Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Chambres d'Or

Different locations in Rome city centre (Meeting point at Via Germanico 201), Vatican City - Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy

#2694 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1377 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    It was fairly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Via Germanico 201
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were so un-comfortable, and the toilet seat was broken. Not the expected room in terms of value of money. (Over-priced)

    The location was very good in the rome city center...so close to vatican city and st. Angelo.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Via Germanico 201
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful! My plane arrived in Rome early morning and the staff had arranged early check in for my partner and I. When we had any enquiries the staff helped us! Great location as there is street parking available (especially if you are hiring a car), short walk to Vatican City or the metro line which you can hop on to places like Spanish Steps, Colosseum etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    I would not stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The rooms were located on six floors in five different buildings. At time of booking, you have no idea where your room is located. Some are located several blocks from the check-in location, which is a make-shift office behind another hotel that is very difficult to find. There was no telephone in the room with which to communicate with the hotel's main office staff. There was no hotel staff located at our room location. (Long walk to discuss any concerns about the room.) If your room price included breakfast, you had to walk back to the original check-in location for the breakfast. Room was dark and bathroom was cramped and dirty (shower walls had soap scum). There were no towel bars or a shelf for a toothbrush (maid left clean towels on bed).

    Compared to the location where we checked in, our room location turned out to be closer to the attractions we wanted to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Rude, shambolic organisation by hotel management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the first negative review I have ever written on booking.com but I feel guests should be warned before choosing this accommodation. We were due to arrive at the property at around midnight, which means we had to pay an additional €20 for someone to meet us. We had no problem with this and also booked a transfer through the hotel. I was 5 months pregnant at the time and figured this would be the easiest and safest way to arrive late at night. The transfer driver took us straight to the property - which is apartment block around 4 blocks away from the hotel. He rang the buzzer, then left us outside and drove away. We waited in the dark for around 20 minutes constantly ringing the contact number we were given and nobody answered the phone or came to the door. We then decided to walk to the main office a few streets away where we luckily found two guests having a nightcap. They were able to let us into the building and give us a new phone number to try. If they had not been there, we would have had to try and find other accommodation in an unknown city in the middle of the night. Finally, we got through to the hotel manager and gained access to the property where we discovered that the apartment buzzer doesn’t actually work! The next day we contacted the hotel and asked them to refund the €20 we had paid for the welcome as we definitely did not get this service. The manager Danielle refused and was quite aggressive over email asking us to check our phones as she hadn’t received calls from us the previous night. She went so far as to complain about us to booking.com, who understood our point of view and refunded the €20 themselves. The next day, when I finally met with Danielle in person, we realised that she had given us the wrong contact number for the person who was to meet us on arrival!!! At this point Danielle backed down but at no stage offered us a refund or apology.

    The property was basic but clean and is in a good location next to Vatican City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Via Germanico 201
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little a bit pricey but still affordable

    The location is fantastic. Easily walkable to St Peter's Basilica/Sistine Chapel and to the old part of the town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel has all the basic needs a traveller on a budget needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge pillows. I felt like going to sleep while sitting!!!

    The location was great. It had all the basic needs. Fairly clean and overall good calue for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    our stay was good a bit depressing in a brown room.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water for the length of our stay. The room needs a colour change maybe light Grey to brighten It up and some tea and coffee.and the bathroom Needs a good clean.make people feel welcome

    The staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful room with a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Via Germanico 201
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room with a balcony. Good breakfasts. Great location in Vatican City. Quiet, close to good restaurants and the subway. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful room with a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Via Germanico 201
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful room with a balcony. Good breakfasts. Great location in Vatican City. Quiet, close to good restaurants and the subway. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi did not work

    Fantastic staff. They are so kind. Made sure we were confortable at all time. Dates hotel rooms. Don’t expect luxury. Perfect for a reasonable price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    No WIFI, must pay in cash, rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel did not have wifi and although the hotel said it accepts credit cards it only took cash as the method of payment. The staff were very rude with demanding I go to a bank and withdraw cash to pay for my stay even though their website says they accept credit card. They also said that their wifi wasn't working (hasn't been working for over a week) and the staff got angry when I politely asked if they know when the wifi is expected to be fixed. This hotel was definitely not as advertised and my husband and I even called booking.com to complain about our stay while we were here. The people at booking.com were very understanding and even called the hotel on our behalf but were unable to help us. Overall, I would not recommend staying here.

    The room was quiet and it had air conditioning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    ok for 2 night of sightseeing in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room looks much better on the photos than on reality. The rooms are very small and very very compact. We had to walk form the reception to the room that was on another Street. The was only one small lamp working, the rest of the room was very dark as the light didnt work.

    It has a good location close to the Vatican. It was ok for 2 nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    My recommendations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room- Via Paolo Emilio 32
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The work of the staff is excellent!

    Excellent location, spacious and clean room, but ask the reception desk in the building opposite the reception, they will help with pleasure! Our son forgot his favorite toy in the room, it was found out already at the airport, the administrator patiently listened to my calls and read the letters, understood the importance of the toy for us and did everything in his power to return it to us! we are very grateful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check in" was located in a very small room outside of main building. There was no waiting room. We were waiting outside, on rain, until we were called inside that room. The place/room, where we stayed for 5 days, was somewhat dirty and smelly. The carpet had some dark stains. We had to keep window open to remove unpleasant odor from our bedroom. It the bathroom toilet top was loose, ceiling had big water stain, the sink had no stopper, very narrow way to shower place, hair dryer was not working properly, was stopping every few minutes when it was in use. The bed's brown cover had a few visible stains, in my opinion: too thin to keep people warm, free internet was not working properly in our room, stationary telephone was disconnected, bed sheets were not changed every day, room was not vacuumed every day. Location was not bad but offered room needed, for sure, more attention of the owner.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Good property , poor experience on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where it was mentioned on booking.com that owner will deduct the authorization amount and once they have deducted .. when we will get the amount back...

    Location and ease of traveling to other point of interests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    The location, near the Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Via Germanico 201
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and dated. The photos on the site are not quite like in reality. Poor breakfast. The accommodation building was different that the reception desk/ breakfast place.

    The location, near the Vatican.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 301 was bigger than I expected compared to other places I used in the past in the same area.Very clean new windows that stop the noice from the street.Only the Neighbour s on the upper floor their floor isolation was not good so u can hear all their movements.I wish cattle and few cups available.During the night if u wake up and u wish to drink something u ve to go downstairs.Also the bed cover can be upgraded and more modern it ll add up to the room.Anyway very good stay.Highly recomended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    Will spend more money and get better place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wont work, cant sing in to the web, was a trouble with opening the building door you must play with the key to open it, the bath facilitis were broken, for checkin we waiting about 20 min till someone came and fill the documenta

    Were clean and close to the Vatican and metro station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Veni Vidi Vici ! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a beautifil pace, with great , nice and English speaking personel. Localisation is perfect ! close to Vatican City, and less than 2km from city centre :) Im sure I'll be back here ! Thank You for hospitality and no problem ! We were come after midnight and nice guy waits for us to give us a keys! Really Recomended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place close to Vatican city at a very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower had two heads, but the switch to toggle them was broken. The main shower head worked fine but it would have been nice to be able to change them. The shower drain was broken in half.

    It was really close to the Vatican (5 min walking) and from the metro station. It was a really calm place, with very little road noise during the night. The rooms are even closer to the Vatican city than the place where the check in is made.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic value for money in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed could have been a bit bigger for two people but otherwise no complaints. Having read some of the other reviews I am surprised, what do people expect from such a bargain price? Thoroughly recommended.

    The location was amazing, so close to the Vatican. Staff were very friendly and extra helpful. Considering the price it was a bargain. Nice and quiet, lovely garden and old fashioned lift which was something to behold and very efficient. Had keys to front door, apartment door and room so felt very safe and secure. Would definitely revisit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    2.5
    , pictures show door of entrance to block, filthy shower head and toilet you could not sit on CONNED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 7 nights

    check in, not staying where we had .booked, not a hotel just a room, cramped bathroom. no reception, no facilities, not in location booked. or in property booked, 3 days no hot water and offered a shower 2 streets away, no breakfast facility OFFICIAL COMPLAINT TO FOLLOW

    NOTHING

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely people to deal with. Stone's throw from the Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The website isn't great to be fair. Some money invested here would be of benefit to the traveler.

    I booked this as a present for my retried parents. All I can say is that the staff were a pleasure to deal with and when I return to Roma myself, I would seriously consider booking this location myself!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, just a couple of minutes of walk to get to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could've been better (service was good)

    Great location, just a couple of minutes of walk to get to the St. Peter Square or the Vatican Museums. Getting to the centre of Rome is also quick, just take the bus (81) or the metro (Ottaviano and Lepanto stations are both close). The staff was really nice, at check-in they gave me some really useful advice on getting around and even escorted me to the building my room was in!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel name was still Vatican Inn.. they havent changed it to it’s current name.

    The smell of hallway and rooms is very good. Good value for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable place for a short stay with good and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately there was a bad smell in the room every evening when we arrived. The open windows on the ground floor didn't help much..

    The staff was very friendly. The room had lots of space and the beds were big and comfortable. The bathroom was also comfortable and the room was cleaned everyday. It took only 5 minutes to the next Metro station and it was very cose to the Vatican.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room smelled of cigarette smoke. Although I stayed for 5 nights, the complimentary toiletries weren't topped up. The internet connection was very weak. When checking in, I had troubles finding the meeting up point.

    The bed was comfortable and the cleaning of the room and bathroom was very good. The room was located quite close to the Vatican and Ottaviano metro station. the staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was good with the exception on a coffee pot and coffee in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenity of coffee in the room The reception area is separate from hotel room. Distance to walk to get to room. My husband is handicap. It was very inconvenient.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Very beautiful decorated room, cozy and intimate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very beautiful decorated room, cozy and intimate. I especially loved the windows and the curtains. Clean and comfortable, equipped with everything needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Confortable pero pueden mejor en algunos aspectos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful, the was not hot meal at the breakfast. I had to walk 7 blocks from the hotel to the breakfast place. The photo on the website it doesn’t match with the reality.

    The room was big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    2.5
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got to the hotel we got a different room from the one we choose it had a sofa Bed in not a proper bed .The drains in the toilet were smelly and the WiFi didn’t work the whole time We were there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Friendly and helpful staff, good location, quiet, air...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast served on plastic plates/coffee in plastic cups, smelly wardrobe, uncomfortable bathroom.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good location, quiet, air conditioning/heating in the room, good quality wi-fi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.0
    Left me without a room on the second night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left me without a room on the second night. Giving me a key that did not open the floor door and when I called at 12am to get help told me to go back and there was nothing to do. Worst experience. Not a usual hotel and worst customer service from owner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    A great location for a base.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really basic. It was a 5 min walk from reception to room. It took some time to get heating to work. Not enough plug sockets for charging phones.

    It was close to the metro and Vatican.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to repaint dirty walls from previous guests.

    Excellent location, quiet street, managed to find parking too. Very nice pizza restaurant 1 min walk + more bars. Helpful staff that resolved invoice issues.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Fair enough
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funny smell in the room. Sheets could have been cleaner. Shower door broken but functionable.

    Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean. WiFi. Location. Tv service. All you need if are planning just to sleep in for few ours. Was perfect in my case

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    2.5
    not recοmmended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in,reception and breakfast area 300 meters away from the room.Broken plumings,hot water not all time, no WIFI connection, horrible breakfast.

    That we were most of our time out of the room siteseeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    I like very much the governant woman, Mrs.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very pour (tea, coffe and croassant).

    I like very much the governant woman, Mrs. Florentina. She was very nice person and helpfull. Also, the location was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice and comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better or better described - it was just sweet snack not breakfast

    Excellent location, very nice, clean, quiet and comfortable rooms. Close to major attractions, metro & shops. Friendly, helpful staff. Good WiFi. Only con was breakfast - its rather sweet snack with coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was basically in my room because when I arrived at the address for check in there was only the doorbell. When finally someone came after ten minutes of waiting we went directly to the room across the street.

    Close to Vatican

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    It was cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bins outside the property full of rats. There was not enough soap and amenities in the room, wifi was very bad.

    The location was perfect. We walked everywhere from there. It’s very busy and lively.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location but missing a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The set up is a bit strange in a flat, with no reception.the breakfastwas quite deceptive for the price paid with limited options, and it really felt like camping, with a table in a small room with the reception deck.when leaving the receptionnist was not on time so we could not have breakfast in the morning

    Perfect location near the vatican.the rooms were clean and comfi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Not far from Ottavino metro station and not far from Vatican...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi connection are slow and I cannot get any line and I had lost connection to the world unless I leave my room.

    Not far from Ottavino metro station and not far from Vatican City. Surrounded by shops so you will get everything you need. The design so classic and feels like old Rome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend the hotel and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Since the hotel restaurant is being redecorated, we had to have breakfast on outside tables. This wasn't a problem for us since we were lucky to have sunny weather but had it been raining or cold we would have had to have it standing up in the tiny reception space. My room was on the fifth floor and the lift wasn't working on 3 occasions. Though it was repaired on the same day, however people with mobility issues would have been stuck.

    The location was ideal. Two blocks away from the Metro station; only 5 minutes walk away from the Vatican and Vatican Museum; very good restaurants and shops galore just round the corner. Couldn't be better! The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Via Germanico 201
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was rude, bookings.com did not highlight the extra city tax charge, pillows uncomfortable, rooms far away from reception and restaurant.

    Locality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    The room was clear, close to the vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is little, stuff is unhelpfull, always problem for the internet, the housekeeper took away 50 euros from the money we kept in the room, its not a normal hotel with mooving recepcion desk.

    The room was clear, close to the vatican

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    This is pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast is very deficient. The same ham every day. Cheese was only weekend. The pillows are very hard. It is very hard to read because the few light.

    The bed is hard enough. The room has frigidaire. The room great enough and possesses all that we need. The room has a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    It doesn’t look like a hotel! Good location, poor services and bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It doesn’t look like a hotel. Breakfast and reception was across the road in a bar - buffet but its not good at all. Selection was poor and only plastic cutlery, plates and cups were provided. Would have gone elsewhere if not included in price! Bathroom is very small and was leaking while we had shower and the bathroom was all flooded!

    Very good location close to Vatican (almost 10 minutes away by walking) and very close to a metro station. Convenience store and nice restaurants downstairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    Good room, bad restaurant,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Worst ever breakfast. Very unstable and low speed internet connection. Bad facilities, not good bathroom.

    Good place, really close to Vatican. We could visit mostly everything in Rome just on foot. Clean rooms, silent street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.8
    Not overly impressed , sorry !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate to do this but it was not what we expected at all , overall the building was nice enough , but our room was on the small side , I travelled with my sister and booked twin beds and we got a double ! The room was rather dull and decorated with dark furnishings , at first we couldent even open our shutters to the street outside which gave the room quite a claustrophobic atmosphere , the second cleaner on our last morning managed to force it open which was a relief to say the least

    The Location to the Vatican

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    Courteous, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed previously at property and was in much better condition than it is now. Breakfast left a bit to be desired as well, comparatively. Property needs a great deal of remodeling, painting.

    Courteous, helpful staff. Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    No water pressure in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water pressure in the room. Hot water took 5 minutes to turn on. Holes in the walls of the shower where hand held shower fell off. Holes in the walls of the room as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Very good location so close to Vatican almost 5 minutes away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location so close to Vatican almost 5 minutes away by walking. Nice designed room and very traditional apartment in centre of Rome. Good breakfast service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    My stay was great, the staff were friendly. This place was a good choice for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not get the added breakfast. It is awful. The bread is stale, and there are only a few choices. I know it's cheap, but for an additional 10 euro you can eat at the restaurant next door. The place isn't modern at all, but that's what you get for the price and the location.

    I like that the staff was extremely friendly. The rooms are small, but you can't beat the location. Your 5 mins from the Vatican, and about 15 mins walking from the city center. I had a good experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little run down

    Hotel and building is a little run down the location was great 5 min or less to St. Peter's square really great restaurant in the neighborhood Plenty of gelato shop good shopping too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    The excellent location made up for the poor breakfast and fire safety but still concerning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was across the road in a bar - buffet but very, very, low key. Selection was poor and only plastic cutlery, plates and cups were provided. Would have gone elsewhere if not included in price! Fire safety in accommodation was concerning to say the least!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.3
    Please don't waste your time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rude, facilities poor, breakfast atrocious, they took 64€ out my account, didn't tell me, said it was for preauthorising and never refunded me

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception is in a restaurant across the street from the rooms. When we arrived we couldn't find the hotel... Breakfast was sub-par. Rooms could have use a fresh coat of paint and some new furniture. No fridge in our room.

    Air conditioning was working. Walking distance from Vatican CIty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Good value , and position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very small, staff didn't help me with luggage , just in a hurry to go to bed

    Comfortable bed , I arrived late after plane delayed and got a bit lost on foot after shuttle drop off from airport at 12.30 -1am, hotel called me to see where I was and waited for me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    2.5
    Very disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My entire stay at this property is clouded by the fact that we arranged a transfer with Les Chambres d'Or to Ciampino on the morning of our departure from Rome. We confirmed the transfer the night before. The following morning the driver collected us and we again reiterated where we needed to go - Ciampino. He then proceeded to drop us off at the wrong airport - Fiumicino! A service we paid €55 for! We then had to dash like mad to take a taxi to the right airport before we missed our flight - another €50 - and made it just in time! I contacted Les Chambres d'Or about this almost immediately expecting a refund for the botched transfer. They promised to investigate and give me feedback. I never heard from them again, despite repeated follow up emails. I will never stay here again and nor will I advise any friends or family to do so either. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.3
    Rock hard beds, plastic cutlery, hotel not the one you may be staying in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Day before we got there hotel sent email saying we may have to walk to another hotel in side street.Yes we did.Had to walk back to the office/cafe place for breakfast, which was self serve with plastic picnic plates, cups and knives and forks. Few croissants plain n sweet.Saw the waiter guy pick up the packaged cheese with his hands without washing them first.We were to have 3 breakfasts there!, Never ate there after we saw how unprofessional it was.Tea was even served made up in a picnic plunger thermos.I Can neither recommend this place to stay or ever stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    3.8
    The adress is wrong not the same as booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adress is wrong not the same as booking The rooms are not the same as described on the page and super small The breakfast is horrible ice packs inside ice buckets and milk inside Plastic plates and cups very poor breakfast and horrible hote

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dark looking and there was no free water

    Very good cleanliness and room service. Close to St.Peter's basilica. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean, tidy and spactious! We were in a 4 bed family room and it was perfect for us. We also had included daily breakfast which was simple and yummy. It's right around the corner from a tube station so access to the rest of Rome is very easy. I would recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location & Room Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the end of our stay since we had to leave.

    Few mins from metro station, excellent location, five mins walk from the Vatican museums and the Basilica. Room was cleaned every day and towels changed. Good AC & WIFI.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    3.3
    I don't understand how booking.com accepts these kind of accommodations in its website.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I rang the door bell of the given address but someone came out of nowhere and told me that he is the responsible for operations and walked me to an other building -2nd building- and told me with strange attitude not to ring the bell two times again .. The building was not the place that has given me as an address but I have told to walk to nearby street to the 3rd building by the staff even before seeing the room. And he charged me first.. I would like to lock my passport. No safe box at the room. The staff told me something like I can close the window or the locks of the window is safe. The pictures at the internet page are different than the real room. Internet was working at the entrance floor -the garden- but not at the room.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.6
    Very bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The receptionist was rude with me when I arrived. In 4 nights they never changed the towels!! The fridge didn't work and the cleaning lady touch on our belongings. The breakfast is not good at all, there is no offer and they are not clean in the restaurant (and they give everything with plastic containers). The wifi was just working on the desk (and not in the bed or in the other parts of the room). This was one of the worst hotel services that I had. I don't recommend this hotel to other people. You pay a lot for the low quality of the service. Basically you just pay the location of the room.

    The room/bed is small for 2 but it is fine for the location and the toilet was big.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Italy Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's near to all the attractions that we want to see esp. Vatican City. At first it's hard to look for it as we arrived at 2am as well but overall experienced is great. Will be back next year and still I will recommend this property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Not as I expected or was advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe didn't work ,no iron ,no tissues, no English television programmes, no working toilet roll holder,noisy people in room above,hard bed,had to drag suitcases around corner to entrance from reception, on one day no cornflakes at breakfast, plastic cups,plates, knives and forks.

    Position

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible value for money. Everything was falling apart in the room, stains in the walls, electricity sockets hanging off the walls, horrible bathroom, dirty feeling sheets and dim and depressing lights.

    Well located to vatican

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    This is a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's only one person working at the front desk at a time so it can be hard to get a hold of someone at time. Call ahead and arrange check in if you are arriving late.

    This is a good place to stay. It's a short walk from the Vatican and it's in the close to everything else including the metro. We stayed for three nights and booked another two. Everyone there is very helpful the ladies from the front desk helped my parents find their lost luggage. The hotel lobby is behind a little restaurant and I'm not sure if it's part of the hotel or they burst rent the space but that's where breakfast is served for the guest. The servers always went above and Beyond to help us. I really enjoyed my trip to Rome and part of that had to do with my stay at this place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    4.2
    Not worth what they charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Via dei Gracchi 32
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were pretty bad - lots of broken things, old and dirty bathroom, stains on the walls, bed felt grimy and old, generally pretty depressing. On one night there was a dog next door that barked until 2am . The breakfast was completely miserable with cheese and meats sweating in the heat. I wouldn't recommend this hotel, certainly not at the price they are charging.

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With 3 keys to get to the room, I felt very safe. The room was lovey, and kept clean. It had a modern feel and was in a safe, quiet part of Rome. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely return and recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    Poor standard for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe in room didn't work,noisy people in room above ,breakfast didn't always have cereal, polystyrene plates plastic cups plastic knives and forks, had to drag suitcases to entrance around the corner,first stay room wasn't as photo on Internet, no iron in room as advertised,no toilet roll holder,no tissues, not as I expected it to be.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.8
    Great location, only 5 minutes walk to the Vatican City, 25...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - via Catone 21
    • Stayed 1 night

    An hand of fresh paint and small repair needed. It's offered as an Hotel but it's basically a room rental..

    Great location, only 5 minutes walk to the Vatican City, 25 minutes walk to Piazza di Spagna, Trevi fountain and so on.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Les Chambres d'Or traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: