Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda Del Pilone

Strada della Cicchetta Fraz. Madonna di Como 34, 12051 Alba, Italy

#5 of 12 hotels in Alba

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    This little gem is top of our list of special boutique hotels. Highly recommended.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is all so fantastic, we had to rack our brains but perhaps muesli would be a nice breakfast addition.

    Our third visit: every bit as special as the first two. Charming, welcoming, well appointed delightful small hotel with stunning views and divine restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place, piece of mind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is very difficult for motorbikers, since it's very steep on the hill side. The restaurant is good but far too expensive (due to its Michelin star) for its quality, which is above average but not as good as we thought. The wine was excellent indeed.

    Beautiful setting, good restaurant even though below expectations, very good breakfeast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Very charming and original with good taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More Wines by the glas

    Very charming and original with good taste. Beautiful view of the Wine yards. Nice rooms. Amazing restaurant even childfriendly. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Location and view are spectacular, food and staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    For such a nice place and with breakfast included it felt very bizarre to have to pay extra for all sort of eggs

    Location and view are spectacular, food and staff were very friendly and open, they produce great wine themselves

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great service from the minute we walked in the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service from the minute we walked in the door. The staff were accommodating, complimentary breakfast was great, and the views outside our window were stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice location in the middle of the wine country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to take the car to have a meal in Alba or in any other of the nice places in Piedmonte

    Very nice facility in a secluded location relatively close to Alba. Nice rooms and decoration with an excellent restaurant. Friendly staff suggested nice and interesting visits in the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.0
    In fact hotel looks very relaxing but this sittingroom disturbs everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was 1 living area like lobby half of rooms open to this erea therefore too much voice of guests sitting there you cannot relax and sleep well

    Very convenient location Very cosy building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative surprise we have had was when we were charged 20 euros as the late check out fee even though I was never warned about such possibility. After a prolonged discussion with the manager about cultural differences when it comes to expectations of hospitality the fee was wavered. Overall the hotel had a feeling of containment, stillness and being at ease of letting go off guard. Sorrentino 's "The Youth" portrays the desired character of such place in the face of the resort for people who have passed the peak of their lives and are now together for The as a support group in the journey into oblivion. Anyone who dares to take a side step from the group stillness must is looked upon as a threat of some sort. Anyway, this is just my own personal poetic dwellings. Not sure if I should write it in negative or positive comments.

    The location was amazing. Down the hill there is a Tratorria Madonna di Como that offers amazing dinner with the sunset view if you want to avoid eating at a Michelin star restaurant on the premises of the hotel. We first booked the dinner, but then discovered the trattoria with a better view and canceled the dinner at a hotel. The staff was nice about our last minute cancellation. The room was beautiful and just as described on the pictures on Booking.com. We had a double leveled room with a large wooden porch. Very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Charming inn just minutes from Alba
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a small locanda with a Michelin one-star restaurant. We were there three nights--two when the restaurant was closed, but the receptionist gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants nearby and in Alba--ones we may not have found on our own. The surroundings are very quiet and overlooking the vineyards. A total delight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Spacious room and bathroom, great view, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacks activities, can be boring, could do with outdoor activities like pétanque, archery or even visit of their vineyard. The restaurant is overpriced and food choice is limited. Sophisticated and refined but lacks heart.

    Spacious room and bathroom, great view, very friendly staff. Quiet, very comfortable and perfect for relaxation. Great place for a half on a road trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Elegant with the taste of Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed the junior suite. It was beautifully decorated, super roomy and had air conditioning for warm afternoons. For the first time in our travels of Italy the pillows were comfy soft. Elegant bath accessories were greatly appreciated. Everything was upgraded, neat and tidy while keeping it homey and very Italian. The staff was beyond professional. The added breakfast with meats, cheeses, sweetbreads, fruits and all types of juices and coffees were exactly what we needed to start our day. In the cool evenings, with a glass of wine we relished the view from the gazebo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was little bit hard to find the hotel, coz small road you have to take. BF is nice , but not so much choise , could be better coz such nice hotel.

    lovely hotel , staff is very kind, nice view, near alba by car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    winter Piemonte with snow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise protection between room was not good. I could hear even a snore from other room.

    Location was really center of vineyard area. I was there in Dec but must be better in summer-autumn season. Restaurant also nice. Staff all kind. Generally I am satisfied.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Just the most wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rug at the end of the bed, curled up and kept catching our feet ....nothing really.

    ALL the staff were brilliant, helped us out long before, during and long after the stay, with information and arranging days out. As for the wonderfull, beautiful food, well that was just sublime and totally faultless in every aspect, probably the best ever, the wine list was an 80 odd page book. A gastronomic delight.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    A beautiful place in one of the most beautiful parts of Italy, the Piedmonte!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Internet was poor. We had our room changed and that made it finally work but it was still very slow with intermittent reception, regularly disconnected. If you are on a vacation in which you needn't use the Internet, this hotel is perfect!! If you will need to have regular access and be able to communicate on the Internet, be sure to check in advance about how it is working. Although this was frustrating, it didn't stop us from having a fabulous time and we would return in a heartbeat and in fact plan to!

    Everything. The facility and staff were all excellent. Relaxed and very accommodative and helpful. Friendly and lovely in the best of hospitable Italian tradition.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.7
    nice, but there is better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    room-suite outragious expensive,problems with tv-cables everywhere,hair dryer not working properly,restaurant good but not outstanding,

    nice area, confortable feeling

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Superb experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Although this is a relatively expensive place to stay it offers a unique experience - the chance to enjoy fine dining in a comfortable boutique hotel in a superb location in the hills near Alba. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food and service fully justified the Michelin star. We would gladly recoomend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Great location , wonderful views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , wonderful views!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Breathtaking views, amazing food, staff very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Breathtaking views, amazing food, staff very friendly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Michelin Star Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Michelin Star Restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely secluded and romantic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely secluded and romantic location. Staff did not offer any info about facility or services.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful place. The view from the room was amazing and the restaurant was superb! You could see they put attention to every detail

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    We had a fabulous time experiencing the white truffle season! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the location, ambience and staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    Great, clean, super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu is expensive

    Great breakfast, very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    A great stay, awesome location to explore the wine and truffle country, friendly staff and amaresta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Michelin star restaurant is beyond excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    V enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except we were unable to sample the restaurant because it was a Tuesday - shut Tues and Wed

    The receptionist was exceptional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Excellent one star michelin restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent one star michelin restaurant Very good service and friendly welcome The location is wonderfull with very nice views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    amazing location, beautiful room, attentive staff, excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Staff was always helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was always helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    4.6
    Noisy plumbing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy plumbing so could not sleep

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    Cosy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Rataurant and service. Lovely location on a hillside in madonna Di como just out of Alba

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    A little piece of heaven in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could get better than this

    Incredible place! Beautiful hotel in fantastic location in the middle of vineyards overlookong Alba

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.3
    Staff was very accommodating helping with dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drive to anywhere

    Staff was very accommodating helping with dining reservations and activities. Hotel restaurant was excellent. Hillside views from our room but about a 30 plus min drive to neighboring towns and villages

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Beautiful setting among the vineyards, lovely comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Beautiful setting among the vineyards, lovely comfortable room. Superb food and we found the sommelier was excellent. All the staff, in fact, are friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.5
    In the middle of the wine fields with a perfect view over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant serves well prepared dishes, an burst of Michelin Star quality, but does not match the high prices and the breakfast below standard with dry bread all 3 days. The cakes however looked good

    In the middle of the wine fields with a perfect view over the whole area.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    - very nice interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - noise from the kitchen ( probably cooker hood) in room no. 6

    - very nice interior - excellent dinner - location amid beautiful vineyards, but close to Alba

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    This place was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a bit hard to find. The road was not well marked

    This place was amazing! The room was spacious and lovely. The bath had fabulous Aqua di Parma soaps and shampoos. We didn't need the Airconditioning but the room was equipped with it, unlike many other European lodgings. Definitely eat in their restaurant. We had the 9 course meal with the wine pairings. The food was spectacular and so beautiful. The courses were tiny so you could eat all 9 courses. Presentation and service was top notch. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.6
    Amazing location in the middle of the vineyards with amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi during our entire stay (technical issue)

    Amazing location in the middle of the vineyards with amazing views 360 degrees around. The restaurant is amazing, great food, great service, great wines! Well worth the Michelin star. About 5km from the city center and the ride has a lot of hills so a car is handy.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful room, with good quality toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor quality breakfast for standard of hotel not what we expected at all. Tables in breakfast room too close together. Quality of food was poor, no chopped fresh fruits, homemade preserves or yogurts and very poor selection of meats cheese and bread. Quite different to the wonderful dinner.

    Beautiful room, with good quality toiletries. Wonderful dinner in restaurant with very attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Nice boutique hotel with a great restaurant and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room cleaning service could have been better. One staff member who I think is the manager was not very pleasant. Also the wine tasting is a bit forward it is almost as if that is a requirement of your stay.

    Nice boutique hotel with a great restaurant and the staff are very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    Place is nice, restaurant is great, staff is super kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a pity that a place like this has no pool, that the breakfast is just normal, and bed are not so comfortable. Fix these 3 things and you deserve 5 starts.

    Place is nice, restaurant is great, staff is super kind. Location is great and view is breathtaking.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Fabulous view, room amenities, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy air conditioner, hard bed poor pillows

    Fabulous view, room amenities, location. Food the best ever. Staff polite, informative, helpful. With the exceptions noted, one of the great places to stay and eat

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and location with views of the vineyards in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel and location with views of the vineyards in all directions. Very comfortable and spacious rooms. Dog friendly. Fabulous Michelin stared restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    Situated on top of a hill the hotel affords great views over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situated on top of a hill the hotel affords great views over the rolling vineyards. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (we arrived Sunday afternoon when the kitchen was busy with prepping for dinner, but we received a great selecton of coldcuts and cheeses, different kinds of bread -- and wine, of course, at an extremely reasonable price. The dining room is very nice with windows on both sides (there is, however, one table near the kitchen door which is definitely not to be recommended). Excellent dinner, very attentive, friendly, helpful service!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    Great restaurant and delicious breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great restaurant and delicious breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    The hotel staff were fantastic, the food excellent and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty glasses were not removed and were not replenished in the room.

    The hotel staff were fantastic, the food excellent and the views were beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Location, service level and the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A simple but OK breakfast buffet

    Location, service level and the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    8.3
    Great restaurant with informal service, innovative food and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great restaurant with informal service, innovative food and a comprehensive wine list.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    The whole place, its setting and we had a meal that was out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole place, its setting and we had a meal that was out of this world. Expensive, but a real treat.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: