Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Locanda Cairoli 4 stars

Piazza Benedetto Cairoli 2, Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy

#275 of 967 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small and the view very sad. Almost no day light. But other rooms looked better The tremor of the trams could be heard and feeled until midnight. We weren’t very lucky with our neighbors who were so noisy

    The staff was extremely helpful. The location exeptional. Excelent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Staff is helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-It is noisy, by 5:00 AM will start to hear Tram noise. 2- You have to keep cash to pay city tax. 3- I spent two hours to find the location, it is located in a second floor of closed door building without any sign.

    Staff is helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.5
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just loved this hotel. Great location, great staff, breakfast with home cooked cakes. Decor eclectic. Interesting guests. Quiet room. Dining room had cute, romantic view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Roma in a nutshell
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Air conditioner wasn't very strong and the bathtub could be replaced, but still ok.

    The staff was nice and helpful. They let us check-in early. I liked that they had a bar and computer with printer. It was nice since we needed to book some additional things for our next trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.5
    Only the location and staff are okayish, everything else is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “hotel” is next to the tram train line , which means that every ten minutes you experience an earthquake that vibrates the whole hotel !!! Staff tries to be helpful , though even if they are aware of the issue but obviously don’t inform guests in advance and even after they move you to a “supposedly” better room , the situation is still awful, meaning from 6am you ll start hear the massive vibration/earthquake every 10 Minutes as the tram passes by. Not to mention that the bathroom need a full restyling as they are in disastrous conditions. Amazingly they charge the same price of a much newer hotel nearby but off the main rod where you can actually sleep. Never again in a nutshell.

    Only the location and staff are okayish, everything else is really a disaster

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.3
    Definitely not a four star hotel (extremely dissapointed)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as a four star hotel, but is in reality only a bed and breakfast. Please don't be fooled and waste your money on staying here. We booked for five nights and were so disappointed that we left after the second. Owner is arrogant and refused any refund, for the nights that we did not stay there, even though the advertising is completely misleading and their air conditioned did not work in both of the rooms that I booked. Staying at this so-called hotel can ruin your entire vacation, so please think very carefully before booking. If you just want a plain bed and breakfast, at an exorbitant cost, then this may meet your needs. Please also note that this "hotel" is actually just one floor of an old disgusting building. You almost feel that you are going to be mugged before you get to the correct floor.

    Nothing at all. This was the worst hotel that I have ever been to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Only 1 working electric outlet, and that was in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only 1 working electric outlet, and that was in the bathroom. they said they would fix the bedroom outlet "tomorrow", but that never occurred. Very slow, weak shower flow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Interesting, arty hotel in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small.

    The interior design of the hotel was interesting and arty. The use of the common lounge was terrific. The location is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Charming and close to every thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    I booked this hotel by chance, not really knowing the value of its location, it was in the center of every thibg, just few steps from everything you want to visit, tram stop and bus stop right in front of it. Resturants, and a piazza just next to it with a local market. Staff more than helpful, the room had everything we needed,anything extra just ask for it and they would help us. 24 hour desk. First floor, they have a lift. The photos of the property does not let you feel how lovely it is, way more lovely and charming.art every where you look.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    This little hotel was a revelation, once we had found it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This little hotel was a revelation, once we had found it. Other than being listed together with the other occupiers of the building on the brass plate at the front door there is no other indication of the presence of Locanda Cairoli. The room was excellent if a little cramped. Reception staff very efficient and friendly and the overall decor and ambience reflects the owner's cultured tastes. Wonderfully located within walking distance of most of the principal tourist "must see" locations. I'm so pleased that this hotel was recommended to me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service with very friendly, helpful and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service with very friendly, helpful and multilingual personnel; good location in terms of access to key historic sights (there is a tram nearby, but I did not even notice any noise at night); and wonderful home-made breakfasts you should definitely try out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Have recommended to all the collegues to stay in the hotel when being in Rome. Hope to be back!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the tram next to the hotel is too loud at night, but you have to be very tired ( it is very easy in Rome) not to hear it)

    Great location in the city. The staff is very polite and helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    It is perfectly located (but please mind there is a tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not worth it at all. I didn't find two small items when I was leaving - I'm sure I never took them out of the room. They don't have great value but it was strange - first time in my experience I had something missing in a hotel.

    It is perfectly located (but please mind there is a tram running under the hotel's windows and it's loud, not in the night, though). The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location and nice art on the walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not well marked outside. This is a boutique hotel on second floor of a building. Breakfast should be included.

    Good location walkable to sites and on pretty piazza.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit tricky to find the hotel, refer to the building directory.

    The sitting room was very restful. It was fun to converse with the other guests at breakfast. The location was perfect and the staff was quite accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    .Cool little hotel with only 15 rooms but really lovely with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little hard to find since it is on the 2nd floor and there is no obvious door but the hotel is really lovely Also the step down into the room and the step up into the bathroom but wasn't really a problem.

    .Cool little hotel with only 15 rooms but really lovely with a great staff. The location was good and it had wonderful restaurants close by as well as being walking distance to the Coliseum and other historic sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Clubhouse B&B in the heart of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Trams run beside the hotel and can be a bit noisy --- but they stop at midnight at least!! In our room at least there was good wardrobe space but NO drawers so we had to be a bit inventive as this was part of a longer trip!

    A slightly unusual type of hotel as in reality it is one floor of a very large old building which has been tastefully and elegantly turned into a "B&B" hotel. Location close to Largo Argentina and Campo de' Fiori is excellent for central Rome, and if you do not want to walk there are trams, buses and taxis close by. Staff all speak good English and are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is Italian style (so hot food at a surcharge) but plentiful, and all guests sit around one long table in the salotto, so it is easy to talk to other guests. Breakfast is served over 3 hours, so there is not much congestion from just having the single table. As this is the centro storico the parking is non-existent and the lift up to the first floor is one of the tiny Italian variety.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Really nice hotel, very accomodating, good facilities, a lot more room than others in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    of course, parking is a nightmare in Rome, so don't come with a car. a bit difficult to find the hotel at night... looks like a palazzo from outside...

    Spacious well appointed rooms, fantastic location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Old bathroom, very very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bathroom, very very small room. Poor breakfast choices, not a 4 star hotel facilities, no availability of expected toiletries. Dubious entrance, hotel situated on the second floor of an old building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Loved this Hotel, would definitely stay there again if I return to Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a fridge in the room, but this could normal in Italy as the other places I stayed didn't have one either. This is such a minor point as the rest of it certainly made up for the lack of a fridge.

    The accommodation is just like walking into an Italian home. They have created a beautiful lounge/dining room which is filled with art, books and all the comfort of home. It flows throughout the property. I have never seen this anywhere else. The location was perfect for accessing all the sights and public transport. My room was so peaceful at night. The staff were wonderful and available 24/7.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tramline is close and causes a bit of a rumble in the room, but we were tired enough to sleep through it. No views out the windows in our room.

    The location is very central and the staff were very professional and helpful at all times. Breakfast was a real treat, like we were visiting someone in their home. Room was small but comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Chic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The streetcar on the main road adjacent to the hotel make a whole lot of noise but nothing the poor souls at the hotel can do about. luckily it stops operating through the night!!!

    Great location. Very chic hotel with friendly staff. Eric at the front desk was expectantly nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Yummy croissant and coffee served to order. Eggs cooked to order. A wide variety of choice for breakfast. Taxi and restaurant bookings were made for us free of charge and a bathroom was available for our last day when we returned to collect our bags.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Charming boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find. There are steps to get to hotel with no one to help with luggage. Rooms vary in size and view.

    Charming boutique hotel. Clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Central location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.3
    Staff is very nice, location is excellent, breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If you get a room along the street, you cannot sleep, because of the tram under your window, which makes heavy noise and shakes you, as if you were inside a railway station or along an aircraft at take-off. Only after 2 nights without sleeping, we got a comfortable room. It is unbelievable that Booking.com promotes such a facility.

    Staff is very nice, location is excellent, breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Quirky decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hard to find, the windows had hotel written in it but perhaps the name of the hotel would help as well. However, if you go by the address number which took us a while to realise, we found it easily after that.

    Quirky decor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Unexpected treasure of a hotel. I will return here when in Rome from now on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't anything that was lacking or that I could have expected.

    The night staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful at check-in. The room was beautiful and overlooked a picturesque little park where the birds sang as we feasted on the best breakfast I've ever had. Every part to this hotel was very clean, roomy and well appointed. I felt very much at home and treated very, very well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    The staff was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It might be better to have a tea/coffee maker in the room and more plugs for charging your phone and laptop at the same time.

    The staff was excellent. They were always responsive and helpful. I really liked their attitude and their welcoming. Location was good, easy to walk to main areas of interest. The property makes you feel like home. I liked the movie posters in the room, it was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Central location near great restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location within walking distance of all the major historic sights in Rome. Campo dei Fiori is only a short 5 minute walk from the hotel via a lovely little street full of shops. Visit restaurant Enama & Cor on one of the cross streets (Via Arca del Monte) between the hotel and Campo dei Fiori for the best dinner and best service in the area. Our room was large for Rome, and we enjoyed the spacious guest area and the extremely helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great 10 min walk from most attractions. Bed is comfortable, rich breakfast with great coffee. Staff was amazing and we would definitely back on our next trip to Rome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic, quirky hotel close to all the major sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The road can be a bit noisy when the trams are running. We would also have quite liked a kettle in the room and maybe milk available at breakfast but not a major issue.

    Fantastic location within easy walking distance of all the major attractions, friendly staff, nice quirky art around the hotel and providing me with a special vegan cake :). Lovely breakfast with lots to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Cairoli's location is the best for any tourist!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cairoli's location is the best for any tourist! Walking distance to the Vatican or to the Colosseum, makes easy to move around the center of Rome!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some devices in the room (hairdryer, multiple wall sockets, powerful lights) can be improved in a 4star hotel quality of the breakfast can be improved. It's not bad but some higher quality product can be foreseen time to time

    location kindness of staff quiet stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise on one side of the building was too loud for me. However, they quickly and very kindly moved me to another room for the rest of my stay.

    Excellent staff. Great breakfast with fresh fruit and good coffee, as the first and also the last person of the day. wifi was smooth and hassle free. great location, very comfortable and well designed rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel! Great staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. A bit wierd- the hotel is one floor in a building. But still - safe and nice.

    Its a great hotel! The staff is very nice and accommodated me with whatever i wanted!! Very recommend!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    The ground floor building entry is a little rough looking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground floor building entry is a little rough looking, but once you reach the hotel on the next floor up, it is clean and nicely renovated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    It felt like Home and the staff was very nice too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmmm, they could have a better breakfast.

    It felt like Home and the staff was very nice too

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Location was good enough to visit Roma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just few meters from the tramway which is very noisy in the room till 24.00 and from 6.00 in the morning.

    Location was good enough to visit Roma.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Atmospheric small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Everything except the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were too hard.

    Everything except the beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay in Rome. Splendid location and the hotel was an absolute gem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Warmth of hospitality, decoration, comfort, breakfast, and location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    I felt like at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff Beautiful art paintings Unique decoration Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Location is absolutely particular
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not that good

    Location is absolutely particular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    I'd go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed, lack of towels and shower gel.

    The casual side of it. The communal breakfast table and the friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not sound proof and I could here everything that was going on outside my room

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The A/C is was not cooling enough

    Good breakfast Clean and spacious room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Great value in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable overall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive for bed and breakfast

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, very nice breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.7
    great location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror in bathroom faulty

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Very good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room

    Very good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Everything was top-notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was top-notch. Especially location. It is difficult to think of better location for a tourist in Rome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Great choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff, outstanding service!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    The most perfect roman vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. My stay was perfect

    The attentive and friendly staff. The wonderful location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.7
    Water was cold and room was small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water was cold and room was small

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Good location. Good cost-benefit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very attentive and made sure we had everything we need.

    Stayed in January 2017

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Hotel Locanda Cairoli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: