it will be quicker and pavements more even). Bathroom was clean (though the sink was cracked) and cleaned daily and bed was comfortable. Balcony. Map of Lucca provided next morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely room in a beautiful old building. Easy walking distance from the centre and close to the city walls. I made a mistake with my original booking and the owner was very kind in letting me amend my booking. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again and this is pretty likely as Lucca is our favourite place in Italy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room number 1 which was delightfully furnished. If what you want is spaciousness, this might not be for you but the bed was really comfortable and it was on the gound floor with a pretty terrace where we could eat breakfast in privacy. We found nothing to complain about. This hotel offers great value for money.

    Everything about this hotel was good. The building was elegant with an original fresco ceiling. The staff were charming and helpful and the location was perfect. A short walk took you to one of the gates of the city and from there, you could stroll around the many attractive squares and cobbled streets. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. The coffe machine in the room was a real asset. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are few parking slots on the street close to the hotel. When they are full, it gets reallly uncomfortable beacuse all the rest are blue parking spots.

    Really close to Lucca, about 3 minutes to the walls. Staff was really nice during the satying

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomdation has the potential to be a chic boutique hotel but... The plastic cups in the room is appalling! You have no idea what flavour the pods for coffee machine are. The room had cheap furniture and even a piece of architrave fell off when a door was closed.

    The off road parking was excellent and the location very convenient. Clean towels daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathroom, A/C not working, minor maintenance defects: falling ventilation grid, stuck drapes

    Fairly quiet position not far from the city center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the room with a balcony and there was a pigeon nest under the gutter and pigeon poops all over the balcony. We were not really able to enjoy it as it was falling from the gutter when we were outside. The parasol was broken so we could not even use it to protect us from this. A bit disappointing for the price!

    the location is quite good. The room is big. they are very flexible for the check-in which is convenient. they helped us getting a taxi at the end of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was excellent.

    Lovely large home. Comfortable spacious, clean and comfy bed. Very close to city walls, easy to arrive and pick up key. Have good restaurant advice. Another one I would add to the list is ciclo divino bar - cycle store selling lovely wine and tapas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice place and host. Perfect location for this amazing city. Beautiful building and comfortable room. We liked our stay at Lucca relais and recommend it !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had, did not have real windows. Just a window under the roof. Not really pleasant.

    The location very near the centre. The free parking spaces in front of the house. The room was big.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I spent a week at this lovely B&B. Although no breakfast is served this is not a problem! There is a coffeemaker and a fridge in the room, and a bakery just around the corner. My room was on the ground floor and had a nice balcony of its own, but there is also a balcony which everyone can use. The room was spacious and had a comfortable bed. Very friendly and serviceminded owners. They helped me rent a bike near by (much cheaper than in town), gave me good recommendations for restaurants and even took me to the station when I left. The house is not far (walking distance) from the main gate into the old town, in a quiet area. There are a couple of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building, good neighbourhood, very helpful staff. The room was a very good size with a nice bathroom. We got an excellent recommendation of what to do for lunch, which ended up being one of our favourite lunches on our trip. Also, I left some jeans in the room and the management very kindly posted it to my home address.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wouldn't bother with the coffee machine

    Excellent accommodation and very friendly manager. Great communication pre-arrival including sending us a small guide to some of the attractions of Lucca. There was an issue with the initial room (bathroom sink wouldn’t drain) but this was sorted out immediately by the manager and we were allocated an alternative room. Comfortable, clean and spacious room plus basic breakfast ). Liked the outside tables at the back overlooking a garden area – great place to relax. Brilliant restaurant recommendations from the manager.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Perfect location to visit Lucca,just 5 minutes walk from one of the gates.The building is really impressive and the staff genuinely friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were only given breakfast two mornings out of four. The coffee machine was hopeless to use. The owner was extremely helpful to us. The B & B was very convenient and we loved being in Lucca. We were given good tips of restaurants to go to.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I could not fault this hotel at all.

    A truly lovely place to stay in Luca. The Host was just the best! He knew where some of the best places were to eat, was very good with his directions and was always cheerful, even after a long day. Just outside the wall around Luca, it was a fantastic location and always pleasant to come home to after a day out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the location vis à vis the walled entrance of the old town. Our bed was big and comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The owner and his grown son were very helpful. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was at the 2th floor and it was hot in the room. (June) . The shower it was in the second room near the bed ( strange system) .The bathroom was very small.

    It was very close to the City. Free parking. We were able to make self check in and it was easy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed could have been a bit better - it rolled into the middle.

    Loved the style of the house, location great, just outside the city walls. Loved that round the corner, places for coffee and pastries in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no breakfast included even though it's called a B&B. The owner told us this was quite normal in Italy to advertise as B&B and not offer breakfast...? Not a big deal for us as nice coffee shop on the corner but would have maybe booked somewhere else had we known.

    Lovely building and host was very helpful. Location is OK as just outside city walls so not in the middle of things but very close.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It should not be called a Bed & Breakfast if no breakfast is served! Wifi did not work. We were lucky enough to grab the last free parking spot on the street across from the B&B. I can imagine though that some guests will not be as lucky if travelling by car.

    Great location within walking distance to the amazing old town. Great value for a nice room with perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was a lovely place to stay only a short walk from the delightful old town of Lucca. The owner was very helpful and I would stay there again without hesitation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like like about the property.

    We thought this place was ideally located (20 mins walk from the railway station and 15 mins walk from the city center), very clean and tidy and very helpful staff. The young guy on the front desk who welcomed us gave us lots of information on places to visit and recommended a great restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the upper room the windows open on the ceiling and my daughter goo a few mosquito bites. Just close them or use repellent.

    This is an excellent location with a beautiful environment.We loved the town and had a fantastic basket breakfast of coffee and pastries at a nearby basket around the corner from the church. Also, the Best gelato and desserts are at Bonta Yogurt. It's delicious and only 1.20 euros!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom. No space to put comestics, etc...

    Very cute room. Well decorated. A/C was very nice to have. Owner was very friendly and helpful.b

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no breakfast ( just a coffee machine in the room, and a 'long life' pastry), but there are good cafes nearby

    Big comfortable room in a large and beautiful house just outside the walls. Powerful shower. Staff speak English

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints 😀

    5 mins from wall great cafe few mins away for breakfast. Big room basic but everything you need plenty hot water and good air conditioning. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning room. Everything perfect!! Bed was so comfortable beautiful bedding. Attention to detail. 5 minute walk to centre of lucca. The owner was lovely. Let us park our car after checking out in his garden whilst we spent a few extra hours in lucca. Would return in a heart beat. Do not hesitate to book this place you will not be disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vincenzo is a really nice guy, very friendly and always happy to help with advice on where to eat, go see etc. The accommodations is really lovely and in an ideal spot to explore the old town, free parking is directly outside and although it was busy, my wife and I twice found a spot no problem. We would definitely stay at Lucca Relais again, thank you. We've only given a slightly lesser score for facilities as there was no iron and no bottle opener so although we had a fridge in our room (an unexpected bonus) we couldn't open our wine and went out creased. This by no means spoiled our stay though and we highly recommend staying at Lucca Relais.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is one shared terrace on the ground floor. We love to have our own terrace however it was not a big deal since we spent most of the day outside.

    The room is very stylish and cozy. There is a coffee maker and various types of coffee capsules (cappuccino, espresso, chocolate). Besides, you can find pastries on the table every day (even though breakfast option is not available it is in fact included :) ) In many B&B the room is not cleaned every day. In this B&B the cleaning and towels change is every day. There is a lot of parking places outside. We parked in front of the entrance (free of charge from 8 pm to 8 am and not expensive price during the day, max 6 euro if you park for the entire day). The area looks safe. Walking distance to the city centre. No need to take a taxi. It is easy to get inside. You dont need to wait for the host to check in if you come late since they provide you with the door code and leave the key.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower was powerful and hot, the bed linens and towels were excellent quality, and Vincenzo was very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Host is really nice and very helpfull. We enjoyed the little gestures like coffee and croissants. Location is quite authentic, really nice. You can easily walk to the historic centre, it takes about 10 minutes (in holiday modus). Stayed in room downstairs with little terrace, perfect to enjoy a good book in the sun.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position was perfect to explore the old walled city centre and with easy access to main roads to Pisa and surrounds. The room was as expected, clean and sufficient room, but a bonus was a small garden patio to sit and relax. WiFi was excellent, as was Gennaro our host who was friendly and really helpful with great dining tips. A bonus was off-street parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    We stayed 2 nights and arrived at the property and we were able to park the car in the car park attached to the B&B. The room we booked had a balcony and it was on the ground floor. Large room with a good sized bedroom (Shower & Toilet) The Balcony was a good size with a table and 2 chairs. It is in a quite location and a 10 min walk to the Old Town. Coffee machine in the room / hairdryer / good supply of towels / TV (only Italian channels). Good welcome at the B & B and they were able to answer all questions.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was noisy, noisy, noisy. The Hotel is located directly on a very busy road. Cars and trucks all night long. Even with closed Windows it's really loud. The bathrooms were very, very small.

    The room was spacious. Big bed. Location of Hotel was very Close to the old town. Staff was really friendly. Gave us recommendations for breakfast, for trips Close by, etc. Parking was very easy: it's free on the street within the white lines.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice spatious room. Very friendly staff helped us very well in advising good restaurant and travel options to Firenze and Toscane in general. Close to city center, good parking facility. Good quality for reasonable price!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as it was all we required. Small shower but that wasn't a big issue for us

    Fantastic Location and very friendly helpful staff. An added bonus was a croissant and coffee in the morning as there was no coffee in the room and the hotel does not offer a breakfast option. This kept us going for a couple of hours.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfect and the price was fair. Although breakfast was not included, the manager served cornetto and cappuccino as refreshment. I really enjoyed this fantastic trip in Lucca!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything at Relais.

    Excellent family run B and B. It was so very easy to locate, park and unpack. Vincenzo came out to gather up our cases and took them inside for us. Such very charming friendly staff and so very helpful, with advice on restaurants, local sights, etc Great location in Lucca, as it's a short walk into the walled city. Easy free parking available on site and on the street out front. Extremely comfortable beds with quality Italian linen and towels. Rooms lovely and clean. We had the Terrace Room and it was beautiful drinking our coffee outside. Wifi excellent and always worked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Vincent is a very friendly welcoming host. The house is wonderful and very comfortable. On site parking us great. Location just outside the wall is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Location was great, room was spacious and well decorated. The owner was very helpful, polite and friendly. Would definetely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing to improve was the mattress could have been a little more comfy because the one we got was very squeaky.

    Great service and helpfulness from staff. Close to the old town, good size room and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Such a simply lovely place to stay.Positioned perfectly just ouside the city wall in a pleasant situation.The building has been tastefully renovated and the rooms are spotless and attractively furnished.My room had a little floral terrace and there is generally an abundance of flowers in the grounds of the hotel.The proprietor is extremely kind and helpful ,nothing is too much trouble and he goes the extra mile.He even drove me to the railway station.In theory the hotel does not provide breakfast but the owner will offer you a drink and a pastry to start your day.When I return to my home in Italy once more , I shall undoubtedly take time out to stay at this delighful hotel again,it is utterly enchanting!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Important to ensure receptionist service even when the manager is out or simply at pause for lunch. Checking out at 10 am is not confortable at all.

    We arrived 30 min after the reception time. We had to wait to take possesion of the room because nobody answered. The manager was hugely unplesant and arrogant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Vincenzo gave us a great welcome when we arrived and even came out to help us find a parking space. The room was much bigger than we expected and was very comfortable. The location is fantastic - just a few minutes walk from the main gate into Lucca. This place is remarkable value for money. They do not provide breakfast, just coffee and a cake, but as it is so close to lots of cafes that is not a problem.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very light, so do not have expectations on this :)

    Good location in Lucca. The host was very nice and helpful with us. The only minus of the property is that it is right next to a street so cars make some noise in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find a single thing wrong with it! We had a perfect stay and will be going back without a second thought!

    What a fabulous place! Great location, literally the street outside the walls! Impeccably clean! A gorgeous foyer, huge room, a huge bed to die for, free parking and staff that treated us like old friends rather than tourists! Vincent, training to be a chemist, was so accommodating and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Needless to say, his English is brilliant! The room was like brand new! The city centre was just a stroll. Not want to walk? Bus stop just around the corner and two euros into the centre of town. Explore the town and ten minute stroll back. We were so lucky to find this place. It was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was extremly small.

    Great location, about 5 mins on foot from the Lucca city center. Extremely charming room. We were provided with 2 bottles of water daily, which is a huge welcome given its summer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Lovely room with a little balcony. Coffee and a pastry were available free of charge for breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have a little more choice.

    Fantastic hospitality. We arrived late. The owner opened up the hotel with grace and a genuine welcome. Faultless hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse B&B Lucca Relais traveller photo gallery