Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda Gli Ulivi

Via Montebudello 33/1, 40050 Monteveglio, Italy

#1 of 6 hotels in Monteveglio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highlight of this place was the food - they run a restaurant as well and we ate there both evenings... and wow what delicious food. The accommodation is in a beautiful area around 30 minutes from Bologna. The staff were very friendly and speak good English (in case your Italian is not so good!) The pool is also a nice place to relax in the sun. Would definitely come gain!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really, really, noisy in our room. The first night (Fri to Sat), there was a music, tv, and, uh, other sound coming from a number of rooms nearby that kept me awake until 2 AM. The food and the location (and limited available alternatives) made us stay, and luckily the second night (Sat to Sun) was way better! I guess the people staying the second night were more conscious of their neighbours, because I slept like a log then. So that might be a bit hit and miss. Maybe bring your ear plugs?

    We stayed here for 2 nights. Location is great - with a pool area offering sunloungers and a panoramic views over the vineyards. Room is spacious and clean, and comes with a minibar with some room to put some own bought food or drinks. Shower design indeed a bit funny, and our bathroom door (room 103) did not stay closed unless locked - which was a bit silly because of the bathroom window not having a curtain. It can be 'fixed' by rolling the door onto a towel :). The food at the restaurant is very good (you have to try the truffle pasta!). Lot of locals eating there, but they reserve a table for the hotel guests just in case -no pressure to go there at all (but we wanted to). Breakfast was indeed mostly sweet, but this is Italy and the cakes were great! Nice touch was that we got some local cherries and my after-breakfast espresso shot was also not a problem (despite the menu saying the second drink had to be bought, this was never charged).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The hotel is new, very clean, big rooms with huge window and amazing view. The place is family run, all the food included delicious nutella cream is home made. For breakfast we got the most amazing organic eggs. The place also has a restaurant where we had delicious dinner. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is absolutely incredible! To lie on a lounger by the pool looking at that view was heavenly. The room was lovely and very comfortable and opening the window shutters to the stunning view was amazing. Delicious dinner at the restaurant only steps away from the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom with no real window. Not an issue for us we decided to sleep on the convertible sofa and wake up with few on the pool and the valley

    View , big room with view , staff great , good kitchen, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic Agriturismo. Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, gorgeous swimming pool, and the dinner food was EXQUISITE! Perfect base for exploring Modena, Bologna and the countryside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not very clean during our stay (maybe due to the rain days ago??) It would have been otherwise so perfect.

    Peaceful surroundings in the middle of beautiful Tuscany, with rooms offering views to die for! If you want to give yourself a treat of fresh air, great service and typical Bolognese cuisine, this is definitely a place for keeps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noise can be heard from the other rooms but I don't think much can be done about this.

    The view from our room was quite simply spectacular, like being in a movie. The room and bathroom had plenty of space and beautifully furnished. Really enjoyed our lovely room. Two big shutters to block out the light for a good nights sleep but we kept the mind open to wake up to the stunning view. The food at this hotel is outstanding and we had one lunch and two dinners here over our 2 night stay, everything was excellent and well priced. A real hilight of our stay and seemed popular with locals of surrounding areas too. There is a nice pool to relax by, although too early in the season for the pool to be open. It would have been nice for a little library room to relax in when the weather wasn't nice enough to be out in. Would highly recommend this B&B for people looking for a hidden retreat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place was very clean with an amazing view of the Bolognese hills, the room was very clean and comfy. we stayed there for a concert at the Unipol Arena, that is 15 minutes drive from the property. the breakfast the next morning was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was very repetitive and the noise between the rooms was very loud. You could hear everything between the rooms.

    The view from the room was gorgeous, great shower (excellent water pressure)!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much. Just a warning to city folk..it's an old building converted in to lovely rooms. In the winter the chance of seeing the odd creepy crawly increases. My girlfriend wasn't a fan of the odd spider.

    Friendly staff, great location, brilliant breakfast, and GORGEOUS rooms. The restaurant... is next level. It's not a 'hotel restaurant' It's a restaurant with rooms. That is how good the food is! People from the two nearby cities travel to eat there.. don't miss an opportunity to have some of the best Italian food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A short stay is one. The breakfast is another. Usually a poor breakfast would ruin my impression of a place, but this was no ordinary place. However, it did feel a bit too simple and too sweet for me.

    First of all, the location is absolutely superb. Every morning I said a silent prayer for the opportunity to see that beauty one more time. Wonderful staff; what they lacked in the English language skills they made up for by being great hosts. Very good quality of food (dinner). Very close to some must-do places: parmigiano producers, balsamico and wine makers, car factories and museums. Simply superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most beautiful accommodation we ever had. Beautiful furnishings - much more beautiful than photos. Super atmosphere. Beautiful views. Perfect restaurants - we recommend food and wine. Great for relaxing. Quiet place. The possibility of using a great outdoor pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really can't think of anything I did not like - just that my stay was too short and I wish I could stay longer.

    We rented a car so it was really easy for us to get around, so not sure how easy it would be with other forms of transport. In general the area is just beautiful and the hotel is well located to within walking distance to other hotels where you can get lunch/dinner. It is conveniently located about 20 min drive to both Modena and Bologna. The pool and rooms are amazing (beautiful and clean). I think it would be better suited for a couple though than for a family holiday. The food is REALLY good at this hotel (we had breakfast here and two dinners). The staff does not speak English well but they do go out of their way to suit your needs and help you arrange any ad hoc plans such as wine tasting, staying by pool all day (providing you with an access to one of the rooms to use bathroom/change/leave your luggage in) when your flight is on Sunday evening and there is nothing else you can do! Overall, there wasn't anything I didn't like or could complain about. Oh and the pool views are just stunning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tucked in the Bolognese hillside, the Locanda Gli Ulivi is absolutely dreamy! After having spent a sweltering day traveling, arriving at the Locanda with its amazing location, refreshing pool, cool and comfortable room was even better than what we were hoping. After getting settled we decided to have dinner at the Locanda's restaurant. We tried a variety of dishes, all of which were amazing- impossible to choose the best. We are definitely planning to return to the Locanda for an extended stay, so to explore the rolling Bolognese hills. Exceptional accommodations!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was ahead of my expectations for an agrotourisme. The ensuite was nicely designed and spacious. The room was well equipped and had air-conditioning. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very very comfortable quiet room with all amenities. Amazing view from the room and the lovely swimming pool which unusually for Italy was open even in March. The bathroom in our room was one of the best I have ever had and a huge amount had been spent on the fittings etc. The attached restaurant is very good and quite cheap and the breakfast is also very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really - met my expectations perfectly.

    Peaceful and tranquil location - ideal if you're travelling by car. rooms are very comfortable, clean and spacious. hotel restaurant is one of the best in the area staff are very helpful as well

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms are modern and have an amazing view of the vineyards. The breakfasts are really good and the dinners also delicious and well priced. All of the staff made us feel special.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange shower design. No windows in the bedroom.

    Clean, good sized room, beautiful view, good food and atmosfere at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average.

    excellent room with a beautiful view in a rustic country style good restaurant with good service good offers of local wines

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could feel the bed springs through the mattress - it was very uncomfortable.

    The scenery was delightful and the pool and room were clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like.. We enjoyed very much..

    Very clean,very good breakfast and beautiful views. Friendly staff..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place on the top of the hill with breathtaking views. Restaurant serves tasty local and fresh specialties.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect :)

    Everything! Perfect place, great breakfast and the view was bellissimo!! Also the food in the restaurant was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pictures do not do justice to this beautiful place. Amazing views and extremely nice staff. The lasagna was the best I have tasted in my life. One pf the best places you will find in the area.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little longer drive to Modena and Ferrari museum than indicated in information.

    Beautiful location, very clean and tidy rooms, very friendly staff, lovely pool with fantastic views and good food at very affordable prices.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Locanda was beautifully situated, the rooms were to a very high standard. We were there in a heat wave and the AC was excellent. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The restaurant was excellent - the best meals we had during our stay in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is not always working

    Enjoyed the swimming pool opened 24h ! Excellent room with view on the hill, perfect bathroom and comfortable bed ! Good and complete breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I cannot think of a single con--everything was outstanding--truly!

    Everything at this hotel from the location, staff, amenities, etc. was truly wonderful. Our visit was short (2 nights) as it was meant for a layover to visit the Ferrari Museum, however, after our stay, we now plan to visit again for a longer stay. The staff and service were outstanding, and aside from visiting the Ferrari Museum, thanks for the staff, we also visited a nearby Balsamic Museum and a small farm that produced some very tasty balsamic vinegar and a lovely Lambrusco! (We purchased a case (6 bottles) to enjoy throughout the remainder of our stay in Italy--fantastic!). I would highly recommend this hotel for not only the service and comfort it provides, but also the location and outstanding hillside views right from your terrace! (The pool was amazing, too, and the colorful glow a night was a nice surprise.) We cannot wait to return to this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location in a beautiful area with view of vineyards. Excellent food and lovely decorated room with beautiful bathroom., Great for access to visiting Ferrari, balsamic museum, and many towns. Wonderful hospitality!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The view from the rooms was amazing. Beautiful pool - the location is simply fantastic. We biked to a lovely medieval town from Gli Ulivi with the kids - up and down, up and down - really energizing family program. Visited a balsamic vinegar farm nearby.. the best of Italy! amazing Parma ham for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would love if the fireplace were operational during the day hours in the colder months to enjoy a good beside or just cozy up to it.

    The room is so simply but beautifully furnished. It's the perfect place to unwind.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent clean and nice restaurant

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Locanda Gli Ulivi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: