Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Locanda Dei Mai Intees 4 stars

Via Monte Grappa 22, 21022 Azzate, Italy

#2 of 2 hotels in Azzate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 58 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Hidden Jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds we had weren't very comfortable.

    Amazing old building thats been in the family for 4 generations with a beautiful collection of art work and antiques. lovely old rooms from another era. Stunning restaurant with great food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    So definitely not the hotel for us.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in Azzate for very important meetings, however I felt stressful in that hotel with my partner,no AC, wifi in the room - only on the terrace, the cleaner cannot understand English at all, it was difficult to explain her that we need privacy,no labels for it, we cannot let sleep our dogs during the hottest period around noon in the room instead we wanted to go swimming for one two hours ...next problem were the artificial sockets, one would need the plug adapters, also one basic thing like a trash bin for hotel guests you would not find around ...the continental breakfast was rather poor according to our experiences from our travels around beloved Italy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    This place definitely deserves better owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place definitely deserves better. We got the impression that the current owners (apparantly family-owned) are not really interested in running a hotel. Upon arrival they were more or less suprised that guests showed up although we booked via Booking. We seemed to be the only guests on a Friday night in high season! The welcoming was cool and distant and we were asked if we're planning to stay out late tonight since someone would have to stay awake for us to return. The only other girl working there seems to be afraid of foreigners and looked very unpleased and sometimes bored. Breakfast is a joke consisting of a cup of coffee, toasted pieces of baguette (from the previous day) and some packed jam. I don't know how they got their 4 star rating but to us this isn't comprehensible. Apparently the son of the family is a good chef who serves pricey dishes in a restaurant section of the hotel. However, the entire athmosphere was so strange that we decided to find a pizza place nearby.

    We selected this hotel as the last stopover on our way back from Nice to Germany to pamper ourselves one last time before our vacation ends. The building is just lovely - it's really like staying in a castle of medieval times. Our room had a high ceiling, large wooden bed and other interior which looked like it has been build hundreds of years ago (and probably was). Fortunately the bathroom was more modern although I'v never seen shower appliances like this before. They looked like taken out of Nemo's Nautilus and thus didn't work properly (which, however, was not a big problem). They have a wonderful lounge area and inner patio all with flowers and old furniture and a smell of antiqueness around it. It could have been a great place to stay - if it weren't for the current owners...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice historic building, wonderfully and tastefully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible service at breakfast. Not English speaking. Terrified of foreigners.

    Nice historic building, wonderfully and tastefully decorated. Great reception staff. Great English level.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful place to stay within easy striking distance of Malpensa Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The signage top the hotel could be displayed more prominently on the village approach.

    The Hotel is a grand Villa and the current owner is proudly connected to the history of the place and provides a fascinating historical perspective. The rooms are spacious and well furnished and the food at dinner delicious and of the highest standard. The small village in which the hotel stands has a magnificent view over the lake of Varese. There is a gorgeous village square immediately below the old village where the children play, lovers meet and town folk gossip, and it looks down from a wonderful panorama over the lake. On our last evening when we had joined the social melee in this square and felt in need of refreshment, a small and beautifully appointed truck appeared as if from the heavens, labelled "L'Apetit "and transformed over a few minutes into a bar providing all our needs. However the food a the Hotel is outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    Different and bizarre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even allowing for the language issues (we speak no Italian) it was all bizarre. Dinner arrangements were confusing and with the elderly patron doing all the serving to us and the one other set of guests. There seemed to be a multitude of offices (perhaps one counting as outside and thereby allowing smoking - but this was the room we sat in pre dinner). Definitely not for anyone with cat or dog allergies as both animals (who were charming) were on the sofas.

    The wonderfully quirky old building and furnishings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    The hotel & the staff needs refresh immediately . Basically the place can be amazing.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff , the place is old , horrible breakfast!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Rather old but very characterful hotel with a garden and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather old but very characterful hotel with a garden and parking on site. The owner speaks English

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Superb location with a great historical theme.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location that was quiet with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel & family friendliness
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding staff and beuautiful setting!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Old style atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style atmosphere!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    5.4
    Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com said (bcs)free wi-fi actuality (act)could not connect bcs.air conditioning act.turned of in September bcs. on suite facility act.had to get water turned on bcs. incl. breakfast act.three pieces of stale bread, me a coeliac some old packets of gluten free biscuits which were inedible. I changed the light bulb that didn't work in our room for them. Something happened at dinner which resulted in my gluten free option not turning up.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    Lovely historic villa in centre of village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited restaurant service.

    Lovely historic villa in centre of village. Very comfortable and courteous owners.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Guests also reviewed these properties: