Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Locanda Del Castello

Via Monastero Grande N.23, 92019 Sciacca, Italy

#3 of 10 hotels in Sciacca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The locanda was a great value b&b with an excellent location in the upper town. Entry and exit to the town by car was easy, given that the Locanda was near the gate, and parking was easy to find on the same street. Room was spacious with a kitchen, even, clean and pleasant. Breakfast buffet was ample with pastries (including fresh croissants and a freshly baked cake each day) meat and cheese, yogurt and fruit, as well as nicely made cappucino and a smile from the friendly hostess. We enjoyed the local spirit of Sciacca, recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing, all was as expected, great value , great location and easy enough parking in the town available free if you are use to the sicilian way of driving.

    Nice hotel in the center of this beautiful old town. Rooms very traditional, spotless clean, nice beds. Italian breakfast very nice home baked pastries. Very near to restaurants, bars etc. Steps down to the newer end of town, but no problems, if you take it at your ease returning after a late night. Very authentic sicilian town, really loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should not be allowed to smoke in any rooms, cigarette smoke from one room you could smell in all rooms, which is not very pleasant. (But I'm not sure if it was just exception someone smoked there or they have smoking rooms as well)

    Perfect location in old city, staff very welcoming and nice, rooms are furnished in old style, this old building is amazing. Sweet breakfast was very tasty, homemade cakes were absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel reception did not open until 3 which was a bit of a nuisance as we had to leave our car fully laden with luggage parked in the street until we could unload it once the hotel reopened after lunch. Getting to the hotel was difficult through the city wall and narrow streets, and the rooms were on what seemed to be a fairly busy street but the street noise was not as bad as expected. There were not many restaurants nearby but the reception staff gave us good recommendations for great places to eat - they were all down the steep hill Sciacca sits on, luckily we met Francesco the Ape driver and he brought us back up the hill after dinner each night and one night gave us a terrific tour through the narrow streets and laneways.

    The beds were comfortable and the rooms large and light and bright, they even contained a well sized and equipped kitchenette. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, as was Frances who ran the breakfast room, she spoke great English, made terrific cappuccinos and tempted us each morning with cakes and cookies she had freshly baked! Sciacca is a lovely town and very hilly with many sets of steps taking you from one level to the next, the views are beautiful as are many of the little old lanes and buildings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing.

    We liked everything about Hotel Locanda Del Castello. From the moment we arrived, the staff treated us like family. I asked where I could park my car and they moved one of their cars so I could park right in front of the hotel. Our room was fabulous. It was very large with a full kitchen and a new bathroom. We asked for a recommendation where we could go for dinner and were given the name of a restaurant that turned out to be the best seafood dinner we had during our stay in Sicily. The next morning we ate breakfast in the hotel and met the hotel owner. She was extremely nice and my wife got some wonderful tips from her on other towns we were planning on visiting. Breakfast was fantastic. It was a very extensive with wonderful food. We had a nice conversation with the hostess. Again, we felt like were family. If you want a hotel that's reasonably priced, has nice big beautiful rooms, a great breakfast, and a staff that makes you feel like family.....look no further.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place. Wonderful very clean rooms with kitchen. Very pleasant atmosphere with original Sicilian feeling Very niceand good English speaking personality. Very good breakfast with home made biscuits.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little atmosphere and the decor was plain and uninspiring. Our room was gloomy and had very thin walls. We booked this hotel on the basis of its high rating on booking.com and on TripAdvisor, but were somewhat disappointed.

    Relatively good value for money in a fairly good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was very big and beautiful! We had a small balcon and could watch italian people going to work or watch them just talking at the small street. Really unique atmosphere! Great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    big room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great personal attention very helpful staff, especially Francis in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    &

    Good breckfest friendlyy staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large rooms with a kitchenette. Quite area. Easy access to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is really polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was excellent.good location, very good breakfast and wonderful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Hotel in Sciacca, easy to go there by car. I had a big room with a kitchen and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. The room is spacious, very clean, the location quiet, the breakfast very rich.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place, well located

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lot of stairs to the center of town, not a problem for the young.

    We had a car, and found parking easily. From this location it was also easy to catch a bus, or walk to restaurants and shopping. Very convenient for the Saturday market. Staff was extremely helpful with directions, planning day trips, and recommending good places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a walk to the port area and main shopping areas.

    Easy car access to the hotel and we were always able to get parking in the same street as the hotel. Great pizzeria around the corner from hotel.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    liked everything

    good breakfast good location

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    non so dire.

    Localita. Piazza San Michele. Collazione sufficiente

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast ok

    Large room. Clean room.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very pretty, big rooms, friendly staff, tasty breakfast! Practical location to get to with the car, walking distance to all restaurants!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good central location to see the sights of Sciacca

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse Hotel Locanda Del Castello traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: