Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cà La Bricola 2

San Marco 489, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#215 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 794 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were frustrated and it took a long time going around and around trying to find thd address of the hotel it was difficult to find, and google maps showed address at a different location. Also the picture on their website of the front of the hotel was deceiving and was not the same so there was no visual way to recognise it. There were no lifts at all and we had to carry our 23 kg bags up to the 4th floor so be warned there is no assistance from staff. We stayed for 2 days, but there were no room service such as changing of towels, cleaning. Pretty basic accommodation just to sleep in. We will not come back to it ever. The staff had poor English so you need to speak Italian and not caring.

    Once you found out where you are, the hotel was close to all the restaurants and shopping area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very unfriendly personnel during check-in (it seemed that check-in was handled by a temporary staff member with no service attitude)

    Very good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be better. The fridge in the room was not working effectively and there should definetly be some water in there.

    Excellent location with good clean facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bad check in, rude...annoyed he had to be bothered! It was a waiter from their restaurant and not the people who run the place. They were only around in the morning. They did NOT give us our water taxi info to the airport and we missed the taxi. they weren't around if you had any problems or questions. They "APPARENTLY" didn't understand much English! The trash from cleaning was left at top of steps a couple of times and the "automatic" hall lights didn't always come on!

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, no available staff, no second door keypass (door keypass to be used for airco/lights) and not easy to find.

    Clean room, nice bathroom, quiet spot, cool temperature in hot city and convenient keypass system.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel but there was a newly built building which was an Air BNB by the same owner(not aware of the fact untill it was late). The air con was not working and it was really hot. We tried to cont act the owner and couldnt reach him. The people in the restaurant (which is on the ground floor of the hotel) were not at all helpful. We had to sleep without ac the first day when we paid for aircon Second day after struggling to explain due to language barriers to the staff (you can rarely see any staff around) we were shifted to the hotel because they were not ready to believe us that the aircon was not working and called the technician to confirm. We wasted a lot of our time. It was not worth the money paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Omg where to start, This place was the worst hotel that I've been to. so We arrived to Venice, we searched for hotel for 40 min, there is no reception. after we found the place we had to search for the owner for another 15 min, we started to ring the door, a guy came screaming at us " why you ring ? you should wait here till we come " !!!! seriously !!?! then he started to talk Italian. There is no lift, and the room is on 2nd floor, so We had to carry our bag 2 floor up and down. No room service. location is close to St. Mark but considering the tiny long stairs that you have to walk every time you go up and down, it's useless.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't very friendly and we couldn't find anyone to give our keys at the time of check out even though we had informed the staff beforehand. Had to leave it on the door of the cafe downstairs which was also closed

    Nice big room with walking and storage space. About 4 mins walk to rialto bridge and 10 mins to San Marco.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or tea/ coffee facilities in room, had to ask for help with aircon as did not turn on the first night, but did work after staff helped, it was average air con. Emailed before visit twice for some extra info but had no reply. Wi fi kept cutting on and off. Nowhere safe to lock bags away for a bit after checkout but they did let us leave them by reception and gave a door code.

    Very clean, towels, loo roll and bin bag replaced everyday when room cleaned, mini fridge and tv good, comfy bed, good shower. Resturant food downstairs was very good, nice staff , no noise a quiet room, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a very bad bed in the room with a TV and that was it! The closet was smelling very badly. There was not even a loby there.. Not at all like the photos! The staff could not speak English and when we asked for someone to speak English he said "When you are in Italy you should talk Italian"! I can not recommennd this hotel to anyone! We paid 140 Euro per night for this :(

    It was really bad!The hotel was not a hotel! It was an empty tiny apartment room in a fourth floor flat without all comfort! No elevator.. and we paid 140 Euro per night!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a very good value for money. It is located very close to the St marks square. The rooms and bathroom were very clean. Better than what appears in the pictures. The host was also nice and let us keep our luggage after check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody assist you if theres anything you need, nobody in the reception when we check in, no lift at all. We have to carry our luggage till second floor and we are ladies so its very difficult.

    The location its very near to San Marco Square just 3minutes walk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff doesn't speak English at all No reception or someone to speak to (in English) Difficult to find Poor wifi at the room The weather was very bad at the time of arrival (0 degrees celcious) and there was not a blanket or comforter on the bed apart from the sheets. We found a double, thin, fleece blanket at the wardrobe...and it was not still warm enough. We struggled to communicate and ask for another heavier blanket or comforter. The result was to give us another single, thin, fleece blanket. The heating on the room was working but was not efficient.

    Location Spacious, clean bathroom with hot water and clean towels (every day!) Renovated with the charm of Venetian architecture

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell from the sewers (few days, possibly they didn't have guests a lot of time). Confused moments with radiator in the room (we came at the end of January). I tried to turn the tap but sometimes it heat the radiator, sometimes not. At evenibg when we come to the romm it was cold and I didn't close the tap before leaving. In any way every problem was solved, but it worried me.

    The hotel is located near San Marco square (3min walking). A lot of shops. There is supermarket COOP. Host is not speaking in English (only several important words), but tried to understand us. He made us discout 25% for breakfasts. Amazing Latte with foam.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Warming in room could be better. Just one linen is not enough in winter time.

    Was clean, tidy,own bathroom, in the centre, nice workers, safe :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location very close to San Marco square and Rialto, nice and cozy room, clean and well maintained, spacious bathroom, friendly staff and owner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff there on arrival/check out had to find someone at restaurant next door which was not informed about prior to trip. No hotel extras, tea kettle etc. Minimal toiletrees so bring own!

    Clean room. Has hairdryer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very difficult to reach out the staff, there is no elevator-be ready for steep stairs

    Very good location and the room was clean and nearly well equipped, good wifi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here to celebrate the New Year! It was fabulous. A super location, just a few minutes away from St Marks. The breakfast was fantastic and staff super friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I've stayed here for the second time and it was great again. Big room, very authentic feel, good facilities. I arrived earlier and the owner let me check in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi at the room was poor, and: their was a long steep staircase to climb up to the room which for some people might be a prlbm

    people very friendly and helpful; room very clean (loved the whirlpool-bathtub :-) location great (difficult to find as is normal in V.), just a few meters from San Marco square and numerous beautiful streets, buildings, shops etc., restaurant downstairs very good, very friendly service and good opening hours

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Location was perfect, you should post some Landmarks for people to look for seems it is Family owned with restaurant, if so , say so . There is no reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange hotel. Very difficult to find even though I had read up and knew some of the pitfalls to finding the hotel. We were then lead to another building to stay in which was in the same building as a dentist with no information given at all.

    Good clean room in excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone in the room. The safe did not work. Weak WiFi. Time window for breakfast only between 8.30 and 9.30. Cancellation possible but no refund! My bank account was debited without notification a few days before even though I received a message saying that I would pay once there !

    Very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    25+ steep stairs to check in, then room was in different bldg. w/ 7 flights of stairs to room. Difficult for older people or with luggage. Small room OK, but could not open window for fresh air because of mosquitos. Bathroom (newly remodeled, great tub) smelled of mold, so had to keep bathroom door closed at all times. Not a room to spend time in - or return to during day.

    Close to St. Mark's Sq. Walkable to ferries & sq.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No desk staff. Broken fridge. Poor wifi. Uncomfortable bed. No television reception. Very noisy. More expensive than it was worth.

    Location. Jacuzzi bathtub. Morning breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are lined wigh textiles. That looks great, but for someone suffering from dust allergy not so good. Operating the ac was not easy either the buttons need to be reset and a total shutdown of power when the room key is removed does not contribute to a nice environment of the room and does not allow for charging in day time. The breakfast was verry verry simple...

    The location is very good. Close to a lot of attractions, amongst others Plazza San Marco. The room we got was verry small, but suficed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Mosquitos were a real problem, Room full of them. Breakfast was the same every day, Bread and Cheese!! Also no tea and coffee facilities in the room. T.V only in Italian. No common area for relaxing

    Location was excellent, really central and easy for all sights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our first day I was looking for someone I could talk to because I want to borrow an iron - there was none. I went to the restaurant but the person that was there was not accommodating. I only found someone in time for our check-out. Great! right?!

    I like it because it is near Piazza San Marco and Rialto

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find we walked past the alleyway 3 times as there are only small sign on the door. Check in and out is a pain if it's outside business hours as there is not really a reception area. Rooms aren't real big either.

    Great location 5min walk to St Marco square. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was nice. Good Bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff was not there after certain hours ( 3:pm ). The place was not easily signed or recognized to find it. Location was good but to get there in a back alley way i did not like.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After advising of our check in time, no one available to check us in, waitress from next door showed us to room in separate unit block. No orientation or advice about breakfast etc. etc. squashed mosquitos on wall next to bed.

    Central location near ferry

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hard to find the hotel - is in a little back alley round the corner from the address provided. We were greeted first by the waiter at the downstairs restaurant who was in a rush and provided our key and said the room was upstairs with no other information. Then by a lady at breakfast who just gruffly asked for our passports, no friendliness. The man at breakfast on the 2nd day was considerably more polite though and improved our stay. WiFi in the room was virtually unusable - we had to go into the bathroom to get anything to load. Shower head poorly appointed, sprayed horizontally directly at the shower door without option to adjust it. No tea/coffee making facilities. Only italian channels on the tv - all the english channels were blocked out. Good location but don't waste your money - stay a bit further out and have a nicer stay.

    Great location. Just around the corner from St Mark's Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a nice and cozy place with great location. The staff is great and breakfast good. The hotel also provided a baby-crib for us and helped with any questions we had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a bit crumpy. First smile we got when we left :).

    Location couldn't have been better.Room was a bit dark but ok, really nice bathroom. Air conditioning worked well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts! We had a pushchair and we were on the 3rd floor. Also no kettle to boil water for tea with. And no view/window/natural light.

    Very clean! Very close to the centre!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like 2 pillows on the Bed, not just 1

    very nice powerful shower with lots Of Warm water, a quiet room despite being right In the hub of San Marco! Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, wifi not working, no one to let us in at night - didn't bother to email us the night entry code - didn't bother to tell us this was an option. No signage or helpful directions and did not answer their phone. We were locked out at 1am on arrival.

    Great bath

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No staff around for check-in or at any other times. You have to go down into restaurant downstairs to ask for whatever you need. Also, air conditioning worked in the room but wasn't very cold. It tried hard but I don't think it ever got the room cooler than 25 degrees Celcius.

    Nice large and spacious bedroom and bathroom, especially compared to other places we stayed in throughout Italy. Wi-Fi was strong and fast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint would be that the shower head didn't fit on the holder on the bathroom wall.

    Execellent location, staff very helpful, air con was an extra bonus. Hotel couldn't be any more clean! No faults

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is not maintained properly, the shower head was broken. The cleanliness in general was average.

    In the middle of all tourist attractions in Venice. Absolutely brilliant location. The male host was helpful. My daughter and i were carrying two big suitcases and he helped us to bring them down before we checked out. Breakfast was very simple but enough for the start of the day. We were also allowed to leave our suitcases stored after we checked out. That helped to to spend atleast three luggage free hours in the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor and often has No signal

    Room service every day, perfect localization 3 minutes from Piazza do San Marco, tasty breakfast, comfortably bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reached property in the noon however there was nobody to attend us at the reception. We need to wait for 1 hour before we found one waiter from their hotel. Instead of helping us with room keys he asked us how we entered the property. There is no lift. Be prepared to left your luggage up to 2 floors.

    Location is excellent. Major site seeing places are just 5 mins away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Certainly not 3 stars, I paid 500 Euro for three nights. I reached the hotel at 11:00 PM. There was no one at the reception. They did not also answer the phone calls. Simply because no one was there at all. Or the truth is, there is no reception at all. The front door was locked, I did not have the key nor the code door. After calling the reception several times, I called the manager and he was so rude. He did not even come to check whether we entered or not. Or whether we wanted anything. -Moreover, I have three years old child, I requested a separate bed for him and wanted to pay extra. There was nothing. Next day, I requested again the bed, they left nothing. -Bug bites. We wake up with several swellings and red dots on our bodies. - Booked a deluxe room, and had to climb more than 50 steps. No elevator. - Poor breakfast - sliced of dry bread, jam and ham. Only two croissants available for each table. I order once an extra one for my child and they said they did not have. -The hotel is dark at night. The restaurant downstairs close early. No lights and no one at the reception to ask about the locations or any things. No maps available. - I cannot believe how people rated it 8.1 on booking. This is so misleading. - Never again!

    The location of this hotel was right near St Marks Square

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff and directions are confusing but I think that's just Venice in general

    The location is excellent, it is right behind st marks and all the high end designers (not that I did any shopping). The shower is big and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to be able to make a cup of tea/coffee in the room.

    The hotel was lovely but basic. The closeness to St Mark's square made this hotel a winner!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast,stairs,

    The location was very good but the breakfast items were so poor the room was clean and no elevator so it is very hard for people have a problem for knee or etc...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real problem was that the air conditioning was not on, apparently this is typical in May and the whole of Venice does not use air con at this time of year, I'm not sure I believe this however. Because of this we had to leave the window open to stay cool, but even then it was too hot at night. The window open led to lots of mosquito bites and not a great sleep because of cat and bird sounds and the heat.

    The hotel was a beautiful place, very Venitian in style and was full of character. Location was perfect in Centre of San Marco just off St Marks Square. The bathroom was really lovely and the jacuzzi bath was a dream after a long day of walking. Very romantic with a partner. Breakfast was simple but delicious, all fresh and tasty!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was incredibly difficult to find. We had traveled about 18 hours + a 2-hour water bus ride to Venice, then spent almost an hour lost in the streets trying to find the hotel. Google Maps lists the address as Calle Larga San Marco 489; the Ca La Bricola 2 website lists Locanda la bricola srl San Marco 489; and the Booking.com listing simply says San Marco 489. You don't realize how unhelpful this all is until you are hauling luggage through the tiny, crowded streets of Venice looking for a hotel you're not even sure how to pronounce (FYI it's sah lah BRICK-oh-la DUE-eh). Here is the closest I can come to providing directions: Find the restaurant/bar Cavatappi on Campo de la Guerra (it's on Google Maps). Across the road there is a little alley (not on Google Maps) that takes you to a sort of courtyard and the Ca La Bricola 2 restaurant/hotel management office is on the right. We had to check in there (lots of narrow stairs), then the manager took us back around the corner to Campo de la Guerra, where our apartment was (diagonally across the road from Cavatappi). Several more sets of stairs to our apartment. Unfortunately, the windows had been left open, allowing mosquitoes into the apartment, and spent 3 nights getting eaten alive even after we closed the windows. It was also very loud due to the street noise, which continued late into the night. The shower was a handheld unit, which was inconvenient, and could be mounted on the wall but unfortunately at a useless angle. The manager did not seem very friendly at first but I swear when he heard me trying to teach my kids a little Italian, he became incredibly welcoming and helpful.

    Large, clean, lots of space, many comfortable beds (sleeps 6). The apartment we had took up the entire floor but layout was a bit odd: sleeping/bath space separated from kitchen/sitting space by two sets of locked doors.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two bedroom apartment is a little stark in decor, but it was clean.

    The breakfast, including coffee, is good. The location of the apartment is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed and quilt, it was really old, can be left from Venice middle age, there is no blanket, you need to manage with bed lining..Personnel knows no English and there is no reception, be prepared to pay city tax with cash when leaving..

    Location is really good, couple of minutes to San Marco square and main attraction..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we moved in while somebody just checked out I guess, the floor in our room was a bit wet. and they got many mosquito that seems the room isn't clean at all! after a night, we got several mosquito bites!

    the location is just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very grubby internal stairs. Breakfast was very basic. No lift. Broken shower head. Dirty bed cover which was removed when we arrived but they were unable to replace it with a spare so we had to do with just 2 thin blankets for 4 nights

    Location, 2 minutes from St Marks and 4 minutes from Rialto bridge, but it was still was peaceful at night, Host was very kind when we lost our room key and didn't charge us for a new card. They were happy to provide extra pillows.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a fantastic location. Less than 2 minutes from St Marcs Square! Great value for money with the breakfast that is included. Small selection of meats with cereal, fresh bread, juice and choice of coffee or tea. Just what you need before you set out. The room was cleaned every day which we could not complain abouto. Just make sure you take insect repellent - my friend and I made that mistake and left all windows open one evening. Overall the hotel ticked all the boxes. The host was very nice and let us check in early too! Definately recommend!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    30seconds from St. Mark's Square. Immaculately clean. Lovely bathroom with plenty of towels, hot water and water pressure. Lovely hosts. Really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast plentiful - meat, cheese, juice and excellent coffee. Bread was delicious. Warm croissants too with jam, honey, Nutella. It's not corporate. It has its own Venetian charm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Were only provided with one plastic key. Got a row from waiter from next door who seemed to be reception in the evening, because i did not have a key to enter property but as my wife was in the room i could hardly leave her in the dark as the key operates the lights within the bedroom. The aircon wasnt working and with needing the window open for ventilation we were bitten by mosquittos.

    Location was ideal although a wee bit hard to find initially. Room was small but adequate.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of signage outside and wifi isn't great. Could have down with an extra pillow. It's very noisy outside in the morning at 6-7am so prepared to be awoken early.

    Location is very good! Very helpful and welcoming hotel manager.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Elevator. If you have more than a carry on three floors is a lot to haul your luggage up. Only one hour for breakfast. Not a great selection of food. The hosts are very nice but hardly speak any English.

    Great location. Nice clean room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived in Venice and purchased tickets for the public ferry boat 15 euros each) easy walk to the ferry terminal providing you are not weighed down with luggage The boat trip was pleasant and took roughly an hour to st marks square, when leaving the ferry terminal turn right and head towards the square walk straight across the square with the basilica on your right hand side when you get to the end turn right go past a glass shop and turn left in to a very narrow alley just before a little restaurant. Walk straight until you reach la bricola restaurant then continue waking to the next right hand turning once here there is a restaurant and a clothes shop on the right hand side turn down the small doorway/ tunnel and you will find the hotel. Our navigation went a bit crazy once we were in the maze of alleys so hopefully this will help someone find it easier. On arrival at the hotel check in was quick and easy and we were shown to our room. The room is true Venetian style with fabric walls and wooden beams it's clean comfortable with a good shower and bed. We didn't have a problem with noise at night. We didn't have breakfast or see any staff after check in but our room was cleaned daily so no complaints. The location is excellent and the wifi was good enough for our needs. Walking distance to Rialto market and also St marks, grand canal etc. There is a great takeaway pasta place called don marlos very near the hotel, go over the little bridge in the court yard take the first right and then first right again walk straight until you find it, excellent local food for around 6 euros!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    - add an elevator or lift would be nice. - put a location sign on the road would be helpful because it was quite difficult to find the location

    - nice toiletries - wifi was fast, but the password was way too long -close to restaurants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really small room, was not the same as the pictures No reception available to help during evening/night, wasn't able to get any help from the staff on the restaurant under Minibar was empty Needed to wait outside for check in, until somebody from the Restaurant under came and gave us the key, without checking ID No sign on the street to find the Hotel, difficult to find the property Asked for our passport the next day Not soundproof room at all, you could hear people outside the hall and when somebody moved furnitures on the room next to us. No desk in the room No phone

    Location Toilet Decoration of the room was nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is a bit hard to find, there is no reception area. However, they provide cell phone number to reach them (written on the door), and also the staff in downwstairs Osteria was able to let us in and help to check in.

    It was warm and cozy and clean, the location is great, a lot of small eateries around, 2 min walk from St Marc Sq, yet tuck away from hassles and bustles. Central AC, wooden floors (which turned out to be a huge bonus in mid-winter Venice). The staff is friendly, they allowed us to leave out baggage on property when we arrived early in the morning before scheduled check in time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everthing was good but I have been charged two times for city tax. I think it was a mistake you should check your invoice carefully.

    The most important thing is location. It is very close to Piazza San Marco

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THIS property was hard to find with very limited signage. The 4 flights of narrow stairs were hard to negotiate (no elèvator). The room was dark as only half the lights worked. A dirty duvet cover was disappointing and we had a queen sized base with a double size matress. Breakfast was very basic and when asking for an additional croissant was scorned by the attendant. There was no reception except during the very limited hour (0830 to 0930) of breakfast. The aircon did not work.I recommend you look elsewhere.

    Spa bath was the only positive of a very average place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air is not fresh in Venice…..

    The staff are very nice. The two gentlemen help me to carry my luggage, so grateful of it! Nice breakfast with delicate Cappuccino.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price? Haha it is Venice after all! :)

    The place is walking distance to San Marco (less than 5 min) and yet it's quiet at night. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed in all the places I've stayed in Italy. The room is small but comfortable and the bathroom is great. Would highly recommend this place. Oh and "free" breakfast was great as well. I highly recommend it esp for folks who are sensitive to noise when sleeping.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle in the room to make a coffee or tea in the morning/evening. A/C not worked so we had to open the window - which ended up in 100's of mosquitoes entering the room. Hotel is hard to find. Breakfast - no fruits or vegetables and no hot food served.

    Amazing location just steps away from San Marco. We had the luxury double room with Jacuzzi - room was spacious and having a relaxing bubble bath after all day walking was more than pleasant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Depends on what you look for,the room was adequate though very basic. I think it was too basic considering the high cost to stay there, obviously because of proximity to St Mark's Sq.

    The location was good,5 mins walk from St Mark's sq.Continental breakfast was very fresh,the bread and coffee was excellent. I was in the "annexe" very clean,quiet and the room and bathroom were kept very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast did not have fruit salad and yoghurt as stated in the hotel details on the site. Bedcover was stained. All rooms involve two or three staircases since there is no lift. We would have liked tea-making facilities in the room or elsewhere.

    Location the best feature (once we found it) and the staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No official Reception: hard to catch receptionist. Safe did not work. TV-Remote had no batteries.

    Staff was very friendly. Easy to get two more pillows.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find in narrow streets. No concierge. Everything in Venice is expensive, including this hotel. City packed with tourists.

    Location okay. Room very clean. Staff pleasant. Breakfast was the best food we had in Venice. This was our third, and best visit to Venice. So much to see at every turn.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a little tricky to find.

    Host was very nice and room was pretty much as described in the listing. If you are used to American hotel rooms you will think this room is quite tight, but we already knew that going into it so this was not an issue. The room has its own private bathroom and everything was very clean. The breakfast the next day was very good and simple. Croissants, meats and cheeses, some cereal selections, breads, milk and juice. On top of that the location was great and in the middle of everything. One tip to get to the hotel is to take the water ferry from the train station. It will take you to the church square and its a short walk from there vs. walking from the train station. The location is a little tricky to find. Find the restaurant of the same name. When you are facing the restaurant turn right. Make your first left, then another left. The door to enter the hotel is next to a restaurant. There's a small sign for the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No internet, no refrigerator,AC was very poor, no body at reception,no phone and all the features were shared to us by booking.com when we booked the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was poor in our room. A little tricky to find, but most places are in Venice.

    Great location. Nice clean rooms with good bathrooms. simple but lovely breakfast. Good wifi in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but very basic.

    We had a very nice 2 night stay in Venice. Perfect location (only like 3 Min. from Markusplatz) very quiet but 100% central area. Nice, big room with comfortable bed. Great shower facility. Water pressure was amazing:-).

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cà La Bricola 2 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: