Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais & Châteaux Locanda Don Serafino 4 stars

Via XI febbraio 15, 97100 Ragusa, Italy

#19 of 20 hotels in Ragusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 81 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Palazzo Conti
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift

    Very spacious room, beautiful decor, modern shower with glass panels on both sides, balcony with view to main street, all tiles and vases in the building are beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely 3 night stay in a beautiful town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was billed as having a balcony and although it strictly did it wasn’t one you could use or sit outside on, more of a Juliet balcony. It felt a little misleading although it was not a major issue.

    The check-in was excellent, we were asked what time we’d be arriving so they could be ready to greet us etc. Simona was lovely and a gentleman parked our car for us in a free to park area as there is no onsite parking. Our room was gorgeous with a dressing table with a socket nearby (pretty rare for some reason in hotels!!) the bathroom was excellent with a bath and shower (and bidet). Toiletries by Ortigia were free to use. The air con functioned well which was good as it’s very warm outside. It was a pleasant 10 min walk to the main square and restaurants. The hotel has a beach club which is about a 30 min drive and they reserved sun loungers for us in advance. We had a lovely day on the soft white sandy beach and in the warm sea at Marina di Ragusa.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    Never go their again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked and prepaid the Suite for 400 € per night which is in a kind of cave close to the restaurant. When we arrived, the suite was full of steam from heating the humid room and there was a strong smell. It was impossible to stay there. We refused to take the suite and they gave us another room in the hotel (worth165 €) and a Massage as apology. The next morning they refused to credit the price difference between the two rooms. So we ended up paying 400€ for a room worth 165€. We definitely recommend not to prepay this hotel. Relais & Chateaux should finally take them off their list ( see all the other comments)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.0
    A far, far cry from any Relais & Chateaux - they should have that privilege stripped off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A far, far cry from this highly reputable worldwide chain of beautiful and excellent hotels and resorts. DANGEROUS steep stone staircase as the only access to rooms, totally unsuitable for anybody older or with knee or back problems. First room was so small that you could only just walk around the bed, the shower was tiny. The second room, for which we had to pay extra, though the price listed was the same as the small room (320.00 Euro)! there was not even a small bottle of water available without a payment of 4Euro... The pillows were the cheapest most uncomfortable pillows filled with bits of polystyrene foam!!! The boiled eggs at breakfast were freezing cold, as there is not even a kitchen on the premises. I have stayed in many R&CH places around the word but this was a total RIP OFF

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Not your everyday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unique property with individual rooms. We had a beautiful and very spacious Junior suite, with small balcony, although would have loved to try one of the 'cave style' rooms. Staff was very helpful with check-in and also parked our car in a free parking area on the street nearby, which was great given the narrow and steep streets in the area. We also had lunch at their off-site 2-Star Michelin restaurant, which was really cool, both in terms of food and the unique setting (partially carved in stone).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c was not working properly. The rooms were costly.

    Cozy, tasteful, lovely room + very comfortable bed, elegant breakfast room & spread. Quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    A magical retreat where we were made to feel special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a real treat of a place to stay - made extra special by the amazing attention of Stefano who looked after us brilliantly. In general though the LDS family were great and made us feel incredibly welcome. We will return!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.0
    Hotel is very small areas and either you are on the street....or the stairs are awful...even when yo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Alll comments are above

    The woman named Daniella was fabulous.....breakfast was good....one young man was perhaps one of the rudest people ever put in a public service job. I came in the morning we were leaving.....the third morning there and said, that we had taken our showers and they should know that the water was not hot....just warm and the previous mornings it had been hot. He literally said, if it is hot here in the bar area, it is hot in your room.....I never made him understand that he was ridiculous....including taking him to our room.....and continuing to say that it was nothing that could be fixed for us....but he should know for the next guest.....our friends never had wi-fi in their room. The famous restaurant was not next door.....but a long taxi ride away and though beautiful....one of the waiters was also very arrogant.....and the restaurant is very much the attitude that "you are lucky to be here"....I asked him what kind of tuna it was and he said, I have just told you.....back to Daniella....she was fabulous and the restaurant she sent us to next was wonderful....we ate there two nights....and she was very interested in the comment on the rude waiter...she knows who it was. We have been traveling since the first of March...many bookings with you....and this is the first big disappointment......partly, I guess a poor choice on our part....but the young man about the hot water should not be working in this business unless he is a son....and he was so arrogant that maybe he is. Please share this with the hotel.....oh, also when I told him I was going to complain about him....he said, "go ahead!"....really....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    A quaint, historic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to find the hotel by car, and getting the bags to the hotel required the assistance of the very helpful front desk receptionist, Danielle. Given the medieval origins of the building, it's not surprising that access to the room was a little awkward but also memorable!

    This historic hotel is located in a convenient location for walking all around town, and has a very helpful staff. Our room was a duplex with some quirky features, including a staircase to a room with a large bathtub, a sofa and desk. We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Cave type room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a broken toilet seat, which was a very high handicap toilet also because of the location the parking was a bit of a distance from the hotel.

    The cave type room was memorable and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Ragusa Ibla is a lovely historic town and this hotel is part of this as it is built in the hillside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We parked close to the hotel which is in a very narrow street. Take a small car for safety!

    Daniela gave us an excellent welcome and service over our two day stay. Room number 1 was special with an unusual shaped bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to travel there no clear road directions from the hotel

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic and the shower would wet the whole bathroom

    Entrance hall very beautiful and the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    It was in general a nice experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.5
    Its structure, construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to locate, very small stairway. You have to carry luggage up these stairs. No parking.

    Its structure, construction.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.5
    Staff friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we were assigned was not as clean as we had anticipated. Street noise an issue.

    Staff friendly and very helpful. Owner gracious in allowing us an upgrade for the first evening.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    5.8
    + Really cool & stylish room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Whirl Pool took over night to warm up from 15 to 36 degrees so we could not use it the first day. - The cave room is far too humid, all clothes and also the bed are humid. - Explenation for all the inconvenience was that the room is new but that these things should be right for a room of this standard/price (EUR550.-/Night) (which I agreed) and a bottle of wine as compensation (EUR10.-in Italy).

    + Really cool & stylish room...a night in a cave. + Nice private served breakfast in the restaurant next door.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    6.7
    Close to town centre, spacious room, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didn't work, remote control of HiFi didn't work, scales provided in bathroom did not work and was filthy. We reported these issues to the hotel staff as soon as we arrived but nothing was done to fix them.

    Close to town centre, spacious room, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Great placing, charming old building completely renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be impossible for people with some sort of incapacity to stay in because no elevator and high steps.

    Great placing, charming old building completely renovated... A must see hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    4.6
    we could not check out on time because of receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we could not check out on time because of receptionist absence despite of notification in advance. Junior suite room is nice but not clean enough. Disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    Stunning hotel, the barrel vaulted ceilings and magnificent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning hotel, the barrel vaulted ceilings and magnificent bed made for a welcome relief after a long flight! Located right in the centre of Ragusa Ibla, definitely worth a visit!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.5
    Position between Ragusa and Ragusa Ibla with easy stroll to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Watch the staircase if you're tall or you risk cracking your head!

    Position between Ragusa and Ragusa Ibla with easy stroll to everywhere, good view from the room and comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    6.7
    Good location, charming and good breakfast and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Reception was cold; not making a guest feel welcome. We had to drag our luggage ourselves to our room. 2. Hotel was very difficult to get to, given all the one-way streets in Ragusa Ibla. Hotel's internet map does not reflect difficulty. 3. Parking was a joke. We had to have the car parked 300m away. 4. Internet access was also a joke. Connection kept dropping. Hotel staff did not know when the internet in the guest rooms was out of service. 5. There is no restaurant on site. The "Michelin starred" restaurant associated with the hotel is 400m walk away. 6. For the services provided, this hotel is highly over-rated and over-priced.

    Good location, charming and good breakfast and service.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    7.9
    Well placed to explore Ragusa Ibla (the old part) and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very steep stone staircase

    Well placed to explore Ragusa Ibla (the old part) and also close to the 250 steps that go up to the upper new part. Quiet and fairly spacious room but you do need to negotiate the steep stone steps to get to it from the reception and dining room areas. Good hot shower but you had to wait some time for the water to get hot. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful Good bus service from the new town main bus stop to Modica which is well worth a day trip.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.8
    Shower room too small in room 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower room too small in room 4

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    3.8
    City center is a gorgeous place (where the hotel is located)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    City center is a gorgeous place (where the hotel is located)

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    3.8
    Location in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pokey small rooms, dirty rugs....tiny breakfast room

    Location in town

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    6.3
    interesting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room are hard too reach (high steps), pictures on booking don't match the rooms

    interesting hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    The service at the hotel was very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding it! Haha!

    The service at the hotel was very good! Also, their Restaurant was exceptional. A great dining experience.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Lovely cave like room in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi could be temperamental

    Lovely cave like room in great location

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    5.0
    No WiFi in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No WiFi in room. Stairs to rooms were difficult and dangerous.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    7.5
    Character of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bathroom a bit cramped. Room accessed by steep flight of difficult stone stairs.

    Character of the hotel.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: