Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Locanda La Mandragola

Via Diacceto 7, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#16 of 36 B&Bs and inns in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 248 B&B reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel with stunning restaurant near towncentre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was wonderful.

    Nice little hotel with friendly staff. Room was nice and clean. But most of all the quality of the restaurant was superb. Very nice dishes and for hotelguests onlusten €25 for 3-course dinner, fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Beautiful B&B, located in a wonderful restaurant with great views and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can’t drive all the way up to the hotel.its easier to park outside the walls, than to try driving close as you will have to drive back out ( in reverese unless you have a smart car or similar, then you might be able to turn) Their English is very limited, but they are very friendly and helpful.

    Cute small B&B with a great restaurant. It’s located right in the Centre with short walking distance to everything. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    9.2
    The view from the window was a highlight of the room and I wish we had stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Take away the fabric window dressings. The view from the window is fabulous and the extreme window dressings covered alot of the view. The lovely wooden windows and shutters are lovely on their own too and would be nice to see those also. Just a personal taste thing though I know. The car park was abit difficuilt to find if you are first time visitor to the area, so a preprinted detailed direction would have helped with locating it more easily.

    Comfortable bed. Fabulous view. Great breakfast. A 3 course dinner at 20Euro each was on offer to clients staying in the accommodation which sounded a great value. If we had stayed longer than one night I would have loved to try it as it looked like a place where food would be great and there's an outside dinning area overlooking the town and looked lovely. We just were not hungry enough to eat dinner that night. I would recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    We picked La Mandragola for its quality, location, our expectations were trully met,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    always nice to be welcomed with a nice beer or wine after parking.

    they do a excellent reduction as a resident in the restaurant, the wine prices were very good. the breakfast we good. they also have a little roof terrace which is at the top of the stairs with really good views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    Find out exactly where it is within the city walls before you leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not realise we could not park adjacent to unload luggage, you can get within 50 yards to unload, but as we are not young this was a hassle. Good parking nearby at a small charge. Also no lift so carrying heavy luggage was a pain. We were offered help however by the lovely man on the desk.

    The fantastic view from our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.6
    A treasure in San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Locanda La Mandragola is located within the old town walls with 4 guest bedrooms. The room was comfy - the bathroom was a bit small but perfectly functional, the air conditioning worked well ( which was a blessing given the very hot weather while we were there). There is no parking on site but they can organise cheap parking fairly close by outside the walls which was convenient. It's also a great base to explore the surrounding areas. We can highly recommend the food at the restaurant - we ate here every night and were not disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    The Best place to enjoy a Holiday Under the Tuscan Sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Couldn't fault the place.

    I first stayed at the Locandra 10 years ago, my family have been going back every year since. All of the Bevilacqua family are the most welcoming hosts and are the epitome of Italian Family Values. You certain of a welcome arrival, extremely laid back and relaxed atmosphere as soon as you walk through the door. 4 well equipped, extremely clean and welcoming rooms welcome you 2 facing the village centre and two towards the tuscan hills. Both views are breathtaking. I had a view of the restaurant below, which is superb and the food is great along with a great choice of local wines. There was very little noise from it and the view towards the village centre was amazing. Just off the main street of san gimiginano and your a world away from the hustle and bustle of the main street. Take a bottle of wine, some bread and cheese and a good book and relax on the private roof terrace. A great base to relax and explore Tuscany. Thanks Nicola, Alessandra, Andrea and Vera Ci vediamo l'anno prossimo!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    8.3
    Great location with very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning is a problem. Our room was very hot.

    Great location. They also have access to a private carpark very nearby for 5€ a day. You need to contact them to get a map as to how to drive into the restricted area to drop off luggage and go to car park. Restaurant serves wonderful food, the 20 € deal for guests is great value. Andrea, the son, speaks good English and is very helpful. Roof terrace has wonderful views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    9.6
    The worst parking I have ever seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst parking I have ever seen. It took more than an hour and a half to find the hotel, than took out our suitcases from the car and drove to the parking. Location and hotel are very good but the parking is really terrible and far from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    5.8
    Difficult Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They did not respond to my email requesting information on parking & when we tried to call that morning they did not answer. When we arrived we called again but spoke with someone who did not speak much English. We hiked to the B&B from the farthest parking lot , moved the car & dragged bags uphill. Sheets on the bed were the scratchiest we have ever experienced. We do not recommend staying within the walls. We were sorry we did. It was too much trouble.

    Breakfast was good. They held our luggage for a few hours after checkout. The view from the tiny terrace was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    9.6
    This is an excellent restaurant with a few nice guest rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an excellent restaurant with a few nice guest rooms. It is situated in the heart of San Gimignano at the very quiet lane. The guests have a substantial discount in the restaurant: a three course evening meal (free selection from the menu) was only 20€.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    6.7
    Overall a nice place but could be more organised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was advertised as having parking facilities. It transpired that this 'facility' was a small unlit open area surrounded by fields. Not secure at all. Moreover no clear instructions were given on how to go back to the hotel from the parking..

    Has a very good restaurant with a special price for residents.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location, cheap private parking just few minutes...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, cheap private parking just few minutes walk from La Mandragola, extremely good restaurant with discount for pension guests, kind staff, stylish room with a view...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay while in San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a car and as San Gimignano is a walled town we knew it would be a little tricky. It would be good to receive a map with details on where we could park after booking.

    The location was great, a 2/3 minute walk to the main piazzas. The room was beautifully decorated and wonderfully clean. We had an amazing view over the rooftops and into the gorgeous countryside. The hotel has a restaurant attached that was always busy, a great option just downstairs. I wouldn't hesitate to tell anyone to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    10
    Lovely lovely lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to carry luggage up to hotel on a very hot day but it was worth it!!!

    Beautiful room overlooking the towers. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast. Excellent hosts

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    5.4
    Nice panoramic hotel but this is No standard hotel and to high price to quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - very bad localisation with No parking płace , i waist my time and looking for parking which i reaseved when i find this place i saw No closed pizzeria parking for visitiors - la mandragola would like for this parking 5 euro this is Joke !!! I must going with my car to normal payment security parking and i must pay for this 15 euros . - in minibars you have got water but you havent go price in normal hotel water is include in price. When we check out i must pay for this water 2 euros this is joke ! - when we check in owners dont interesting us .... - when i reservarion i pls for quiet room , when we arrive we have got room up on the restaurant , this room was small and very loudly, owners washings plates at 23 o clock ! In night we cant sleeping because people shout under my window to 3rd o clock in the Morning - they writing in offer that they have got air condition in rooms - we have got in room 40 Celsjus and we havent got any air condition outside room was cold and better than in room. Im very happy that i can check out in today Morning and go to another hotel because im not happy to stay lombardia hotel ! I pay for this too much

    - panoramic tarasses , good płace to visit San gimigano - good localisation. - nice restaurant in garden - breakfast ok, good bathroom with Shower, nice viev from window

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    9.6
    A good hotel, a great restaurant, and a wonderful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a bit tricky getting to the hotel, since you have to drive into the restricted traffic zone to do a drop off. Set your GPS to 43.469122, 11.041003 and then you'll be a half-block from the hotel.

    The location is terrific: central, but away from the busy streets. It is a stone's throw from the castle, and about four blocks from the main piazzas. The best feature of this hotel is that it is primarily a very good restaurant, and they offer a steep discount for guests. We dined there twice and ate our best meals in Italy. And don't miss the rooftop deck for a spectacular view of the town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.2
    Boutique B and B with family run restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely room with all facilities (though no safe) and air conditioning. Nicely furnished and little welcoming touches to the room. Plenty of pillows. The owner Nicola was ever present and he and his staff were very hardworking and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Second time there - location, restaurant, staff all great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving.....

    Second time there - location, restaurant, staff all great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Would recommend highly for location, food and ambience. Quite steep climb from car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No receptionist as such and staff very busy with restaurant.

    Good quiet location in old town. Very nice menu and food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.8
    The restaurant is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is difficult and quite a way from the hotel however the character of the town makes it worthwhile.

    The restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    Great stay in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location and style

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    An exceptional nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An exceptional nice place to stay. Breathtaking view from the room. Incredibly friendly hosts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    A really enjoyable stay - and a good location to explore from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was great and the family restaurant attached was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    10
    Wonderful accommdation and staff within easy reach of Italian villages by bus or train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There was nothing to complain about

    Staff and food were excellant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    Amazing view or the towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, room facilities and Amazing rooftop

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    9.2
    Worked out great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff couldn't have been friendlier.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    10
    Thoroughly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant fantastic and staff friendly and helpful. Excellent overall

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    9.2
    A very comfortable and attractive Locanda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were there in late April. The heating was off and the rooms were very chilly at night. The hotel has a busy resturant and could be noisy. The location is good by foot but not by car. Leave your car in carpark 3. Take the elevator to city level and roll your suitcase to the inn down a pedestrian walkway? The distance is not far and the stress a lot less.

    A very comfortable and attractive Locanda. Rooms are big and ours had attractive views. Breakfast was good. The location is excellent for walking around SG.

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely little B & B with a gorgeous view of San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like

    Lovely little B & B with a gorgeous view of San Gimignano, especially as the sun set across the roof tops. Location perfect and to top it off, dinner at the restaurant delicious with a fantastic deal for in-house guests.

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2016

    9.2
    Nothing except for maybe it's a bit difficult to find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing except for maybe it's a bit difficult to find the place as you can't stop by the doors of the hotel. You can only walk on foot. And we asked for a late check out (+ additional 2 hours) as I have a Genius status, but wasn't provided with such opportunity.

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2016

    8.8
    Position is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    arriving by car is not so easy. I suggest the hotel to anticipate the problem and contact guest to explain how to reach them without problems. (we went by car trough all the pedestrian old city, it was a little awkward :D)

    Position is perfect. watch out if you go there by car as it's preferable to leave it outside the old city. give a call to the hotel before arriving as they are super kind and there is a private parking 5 minutes from the hotel. room are nice even if a little small.

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2015

    9.6
    Everything from the warm welcome, thorough information on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything from the warm welcome, thorough information on car access and the glasses of wine to enjoy on the roof top terrace at sunset. We were welcomed to dine in the restaurant and food and service continued to be exceptional.

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2015

    10
    Large comfortable bedroom with every last detail thought of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large comfortable bedroom with every last detail thought of. Fabulous meal in the restaurant for a bargain price of 20 Euros; probably the best meal we had during our whole holiday. The owner was very attentive and made sure we had a great experience.

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2015

    7.1
    Hotel has a very good location and the decor is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel and the restaurant La Mandragola is in the same building. The rooms are on the top of the restaurant and you can hear lots of noise from downstairs until around 11 at night. Breakfast is the worst I had during my stay in Italy. The chambermaid is very grumpy.

    Hotel has a very good location and the decor is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    7.9
    The room was very cute and super clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff upon arrival/departure were rude, not engaging with us as clients and seemed that most of their efforts are put for the restaurant clients than the hotel clients.

    The room was very cute and super clean. The location was inside the castle and central. The b&b have also a restaurant that must be really nice as was full of people.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    7.5
    View was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was uncomfortable. Did not received directions when I requests them. Room was small and bed was very uncomfortable. Breakfast was limited and staff did not refill.

    View was nice. Fresh pastry and coffee in the morning was nice.

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2015

    10
    Lovely place and my bedroom had a fantastic view over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Lovely place and my bedroom had a fantastic view over the towers. Owners were very pleasant indeed and the food was great and offered at a reduced rate for guests. This is a wonderful place, quiet ,yet right near the central piazzas. Great!

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2016

    10
    Wonderful location and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location and great food!

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    9.6
    Ambiente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambiente

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2015

    7.1
    THE BREAKFASTS WERE REALLY GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    IT SEEMED LIKE THEIR RESTAURANT WAS MORE IMPORTANT THAN THE B & B

    THE BREAKFASTS WERE REALLY GOOD

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    10
    The great place with amazing hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The great place with amazing hosts!

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    7.5
    Great location right in the centre of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At the beginning staff was not very helpful

    Great location right in the centre of the city..and what a view from the terrace!

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    10
    The central yet quite location, super friendly owners and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The central yet quite location, super friendly owners and staff, excellent food.

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2015

    9.6
    nice place, not too full of tourists, easy to walk round,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none.

    nice place, not too full of tourists, easy to walk round, clean.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: