Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lido Mediterranee 4 stars

Via Nazionale 175, 98030 Taormina, Italy

#48 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 593 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a bit dated, if the sea is about rough outside it's quite noisy at night with window open ( but that's what you get for being right on the beach 😀)

    Loved the staff, every touch point was met with a smile. Loved being so close to the sea and having own beach. Food in restaurant was fantastic, breakfast had plenty of choice, lunch and dinner menu were filled with local dishes. Wine was great too. Having a balcony was a bonus. Location, close to the cable car for the trip up to Taormina town. Alfresco dining area under cover of thick trees.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was plentiful but no fresh fruit.The hawkers on the beach in front of the hotel were annoying to say the least. Front office very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rocky beach

    Staff friendly and very hard working, the beach is rocky but you can purchase rubber shoes to help alleviate the pain of the stones. The hotel is like stepping back in time but it’s very clean. Just up the road, you will find a cable car to take you up to the town of Taormina for€3 each way, otherwise you can take a taxi for €15.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water in the shower was set too cold with no pressure. It might be better in summer when you dont need hot water.

    Good parking. New beds. Newly renovated. Great atmosphere for breakfasts. The staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a perfect "old school" hotel. The staff was wonderful, the room large with a picture-perfect sea view. Private beach with chairs and umbrella included. Large buffet breakfast with many choices. Free parking. This place is a gem. 15 minute walk to the gondolas to Taormina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe not the best for a solo traveller. But I still enjoyed it very much.

    It is clean and I had an amazing view. The staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly, I cannot fault this place. We had the best time.

    We had a wonderful stay here, and I could not recommend it enough. Great location on the beach, and easy walking distance to other restaurants, cable car to Taormina (you can also walk), more beaches etc. Beach lounges are also included in the price, as well as a buffet style breakfast and parking on site. We also enjoyed other great meals here, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We were lucky to enjoy it at a less busier time of the year, but I can't imagine the experience being any less different. Don't be put off by the 'older style' of the property, it just adds to the charm and does not take away from the comfort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast would better contain more healthy food, such as porridge or home made yogurt, ricotta cheese and fresh fruits.

    Spirit of great old days, absolutely friendly staff, delicious cuisine in the in-house restaurant. Good personal beach and big parking are very much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Retro hotel uit 1968, in al de jaren niets veranderd. Geweldige ligging, hotel, lobby, ontbijt, personeel, WiFi ( zelfs op het strand), privé strand, met badman die je handdoek meeneemt naar je strandstoel. Geweldige beleving !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very uncomfortable for families Far away from everything-no shops or restaurants around Highly expensive

    Nice staff Very clean Sound of waves all day at room Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't say much about what we didn't like! It was literally as described in the hotel listing. Perhaps in peak season it will be a different experience competing for tables by the sea!

    A lovely traditional hotel in the gorgeous coastline of Taormina. The rooms face the sea and if you're up early enough you'll welcome the day with mesmerising sunrises. We went in the low season so were lucky to have breakfast overlooking the sea every morning. A real pleasure to take in. Breakfast was generous with a good selection of cooked and cold foods, yoghurts and fruit. The staff were only too happy to answer any questions and guide you on the best things to do. If you have the option to book a room with a terrace, I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned, the restaurant menu was one of the worst and needs serious attention!

    A great hotel - the hotel restaurant food was sub-par, perhaps borderline terrible! Had dinner only one time and immediately knew their chef should not be behind a stove! Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location facing the Mediterranean with beach access. Staff create a genuine 'Fawlty Towers' experience that was quite amusing for one night and gave us a theme for the location, but might wear thin if you were staying longer. Coffee was really disappointing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor quality breakfast food and a breakfast menu that never varied... was ok to do this 20 years ago but the hotel is stuck in a time warp which was quaint but needs to update and upgrade for the modern era...

    Nice location and pleasant staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom and shower a bit tight for space. TV an old CRT type, poor reception but didn't really need it. Beach traders a bit of a nuisance, best not to engage at all just say No before they tart.

    Sea views and sounds from bedroom, went to sleep with sound of waves breaking on beach. Great to have Breakfast, Dinner, or just a drink on the tree covered patio just a few yards from the sea. Not to far to walk to get to other restaurants, small shops and cable car to Taormina (3 euro each way). Sea good for swimming (best have beach shoes, bit stony). WIFI was quick and easy and stayed logged in. Bit old fashioned in a nice way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water-system of the toilet didn't exist in our room, but no help at all.

    Old fashioned hotel, old fashioned service in the restaurant. Nice beach, easy parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small but we managed for a short stay.

    Quirky hotel in a lovely location. Very clean Nothing was too much to ask for staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fixtures are fittings are rather dated. Everything is in a time warp from the 1980's. The TV was a large cathode ray tube assembly like the one we had at home in the late 1980's, and the light shade was an over sized pink tassled thing that was all the rage in 1985. Madonna and George Michael play over the stereo system as you eat breakfast. You'll definitely need big hair and shoulder pads to stay at this place.

    Nice beach location with great sea views and a lovely beach front restaurant. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shuttle service to various key locations such as Taormina, nearby towns and airport. Rooms were a bit dated

    Access to beach, restaurant, and views from the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are basic & very dated. The beach sand is essentially grit - it is the same across the region though. It doesn't stop you or kids enjoying the sun or sea, just a little uncomfortable to walk on bare foot. Avoid the restaurant 2 down on the beach - nice people but bad , expensive food.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Traditional service style - which I haven't seen in a long time. Having it's own beach was great, especially for the kids. Eating breakfast & dinner with a view of the sea was great. The restaurant at the hotel was fine, as was the one next door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some serious money needs to be spent. For a four star hotel, bamboo style furniture, plastic cups and Ikea chairs on the room terrace are just not good enough. The bathroom design was poor with the shower tray immediately in front of the toilet and a fabric shower curtain. Even a sign showing where reception is as you arrive would be helpful. Whilst the room terrace was great, there is no privacy screens between each room which is awkward. The staff were friendly enough but we weren't ask if we had enjoyed our stay when we checked out.

    We had booked a room with a balcony but were upgraded to a room with a large terrace and wonderful view over the sea. The bed was large and extremely comfortable. We loved the private beach and the huge outside dining area shaded under large trees which was perfect for any meal. Parking was easy. There is no noise from road or rail traffic, just the breaking of waves on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a good walk to the cable call to get to the old town , but you can't have everything ,€6 return by cable car per person (x3), €15 by cab one way , bit dated , but most hotels are , train line runs right behind hotel , but not to much bother really , just a surprise , some of the beach hawkers can be a pest ,particularly the "foot massage?"but that's on every beach , beach is stoney , but wear plastic slippers €7 from beach hawker !

    Lovely staff , very helpful , happy people , nice selection for breakfast , easy parking , although any parking in Sicily is very much in demand , room cleaned every day , air conditioning that worked , with no extra charges or usage restrictions , beach right at the bottom of the hotel stairs , free towels and umbrella and two beds , (which where €25-€35 on any other beach depending on there mood , and how busy they where )Genaraly a good location , close to main roads , walking distance to lower Tairomina, nice private quiet location ,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nowhere to go for walking in the evening, have to take bus/taxi to get anywhere a bit outdated, but still very nice thanks to the location on the beach

    Literally on the beach, great view, fantastic sunsets, good place for relaxation and lazy holiday time, ideal for staying 3-4 nights to get a proper rest and then continue to explore Sicily

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little tight and left a constant puddle at the foot of the toilet. A screen rather than a shower curtain or some other alternative which is sympathetic to the original design of the hotel would help. The furniture was a little oversized. The road to the cable car was a bit of a tricky walk.

    I loved the retro decore making me feel like I was in a 1969 time warp, the restaurant and the sea outside my window at the foot of my bed was heaven. The room (tiles and furniture) made me feel like I was taken back to the 70s, to my parents place - the fact that this place is untouched this is definitely the main charm of the place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel could do an easy upgrade of chairs in the room and throughout the hotel.

    Location on the beach is fantastic and easy to get into the center of Taormina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower flooded - and the shutters onto the beach were quite stiff.

    The sound of the waves crashing just below us; the friendly staff; the olde worlde feel to the place; the breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the water; service on the beach...great bed; generous size room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    The vintage look of the "comfort rooms" and the antique writing tables I loved. And the beautiful old tiled floors. Some might find it dated, but I loved those features, it lent the hotel an old kind of elegance. Having a room with a balcony made our visit much more enjoyable. The view from the balcony was just lovely and it was so relaxing to sit and look out at the sea. The staff were brilliant. Aldo and Francesco were so helpful with travel information. And Giuseppe the manager was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a 1940's style, atmosphere & charm. It is in good condition for its age but the rooms could benefit from an upgrade. Bathroom was very small and there wasn't enough shelves for your toiletries.

    We were upgraded to a terrace room which was large & had spectacular views of sea. Breakfast had a large variety on offer & the scrambled eggs were the best I've had in a hotel. The restaurant menu was varied & we ate there both nights as it was convenient & the ambience was unbeatable. The private beach had lounges, towels & a lifeguard. The staff were charming old fashioned Italians who gave respectful service to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was pebbles, very steep slope into water, quite a challenge. But beautiful to look at

    Loved the setting of the hotel and views out to sea were amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Premises had an old look with some old material and equipment, but still they were all clean and functioning.

    Polite and friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable beach in the front and convenient location for going around the whole of Taormina and environs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs to be refurbished! It is not a 4 stars at all. Everywhere there are ceramic tiles from 60's and 70's. The furniture in the room is in an old style. There is an old TV, an old fridge, old everything. The bathroom is awful, with an old flushing system, old bath...they don't give you even a complete bath set (shampoo+shower cup+cotton disk etc.) like in other hotels. The room was clean but absolutely old! like my granmother's room. NO way! This hotel could be a really 5 stars hotel but need a complete remaking. I wouldn't pay again that money for that room.

    The terrace in front of the beach is absolutely stunning. You can stay there for the breakfast and if you don't want to stay at the beach under the trees (but during the day you have to drink and eat something at the bar). The seaside is nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Walking anywhere was difficult - along a very busy, dangerous narrow road. Bit cut off from rest of Taormina. A nice hotel but a bit tired looking. Everything functioned Ok - just. But, furniture etc needs a change looks like it has been there since the 70's. Rooms a little on small side and balcony option very expensive. 10 -15 minute walk along road to the Cable car up to Taormina

    Staff were lovely helpful and efficient. Nice beach just below hotel balcony. Quiet even though railway just behind hotel never heard it. Restaurant food Ok. Good views of the bay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast has a big selection of food but not enough fresh fruit and whole grain breads for my taste. Good coffee though.

    Great location, amazing views from the rooms, very friendly and accomidating staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be great if there were more fresh fruits at the breakfast

    Everything was very good! Staff is the best! Beach with the sunbed and umbrella for free, 5 min by walk to the funicular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was really rough and it was hard to walk anywhere - the beachfront was rocky and difficult to travel far and the road leading to the hotel was narrow, no footpath with crazy two way traffic.

    The hotel's proximity to it's little beach was excellent and the dining terrace under the fig trees was amazing and the food was awesome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very bland, and there wasn't much of a selection.

    The sea view was amazing and the sound of the sea at night was incredibly relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in room

    Wonderful friendly staff who really go out of their way to help great beach beautiful sea view lots of parking and great access to autostrada

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible and same everyday - the rooms and whole hotel was dated and like going back in time. No entertainment, expensive, no tea coffee in rooms, it was a dangerous walk to the main resort in busy roads with no paths. Definateley not 4 star.

    nothing really

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast would have benefited from more fresh fruit.

    Absolutely wonderful hotel, like something out or a Wes Anderson movie complete with uniquely wonderful members of staff. The decor gives you the feeling of stepping into the past with Venetian glass light fittings and palm leaf patterned upholstery. Very spacious, bright and airy throughout the hotel, with the most breathtaking veranda shaded by mature trees. Also the private beach was heavenly. My favorite hotel of the trip, even though Taormino was not my favorite location I will definitely be returning and hope that this wonderful place maintains its special charm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower Only shower curtain that leaked water onto bathroom floor

    Right on beach Out of noise Close to cable car Lovely views Friendly staff Spoke English

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and common areas had a very mildewy, unpleasant smell. Breakfast was poor quality. Common areas had very dated furnishings. Just disappointing!

    Adequate parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed that the hotel failed to inform us that Taormina was shut for 2 out of the 3 days for the G7 summit before we arrived. The hotel's customer service was poor as they had little knowledge of what public transport was available and were unhelpful in suggesting alternative trips to make.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although it has clearly seen better days we liked the old world charm of this slightly run down hotel. The restaurant service was excellent and the food good. If you like being lulled to sleep by the sound of water breaking on the beach below you will love the location. Taomina town is a walk and cable car away where the vast amphitheatre is well worth a visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the small shower. However, since there was a curtain instead of a hard shell, it was easier to move around in than some we have experienced.

    I loved the staff --front desk, dining, and lifeguard! The setting was one of the prettiest we have ever experienced. The beach and views were beautiful. The chaise lounges and umbrellas were included in the price of the room and the beach was not crowded. The room was a bright classic old Italian style. I would love to go back some day!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities seem to come from the 70s and some upgrade could make it a real 4 star hotel.

    The hotel is situated by the sea and not far from the cable car to go up to the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel will need a little bit to be more modern even if everything is clean, it's like nothing changed in the room since a few years

    The private beach is really a good point of this hotel The room is cleaned each days The staff is all the time available for the customers

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The road is busy outside the hotel with no walk way - so if you don't have a car its a little uncomfortable walking up the road to other restaurants - and I would say definitely not with the family in tow.

    The hotels location - with its own private beach and terrace for breakfast over looking the water is fantastic. Its also very close to Taormina - up the hill via car or cable car. Be prepared - there is no pool - but swimming in the sea was warm and part of the overall experience - snorkelling was also fun - even in October. There are showers on the beach and they provide towels and a sun lounger at no additional cost - the lifeguard also takes drinks orders - very civilised Breakfast was plentiful and although not varied (Over a week) it was of a good standard and the coffee, tea etc. - all good - despite some rather poor previous comments on trip advisor. You also have lunch / dinner on the terrace - costs are similar to Taormina The staff were very helpful and welcoming - and happy to park your car for you in the free car park - a big plus on this busy stretch of coast line where parking can be hard to find and expensive - 10 euros for a day. Although an older hotel - it was spotless, the rooms large and airy with great views of the sea from the bedroom window / balcony - push the boat out and get a balcony if you fancy reading and watching the sun going down...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location was too far from cable cars, it was about a 15min walk along a dangeous and busy main road. Also, not close to any shops. The rooms are also very outdated.

    On a nice beach and we had a beautiful view from our room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There is no pedestrian route that would get you to the nearest shop or cable car to Taormina, so every time you'll have to walk about 800 meters along the road full of cars. However everyone is driving slowly, so it is safe. There was no kettle, no teas and no coffee in the room - it was quite a disappointment for me as I drink 2-3 cups of tea daily. You can order it to the room, but that is a bit pricy if you do it every day. Also no showercaps, no slippers, no toothbrushes that the hotel could offer and no safe in the room. Also the hotel transfer from the airport was quite expensive - 80 euros from Catania. If we new that in advance we would rent a car right in the airport.

    Great staff, enriching breakfasts, nice terrace with trees. If you are driving there is a free parking right next to hotel and a roundabout exits to Taormina, Messina, Catania in just 500 meters. And really - the best view ever - the window in Mediterranean style is just overlooking the open sea. French balcony is a super nice frame for it. The hotel is very stylish overall. A sandy beach is also best part of the hotel - almost no rocks which as a very rare thing in Taormina. Wifi is working very well, even on the beach. However there is a limit on a number of devices per room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel's restaurant is a 5 Star quality, both food and service. Beatiful large outdoor patio for al fresco dining. Access to the beach!!! The overall atmosphere of the hotel is very charming and classy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dated and really needed some serious maintenance in the bathroom.It was too far from the city center . We had to drive to Taormina proper and parking is impossible!

    It was right on the water and we had an ocean view from our room. We could hear the waves hitting the shore from our room. The beach was easily accessible but there appeared to be sewage in the water so we cancelled swimming The terrace on the beach was a lovely spot for a cocktail and for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything was great, just perhaps they could have added some non-pork meat (chicken or turkey) for those, who don't eat pork, but this is a common issue in many hotels in Europe.

    everything was great and we enjoyed our stay very much. indeed the hotel is old, but overall everything is working, it is very nice and sleeping in the room with big windows just a couple of meters from the see makes a great impression

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything . Not good for booking com client . Please advice to visit the hotel . Thanks

    Very old ,no good air condition , poor breakfast . Shower box very small . I don't stay anymore . Very old ,no good air condition , poor breakfast . Shower box very small . I don't stay anymore .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Having some animation during day and at night will have been really appreciated and will be a plus for this hotel.

    Staff very welcoming, very kind and helping! I really like the old 70's style. The view is fantastic, the terrace is gorgeous and it is really wonderful to have a direct access to the beach. Children are safe with the safeguard of the hotel on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are pretty poor. Bathrooms very basic and cramped. However the rooms reflect the 60/70's vibe of the hotel, so it should be considered in that context

    Beach and excellent staff. Easy to find, 2 minutes from the Taormina motorway exit. Restaurant menu is sufficiently varied and the quality is good, should you choose to eat in one evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were very basic. Breakfast was poor hardly any choice. No entertainment and snacks and drinks were very basic. Hotel needs modernising and faciilities require upgrading.

    The beach side location was excellent. Well kept clean rooms and overall beach was keot spotless.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathrooms are tiled in very depressing colors and need updating. the shower is tiny.

    great location, character, very authentic 60's Italian style. The terrace is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower!

    The location right on the beach during a hot summer was perfect. We liked that it wasn't so close to restaurants that it was noisy and Taormina was just a cable car ride away. Plus the coast line is so beautiful! It also had parking onsite and meant we could do day trips elsewhere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Tv was from the last century

    Excellent Location right at the beach, friendly staff, hint: Take min. a standard room, as the economic rooms might face the railway tracks or the road

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have swept and mopped the room to make sure that the floors were clean.

    The view was amazing! The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The beach amenities were great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Wonderful hotel on the beach, you hear nothing but the waives, although the train goes extremely close. You have breakfast on the terrace facing the sea, you can also have very nice dinners there. Excellent staff, you can enjoy the private beach with sunchairs, umbrellas and towels.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As other travelers said the property could use a facelift. Also there are many mosquitoes on the terrace when you are trying to enjoy dinner. I had to cover my food to keep the mosquitoes away. Perhaps there is a way to address that.

    This is a lovely setting for a hotel and the beach is wonderful. The staff could not be more attentive. The cable car to Taormina is less than 1 mile away. Parking is available. It was great to go into the city but then come back to such a quiet and tranquil location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walk to the cable car is a little scary, so while you can go into town it isn't the easiest thing in the world. The facilities are definitely outdated, but as I said, that's part of the charm.

    This place is a trip - the decor is stuck in time but in a way that I was really into. The location is perfect if you want to spend most of your time at the beach and the staff were so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing particular

    Nice breakfast, excellent location. Has a private beach which is very convenient. Free, comfortable parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing veranda terrace breakfast nice brise beatiful sight to the sea sitting below old trees instead of umbrellas

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolut superb!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was great, one thing is a small shower and bathroom.

    Hotel right on the beach. Perfect location. Hotel is older style but view from room was a 10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous walk to restaurant and needed taxi to town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small staff in reception v nice dining there is a bit old fashioned and there pricing structure unclear

    View from the room was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were pleasantly surprised when on my wife's birthday, (staff found out from passports) we found a bottle of champagne in our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City is expensive

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with more storage in the bedrooms i.e. Draws instead of wicker furniture

    Lovely to wake up to the sound of waves

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and service are very good

    Nice location for beach goers, excelent and extremly friendly service but facilities a litle bit old

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it was far from village and we must take taxi to visit and rent a car to go to other places

    I like every thing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly helpful staff Delicious breakfast with huge choice The beach

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Lido Mediterranee traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: