Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Volpaie 3 stars

Via Nuova 9, 53030 Castel San Gimignano, Italy

#3 of 6 hotels in Castel San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 9

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only restaurant in town was closed the day we were there. Had to drive 10 min but no problem. One of the best breakfasts I enjoyed in Italy. The property is a little tired but the room is large, clean and had a great night sleep. Excellent value overall.

    Excellent breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing really.

    Service excellent. The breakfast was out of the ordinary and they made a point of being a "Breakfast" hotel. The owners were amazing and the cooking and bakery that the wife did was something special, among the best we have experienced, and that goes for the service and cleaning as well. If you want to stay in a calm little Italian village and exploring Tuscany, you are in the right place. The village have an excellent restaurant, Tre Archi, that serves excellent Italian food and have the most friendly personal. If you go here you will of course visit San Gimignano, BUT be sure to visit Volterra, an pearl in Tuscany with ancient history.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located next to a busy road which was a bit noisy when relaxing at the pool.

    Nice relaxing place to stay for a few days. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Clean room and well maintained facilities, like the pool and parking area. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very close to Castel San Gimignano, and between 0.5-1 hour drive from the Chianti wine road -SS222

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The perfect breakfast! Excellent service! Beautiful place! Very classy little family hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is in a small nondescript town with limited restaurant choices. Maybe the second floor had a view but all we saw was the building across the street.

    The breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location near San Gimignano, Volterra and Siena. Delicious full breakfast. Tremendously helpful owner and staff. Large and comfortable room. Nearby Tre Arche restaurant and Il Monte pizzeria are both excellent. We stayed longer than we had planned, and loved our stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little on the expensive side compared with other properties we stayed in. WIFI in reception but very slow in our room.

    Spacious room with patio and well equipped bathroom. Exceptionally good breakfast. Good restaurant nearby.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good family run hotel , well situated for visiting the surrounding Tuscan towns of Siena and San Gimignano. Good breakfasts

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 9

Guests also reviewed these properties: